Raffles Town Club

SweetPea,

err i dunno wedding present good choice or not leh...cos i havent really heard a lot abt them..so u with WhiteLink...when yr wedding? i am with Julia Wedding News...

Hi Wise...

pls do let us know more about the food tasting....
which package are u taking?? the weekday or weekend one??... hopefully the food would not disappoint.... =P

Hi Wise..hehe hopes the food's good..but so far see only good comments, so shouldn't be too bad

Hi Poohpooh..sorry forgot to reply you...yep me got my house in the Jul WIS! Now waiting for the key, then can start reno. Coz I believe I will be very busy next year with the wedding. I shall concentrate on the house first, settle the major wedding stuff then leave the details after reno.
Also almost same like you..reno first then do the wedding stuff....u think its advisable?

Hi Shelyn & SweetPea,

Mi no worries abt food. More worried abt the services... but again it beyond my control to worry coz' even the best hotels have the same problem esp when using temp staff.

mi tried their food before. one chinese BQT & the other is western (coz ang-moh). food not bad.

mi is weekend... am sourcing for bus driver too

Hi evelyn,

u Q for flat? mi & FH just got a rental flat @ west area. planning to get flat only next year. dont wanna to plan everything together... too stress for mi...

would like to find out if I go to the Guan Ying Temple at Bugis and get them to choose date can I get it on the spot or have to wait 1 week also?

Hi Wise
U planning to get shuttle bus? Heard from Terrence that the normal bus cannot turn into RTC leh cos the gate area not big enuff... so your guests would have to alight outside the gate and walk in. Only the Bus Plus size kind can drive in.

I also wanted to get shuttle bus but then can't imagine my guests in their nice nice gowns and walking in... dunno whether you all notice that RTC don't have a proper pedestrian path for people who walk.

Hi Wise,

No. We didnt Q for flat. We have the same thinking as u too. Dont want to stress ourself with everything. Probably, we will rent a place and then we will get a flat after we have settle down.

Hi Shelyn,

I am not sure if you can get a date from Guan Ying Temple. But if they do, you will usually get the dates on the spot.

Hi Shelyn,
we went to a fornute reading shop @ Fu Lu shou (near Guan Yin temple) to get our dates.
but mi wont recomm u the shop lah, coz' when we got query & ask him he was rude.... but notice that there are fews shop around that area which do calculation of wedding dates... mi super KS, after got the dates from him olso "cross check wif on-line" web... btw, for us he need 1 week or 2 to get back to us & advice us on the An-chung add GDL process etc... think he chrg us S$80-S$100... cant remember liao.... btw, u can olso chk on this SB web for fortune teller on wedding dates should hv a few "good ones"...

As for the bus, just to share wif u gals...
current Mkt price 10 seaters $80, 19 pax S$100 40pax --> $120. 2 way trips. from pt A to RTC back to pt A.

158759.gif

Hi Evelyn...

phew... thot mi e odd one. coz' most sporean got their own hse & we r on rental...

we jus found one after seeing a few... no experience & dun noe wat to lookout for. some flat r nice but fetch higher price due to location & well maintence. will be moving in lunar 8th mth.... got to start packing liao.

our is 3 room flat @ west area.... easier to clean up the house.
158763.gif

wise,

Shang...how many tables dunno yet...food tasting havent done...also havent finalised guest list :P

Hi Wise,

Thanks for the bus info...so is the charge a one off one...or for every 2 way trips made, it's $120? cos if we have 400 guests, it's 10 trips = $1200 leh..so ex?

Hi SweetPea, Wise and Shelyn,

Can try www.tdragoncards.com (Excelsior Shopping Centre) or Hi-tech @ 64589455(AMK Techplace 1 Blk 4010 #03-01/02).
I have a voucher fm t dragon so will be going there to print.
Hot stamping: $120 for 1st 100 cards, $0.40 each thereafter.
Normal ink: $200 for 1st 200 cards, $0.20 each thereafter.

Heard that Hi Tech is quite good and fast. Maybe can also try that.

Will be collecting the cards soon coz like not much time left....

Hi Sweetpea,

Sorri.. haven't replied your question. Been buzi like a bee.....
I feel that it's good that you can start your reno first and concentrate on wedding next yr. Dun like me now so stress coz reno just fininshing and wedding in 2months' time!

Happy shopping for reno contacts! Just be careful they have to state everything in black and white to avoid unecessary miscomm and delay and dispute later; else the reno may be delayed just like mine. Sigh....

Hi Pooh, thanks for the advise

Sad to know about the delay...seems that no one contractor has a perfect record. Yep I have met up 1 or 2 so far..will spend a bit more time sourcing.

Hi Teng,

mi will be hiring for a 40 seats for mi relative only. Think mi friends mostly either will drives or cab, anyway youngers can go there themselves lah.

as for contact mi got to ask hubby. he was e one sourcing will update u galz.

sorry... gg to customer place again. ciao

i c i c.....heee..thanks for the info...
so gals, did you all sign up during the bridal fair?
All taking the weekend packages?

haven't been on this thread for quite a while. me also taking RTC as my venue. Spoke to Terence too. but have not gone into details, except to make a tentative booking.

my AD nxt yr 18 sep. RTC is indeed not ez to bargain. me la1 guan1 xi4 to be there, yet still not much room to negotiate,except for extra invites and car passes. For the fact that I couldn't make the min tables required, Terence said that they would have to charge me extra per table. I'm fine with that,coz he promise that he would close the entire ballroom for me if I pay extra per table.

Just to share, the wines there okay to get,though pricey. Terence recommended one of their reds they use for wedding banquet, it's Australian. My hubby and I had a tasting with Terence and found the wine pretty nice,fruity,very berry, easy on the palate. I only found it pricey coz I travel to OZ pretty often,and believe on avg should cost less if buy myself from OZ.

I missed their Bridal Fair, but there's a wedding this mth,23rd and 26th. can go and take a look at how the place is done up on AD. But according to Terence, must call him 1st.

I'm going to meet up with Terence again to discuss the details and finalise and make a deposit sometime soon. But still want to try to squeeze in more perks.

Sweetpea,

how much did they chrg u for wine corkage? coz I was told that if I buy at least a carton of wine from them, then they would give disc on the wine corkage. I was hoping to get a waiver, do u thk it's possible?

any idea how much is the deposit needed?
i also made a tentative booking.........
ya, not much room for negotiation but if you sign up during the fair, really a lot more perks....
and I like the idea of the rolls royce..haha....
then can save from the bridal shop..and get a nicer looking car somemore...but at least need about 40-50 tables...!!!

Hi Teng,

I made a weekend booking and paid 5k deposit... I signed up during the bridal fair period... so no corkage also.. really saved up a lot.
But i haven book my date yet.... and after checking with Terrence, Nov 2005 only left 1 saturday available!!!.... that's VERY fast.... so scary...

I think my wedding most prob in Jan 2006 liao... cos HTB have reservist in Dec but dunno which weeks... so whole of Dec block out.... Anyone has any idea whether the guys can check when their reservist would be???... =P

Teng,

how many tables did u book? I noticed their ballroom can fit 60 tables. Initially,I only had 25 tables, but Terence say if I can fit 30 he would close to whole ballroom for me. So I squeeze 30 tables. But I oso notice their wkend min is 40 tables. but only thing is for 30tables I got to pay extra per table.Sigh.. thk I would try neg for no corkage for wines,prob have to buy a carton of their wines though.

Shelyn,

usually thot reservist notice they send quite early type? my hubby reservist next yr july, but ystday he receive his notice liao. call mindef itself to find out the dates, or can call his unit for deferment.

hi all brides to be....

nice to see u here.

hi sweetpea,
mi most likely will get wine fm o/side. RTC too ex liao. hopefully can get consignment.

Hi widowwitch

His reservist cannot defer next yr cos he says it's wat atac... (dunno how to spell exactly also)... but he says it's something like an exam so cannot defer

My customary and dinner would be on different days... cos those dates i want for wedding are booked.... so no choice but to have dinner on other days..... tentatively customary on 26 Dec '05 and dinner within that same week....

but scared a lot of pple going for holidays during that period later nobody wan to attend our wedding....hehe... =P

Hi wise,
I think my dad knows someone who does consignment for wines.... last time my sis' and bro's wedding all buy from the same person. will ask and let u gals know again....

Hi Shelyn,

fyi, mi will be having ROM + dinner same day in Dec'04...

if u scared that pple go on leave in Dec; one way was to inform pple early after you decided the date, so if they are really yr closed friends & wanna to come for yr wedd, they will make it... if they cant it olso doesnt matter to mi lah!

cant please everybody... mi got few friends who will giving birth & getting married during that period.... so too bad loh. can only show them foto after that...;p

Hi Wise,

is your customary same day as dinner? I'm thinking of having customary on 26th and ROM + dinner on 27th.... do you think it would be a good idea? Had wanted customary + ROM + dinner on same day one... then more meaningful.... but too bad...
and still dreaming about my long long aisle...sigh sigh... haha =P

Hi Sherlyn,
ya, think can call mindef to check.
hmm..5 k..normally it's about 2k plus right?
or maybe it differs from place to place cos my brother paid only 2k for the deposit at marina mandarin...

Hi Tan Y W,

I would need at least 35-40 tables...estimated...
ya, went to their ballroom before for a lions club event...very big ...and most importantly, liked the long aisle quite a lot. the overall feel is great..... though location wise, my mum is saying that it's quite out of the way leh...

Hi Wise,
Wah, by ROM you mean you will have the JP at your wedding venue is it? Or do you mean by having a church ceremony then followed by dinner in the evening?

For me, will be having an internal mission home service (my HTB's request) in the morning followed by an official church ceremony in the afternoon...... so requested for the dinner to be on the next day... if not, will be really tired....

Hi Shelyn & Teng,

mi ROM will take place B4 the dinner starts @ 8pm. e JP will b gg down. so in e wedd card will indicated that too.

...having cold feet... so many pple to witness...

Hi Teng,

In case u are eyeing the long aisle also (like me), they dun usually give pple the long aisle leh. I asked terrence, he said if wan to take the long aisle then cannot have video montage cos they cannot shift the projector and screen. Also he said their red carpet might not be long enuff....

I also like the long aisle a lot... in fact the length of aisle was one of my consideration. But now can only take the short one. so sad rite?? Their ballroom is so big and long and columnless, juz the ideal for a long march in but cannot... a real pity.

Hi Wise,
good what, this kind of once in a lifetime thing, it's always great to have everyone witnessed it and giving you their blessings....

Hi Sherlyn,
I went once, their aisle is L-shaped from the main door to stage......so I don't know if it's still applicable....
anyway, haven't really gone down to talk to terence...cos my friend who's a member did all the talking for me.....hee....

Hi Teng....u mean they walk from the normal entrance at the stairs, then turn to the right. I find it a bit strange leg..but yah, its a pity to waste the long aisle.

Aiyo..but if they say Red Carpet not long enough, then they should make it long enuff!

hmmm...think something like that...also depends on your set up lah..

for my club's dinner that time, it looked nice too...when you walk in from the entrance and turn right to the stage....but the thing is, there seemed to be some comments on the winding staircase cos thought guests won't be able to see the staircase from inside leh....or am I wrong?

Hi Sweetpea,

Sorri so long no reply. Been real buzi.. 2 months to AD.

I not getting wine fm RTC coz i find it more ex. There's this wine shop called Wine Bos.
Find their prices quite reasonable but haven't gone down to taste. Will let you know after i tasted.

Hi SweetPea,

we had choosen Merlot, as we liked the fruit taste and not too strong after taste. they will let you try the wine... was nearly drank coz' he let us try so many kinds... ;p

paid $220 for 12 bott (abt $18.30 each). they does consignment on 50-50. FYI, carrfour also does consignment but on 70-30. meaning if you need 4 ctn (12 bott/ ctn) all u need to pay is 2 ctn upfront;

and the chrg starts from the 3rd ctn. bott not consume can return.therefore the waste can be reduce. Oh, yes. & the best part is they delivered to the RTC w/o chrg.hope its helps.

165495.gif