Raffles Marina

lin

Has anyone attended wedding banquets at Raffles Marina? Am considering this place coz' it's reasonably priced @$400-$500+++ and most of my guests are staying in the West. It's not restricted to members only, right?

angelique

hi lin,

i attended one in dec...as tat time was around xmas...the decorations was beautiful. The function room itself is not too big...so if u have ard 30 tables or less..it would be nice and cosy. As for food, i would rate it 8/10. Above average. They have complimentary bridal suite lookin over the sea with the yacth, and it is quite romantic. overall the only minus point is the location, but since most of your guest are in the west, i think the problem is solved. Not bad for the price range. Hope this msg is timely for ur decision

fish

I wanted to have my wedding on a boat like MS Columbus as my fiancee & I are divers... Unfortunately, the oldies objected profusely. I thought Raffles Marina will be the closest bet as we could have the pastor marry us at the Marquee facing all the boats...
Hows the ambience there?? And does anyone feel that TUAS is WAY TOO FAR away??? Please help??

chin leng

Hi Fish,

If you hold your wedding at Tuas, it is best that you can arrange transport for guests who do not drive. If I'm correct, the public buses that go to Raffles Marina are 182, 183, 192 and 193 and they travel from Jurong East, Tuas and Boon Lay interchange respectively.

Alternatively, you can have two seperate wedding functions. One for your closer group of friends and colleagues at Raffles Marina, the other one for your relatives and elders at other venues.

monica eng

Hi Fish,
I think it's sooooo romantic to wed on a boat/ship. Like yourself my hubby and I are both divers and we've always wanted an underwater wedding. Ofcos this sentiment was not shared by our parents/relatives. So we went to Pulau Redang and had an underwater Engagement ceremony. The dive master as our witness. It was romantic. We exchange our gold rings and threw our old "token of love" ring into this coral reef that was guarded by a huge garupa. It was romantic. Well as for wedding on boat. Was impossible cos brother and quite afew friends sea sick. So we had a regular traditional wedding dinner in the hotel. But I'm glad we did the underwater engagement. Something romantic and sweet to remember.

joy

i really like the idea of saying the vow at the Marquee facing all the boats...it's so beautiful.
abt the distance... i feel that those who are sincere to share ur joy, will not mind it at all.

chin leng

Hi Fish,

What joy said is true. Even if you provide transport, the people who are not sincere will still not go. You'll only end up incurring more cost for naught.

Hmmm... seems like what I suggested had to be reconsidered.

fish

I have called Raffles Marina to fax me all the package... Will be meeting Joys from RM soon to go through all the banquet stuff. However, she doesn't seem excited and told me that she knocks off at 5pm... so I have to take leave to see her!!
Cross my fingers coz' ALL the hotel banquet sales people sound a whole lot more helpful & keen even over the phone!!

mengmeng

How much is the package for weekday and weekend?
Do they provide bridal suite for couples?
What are the attractions?

Anyone has more input on this Raffles marina?

Mengmeng

sagi girl

This thread is quite dead huh? Anyone out there who has more to add re: Raffles Marina like service, food & complains re: the distance??

V

vee kee

I am also thinking of holding my wedding there. It is a beautiful place but the distance is really daunting. The club will provide transport to and from the club as part of the package. I guess that helps a bit.

But still pretty unsure...the ballroom is not carpeted, just timber flooring and the ceiling is rather low.

Does anybody have any comments on the ballroom decor? Is the plus points (good food, good ambience) sufficient to overshadow the minuses (not-so-fantastic decor, distance)?

sagi girl

Guess not that many people hv their wedding in this alternative place?? I want to hv it there as i wake board & dive & the Raffles Marina is facing the sea! Comparing Rasa Sentosa, which do you think is more troublesome?

V

vee kee

Yah! I guess so.... But anyways, Rasa Sentosa is also a nice place. Buffet dinner by the beach in the open air...mmmm...nice... It is also rather inaccessible but I heard they do provide buses.

But Sentosa is much more expensive, and if the weather does not cooperate it may be a washout. At least Raffles Marina has a ballroom....

So I think you need to go down to these places and have a feel of the ambience. I believe RM has a wedding tomorrow evening, if you are free why dun you just pop by?

juz me

Had drop by Raffles marina today. I am insterested to hold my wedding dinner at the Marina Bistro. ( under the white marquee ) or the ballroom. Have not meet the sales bauquet yet. Will b making an appointemnt with him soon. B4 tat, any1 has any comments on the food and decor.
Did any1 attended any dinner held there recently. Wat abt the ballroom ??? Any comments ???

V

vee kee

Hi Juz me,

I will be holding my wedding thee in May this year... As the Bistro is too small to accomodate my guests, I will be holding it in the ballroom..

Food wise, I have no compliants, my siblings love the Chinese food there... The ballroom is timber flooring, no carpet and the ceiling a bit low...

Decor...it is very simple, so we are getting our own florists to come up with a better design.

But the ambience there is what we envisage for our wedding... near the sea, peaceful and romantic... a great difference between the usual hotel banquets.

The transportation is a bit tricky...so will have to involve lots of planning...

Do try to see the ballroom when there is a wedding held there, it will probably halp in your decision!

juz me

hi Vee Kee, tks for yr info.

Had called then up juz. Waiting for the details to come in. Undertsnad that they need 250 min to hold a dinner in the ballroom on weekend. For my case, guest list is 200 (max).

As for the outdoor bistro, the setting will remain as per normal. No table cloth/ Seat cover even I am willing to top up the cost. Max 150pax. Dun really like the current table. Not so nice.
Btw, do they provide ferry service ??
Wat abt the night stay ???

When u say, yr siblings love the food there, do u mean Captain 's table food ???

Thks for sharing in advance.

V

vee kee

Hi Juz Me,

No problem! After all this forum is about sharing information!

For my package, they provide transport (to and fro), I not too sure about the Bistro one, I should think so, if not can also squeeze them for transport, my package comes with a nite's stay in their bridal suite.

Yup, the food I am saying is the Captain's Table who will also be the ones preparing the food for the banquet.

Oh yah, just like to share with you the attitudes of the banquet personnel... they are unlike hotel personnel, so eager to please, so eager to sell, they a bit nua one...so you have to think what you need for your banquet and then push them for it...

If you need to find out anything more, just let me know, I will try my best to share with you my experiences!

starry

Hi;

i hv already booked my wedding banquet with Raffles Marina. we hv also tried the chinese restaurant there and the food was good. i hv confirmed with the coordinator that the food on that day will be prepared by the chef in the restaurant :).

vee kee, may i know hv you decided where are you going to pick up your guests?? would u like to share with me how are you going to inform your guests? R you going to print the map on the cards? I am considering Boon Lay or Jurong East interchange but the coordinator told me JE is better.

Hope to hear from you.

starry

juz me

hi Vee Kee and starry,

Do u mind sharing the actual banquet dinner menu and the whole bauquet package wih me. I have spoken to Cindy. Is she the one who u had booked with ??

Thks !!!

V

vee kee

Hi starry,

I am planning to have my guests picked up at JE and Raffles Place...

JE - coz interchange, can cater to North and West Guests.

Raffles Place - also interchange, can cater to East and other central places.

Coordination-wise, I just vaguely thot abt it, RSVP very important, have to know whois coming and whether they will be taking the transport or coming by themselves. If they are taking transport, which location they will prefer.

A day or 2 before the wedding, call them again to remind them the pick-up location and timing.

How about yourself? How many tables you are having and when is your wedding? I booked 35 tables...

Hi Juz me,

my dinner menu is the standard one they have in the brochure, mine is the Sea of Love package. For 35 tables, I managed to ask for an additional bus and a complimentary 30litre barrel of beer.

Yah, planning to print map on cards for those driving....

starry

Hi vee kee;

Thanks for sharing, most probably we will just have one pick up point at JE interchange. Will go down to JE interchange to take a look at the evironment and see where is the most suitable location so that i can indicate it on the cards. I have booked 20 tables and will be using the ballroom :)

My coordinator is Mohamah, very nice person to deal with :)

starry

septembre

has anyone held their wedding at raffles marina?
Did u make a profit or loss?
From what i know, pple will give more for weddings in hotel. How about restaurants like raffles marina? Those who are experienced, what is the market rate for hang bao?

V

vee kee

Hi chrisnchris,

My wedding will oni beheld in May'02 so can't give u real life experience. But my friend had his there in dec'00. He had great comments on the food and service!

In response to septembre's question, my friend made a lot from his wedding... But he had mostly close, generuos friends which may explain the high recovery rate!

sagi girl

Vee Kee,
So happy that this thread is more alive now.
My co-ordinator is Joys Tan & my weddg is 25th
May. I will be there to take my photos on 19th
March & I am soooooo looking forward to it. Food tasting for 6 has not been confirmed but it should
be before the photo shoot I guess... forgot how
the place look like already!!!

christophernchristina

Hi, we spoke to Cyndee and never Joys. So who's better, do you know?

The food is from Captain xxx right? Cant remember the name.

And they told me it's 1 waiter to 2 tables or 2 waiters to 3 tables.

V

vee kee

Hi Sagi Girl!

soree for not seeing your posting earlier! :p

Hey! Your wedding is one day before mine! Mine is on the 26th May! heehee! How was your photo shoot? Seen your pictures already? the effect quite nice hor..
I tried to catch sunset but unfortunately for me, it was an overcast day and there was a drizzle... never mind, try to take again on actual day!

Food tasting should have been done already rite? The food quite yummy hor... my family and in laws liked it!

Now quite busy with the rest of the preparations... every weekend also bz....tiring... anyways, after the busy period can look forward to our honeymoon! Where you going for your honeymoon?

Hi ChrisNchris

My coordinator is Cindy. Well, she is okay lah... but I guess the type of coordinator service is different form those you get at posh hotels. It has a min service std, no complaints lah!

sagigirl

hi vee kee,
Yeah, my photo shoot (Marcus Mok- Picture Box) is over & i hv also selected all the pix for my album. It was a really hot day... & my period came on that day... We ended early.. @4pm ..
Anyway, will email U when i get the photos back!

Hv done the food tasting.. not bad la.. will change sharks fins to some other soup. I am not using their cards though... how abt you??

I am SO BEHIND schedule with the cards, hv not finalise design yet coz my fiancee is designing it. It's abt one month away & by right the cards should be OUT by now!!!

Did you get a MAP from R.M?? I need that to insert into my cards. Any idea??

V

vee kee

Hi Sagi girl,

Yup, I got the map from RM. They gave me a minature one which we printed with our inserts.

I chose to use their cards coz no budget to make my own. So your ROM is on that day as well?

I got my pictures back yesterday. But now busy with moving of house so will scan them when I have got the time. Will share with you then!

starry

Hi everyone;

i just got married last Saturday and i had my dinner at RM on the following day. Wow! it was a great experience, never regret choosing RM. i must admit that i was quite worried that the turn out will be bad but i was wrong. My guests had lot praise on the place and the deco is beautiful and i love most the candles. I also like the room given to us to change and to stay for one night. It directly facing the sea, it is beautiful and romantic!!! I got the whole lobby for my cocktail reception and the staircase leading to the ballroom where my dinner was looks grand.

My advice to those who are seriously considering RM, be prepared that some of your guests will turn down your invitation when they know that it is at Tuas. You have to state very clearly the direction to the place on the card. Have someone to help you to direct your guests at the pickup point. Some of my guests thought Raffles Marina is Raffles hotel or somewhere near Marina, so you might want to take that into consideration.

Hope the information help :)

starry

V

vee kee

Hi starry!

Glad to hear your favourable comments!
Was wondering what time did your banquet start and what time it ended?

Will also take note of the pointers on the location!

Hi Sagi Girl,

Where will you be picking your guests up? I put my pick-up locations at Raffles Place and Jurong East MRT.

starry

Hi vee kee;

i started my dinner at 8.15pm. i only hv 20 tables, so the dinner ended about 9.50pm. after going around for table and table phototaking, we did not go back to our seat for food, instead we went around and talk to our guests.

starry

sagigirl

Hi Starry, you hv no idea what your comments mean to me... i am so relieved. I bet vee kee is glad to hear it too! Did u hv to pay extra to June florists for the decor & extra candles? I heard that there will only be 1 stalk of rose on each table. Due to my budget, i might not pay for extra decor. My solemnizatn will be at the Atrium @ 6pm. Cocktail @7pm & dinner @ 8pm. I hv not done all the logistics on transport & pick-up yet. Am still struggling with my CARDs... it's making me so stress... i better call guest 1st in case people think that they r 2nd choice by the time they receive the cards.

starry

Hi SagiGirl;

Glad that i can be of little help ;-) Don't stress, just relax and be a happy bride. always be prepared that things might not turn out as what you would like to be.

i did not do any deco for the ballroom, it was all done by the club. to me, the deco is good enough already :) i only deco the staircase leading to the ballroom. i reused the ribbons and flowers for my church ceremony and alongside of the railing of the staircase.

starry

starry

sorry, type too fast! rephrase:
"i reused the ribbons and flowers for my church ceremony and used them to deco the railing of the staircase. "

starry

V

vee kee

Hi Starry!!

Thanks for the information!
Now I just have to make sure the timing that day dun deviate too much, else the dinner will end too late! Aiming to finish dinner by 10pm! :p

Hi Sagi Gal,

I am redoing the decor. Coz I like to have more flowers so I am paying $800 more to do up the ballroom (adding more flowers) and the cocktail area and reception table and the stairs... They will not be done by June florists though, I egaged a third party to do it...:p My idea is to have it a garden theme, with the fountain splashing and the sunset! Hopefully the weather will be good for both of us! *grin*

I used the red cards from the club... my frens and family members find them very nice! If designing the card is going to give you so much stress, why dun you just take it from the club?

On the logistics side, just share with you wat I intend to do/have done :

1) State on card insert that transport will be provided and at what location.

2) On RSVP date, will call guests and ask them their preferred location/made of transport.

3) 3 days before wedding, will get help from frens to call guests and remind them of their pick-up locations and number to call if there is any problem. And of coz to remind them to be punctual.

4) on actual day, will give my bus conductors a name list of people to be picked up at the various locations snd phone numbers so they can check the headcount.

sagigirl

Hi Vee Kee!
My wedding was 1 day before yours! I think I saw u
cause I checked out only on 27th... (u know the couple in the TV room as you & your family were leaving??)
Anyway, congrats! Sorry I was too shy to walk up! I had a great time on my wedding. The booze was very expensive as cockage was not waived. My 32 tables finished 3 barrels of Beer, 65 bottles of Red wines & 5 bottles of Chivas!! My alcohol bill
was sky high man!! ($18 cockage per bottle i open & $450 per barrel of beer & my wines cost $16.50/-) Thomas told me his waiters were so exhausted serving my rowdy friends, divers, wake-boarders & alcoholic relatives. SO much "sabo-ing" even after we left the ball room at 11.15pm... they continued for another 2 hours in the room!!
Overall, most people told me that the food was good. The solemnization at the Atrium was beautiful as the sun sets... except the distance. I'm thankful the day was sunny & bright.. the rain has stopped in time for you as well huh??

Anyway, all the very BEST for you & your hubby & may True Love Guide you through this new journey
of life!

V

vee kee

Hi sagi!

CONGRATS TO YOU TOO!!!

Really! Hee! Me must looked like an Ah Soh then... hehehe... Forget to bring comb, make up remover, sandals..hehehe...

Great that the sunset was good for you! Me no sunset and was quite upset abt it but bever mind lah! At least teh rain stopped and my guests can stroll in the cooler weather!

Wah! 3 barrels of beer , 65 bottles of wine and 5 chivas!!!!! Can really drink ah? Me not so high lah! But anyways, I swopped my 1st year anniversary stay for waiver of corkage so not so siong! My hubby downed 5 egg yolks with wine, beer, stout etc, quite disgusting...yucks!

Yeah, my frens liked the place and ambience except the distance..

Well, glad that it is all over! Will be leaving for Mauritious on Sat...

Wishing you and you hubby a lifetime of happiness and bliss!

sagigirl

Don't worry abt looking like ah-soh.. I remembered
you in your wedding gown.. i was looking kpo-ing around as your guests arrive for dinner but my hubby dragged me away.. said i look very suspicious.. (eyeing @ and pao box)

H a p p y Honey Moon! Have lotsa' F U N !!!
None for me until my live-aboard dive trip in Komodo Island scheduled in August.

Take Care now

Q

quicky

Just for your info,normally what the banquet managers told u abt how many barrels of beer or bottles of wine opened are made up or rounded off by themselves,as there are no ways of keeping track unless u appoint someone at the bar to keep track.I was previously a barman and normally at the end of a wedding,at the most only 1 and half barrel will be used up,but banquet managers normally charge it as 3 barrels,so as they can use the remaining 1 and half barrel for their future use and save money in the process.Do u know what im trying to say?

septembre

Hi SagiGirl

Do they charge you lesser for the package if you don't use their cards or some items mentioned in their package?

THanks.

V

vee kee

Hi Septembre,

Certain items yes, eg, if you dun use their flower decor or give up your first year anniversary stay (which I swapped for free corkage on additional 30 bottles of wine).

However, cards no...I tried but they said no so I stuck with their cards. Actually their cards are not bad either. Had very favorable comments from my guests!

septembre

Hi Vee Kee

Thanks for replying. Great to know that I can swap around some of their items at least. ;)
Just wondering do you have any pictures taken at the Bistro Terrance or lawn that you can share with me? I am thinking of their Sand of Love package. Thanks heaps.

V

vee kee

Hi Septembre

eh...I dun have any pictures at the Bistro or the Lawn. Maybe you want to go down and take a look? Better to see with own eyes.

But I must say, if the weather is good, that place is lovely!

septembre

Hi Vee Kee
It's ok then. I wish I can go down soon.
But not in Singapore at the moment. So cannot.
But I'm really excited and can't wait. Meanwhile, can only dream.
How is the food really? Cos my friend just told me she attend a wedding there and she don't like the food? But everyone here said it is nice.
I hope she is wrong.

V

vee kee

Hi Septembre...

oh dear...
Maybe you can try the website? http://www.rafflesmarina.com.sg/

I went in to take a look but din find pictures of the bistro or the lawn but maybe you can ask for assistance from RM? Ask them to scan some pix for you?

My studio pix din really take the 2 places you wanted so can't really show you the place...

The food is good! My guests all commented favorably on it! In fact I loved it when I did the food tasting! It tastes much better than some hotels...

So when is your wedding? My guests also said the ambience of the place is superb except for the distance.. It is different from the norm... Din regret having my wedding there...

septembre

Hi Vee Kee

Great to hear that have a beautiful wedding at RM. Feels better about my choice.

I did visit their website but couldn't find any pictures of Bistro Terrace. But I've email Cindy for some pictures already. Hope she won't find me troublesome.

Think I'll take what SB brides said about the food. I don't think RM is that bad either.

Distance won't be a prob for me cos I'm only inviting relatives which I see often and close friends. So, I think they wouldn't complain lar.

My wedding will prob be 1st quarter of nxt yr.Hope everything runs smoothly so I can proceed to plan for my nook! ;)

Thnks for your advise!

V

vee kee

Hi septembre!

Good for you!

Everything will turn out fine, if there are any other experience which you would like to find out, just drop a mail!