Raffles Marina

summer79

hey Jumbo,

Did u charter any bus for all invited guest to RM?
Me thought of doing it else if they were to tk bus from boon lay interchange, it would be a long bus journey....oso mine will start at 2-4pm ...

butterfly

Hi Edna,
Yes we also used the Bistro. It was sooo romantic! The whole experience is just unforgettable. You'll love it!

The ship will drop us directly below the front part of the bistro. All your guests would have been watching you then. They would be alerted by the loud horn. It's so loud that even the guests of the wedding at the ballroom upstairs also went out to look at us! HA haaaa..

You will only walk a couple of steps to the wooden ramp. This wooden ramp also takes you a few steps before you finally reach the entrance of the bistro. The walking distance is just nice. It's not far at all. Even when you're walking up the ramp, your guests would be able to see you from the bistro. So they'll get to admire you and watch the 'star' entering the bistro. It's perfect!

Pics? Can i send it to you by mail?

aurorin

hi butterfly! thanks for sharing your experience with us about wedding at RM!
I am having an outdoor wedding too but a little concern about arrangement of transport. So can share how you manage your guests lists and transportation? THANKS!!

Btw, can i see your pics too? *grins*

thanks in advance!!

sharyenne

hi butterfly,
the whole experience juz sounds PRICELESS!!!
now i simply cant wait for the day to come! hehe...
btw, did u hv a march-in song then?

oh yes... kept forgetting to activate my PM. here's my email address... [email protected]

meanwhile, let me go figure out how to activate my PM.

butterfly

Hi aurorin,
As for the transportation, i think they're giving you 1 bus only right? I think the bus is not that big too (40 pax i think). So what we did was to get margaret to add another bus (without extra charge). Ha haaaa.. We wrote on our wedding invitation that there would be bus, and when these guests rsvp their attendance, then we'd ask them if they need the bus or they'd be going on their own. So we roughly know how many would be on the bus.

We picked these guests upp from the church where i had my church wedding ceremony (orchard area). Then at night, the bus will drop them at the same place too. So that was it. Oh ya, and we had a coordinator for the bus. So this person will make sure everyone is on the bus before the bus leaves. Get someone to be in charge of this.

Edna,
Yes we did have a march in song. But they switched it on too late. They only played the song when we entered the bistro. I thought it would be better if they start playing it once you reach the ground. Maybe you can take note of that. Cos the march in inside the bistro itself is very short. So the song had to stop halfway which is a waste.

Ok will send you girls the pics of my big day at RM!

aurorin

Hi butterfly

Thanks for the photos! They are gorgeous!!
I think they have included 2 buses in the current package but because our relatives are all over the place, i am just thinking where to put the gathering pt. Central seems to be the best location. Thanks for the advice! What time is the pick up and drop off?

butterfly

Hi aurorin,
I just sent you another pic. These are the small size pics that i have. The rest are too big, and haven't got the time to reduce the size.

I told my guests to meet at the meeting point at 5pm.
1st bus: I told RM to provide the bus at 5pm. BUt this bus only left my church (Dhoby ghaut area) at 5.15pm.
2nd bus: I told RM to provide the bus at 5.15pm.
BUt this bus only left my church at 5.30pm.

This is to accomodate to those who are late. I thought of my church as the meeting place because my guests would have known this place cos they went to my morning church ceremony. Secondly, my church is near dhoby ghaut. So guests from North East area will also find it easy to go home (the interchange). So that was the reason. But you really have to find a place where the bus can wait.. So guests can wait inside the bus. Instead of them waiting outside while the bus go around in circle..

Hope this helps..

sharyenne

hi butterfly,
thx for the pix! u were reali sweet-looking!
n oso thx for the tips on the transport coordination.
hope u dun mind my kaypohness, u dun look chinese, r u indonesian?

can i ask a few more questions?

what time did u start the march-in? n wat time did u indicate on your invitation for guest arrival?

actuali i'm thinking of playing the march-in song once the yacht starts sailing towards the berth. is it plausible?
was it the club staff who managed the music?

how did u find the flower decor? did u ask for additional decor?

how was the sound syst?

was the bar counter an obstruction?

did margaret give u a seat plan for seats arrangement?

hehe... i may hv more questions along the way. wld reali appreciate ur advice! thx!

butterfly

Hi Edna,
Thanks for the compliment... I'm indeed chinese, but was born in indonesia. Thus the rojak look. HA haaa...

Time: The time stated on my wedding invite is 6pm. So RM got the cocktail ready at about 5.30pm. I marched in (i think) at 7pm. So this gives an hour for guests to mingle around and also tour the club. They won't get bored waiting around, cos they have the whole lawn to themselves.

March-in song: The boat will use a loud horn when reaching the berth. Thus if you play the march-in song too early, it may clash with the loud horn. I guess a good time for you to play is when they stop sounding the horn. Your host can help to 'fill in' the quiet moments where no horn or music is heard.

I don't even know who played the music. Ha haaa.. I left it all to my coordinator and committe members to take care of that. I guess they have a person in charge of sound system there, but you can always have a friend telling the guy which song to play, etc..

Flower: I used Steffii for the flower decor which was what RM used. Very expensive though.. Only simple decorations. I added another $100 for a more expensive type of rose. Simple, but expensive. If you can choose another florist with a lower cost, ask them to propose to you.

Sound system: Not too bad. They have wireless mic which my host used to involve guests in the games. HA haaa

Bar counter: Obstruction? I don't think so. Anyway, you have no choice lorrr.. =)

Seating plan: Yes margaret gave me a few choices for the seating plan. We chose the one where the stage is at the corner so our marching-in can be longer. It's at the opposite side of the entrance to the bistro.

I hope this helps... Any more questions? Ha haaa.. I'd be happy to help you!

jumbo

hey butterfly, got ur mail... u really look sweet, my girl... a sunshine girl, really match the theme huh... kinda romantic huh... I was thinking of having outdoor too but my hubby and I can't tahan the heat, so stick to our ball room

sharyenne

hi butterfly,
thx for the info.
hehe... let me rip my brain for more questions.

i was thinking of the same timing for the guest arrival n march-in. i juz pray dat there wun be too many latecomers, dun wanna miss the sunset for the march-in.
oh! btw, did u get to rehearse your march-in?

i dun mind Stefii's, they're pretty good. juz dunno whether it's worth getting them to put in more flowers or make do with whatever they offer with the pkg.
what kind of roses did u ask for?
as i'm a purple freak, i hope to use yam roses or purple eustomas.

Margaret mentioned dat the bar counter would be removed sometime this year, juz dunno when. so i'm hoping it will be gone b4 my AD, n i can hv more space to play with.

i intend to use the corner opp the entrance as well.
did margaret give u a seat plan of the table arrangement? as u noe, their table size differs, n not the usual roundtable of 10 pax. so i'm juz wondering how did u draft your seat plan?

butterfly

Hi Edna,
Steffii is good, but it comes with a price too. I actually used them for my church wedding too. They did the corsages for my hubby and family, and also my bouquet and my bridesmaids' bouquet. I paid so much but the result wasn't up to my expectations. So was quite disappointed. I paid $50 for bridesmaid's bouquet, it turned out to be just 2 - 3 flowers tied with a ribbon. I asked for my bouquet to be mostly pink, cos my in-laws are still old fashioned so they don't want to see any whites, in the end, white was the colour of my flowers, and also the corsages. Extremely disappointing... My car decor was also done by them. Not too pleased also. I guess with the price that i pay, i expect much more than just a simple decor.

The flower that i paid for, for the RM decor, was thicker and fuller in shape. Mine is a combination of maroon SUPER roses and pink lilies.

Ask them for the flowers you really really love. I'm sure they can do it for you, but of course, you may have to pay more.. Ha haaa...

I didn't get to rehearse the march-in. I guess it's very straight forward. Margaret will accompany you all the way to the boat, then she will also wait for you at the berth. She even helped me alight from the boat. You don't have to worry about this part.

The bar counter would be removed? Wooow! That's good for you! So i guess you have to wait for margaret to give you the finalised seating plans right?

Yes, the tables differ in sizes. Some can fit 10pax, some 8, some even more than 10!

sharyenne

hi butterfly,
i'll be furious if stefii screws up my flowers, using some other colour than wat i ask for. will probably refuse to pay!!!
your bouquets & car decor werent provided by your BS?
i'm actuali considering calling stefii's to enquire on the flower decor. but after reading your experience, i'm having second tots.
my BS provides flower decor services as well, maybe i'll get them to quote me.

i like the fact dat i dun hv to stick to a 10 pax per table arrangement.

oh ya... did u use RM during your PS?

aurorin

Hi Edna and Butterfly...

Just want to thank both of you because Edna asked all the questions i have in my head and Butterfly was so patient with her answers!
It really meant alot to me because i am quite clueless with my preps.

butterfly

Hi edna,
My PS was in Melbourne cos i just completed my degree there. Had my graduation there and hubby came, so i thought might as well do the PS in aussie. So that was it. I didn't use RM for my PS.

I didn't sign up for any bridal pacakage in spore also cos PS done in melb and i bought my gown there too. So here, it was a lot of planning on my own. Glad it all went well. Hiccups here and there though, but you really cannot expect everything to go on the way you had imagined it. So have to just enjoy lah..

Make sure steffii give you the flowers/colours/themes that you really want. Insist that if they cannot give you what you want, then they have to throw in more flowers, or give you back part of the cost you have paid. I was quite disappointed, but didn't want to tire myself complaining to them, so i just kept quiet. What hapenned was, they called me a week before my wedding saying that the flowers are not in season. But they said they'd do their best to find the flowers somewhere else. So they asked for an alternative. Few days before my wedding, they called again, saying flowers still cannot be found. So they asked me to confirm if i want to use the alternative flowers. The night before my wedding, they said they have the flowers that i wanted, but in white, instead of pink. I've already made myself clear that i didn't want to have whites. BUt they still put it in anyway which was extremely disappointing.

The system in steffii was, there's a saleslady who help me choose flowers and close the deal, but there is a different group of people doing the flowers. That's why sometimes whatever i tell the saleslady may not be passed on to the flower arrangers properly. Information was lost along the way. That was what happened i think.

Aurorin,
I'm so happy i can contribute as a bride alumni! HA haaaa.. Let me know if you need help!

aurorin

I was just wondering for the theme and decoration of the venue, is it all taken care of by the florist? For example, i want something a little special like lanterns and special table settings etc. Can they do those too or just the flower arrangements and will i have to look for someone else?

sharyenne

Hi aurorin, butterfly...

butterfly,
hehe... cos u r the oni alumni bride in here currently, so muz "hantum" with all the questions i hv.

reali appreciate all the tips u hv been giving us. v useful in our preps.

oh! another question juz popped in my mind!
did u play any video or montage during the dinner?
i ever mentioned to Margaret dat i need LCD projection for my montages, n she said she wld arrange for me, but she didnt mention whether it's chargeable. any idea?

aurorin,
will u be using stefii's for your flower decor? or juz stick with whatever is provided in the RM pkg?

aurorin

edna,
well.. looking at butterfly's feedback.. i am a little bit concern. I think i mentioned to jumbo the last time i wanted to check out far east florist because they have a nice thematic set up at RM. Very interested. So perhaps i shd just forgo stefii altogether from RM's package since i forsee i def need to top up for extras. Will call far east for a quote by next week.

The flowers provided by RM's package is quite basic and i think i definitely need something more special in terms of flowers and props.
What about you? Going to hunt for extra or stick to pkg?

jumbo

halo aurorin, u haven't check out with far east yet? Hmm... i'm thinking of recommending u another florist, Secret Garden. I got my rom bouquet from them and it was a very nice bunch of white calla lilies... got it from them at the last minutes...maybe u can check out their website to view their decor.. or did u get the latest copy of bridal magazine? can't remember which magazine liao.. is either Style or Her World, Secret Garden's decor was in there... quite creatity lor... using cotton wool (if i can remember) and angel's wings... hmm... let me find out the magazine first then let u know...

The last time Margaret told me someone using white roses to decor the whole ballroom (the wedding theme's white). She said the flowers they got are really beautiful cos fully bloom.. or u can talk to Margaret whether she can help u with the florist..

jumbo

halo aurorin, u haven't check out with far east yet? Hmm... i'm thinking of recommending u another florist, Secret Garden. I got my rom bouquet from them and it was a very nice bunch of white calla lilies... got it from them at the last minutes...maybe u can check out their website to view their decor.. or did u get the latest copy of bridal magazine? can't remember which magazine liao.. is either Style or Her World, Secret Garden's decor was in there... quite creatity lor... using cotton wool (if i can remember) and angel's wings... hmm... let me find out the magazine first then let u know...

The last time Margaret told me someone using white roses to decor the whole ballroom (the wedding theme's white). She said the flowers they got are really beautiful cos fully bloom.. or u can talk to Margaret whether she can help u with the florist..

sharyenne

hi aurorin,
ya... me too. initially, i'm planning to call up Stefii's to enquire on additional flower decor, but after reading butterfly's comments, i'm having second thoughts.
but i think, i'll still get stefii's to quote me. at the same time, i'll get a quotation from my BS, Ritz Couture, as well.
i'm not looking for smthg elaborate, juz like to have only flowers in purple to decorate the place.

hi jumbo,
r u referring to the outdoor decor featured with Rasa Sentosa? it's in Style Weddings mag.
if it is, i think dats by stefii's.

jumbo

no leh, Edna, I'm checking the page out... it's in style magazine, page 158... flower arrangement by Secret Garden leh... u see sa-lah liao lah...

butterfly

Hi edna,
Yes do ask steffii for a quotation and let them know you're also looking at other florists. So they know they are not the only one on your mind. I guess with all wedding preps, there is bound to be some hiccups here and there. So you just have to be prepared. Those suggestions/experiences i shared with you regarding steffii, i hope you don't take it as the primary reason of not choosing steffii. Heheee.. Now you're making me worried that i might have given you wrong advice.. Oopppsssss... The only reason i chose steffii at that time was because they're the official florist of RM, and i thought might as well use them for my church wedding for my convenience..

Those decor in magazines done by florists are usually the high-end pacakages. Extremely expensive ones. So if you have little money to spare on flowers, then must come back to simple decor, like me loorrr! Ha haaaa... Cannot afford those nice decor in magazines. =)

Happy choosing your florists!

sharyenne

haha... u r rite jumbo! i saw salah... kept thinking dat the whole feature was done by stefii's.
so r u using secret gardens?

hey butterfly,
no worries! u've been giving us great advice so far.
i'll still get stefii's to quote me, as they're the official florist for RM, it may be easier to negotiate.
i wldnt go for those elaborate setups as featured in mags, me oso low budget! but wldnt mind paying slightly more to have only purple flowers.
PURPLEPURPLEPURPLEPURPLEPURPLEPURPLEPURPLEPURPLE

butterfly

Hi edna,
You're crazy about purple ah! I love pink! But because pink doesn't stand our in the outdoors, so we had to choose shades of pink, so in the end we chose maroon. A stronger colour for outdoors.

By the way, when's your big day? Are you going to have the solemnization there too? My tea ceremony was done just before my dinner at the hotel rooom. Very convenient lah...

jumbo

ya lor Edna, u really into purple huh? then u must be purple-lady liao..

no worry abt the wrong page lah... small matter.. I haven't discuss the decor detail with Margaret yet... just finished my exam yesterday, now got more time for wedding preparation... I'm thinking of using white theme but my ah b saying his parents very pan-tang... have to discuss with Margaret...

sharyenne

hi butterfly, jumbo!
muhahahaha....
kao_love.gif

I LOVE PURPLE! i love the colour since young, so i intend to have as much purple in my wedding as possible. except the WG lah! hehehe...

actuali, pink n white r v romantic colours for weddings.
jumbo, maybe u can use a combo of white n some other colour. any preference in flowers?

butterfly,
initially, i tot about having the solemnization during dinner, but my FH finds it weird to have the ceremony after our lunch banquet. he v conventional one, so we decided to have it during the lunch.

jumbo

if u r wearing purple eg.. then camouflage liao leh... ur guest can't spot the bride that day liao.. haha.. take it easy huh...going to do research on flower liao... see what's the season flower for dec...so that will limit my choice.. sometime it isn't too good to have so many choices...

aurorin

Thanks for all the info on the deco. I got style mag just to see.. very pretty! But i bet it is astronomical in sums. Still i am emailing stefii to see their quote.. probably get a shock out of my heart.. heh heh so see how? mabbe can still scrimp and save for it.. :D

I am thinking of maroon/gold/ivory for the colour theme for the wedding. It matches my gown.. what do you gals think? I saw some nice flora bouquets from her world brides which matches the colour.. the flowers are not roses.. but called hydragea? Wonder if that's lasting..

Edna, which kinda purple? dark or light lilac sort of purple? I think if my gown not ivory with maroon, i may have gone for purple theme too, that forget-me-not sort of purple.. its very soothing and suits a outdoor atmosphere.

jumbo

aurorin, if i'm not wrong, it's called hydrangea, it is kinda fragile and it needs alot of water... and usually they're used as "accompany flower" but not as the main cast..

sharyenne

if u need to contact Stefii's, u can call their lady boss, Stephanie @ 6735 5400. Margaret said she's the one who's most familiar with the setup at RM.

hi aurorin,
maroon/gold/ivory sounds like a classy combo, nice...
hydrangea is nice... but as jumbo said, it's usu the pei4 jiao3.
if u r looking at maroon, u may like to consider yam roses. they're maroonish-purple, but may be pricey cos they're usu imported.
ummm... i've no preference in the shades, as long as it's PURPLE!!!

i'm looking more to eustomas, roses n maybe hydrangeas.

jumbo,
i remembered reading from one of the recent bridal mags on flower seasons.
let me go back n dig out dat mag. share with ya tomm!

jumbo

ya purple lady, have come across this page abt season flower from one of the latest mag... but i'm not very sure of the flower... need to find out more lor... cos i'm looking wat other flower i can use beside calla lilies.. had use calla lilies for rom, want something different but my designer said i'm more suitable for long long type.. but i only like calla lilies.. white calla lilies.. hehe..

sharyenne

jumbo,
there're purple calla lilies too. hehe...
but calla lilies can be long long oso mah...
i remembered my fren's ROM bouquet was a few long stalks of white calla lilies tied together with ribbons. simple but chic...

jumbo

hmmm... im not really into purple leh.. keke... im more to white... going to flip thro all the magazine again tonite...

aurorin

got home and got chance to flip thru her world for the combi i saw and it's on page 92: Dendrobium, cymbidium and Hydrangea. So Hydrangea is the sweet reddish small flowers right? This is the first time i know flowers have such names!

Anyway, i thought the colour combi looks really nice.. Since my knowledge of flowers quite limited, though i will just look for colour combi i like and show the florist..

Thanks for the number edna! I will give her a call if no reply on the email...

butterfly

Wow you're all into flowers now ah.. I'm confused. HA haaa..!

Jumbo, yes i like white too. It's a nice colour for a wedding - pure, clean.. BUt my in laws are extremely pantang to white, especially when it comes to flowers. So that time, i had already bought white flowers from spotlight for corsages for my committee members. Then they saw the flowers and got so upset. In the end, we painted the white flowers with pink paint. We found the paint in our storage room and it was actually the leftover paint for our wall. Ha haaaa..

So when wedding is concerned, these kind of things might occur. But must be creative loorrr.. Must solve problem with as little conflict as possible, and as little $$ as possible. Ha haaa..

jumbo

true lor, butterfly...wedding preparation is a headache sometimes... and for chinese, wedding's not involve only the both of u but the whole two families.. have to accomodate and respect each's belief and preference... really bo-bian lor..

the last time i went to this view RM ball room set up for wedding and the couple was using green.. that kind of pale green... i was thinking using the same thing too.. well, it doesn't look malay but refreshing... maybe i shall check with Margaret what other theme they have then can go and take a look...

sharyenne

haha... ya, it's flower talk rite now.

aurorin,
i was flipping thru the mags last nite too. yup, it will be a gd idea to juz let the florist noe what colour theme u wld like, n they wld recommend the flowers according to the season.
i'm oso surprised dat there're so many types of flowers in purple!

butterfly,
dats a creative way to "transform" your corsages! do u hv a pic of your corsages? i wanna DIY mine too. guess wat colour it will be?

jumbo,
pastel green will be nice, soothing...
hmmm... but what flowers r green?

jumbo

can't think of any green flower... maybe use green apple???? haha... or use alot of leaves??? then me and my jie-meis will be the flowers liao... haha...

sharyenne

hey jumbo,
i was flipping thru some of the old mags last nite, there are flowers in green! think they r more of the wild flowers type.
maybe u can have a forest theme??? or secret garden? midsummer's nite? hehe... i'm gettin out of hand.
actuali green apples wld be nice... those fake green apple trees. hv u seen them b4? u can put a few ard, tied with white ribbons!!!

jumbo

i've not start searching for it yet leh... thinking of going to consult Margaret... ask her to gv me some suggestions... hehe.. my friend wanna play piano for me during the banquet... i wonder the piano at the lobby can be carry up to the ballroom or not.. everyone try that before?

aurorin

Spoke to josephine from stefii's and was advised to sort out package from RM first then look at their quotes for how much add-on i'll need to do based on my theme decor.. So... am meeting margaret this saturday! heh heh.. Hopefully settle everything by mid april! Phew.

edna, purple is really IN!! So many varieties too.. i think you have lots to choose from!

Jumbo, light green sounds really refreshing (hmmMm green apples.. yum!). Reminds me of the decor from one of wedding mags. HmMm mabbe its wedding & travel mag last dec.

butterfly

Hi jumbo,
Yes green sounds great! Very refreshing kind of colour. Make sure they do nice decors for you! Green apple? HA haa.. how about green grapes? =)

Edna,
I need to shrink my photos first.. Couldn't upload cos they're way too big. Will show you once i have the time to shrink it ok?

jumbo

hmm... have to discuss with my hubby first.. dunno he likes it or not... green apple... green grapes... then the ballroom will become fruit plantation liao... But if using real fruit, i wanna my guest to take the fruits back...or elso will be wasted... kekeke..

sharyenne

hey jumbo,
y not? u can hv a vineyard theme with free hanging apples n grapes as wedding favours!!!

hmmm... maybe i'll hv purple grapes! muahahaha...