Raffles Marina

trac

hi all beautiful brides to be,
I am new here and I think this forum is really helpful and informative. I had set my date on the 3rd of September 2005.

I am also very keen with Raffles Marina Country Club. I met pretty Shovin some time back, and she is extremely sweet and helpful!
For other hotels I went, it is like, they just want make business, so everything we talk about is those surface matters, I didnt even know about the problems which I might encounter. But when I spoke to Shovin, she was very straight to the point. She asked me about our concerns, she highlighted all the potential problems, and even provide us with the solutions.
To add to that, the view of the place is unforgettable! I went on a rainy day actually.
The view from the Open air restaurant is still as beautiful. I think I will consider the Open air Sheltered Restaurant instead. I saw the pool, it is also quite an ideal place to hold wedding. Maybe I will consider wedding by the pool too.
I am going down to Singapore Yacht Club to take a look, I guess it is better to do some research before I really finalised.

aurorin

Hi..

Estelia: Sorry to get back to you so late, in any case i am glad you have a chance to speak to Chovin and view the place. My FH and I really love the idea of having the lawn wedding there. Isn't it beautiful? Richard also told me about the wedding day is a special day no matter what, rain or shine, i think tt's what really made the decision for FH and I. It was reassuring and at the same time, showed that the people we are working with at RM really understand what it means to have a marriage together.

Anyway, my date is 26th Nov. I know its the rainy season but i think it is worth the risk, so wish us luck! If you are planning in July, i think chances of a good weather is really good. No matter what, i am sure u will enjoy it with your hubby!
Do go down and view the place, the view is worth more than a thousand pictures!

Srumpee: all the best with the parents! I fully understand how difficult it is to convince the older folks but take heart! It can be done! After all, i think all we ever wanted is a wedding which we will remember for life right? I think if given a chance, some parents can be 'persuaded'. It took a while for mine to accept the non-traditional wedding 'set-up' too.

Jasin: That was my exact sentiments about chovin. She has been so sweet and helpful. Not to mention patient with all the questions that my parents and ILs threw at her. Must have been pressurizing but i think it was her way of handling all the practicalities that help to convince my parents and ILs that it is possible to tackle all their concerns about transportation etc. The Bistro is a great outdoor location which has shelter. I wanted to have it there but i think i will have more than 180pax which is the max capacity. If i can scale down, i would rather have the bistro, in case of rain, we will still be 'outdoor'. Anyway, all the best in choosing the right venue!

I think what really impresses me about the place is really the people (and of course the view) because i think, to plan for a wedding of your own, you need to work with people who can share your dreams? I agree with Jasin, most of the other places i went to, they are either eager for your business or for the uppity hotels who dont need your business, they all just talk about 'surface' issues. RM was the only place whose staff gave me solid, practical advice regarding the place without pressure to commit. I am really wow-ed by their attitude and they seem like the perfect people whom i would like to work with on my wedding.
And it seems Chovin had her own wedding there so she really have alot of helpful advice!

jumbo

hi, anyone's wedding or solemnisation ceremony tomolo? i've just went to RM and they have set up for the solemnisation tomolo. May i know any sb having the ceremony there? I heard from Margaret that there will be a couple holding their wedding at RM on 18 Dec which is the same day of my solemnisation over there. Any brides? Maybe can meet up there huh.. heehee..

scrumpee01

Jumbo

The couple on the 18 Dec are my friends. They having solemnisation in the evening then proceed to dinner in the ballroom

moon_little

wow...haven't been to the thread for quite some time..very happy to see that it has "come alive" again..
hmmm...now have more people to discuss on wedding at RM....

had finally succeeded in persuading hb to hold 2 wedding celebration one at a hotel (for relatives) and another will be an outdoor buffet dinner at RM (for friends and colleagues)....*yeah* ...

really really happy now to have the best of both worlds...even though that would mean extra planning and some additional costs.....

my AD will be 19 Mar next year. havent book the place yet as can't decide on bistro or lawn. like the lawn better but only have ard 100 guests....hmmm... will be going down next week to view and discuss details with margaret again....btw, any idea how much do we need to place for deposit? and where is the lawn and bistro situated?? are they behind or near the atrium?? haven't seen the outdoor venue yet.....

happy planning....

aurorin

Just found out that there will be a lawn wedding on the 11 and 12 dec. So will be going to take a look.
Anyone's wedding that day? *grins*

Moon: if 100 guests, then it will be the bistro because i think the lawn require min200 guests. Both the lawn and bistro is between the atrium and the waterfront, with bistro further away on the left (from the atrium viewing out to the waterfront). Anyway bistro is a good choice because u get the outdoor feeling and it comes with shelter!

jumbo

hi Srumpee, so coincidence huh, mine's same day as your friend's one. So you will attending her wedding there lah. Mine will be held at one of the function room.

hi moon, maybe you can request your margaret to show you some pictures on how the out door set up will be done. We wanted to meet Margaret this weekend but she hasn't reply yet. Think she must be busy clearing stuff after long holiday..

moon_little

Hi Jumbo...

margaret will be working on sun not sat this week as there will a wedding in the ballroom this sun....might be meeting her this sun too....

jumbo

ya, I've talked to her already. Will meet up with her on Sunday. U meeting her this sunday too.. then can see you there huh? heehee

gingercoke

hello all,
just wonder if anyone would be able to share their experiences on their outdoor wedding program for example.. are the guests allowed into the buffet section before the couple sail in ?
Is RM flexible in changing some of the perks to others like a day room for the helpers ?

thanks !

jumbo

hi moon little, I'll preparing cd for my solemnisation ceremony. Margaret said she will play soft misic but we can provide our own cd too. I'm now hunting for the cd in case i dun like any music from them.

Hi Scrumpee, I think i had met ur friend who's holding her wedding on 18th next month. I've met up margaret on Sunday and she and the husband were talking to Margaret. And Margarat told me they'll holding wedding banquet there.

I've viewed the function room liao and I'm intend to decor the room by myself and a gf will be helping me. Now looking for some decor ideas... anyone...?

scrumpee01

Jumbo

Should be her lah. has very long hair one right?
Aiyo, me still contemplating whether to confirm my booking with RM. Went to see Rasa Sentosa's lawn two days ago. The photo they emailed me was awesome, but things seem different when I was there..maybe because was raining at that time, my mood was dampen.
Guess I can only decide after seeing the actual wedding setup at the RM's lawn

Aurorin, I also like blue theme. I want to have a blue and brown theme. Haha! read too much Martha Stewart's wedding magazine. One of the brides in the magazine has a blue and brown theme, and it was really beautiful. But do you know RM does not have enough blue table cloth for 20 tables, if u want it, they will alternate with different colour? i.e some tables with blue table cloth, some with white or ivory, not nice.
Anyway, I don't like their blue table cloth cos got prints

jumbo

yo scrumpee, ya, long hair lady. should be her liao lor. So, when's your big day? We're now sourcing for our wedding banquet next year. Had talked to Margaret liao, package quite ok lah. I've seen the blue table cloth with print. It is indeed not very impressive. Personal view lah but maybe u can change to other colour. I went to see their wedding banquet set up last sat, the couple using green as their theme, not bad lor, see liao very refreshing.

scrumpee01

most likely 8 Oct.

there's a wedding at the lawn on 11 and 12 Dec, if u free, go and take look to see if you like their outdoor set up. i will be there too. Aurorin also going

aurorin

Hi Hi...

Just bought the wedding&travel mag and saw that there was an article about differents themes for wedding inside.. one of which was done at RM by far east florist.. very very nice... now quite tempted to get my own florist to do the deco... *hee hee*

so anyone else going to view on 11 or 12th? really hope it wouldn't rain.

moon_little

Hi aurorin...

any idea the deco done at RM is for Bristro or lawn....me thinking of adding some deco for my wedding at Bristro...

think i will most probably be going this sun if it doesn't rain......

aurorin

Hi hi moon_little..

The one in the mag looks like the lawn but i figured the florist can do it anywhere you want. I was interested in the table setting, looks very unique..

Not sure who RM's florist is but i definitely want more deco so see how much is the top up or perhaps just get my own florist altogether.

I fixed appt on saturday 4pm with chovin and will definitely find out about the deco and florist. Will update once i find out

when is your AD? mine was suppose to be in Nov05 but may push forward to Jul05 because it has been raining so much in Nov this time round and FH decided too much to risk for our dream lawn wedding.. heh heh

ccat

hi edna,
me thinkg of the bistro as well..but still abit torn between RM's bistro and RSYC's Beacon.
will be having approx 120 guests.

any recommendations?
any 2 cents on either one?

moon_little

Hi Edna / aurorin ...

I will be having mine at the bistro....

didn't check who's the florist but seems like they are charging quite a lot for any additional deco..

eg...chair deco for Bristro is only provided for the 2 VIP tables ... deco on each chair will cost $8.... i think it is very very expensive given that it's only fake flowers deco leh.....

now looking for florist that's cheaper .... sob sob...going to blow budget i guess....or anyone's interested in doing the deco yourself (DIY?) maybe we can buy the stuff together or maybe engage the same florist see got discount or not!!! hehe

my dinner is on the 19 March next year.....
yah aurorin, i think it's a good choice to change it to non-raining season....becos notice that recently even if its not raining...the sky also looks cloudy / grey grey.....then there will be not nice nice sunset scenery liao....

anyone bought the latest wedding and travel magazine???? is it possible to share with me the contacts for the florist that did RM on the mag.... hv got quite a few mag already and hv selected gowns and other stuffs, hence didn't want to spend money buying one more....
thanks thanks!

Hi Edna....did you notice that there is a bar counter at the centre of bristro??? seems quite blocky leh at certain angles...care to share how you intend to do up the place????

ccat

hi moon little,
i have the magazine.will pass you contact.
$8/chair is damn ex lor....
maybe you wana make your own or/ and sell it off after your event to recoup/ make some $ ;P

does that oso mean that your guests will be sitting in tables of 4? did remember it's a small table....square? round?

jumbo

hi all, I'm thinking of engage my own florist for my rom at RM (one of the function rooms). Someone recommend Far East Flora. May i know what's the charges like cos mine is a small function and don't wish to spent so much on the decor...

aurorin

hi hi everyone,

hmmm seems like if the florist at RM is so ex for topping up mabbe getting a florist on my own and changing the flowers on the package for something else (e.g. cockage or something) maybe better.. after all, i do want the whole place to look special and nice..

not sure if i am capable enough to DIY deco.. i flunk art one.. i know far east flora does wholesale flowers and sometimes have sale (FH works opposite) so i think i will most likely call them and get a quote once i confirm what i can change the flowers at RM for.

jumbo: why not call them for a quote? seems like they have quite a few good reviews and the designs on the wedding&travel mag looks good.

sharyenne

hi serach:
i didn't check out RSYC, cos' the Beacon can oni accommodate 60 pax max.
it was luv at 1st sight for RM, so i didn't look elsewhere.

hi moon little:
argh! i didn't noe dat there's a bar counter. i'll take a gd look this sunday, n brainstorm. let's share ideas next week.

$8 per chair is reali ex... i'll check with margaret on the flower deco on sunday. think it's wiser to bring in our own flower deco. saw a few cheap flower vendors from the other threads.

moon_little

Hi Serach...

thanks for sharing the contacts, will call them to ask for quotes. Hmmm....good idea to sell off my deco after the wedding..

My guests will be sitting in tables of 6-8...round tables. I think there are also some square tables that sit 4 per table... maybe will have a combination...

The bristro package is $58++ (excluding 10% service charge and 5% GST) and capacity 100 - 150...

aurorin...

dont think i have time to do the deco myself also but thinking of saving costs leh.... can let me know if you happen to know that Far East Flora have sale??? do they sell fake flowers for deco???

Hi Edna...

Same here, I didn't know there's a bar counter at the middle too...but since i like that place so much...decided to still go ahead..who knows it may be a unique deco too!!!!

aurorin

hi Moon,

unless very qiao(3) near your wedding they have fresh flowers on sale or else i think still need to just negotiate a package with them. Heh heh but i seen the sale sign just 2 mths ago not sure for what but they have fresh flowers, potted plants and basically everything else, like fake flowers and things u need to decorate a floral arrangement. Very comprehensive and big place..

evangel

anyone can advise me?
Intending to go to Raffles Marina to have some photo taking on my AD.
Do i need to pay that?

scrumpee01

So disappointing. It was pouring last two days and the lawn weddings at RM were cancelled. Didn't get to see the lawn wedding setup. Aurorin, did you go?

sharyenne

hi moon little...
yup, me too! i like the place so much, i juz went ahead with the bistro n didn't look elsewhere.

n i met up with margaret yest (sun). she said they're looking into removing the bar counter. so hopefully it'll be gone b4 our ADs.
when is yours btw? mine is 9 Oct.

do u intend to decorate your other guest tables? cos' the pkg only covers flower decor for the stage n 2 VIP tables.
i'm thinking of placing glass bowls with floating tea lights.
btw, their florist is Steffi's, whom i believe will do a great job.

will u be chartering their yacht for your march-in?

jumbo

aurorin, have you got the quotation from them already? Thought of going to far east and take a look but seem no time leh. This sat rom liao but haven't settled alot of stuffs... stress....

aurorin

hi hi Srumpee

No didn't go because of rain also.. sigh. but spoke to richard on the phone and he said the couple on sunday was still very happy though it was in the ballroom

in any case, my original AD was going to be Nov05 but due to some reason, we moving it forward to july. which is actually better, less chances of rain oso..

hi jumbo: ah haven call yet! was busy the whole weekend going to bridal salons and seeing photographers.. now that wedding date is brought forward, i still have all this BIG things to settle, will have to settle the florist when i come back from china after xmas...

your ROM is this sat?? congrates!! dun stress la.. it will be fine!!! Just do it one step at a time..

jumbo

u know, aurorin, i'm the gan cheong type.. can't help not to worry.. so how? found your bridal salons and photographer already?

aurorin

dun worry too much jumbo.. things will always work out one... hows ur prep?

Just back from 2 weeks holiday in china on sunday and yesterday, i just confirmed my BS (flamingo) after just visiting 4 places in all, and will probably go with the Pond for my PS if he is avaliable.
I hate going to many places esp when i know what i want around..

Will tackle the florists next. But what's bugging me is really the dates, because FH cannot make up his mind *sigh* change the date so many times already.. seems like its sept now.. but must give two big thumbs up to RM's chovin and richard... they have been so wonderful with us.. *sniff* so paiseh somemore..

jumbo

hey aurorin, my solemnisation was over.. very tiring cos the nite before stay at the function room to do the decor till 1.30 am... the next morning have to wake up early.. but everything's fine.. trying to upload the function room's picture then show u all lor.. i love the decor we've done..hehe

aurorin

hi hi jumbo,

wow... cant wait to see your photos of the function room.. Must be very very pretty!! i am sure it was worth all the effort and the day went well..

jumbo

not much decoration, only the stage area, table centre piece and at the door knob... no time for other.. bring alot of flower for decor but in the end still wasted quite alot..

jumbo

hi ladies, we have our solemnisation last dec at raffles marina and thinking of holding our banquet there? anyone has their quotation to share?