hey aurorin, no time to go shrink size my pics lah... file too big and can't upload the pics here... Anyway, we're thinking of holding our banquet at RM again end of this year... but we're worried about the turn up rate... Anyone hold their banquet during December Sat? How was your guests turn up rate?
hey jumbo!! Long time no see! Aiya really wanted to see your pixs
I haven't had my wedding yet! Its only in sept 9 so i can only tell you then. Hope some other ex RM brides can come in here and give us some advice on the turn-up rate. Very interested too.
maybe can only load the pics after March, after my exam...now very busy... going on site on valentine's day... so sad... not really like to go on site... hey girl, can i share your quotation with you... I'm yet to receive quotation from them leh... And one more thing hor, are most of ur friends driving? cos I'm afraid most of them mind the distance though there are transport provided...
why dun you give me your email, i forward the quotations to you? Most of my friends drive but my relatives don't so i will arrange for a bus to pick them up from my house (mostly stay in the east).
I think i went over the distance thing over and over again in my head and with my FH, we decided that, yes, it is a bit far but singapore still just a small island, and if we arrange the transport nicely, it should be okie. I tried asking my relatives, so far most are okie with bus transport.
As to my friends, they are all very excited because it is somewhere new to go.
In fact, i was more worried for them because my AD is a friday so they have to come after work. Thankfully they are mainly understanding because they are our friends and i gave them advance warning.
hi aurorin,
can u forward me quote as well? [email protected]
I went down there to check out place once and found the service excellent thou distance abit far....but my fiance and i figured that singapore is ONLY just so big...if the guests are sincere (and for us, the dinner is held on the 2nd dat solely for close frenz) then they will have the decency to turn up no matter how far.....i've got fren's frens that travel back from NY or Malaysia or HK to attend weddings.....i dun see how that extra few kilomentres so deter our guest who wana be there to celebrate that special day with us
havent had time to meet up with richard again to speak abt the details.....wouldn't mind having a look at yours
yo aurorin, my email is [email protected]
agreed with you and serach... singapore is only that "big"...i think the distance shouldn't be a problem... moreover, most of them stay in the west, now trying to survey around from those friends who had attended our solemnisation there...
Totally agreed with the distance bit! Actually i get kind of a trill saying our wedding is at RM during CNY when relatives asked "so which hotel/restuarant you all choosing for your AD?". Everyone quite impressed that we are doing it 'different'.
One of the aunts also said that after going to so many different cousins' wedding at various hotels, ours is a refreshing change and sounds memorable!
In fact, quite alot of them knew where RM is. So take heart girls, it is not as ulu as we feared! hahahahah
Yes, there's corkage for wine but i cannot rem how much.. was going to negotiate to be waive because i am cutting out some stuff and chovin said should be okie.
Beer have to buy by per barrel from them (around $300-400 per barrel), not inclusive of the package.
hey aurorin, received ur mail liao... it seems like not much of perks u get from chovin huh... it is almost the same as their original one... never try to bargain for more from her?
halo, serach, if i'm not wrong, the corkage charge is waive for the first 10 bottles... have to check whether thay have state for corkage charge for 11th bottles onwards...
hi hi, i haven't sign and tailor the package yet, only booked the date and venue, but definitely bargaining for the corkage and changing some of the menu (need more vegetarian stuff). Will be meeting up with Chovin end of feb. Share with you all what's finalized after that okie?
Oh ya, considering that i dun need to dummy cake, champagne thingy, anniversary night stay, what else you girls think i ought to bargain for? I know corkage is always a killer... i am thinking of the flowers too... HmMmm... The last i spoke to her, i know she is trying to waive the corkage for me since i am only bringing in wine and no hard liqour.
Hallo Everyone!!
So excited to know all of u r holding yr weddings at the Raffles Marina!
We have booked tentatively end Oct'05. Aurorin, I wanted to meet Chovin too but she is on many days medical leave.Heard from Margaret there's a wedding next Sunday.
We will have holy mat in atrium n rite after buffet dinner $62++/pax at the lawn.wat time do u gers think i should start the whole procedure so as to catch the sunset during the dinner? No idea wat to do...Kind of worried tat we cant cover the costs as my colleagues say tat pple always think buffet is cheaper than chinese dinner n give lesser.How much do pple give as a norm for country club int'l buffet dinner? Do they think its cheaper than hotel or restaurant food? Tx Tx for advising me.
u wld hv to start from 6.45-7pm in order to catch the sunset. it's usu 5mins to 7pm. will u be marching-in on their inhouse yacht? if so, betta get chovin/margaret to book it 1st.
ya... there're still pple with the perception dat buffet dinner is cheaper than a chinese sit-down dinner. so i think it wld be a gd idea to "spread" the news that it wld cost abt $80 per pax.
Hi hi Edna,
Wanted to get in touch with you but dun know how and u wrote back!!
Yes, thot of doing tat.My mum says many of our relatives normally give "gold" instead of red packets. I was thinking of writing a phrase in chinese tat "something from the mint will be preferred." how to phrase tat n wonder if it helps.Edna,u taking the Lawn package too? Ok, will get margaret to book first.
my yahoo messenger is [email protected]
do add me Edna and RM brides!
hehe... i do chk this thread when there're new postings, but nothg new to contribute.
hmmm... cos my dinner at RM is only for frens/colleagues, so dun hv dat problem. perhaps ur parents can start to "hint hint" to ur relatives? it may be easier for ur parents to "kai kou".
nope, i'm taking the "sea of love" pkg, to be held at the bistro. cos i've oni abt 120 guests.
hi Edna, i have but i hardly use it since i cant access in the office: firewall. [email protected] wat is your id so i can add u n if i can access from home,i will find u?
since yr dinner at RM onli for frens/colleagues.where u had it for relatives.
hi edna,
am seriously considering holding mine at bistro too but not yet spoken in detail with chovin on the things she will throw in...wavie corkage and stuff...wat is your package like per pax? mine is around 150 guests....am concern abt not being able to cover cost..
Anyone who has taken their photoshot at Raffles Marina? Anybody here is a member here? Can send me a msg?Cos i call them up n we need to pay $157 non members to take photos there...Any kind souls who can help me?Just need membership num, name and sign on the form....Please email me if you are willing to help...cos its cheaper for members to refer me to them...my email:[email protected]
hi Ning,
i'm having a lunch banquet cum solemnization for relatives on the same day. it'll be held at the 88 rstnt. a traditional chinese sit-down is to cater to the older folks.
hi serach,
i'm paying $58++ per pax for the "sea of love" pkg. i'm liaising with margaret instead.
my guaranteed no. of guests is oni 100, so not much bargaining power. i oni managed to negotiate for waiver of corkage charge of up to 20 bottles of wine/liquor. i intend to negotiate further if i've an increase in the no. of guests.
if u can guarantee 150 guests, u can actuali bargain for waiver of corkage charge and discount on the price per barrel of beer. the rental for the inhouse yacht can be waived as well.
Thanks Edna for the info. Will msn u if I have access to messenger. Don have it for these few days.
It's useful info.How much is roughly a barrel of beer,do u know? Think will forgo various items on the package for other perks if possible.
thanks for letting me know about the wedding on sunday but that day i already had something so cannot go. Sigh. You having the lawn wedding too? I think we are both doing similar things because i am doing that in sept too.
I intended to start my solemnization at the lawn at around 7pm with the guests seated by 6.45. Wish to catch the sunset too but have to be mindful not to start too early because its a friday. Then cocktails till dinner starts around 7.45pm.
Had the same worries about the angbao but decided that more impt for me and FH to feel happy with our guests so we are prepared to absorb the loses lor. In fact we are cutting down on all the other things like wedding favours, photoalbum (doing our own), only one gown etc. btw, how many guests do you have?
HI Edna & Aurorin,
Sorry for late reply ah. Busy with work.
Hi Edna,
Wow so gui ah. We r thinking of having no alcohol as its a lot of money. can't afford sia being the dinner already this price.
Hi Aurorin,
u r having a ROM solemisation n dinner at the lawn?So nice,the sun the sea!
Mine is a Holy Matrimony which takes around 1.5hrs as need sound equip n stuff so has to be at atrium,ours on sat. Think start around 3plus then tea reception then dinner at 6.30pm or 7pm. What your think? Enough time for tea reception perhaps at the suite?
Heehee we decided to "spread" the word that its $80/pax and I did. Ha Ha.It works though I think as we r only inviting close friends,whole office (but no spouse/children),close relatives. Inviting 350 to 400pax. How abt u? Do u have yahoo? Let's discuss more
I see now why you have to start earlier. I think should be able to cater to a tea reception but how many people will be there at the suite?
My close friends all know how much the dinner is so they are 'spreading' the word around but my parents decided not to do that for relatives because they dun think money shd be an issue, which is fine with me. Parents also helping alot because they not taking the traditional number of tables' angbaos.
350-400? can the lawn take on so many people? I think i have around 250 so far. Hopefully wont increase... How are you arranging your transport?
I don't use MSN or yahoomessenger much. I have icq tho? do you?
Hi Hi!
Now his parents were complaining its too far n we might overspend on the dinner. So we have to relook into it again. They are asking us to look for a hotel seat down dinner alternative so that its not tat far for their relatives n friends.Hopefully come to a decision soon since we want the wedding tis yr n lots of places r taken up. Keep in touch!
halo, aurorin, long time no 'see' huh... how's ur wedding preparation? Hmm... i'm almost done with the negotiation stage with Margaret liao... More or less will settle with her soon cos there're alot of think need to be settled beside banquet.. What about u? settle with her already?
I think work has been too crazy lately (new project) that i totally neglected on wedding preps. I only just confirmed a JP and now confirming on the AD photographer. sigh. Chovin was hospitalized recently i think and we are going to see her when she is back. So far no rush.. yet.
Can share share your package once you are done? Mostly only concerned about flowers and corkage..
But you are right, better get things settled soon.
Take it easy, aurorin. You should enjoy your wedding preparation.. you will be having your solemnisation and wedding dinner on the same day huh? I heard from Margaret that there's one solemnisation and weddinng holding on the same day by a couple.. Maybe u can go and take a look...
hi summer79 and crazygal, we had our solemnisation at RM last December... I had the chartroom. the one facing the sea at second level.. very nice scenary and cosy...feel that the aircon very powerful (or maybe didn't makan much that day)... Anyway, we've only 30 pax which is the minimum nos of pax they've requested. I think the quotation can get from their website if i'm not wrong. We only get a conformation from them which stated our request. Food wise, got compliments from the guest... the staff are very helpful too.. especially Maragaret and Thomas... nice bunch of people to work with
hi purely, we have solemnisation at Raffles Marina country club.. we were having luch from 2pm to 7pm.. can't really remember total cost for that, if i'm not wrong, it's $30++ or $30 something ++ It's abt slightly over 1k...
purely, u r looking into indoor or outdoor? Cos we had the chartroom... maybe u can try their outddor one... nice scenary... but i'm not sure about the rate for outdoor solemnisation..
I've check with RSYC, their package for a buffet dinner also out my budget... Abt $1200 for 30pp. I love to have it outdoor... i think i'll look for other location to fit my budget...
I had my wedding last year at RM too. And it was such a wonderful experience. All the guests love the romantic atmosphere and the food was great too. My coordinator was margaret, and she was extremely helpful too.
We had our grand entrance by boat. It was sooo great! The 2nd entrance was more conventional. Ha haaa.. Normal walking in. We actually used confetti too. Good thing RM allowed it to happen. The good thing about having your wedding outdoor is that your guests are not confined to just one big hall. It's far though, but wedding is only once in a lifetime, so you must really choose the best place you want it done... Let me know if you need any help... Will be most willing to help!
hi butterfly!
was yours a lawn wedding?
i'll be having mine at the bistro. and my 1st march-in will be by the yacht as well! the tot of it is juz so exciting!!!
after u embarked from the yacht, was it a long walk to the actual dinner area? do u remember roughly how long did the march-in take?