Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
June: no prob!

Anticipate: Go try and see how it fits!

visha: Don't be silent reader la..hee! Yes, guess does have some not-bad looking ones..

I got my wedding shoes and matching teadress shoes custom made in Hong Kong, for about S$70/pair. Takes 2 days, they make to your specifications, and you can choose, mix/match from the many many samples they have on display.

If you're heading to HK before your wedding you might want to consider that option. It was in this 4-5 storey building which sells nothing but wedding stuff. Lots of nice stuff there!

Dog lover: Can share address? I might be going over next month..

Anticipate: Maybe can get some brochure or something for you?

Prince Edward exit B "Kum Do" building.

Sorry tried to type in Chinese but failed.

I try again, maybe some of you might be configured to view it, but I can't view Chinese characters on my screen.

Prince Edward exit B ‹à“s¤ê

visha> Great so I must go check out Guess now. Ya, agree with you on ALDO, it's not comfortable. Same for Ninewest... not all are comfortable. Sometime it feels alright after you buy and wear a few times, my leg hurts... haiz... not sure if it's me or the shoes. LOL

pebz> yes yes, thanks and do share the info with me when you have them. Not sure if they have 'online' buying cos I don't think I'm going to HK before our AD. Taiwan have or not? :p Cos going there in June for PS... hehe

Anticipate: wah... buying heels... i guess i dun wan to spend so much on a pairs of wedding heels jus for a day.. tat time i spent $129 for my rom heels and i never wear it again since....

aveline> hi! I'm also not thinking of spending too much so thinking of maybe silver colour, at least I can still wear to other other dinner function or so, rather than those white which is quite hard to match. Where did you get yours the other time? I think I might be able to wear for at least 2 days - PS and AD. LOL

Anticipate: I will use my rom heels for ps.. haha... i bot it in taka... But i just came back bkk.. alot of silver heels and only 20+ bucks.. but I cannot make up my mind which to buy, so end up nv buy.. maybe will try my luck in taipei...
I am thinking wearing gold heels instead...like very glam like dat!! haha....

pebz & aveline> thanks, will check that out but seriously don't quite like to go Orchard cos always have to squeeze with people... haiz...

aveline> hiya... you should get a few pairs from BBK mah... since it's just 20+ bucks. hehe... 5 pairs is equal to 1 pair in SG... Does Taipei has alot? I'm going there too but guess it would be a risk if I can't get any... then I'll be barefooted for my PS. hehe...

pebz> thanks pebz, I'll go check it out. Actually hor, no one can see the shoes right? hehe... My HTB is asking me that question, then I stare at him blankly. LOL

Anticipate: ya lor.. its a risk to taipei w/o a pair of heels... dun wan to just buy for sake of buying..cos my cabinet no spaces for heels,....

aveline> hehe... you can also wear it on your AD too.

aveline> ohh... really ah? So everything on the AD must be new. Ya, you're right - just follow whatever the old folks said, as long as they are happy, you would be hassle-free and also happy too. LOL

How's your preparation so far? Assuming you're also a BTB of Raffles Hotel?

crissy> oh ok... wonder what would happen if it's true. Would it affect the function in the hotel, etc? Fingers-crossed!

aiya rumors only la..ppl love to talk bs hor..

anyhoo...got all my things settled..just under 2 weeks lor..super fast and efficient! Tracey's contact were super helpful la.

cant wait for the big day la..now just need to stress about guestlist and all..anyone cana advise how to start off??

hey gals, sorry for the late reply. Was away over the weekends and just got back today...

I told my HTB about Raffles Hotel too and he said there're always looking to sell, etc. Similar news have surfaced a few times already so guess don't have to worry too much. hehe...

grace> have you gotten both your parents to list out their 'to invite' lists? I guess that would be a start and also how many tables are you 'maximising' at. Invite the guests in tier level, ie. must invite list, must invite friends, etc then expand and work your way out to cover the rest.

pebz>> yes yes, went Bintin. My hb planned a surprise trip for me for my birthday so go there relax relax... and he proposed to me too! hehe... although confirmed marrying him liao but wish for proposal... heehee... :p

I think they can't renovate a lot too cos it's heritage right? The more they spend, the more they are going to charge people... haiz.. How's things with you?

Anticipate: YEH!! Share story la! Agree, although mutually getting married..still needa ask hor!

I'm fine...planning for a short getaway too..next week..hopefully!

pebz>> the story goes... on my birthday night (last night of the trip) we have decided to eat-in cos that's the only one that we have not tried there... and they have this nice little outdoor sitting area. So after dinner, sitting outside for the longest time... suddenly the door bell rang. Thought the staff came to clear the cutlery, etc... then hb ask me go inside the room then I silly silly go in but I peeped from inside through the glass door and saw a cake.

Thought it's my birthday cake cos haven't eaten any so far. After a while I went out... he turn the cake over and said if I said yes then eat the cake. On the cake is written "Marry me?!" heehee... then took out the ring lor.

He ordered the cake when I'm away for the massage on the first day, then double confirm the delivery timing on the second day again. No wonder he insisted on sitting outside... so funny...

He's not those super romantic sort of guy like we see in the tv and for him to do all these, very touched already... although the way he 'asked' not in line with the whole ambience lah... hehe...

Where are you planning to go? Away from work is always GOOD!

Anticipate: Wah! At least he made an effort, right? Did you like cry/tear or anything, his expression? Ring was something you liked?

Thinking of going HKG or something..

pebz>> ya... I almost cry... tears on my eyes... didn't expect that I would react this way but at the instant, just reacted that way. heehee... I think he's a little shy too lah... if it's me, I also don't know how to put it across. hehe...

Yes, I like the ring, though the stones are a little too big. As long as it's something that he makes and effort to pick and choose himself, I'll love it! hehe... I'm thinking of having that ring as the wedding one cos he spent a bomb on it already and I don't want to spend more or wear 2 rings on the same finger.. afraid too bulky.

Oh HK... lots of food... but I think the weather is very hot right? Hotter than SG?

Anticipate: Woo hoo! Ring must be very very pretty! I almost cried too..hehe!

Weather is cooler than here...average abt 22-27..quite ok.

pebz> how's did yours happen? share share leh... hehe...
wah... nice weather... so shiok. I'm starting to think of the next 'holiday' I can have... no idea when that will be... haiz...

Anticipate: So fast? You just got back!! Mine? Aiyo..mine sounds alittle 'drama'...He proposed on our anniversary day a.k.a Valentine's Day... He only said we were going for a weekend stay and to meet him after my meeting..He didn't say exactly; Will you marry me? But rather he said; Its been xx years and I don't you to be my gf anymore, I want you to be my wife....and he brought it out from his pocket...and we both broke down...Gosh! Thinking about it, makes me wanna tear..damn emo la!

pebz>> aiyoo... so sweet!! At least he managed to get the words out of his mouth... hehe... but these are memories that we're going to remember forever!

Haiz... 4 days only... too short already. Both of us are always thinking of our US trip 3 years ago for 3 weeks... so nice and relaxing!! Have been talking about it for yrs but need to spend a lot of money, plus wedding coming, all the more to put that way way behind in the queue. The next one is probably to Taiwan for our PS and we have yet to decide when that will be, not sure if he can get his leave approved or not...

Have you booked your stuffs to HK? You're looking at May and not June right? I think it would be much more expensive and crowded in June...

Anticipate: Going for long holiday is good! Definitely with wedding and all, other stuff would need to come later. Sigh..I still have my place to worry about..should be ready end of 2010 or early 2011...Gosh! Yup. Booked already..going in May..

pebz>> ohh... your house coming soon too ah? That's also a big sum of money involved... but luckily you still have some gap between your wedding and the house, still have a little room to breathe and get excited all over again but on your house now... heehee... I think it's going to be fun too! Which area is it going to be? Are there in 'raw' or move-in condition?

Anticipate: YES! Just a 4rm flat in 'Ponggie'...'raw' condition..the BTO kind..Another sum of $!! What about you?

pebz>> 'raw' condition needs to do a lot of things... design, etc, etc... will be another big planning bit and $$ involved! Seems like many people are 'ponggie', guess that's where the new developements are. A couple of my friends are getting flats in that area and one of them seems to be the same as you - might be your future neighbour!! hehe...

We are not getting a house at the moment, staying at the parents place... I've been staying there for 4 yrs liao so not much difference. hehe... Settle our wedding first then think of the house, definitely need to get one in the future with kids coming along down the road. Need more rooms mah... but will continue to be staying together with his parents.
That said, more rooms = big house = lots of $$ again!!!

So where are you going to stay at while waiting for your house?

Anticipate: How coincidental? He's been staying @ my place for a number of years too! So we will continue staying till our place is ready. We did consider getting other areas but it was way too expensive and might as well make use of the govt has to offer..perks and stuff.heh!

pebz>> hahaha... so qiao!! Is your current home near your new nest? Are you familiar with Punggol? With the new developments, streets, etc... I have no idea how that place looks like now. hehe... But one thing for sure, there's lots of newly-wed young couples!

Anticipate: Ya! Am currently staying in the east so quite ok lah to new place..Not familiar with the area at all...I only know its near the station..so...most probably by the time I move in, there will be more stuff, I hope.