Raffles Marina

butterfly

Hahahaa.. Grapes and apples are still ok. BUt not yellow durians hor! Hahahaaa..

So aurorin you meeting margaret tmrw?

When are your big day by the way, edna, jumbo and aurorin? HA haaa.. We talk so much here and yet i don't even know your big day.. =)

jumbo

ladies, I've just talked to a friend.. i told him RM charges us $450++ for a barrel of beer (30L) and he said this is too expensive...and we can get $300 plus outside... anyone going to have beer on ur day? But nowadays, ppl go for wine... anyone going for alcohol free??

butterfly

Hi jumbo,
I think i paid for only 1 barrel of beer. Then we bought a few bottles of wine. Make sure you have enough wine to go around. You can buy about 20 bottles of wine for the price of one barrel of beer which is more worth it.

Discuss with your fiance... My guests were mostly church friends. So we all don't drink. Ha haaa.. But if your guests are those heavy drinkers, then i would suggest you get more alcohols. Hiksss.. Expensive horrr...

sharyenne

gd morn everybody!!!

butterfly,
mine is on 9th oct!

jumbo,
as the dinner is for frens/colleagues oni, alcohol is a MUST!!!

i do agree dat the beer at RM is v ex., so i intend to juz open one barrel of beer n bring in more wine. it's def cheaper to feed wine, but gotta negotiate on the corkage fee 1st. at the moment, i'm only getting waiver of up to 20 bottles, which i believe is not enough lor...

aurorin

Hi Hi...
didn't managed to see margaret because she had another appointment and i couldn't go earlier but spoke on the phone and got most of the details settled and joys will be sending me the amended proposal to sign before we meet up again. So far managed to get 3 crates of wine (36 bottles) cockage waived but beer still cost $566nett. Very ex ah..

Anyway i am going to order 1 barrel unless i can find somewhere to sell cheaper. Jumbo got any lobang?
I am not going for hard liquor at all. Would have gone total alcohol free but we have friends who are beer and wine drinkers so no choice lor.

butterfly, my AD is 9 sept

Also asked about the flowers which i understand the standard pkg from stefii is very limited (no centre pieces for the guests tables except 1 stalk of flower)! They could get the florist to use the sash and decor meant for the dummy cake and champagne fountain for else where (e.g. gazebo or boat) because i dun need the cake and fountain. But i think i will have to get more decor for sure.. hMmm Just found out that if i go with other florists, RM will just deduct $400 from pkg. Well, at least i know what are the figures i am looking at when comparing florists...

sharyenne

hi aurorin,
how much is RM charging u for the 3 crates of wine?
i believe dat there's no corkage if we purchase their house wine?
unless u can get your beer reali cheap, we wun be able to save much on the beer, cos RM oso charges corkage fee for beer, $230++ if i'm not wrong.
kao_scared.gif

aurorin

hi edna,

Ya, there's no corkage if we buy the house wine, i have the price list somewhere but i am getting wine from elsewhere (abt $13-15 per bottle)... just need them to waive the corkage charges.. now its 3 crates waived and additional bottles at $20++.. so hopefully my guests wont go beyond 36 bottles :p

Anyway, read the fine print and saw the corkage for beer so i guess you are right... no point getting elsewhere.. heh heh unless i can make my own beer (saw a beer making machine selling at carrefour). :D

aurorin

hahahaha cannot la, the machine say must let it ferment for a couple of days or is it 2 weeks.. unless our wedding last so long!!
How abt a blender instead to make margaritas?

sharyenne

oh yes! cool idea!
n u can have a variety of flavours! mmmm... yummy!
but then hor... may end up your guests r more interested in making margaritas than anythg else!

jumbo

Hi butterly and Edna, thanks for your advices.. will talk to Margaret for the details again.. I think i can't avoid alcohol, especially my colleagues here... all drinker... won't "mah-bok" one leh... haha...

hey aurorin, i've just checked with my friend, he recommended me "Asia Breweries". I need to get more info from him.. will let u know again, k. But i'm looking more on contract basis one...

aurorin

Jumbo, i was surfing the beer forum, seems like some of these places need to buy more than 1 barrel and include the corkage, it all adds up quite a bit.. so how?

Mabbe i shd get that corkage waived too, wonder if too late to negotiate. But FH saying we need oni 1 barrel so may just order from RM.. Sigh... anyway let me know when you get the info about asia breweries okie? Thanks!!

My dad yesterday still ask me if i was sure dun want hard liquor... say old people sometimes expect it, esp the relatives. :p I wish my parents can make up their mind instead of saying things like tt after i confirm not having certain things (e.g. hard liquor). Somemore ask them before hand and they say anything up to me... sigh.

jumbo

Summer79, cos we were using the chartroom and we've invited abt 30 guests.. therefore didn't charter any bus.. or u can discuss with ur coordinator whether she can help u on that.. or simply find out from a transportation company.. or u may wanna find out how many have their own transport or how many going to share a cab or whatever??

jumbo

parents always like that one lah.. say up to u, in the end u why not like this and that... typical parents one... does RM have any corkage charge for hard liquor or not? if they only charge from certain amt onwards, maybe u can bring ur own hard liquor (limit the hard liquor to certain amt lor).. As wat ur dad said lor, old people sometimes expect hard liquor and beer, can't help... try to negotiate with Jovin again whether she can help u on that?

sharyenne

morn gals!!!
i sure hope dat i dun get any such last minute requests.
i dun intend to bring in any hard liquor, juz beer n red & white wine.
if need be... there's this small bottle of otard my mum got from a hamper she received during CNY. hehe...
btw, does hard liquor hv expiry date?

aurorin

Oh well... i will try to talk to my folks again la.. mabbe they say say only :p I really hope to avoid bringing in hard liquor.. dun like the idea. Will also chk the corkage.. i think its like wine..

anyway Chovin left RM due to health reasons so now i am dealing with margaret and joys.. sigh... but thankfully they are both very nice too..

jumbo

doi Edna, think of me when u saw secret garden web huh??
but me have nothing to do with them hor... anyway, how did you find their work???

sharyenne

hi jumbo,
haha... not juz secret garden, they hv this decor using green apples. did u chk out the link? it's reali nice tho... v refreshing!
hmmm... secret gdn is gd, but seems reali ex, judging from their basic pkgs.

btw, i found this florist which does wedding decor. can chk out as well.
http://www.woodsville-florist.com/fWeddings-Main.html

will be mtg up with Stephanie this evening. update u gals tomm!

sharyenne

gd morn ladies!!!

went to Stefii's last evening, but didn't get to meet Stephanie. spoke to her colleague, Josephine, instead. Josephine is reali nice n patient in showing me their portfolio as well as samples of the various flowers.

I asked for purple eustomas for the VIP table centrepieces n flower stands, which require a top-up. Josephine suggested using purple eustomas with ivory roses, so dat the purple will not be overwhelming.
I've also requested for fabric draperies around the stage, and possibly flower balls to be hung around.
i'll inform u gals when i receive their quotation.

aurorin

morning!!

thanks for the update edna! I am meeting up with josephine this saturday to talk about the decor too.. will share after that too..

Have also spoken to sandra from far east flora and she will be sending me a quotation based on the set-up they did for wedding&travel mag last year at RM. Far East dont have a std pkg but everything is by ala carte, so all the items will be broken down. Anyway, i will share that when she send me.

Also emailed secret garden and woodsville but havent got a reply. Guess it is decor next on my 'to-do' list. Hopefully some useful information will come up with all that research. *grins* At least i am learning more about flowers! I looked up what Eustomas are and they are very pretty!!!

jumbo

hey Edna and aurorin, glad to know that u have something in your mind of how your ballroom's going to be like... I'm a bit lazed off for wedding preparation liao... not really in the mood of doing anything right now... i think i will start working on it again when go for gown selection....

aurorin

hey jumbo, no worries.. you still have time anyway ya? anyway we just gather all the infor we can and hopefully these info will help in one way or the other for any one.. Heh just like how butterfly is helping us out with her invaluable experiences

sharyenne

aurorin,
yup, we'll share n compare quotations.
stefii has a lot of samples on photos, think u will be spoiled for choices.

i saw from your earlier posting dat u r looking at lanterns for decor? r u looking at the oriental red lanterns?
i know Raffles Plaza has a similar decor, which is done by Stefii's. perhaps u can get josephine to quote u on the same setting?

jumbo,
when's your gown selection? n which BS r u with?

aurorin,
how abt u?

aurorin

Hey edna,

They have a oriental red lantern decor?? Cool! Will def ask about that.
I like the whole mysterious oriental look but FH say abit like 'red light' district like that.. hahaha

anyway i got my gown from flamingo, which is made up of a bustier ivory duchess satin gown with gold/maroon embroidery, and an organza layer with a train and toga cut to be wore on top of the satin gown. The organza layer can be removed so effectively i have a two-in-one gown!

Save money from making the EG and save time on changing too! *grins* second fitting next week already.. so excited!

Yours leh?

sharyenne

hey aurorin,
i like the oriental chic theme too.
did u go to the Style Weddings Glamour Bash?
Raffles Plaza actuali decorated each of their ballrooms in the various themes they have.
The "oriental chic" theme was done up with red fabric draperies n red lanterns. the lighting was dim, which creates the mysterious yet dreamy effect.
so do u hv a cheongsam to go with the theme? the suzy wong look?

wow... duchess satin is so glamourous. ur gown sounds so interesting! u muz show us the pic ah!

initially, i was deciding betw a full duchess satin gown or a chiffon with trailing frills. in the end, i decided dat i like frills better
kao_love.gif

i took up an OTR pkg with ritz couture. will be choosing a lowback pc with more details on the back. i'm having my final gown selection this fri evening! v excited too!

aurorin

hey edna..

No i didn't go to the style wedding glamour bash. No time la.. heh heh did you enjoy it? Did you find the info useful?

I was thinking about a cheongsum before but dunno la.. my body wont fit nicely into the suzy wong look.. *grins* Anyway i am going for my 2nd fitting soon. Hopefully my WG will be almost done up. Your gown also sound dreamy and sexy.. once u confirm already must share also, k?

Low back gowns are so sexy.. actually am looking around for a plce who can make a sexy low back gown for the 'partying' after the dinner (we having a band to play). I didn't want a EG but something more modern and sassy la.. wonder where to go for that.. my current BS is more into dreamy gowns so i think i will look elsewhere.

HmMmmm.. tempted to wear my clubbing gear but FH say relatives will freak out :p

aurorin

Got my quotations from far east flora based on the wedding&travel mag decor done in RM last year... It has got fishes as centrepiece which is quite unusual...

So anyone wanna look at it, i can forward the mail to you all..

sharyenne

aurorin,
the Glamour Bash will be useful for couples who've juz started their wedding preps. for me, it's juz to chk out the new range of gowns from my BS, ritz couture.

hmmm... would u consider smthg from stylemart?
they've a lot of sexy pcs like midriff n barebacks in colourful chiffon n sequins. great for partying!
they showcased their latest designs during the glamour bash. ultra sexy!!!

i won't wanna have fishes in my centrepieces, cos' i'll worry abt the fate of the fishes after the wedding.
kao_scared.gif

aurorin

hi edna,

Heh heh i thot fishes may be cute because i am a pisces.. dunno if we can keep them afterwards.
However not cheap ah.. will make appt to go down see far east portfolio also next week..

I was thinking about stylemart because i also like the ethnic look.. how's their prices like?

Hows ur other preps? are you doing any reno for new house etc?

sharyenne

hey aurorin,
yup, it's a cute concept. my ex-company had the same concept during one of the events we organised. u can actuali keep the fishes if u wan to.

not cheap... from $800 onwards.

everythg is more or less settled, juz finalised my gowns last evening.

yup, now sourcing for interior designers. we dun hv a new flat, staying with my in-laws. we're getting the interior designer to renovate our bedroom & bathroom, as well the living room.
how about u? which ID r u using?
we juz spoke to Intra Design n A & D. now waiting for quotations.

aurorin

Morning!!

edna: hehe mabbe i can 'donate' the fishes to my friends who have aquariums.. heee but just an idea la, if budget-wise not feasible i have to think of other ways to decor the place.

Went to see joys at RM on saturday and finalized on the pkg. Still no barrel of free beer but just 36 bottles waived from corkage. Sigh. I am not so good with bargaining esp when you consider i am forgoing quite a bit of things like invitation cards and stuff.

Saw josephine at stefii on saturday also.. chose dark red roses with lighter red orchids (the small kind) and smaller cream rose buds for the centre piece, with floating candles and tea lamps. Think will use white table cloths from RM but for VIP tables, stefii can put gold runners on it and decor the chairs with gold organza. What do you think?

Anyway, will have to take a look at the quotes because i am going to see the lady at far east and making appts to see secret garden and greenpoint too.

We also dun have a new flat. For the time being we are staying in my place because i am the 'housekeeper' of my parents' place since the rest of my family are all out of the country. My parents also dun wan to sell the place so i can't just move out lor. At least not till 2 years later when FH and I move to australia. So all we are going to do now is perhaps buy new bedsheets and a new double bed for his room at his parents house so so days we can spend the nights at his place..

sharyenne

hi aurorin,
gd morning too!

r u having a lawn wedding or banquet at the ballroom? the choice of flowers sounds gd... a more elegant setting.
i'm still waiting for josephine's quote.

me too... i'm oso quite bad at bargaining. i've oni a waiver of corkage of up to 20 bottles.
ya, i asked abt the same thgs too. to them, invitations r considered as freebies, so not entitled to exchange for anythg. haiz...
btw... hv u started sourcing for wine?

oh! u gonna migrate to OZ? which state?

aurorin

Hi edna!

Mine's the lawn wedding so i thought stronger colours would be more striking... and i like the dark red/blackish rose
Josephine is sending me a quote soon too, i have asked for napkin settings, centrepieces for guest tables as well as arrangements at the buffet lines so could cost a lot more i think.

How many tables do you have? Is it at the ballroom? I had really hoped for the waiver on beer. Sigh. In the end i used the anniversary night stay to claim on the actual night for my parents to stay over. What are you picking for wedding favors? I am not sure about the candle.. still thinking mabbe i will buy my own and take the chocs from them...

I got 2 - 3 contacts for wine from some friends. Will be calling them soon... What about you?

Oh, my whole family got PR from OZ and we have a place in Melb where my bro is working. FH is thinking of doing his masters after he complete his bond with MOE in 2 yrs so though OZ is a good choice lor... But mabbe not migrate la, since FH is the only son, will have to come back to SG sooner or later.. heh heh

sharyenne

aurorin,
i saw the black roses. agreed! they're v elegant with a hint of mystery.

i'm having mine at the bistro. dunno the no. of tables yet, as the tables at the bistro r of varying sizes. but the no. of guests expected will be abt 100-120.

i think beer is one sure way for RM to earn our $. they've priced the cost per barrel so high! it's so difficult to even negotiate for a discount. i oni managed to get a 8% discount if my no. of guests hits 150, which is quite impossible.

as for wedding favours... i'll be opting for the candles, but will oso be gettin my own. will be giving away placecard holders with a thank-you card in place, printed with each guest's name.

hmmm... as my waiver is oni for 20 bottles, i'm thinking i'll juz get the wine from anywhere. n get the rest from RM.
my preference is OZ wine tho...

aurorin

edna,

I am looking at OZ wines too, will chk with my contact see how much it cost per bottle or what's the minimium requirement. I am trying to get under $15 per bottle. Any specific wines you have in mind? I can help you chk also...

I like merlot but wonder if it will be too 'strong' for others who prefer a lighter red.. hMmm...

jumbo

halo ladies, long time no log in here liao.. how u gals going on...? abit lost of the thread..

sorry leh, aurorin, till now haven't pass u any info abt Asia Breweries... just started my project yesterday.. today staying in the office doing nothing... tomolo onwards have to go to site.. sianz~~~

sharyenne

ok aurorin... will email u later.
hehe... ya... cos' i start wk at 830am, so usu log in at ard 9am.
wah! $15 per bot is cheap leh!
i'll be gettin 10 red, 10 white. ummmm... i dun take red, so no preference, maybe one dats not too dry. for white, i'll prefer chardonnay.

hi jumbo!
so what kind of project u doing with APB?
me went to APB with my colleagues last wed. supp to go for the brewery tour, but missed it. we had a great time at the Tavern tho...

jumbo

no lah Edna, i'm not doing anything with APB.. i told aurorin that i will pass her some info abt APB as my friend recommended but till now haven't give her anything... my project is work project.. at Tuas Power Station...

hey ladies, Raffle marina's chinese restaurant having ala-carte buffet.. should go and try...

sharyenne

aurorin,
u got mail!
do u think the flowerballs r ex?

jumbo,
haha... ic...
so we can go into RM anytime is it? open to public?

aurorin

hi edna and jumbo!

Wah jumbo, really long time no see.. no worries about the APB..
Work going to be busy huh? Heh heh just make sure you still take good care of yourself!

Thanks for the email edna! I also emailed you mine.. How big are the flowerballs? Are you getting many? The flowerballs from other florists are priced $50-60.. so perhaps it is cheaper to get at stefii's since whole pkg? Like the quote i got from far east shows that one centerpiece cost up to $120...

Mabbe my expectation was that it will be really expensive so when it adds up, i was surprised it wasn't as much as i thought at stefii's. :p But still i thought i will look at 2 other quotes first before i make up my mind.. Possibly have a slight change in flower combi too..

I like chardonnay too... but prefer red wine more... i think it is possible to get a decent bottle at $15 but i think must buy up to certain number.. now need to chk what that number is lor.

What ala carte buffet is this? I love the food at the chinese restuarant! Went there for dinner with my parents and FILs.. It is open to public

sharyenne

gd morning ladies!

aurorin,
i've seen your quote. thx!!!
i'm not sure of the size of the flowerballs. the $50-60 dat u mentioned, is it for artificial or fresh flowers?
btw, did Josephine attach any pix on how the buffet table decor wld look like? me considering dressing up the buffet tables too...

aurorin

morning!

No worries edna! I am not sure about the flowers they used for flowerballs but since i am going to far east flora this evening, i can sort of recce the prices and what kind of flowers abit for you just so you can compare.

Josephine didnt attach any pix abt the buffet table. When i was there i was pretty attracted to this tall floral arrangement (sort of like a ball at the top with ivy/orchids trailing down onto a rather ornate floral stand) and wanted that for my VIP tables. But Josephine advised that it will be too tall for tables (pple cannot see across to other guests) and said usually they use it for the buffet spread area so i just asked her to quote me the price for 1 per buffet line.

For the dressing up of the buffet tables i was actually planning on just getting petals and throwing that around the tables but looks like the flower arrangement is pretty afforable so i will go with that too. In fact, she also said she can provide loose petals (up to certain amt) foc but i think i better re-confirm with her if i decide to go with Stefii.

aurorin

morning!

Went to far east flora yesterday and got an idea of the prices there. The lady there gave me the impression that she knows alot about flowers and design and was able to give good ideas on what's feasible. Their ideas also alot more innovative than stefii. However, if talking about value for money, definitely stefii can offer more.

So now i am abit torn between the two. Far east is definitely going to set me $300-400 back compared to stefii for the roughly the same amt of items (perhaps even less flowers). But their flowers arrangement might be more interesting and different. Sigh..

Oh ya, just for a comparision.. I asked about the flower balls and she quoted me between $80-$100 depending on the size of the ball and the type of fresh flowers. She did suggest a better idea of making a 'canope' using ivy and the flowers to create a bigger 'garden' illusion for about the same price which i thought wasn't too bad.

My impression is that Far east do want to help couple save money (their ideas are pretty good, and cost saving by their stds) but perhaps the flowers themselves cost alot more so the price also higher. So if really want, you either spend the money or have lesser flowers...

Wish can get some feedback if Far east can deliver what they say but their thread in the forum has been quite quiet. :p

sharyenne

hi aurorin,
did the lady at Far East show u any pix on their decor? it's probably easier to make a comparison if there're pix to view.

did u chk with your coordinator at RM (is it joys?) how much they can deduct from your pkg if u engage another florist? then u can compare the costs of engaging stefii's or far east.

as for me, i've more or less decided on stefii's. cos stefii's being the official florist noes the place better, n i'm oso lazy to look for another florist.

josephine said draping the buffet tables r additional, so i may ask her to include dressing up the buffet tables, n bargain for the rose petals FOC! hehe...