Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
Anticipate: I just went for the site visit yesterday and met up with Tracy. Still working out the number of tables as we might need more than 25! But we may do the solemnization with them in the Casuarina Suite. Gonna wait for Tracy to come back with a package! I may end up with Four Seasons..

pebz> that's good to hear! How do you find the place? the main downside for me is the capacity, that's why we are 'chopping' on our list too but main priority goes to family. Have you viewed the Four Seasons?

Btw, i'm having my tea ceremony at Casuarina too! ;)

Anticipate: Woo! I have viewed Four Seasons..The place is so so pretty too..feels quite exclusive..I viewed the ballroom, potential solemnization rooms and also the bridal suites. Everything looks quite ok except the package is quite 'bare'. Must pay for stuff...think beer & wine..I would need to work on that..

Off-Topic: Visited any bridal studios?

pebz: four season is pretty flexible..... they offer me free wine for every table and beer when i told them im considering raffles...... but in the end i still did not take up their offer......

pebz> i signed up with a taiwan bridal shop for shooting in Taiwan... but still have to look for a local one for AD... yet to decide or source for that as I think I have more time to play with since pre-wedding shooting is already 'covered'. For the local one, i do have one in mind - Di Gio but yet to go down and view. How about you?

visha: I see. I have 'table' problems..haha! Will see how it goes.

Anticipate: I haven't started looking yet. I did drop by Amanda Lee last weekend, just to look. Pretty ok but I think I was kinda stressed, thinking about the site visits and all...couldn't really concentrate. Di Gio is out for me (personal reason). Ooh! Taiwan...sounds interesting...How come want 2?

pebz> oh... i saw Amanda Lee too, pretty nice too... all my 'saw' are just from magazines so not sure how the actual feel and shop is like. I think I'm a bit like you, initially headache about venue, now gotten venue have to stress about guest list to see how we can fit them in. haiz... a bit lost on what to do, don't seem to have anything to do at the moment. haha...

As for Taiwan, we didn't really plan on going oversea. It just so happen that the bridal exhibition stand is the first that we sit down and listen... that's it. Signed and confirmed. haha... we feel that it's quite cheap and something different from SG. Cost about 2k. Even for the AD package say another 2k, i think still cheaper than most local ones - i think lar...

which other BS have you 'shortlisted' to view?

Anticipate: I see. I'm quite keen on Bridal Veil but have not seen anything yet. Margaret Brides, maybe.. Mind's a mess now...want to quickly settle venue and I guess the rest will just fall into place..hopefully..I have been 'lost' since he popped the question...wahaha!

take it easy and its common to be lost as i was told, enjoy the moment of planning too. Don't stress yourself too much.

i was like a kan cheong spider and then complain my HTB of not showing a lot of excitment as me... but now sort of died down a little, it's me that was thinking too much. From this incident, I learnt that putting too much stress on the planning or bbeing too kan cheong will put some strain on the r/s. So just sit back a little and discuss together bit by bit. Probably women in nature are usually more anxious... hehe

Anticipate: I will, Thanks! I agree that women seem more anxious! Me still looking @ venues and trying to confirm on what we are gonna do. Looks like there will be 3 events we need to plan...ROM, Tea Ceremony and Banquet.

I have decided on Amanda lee for my bridal studio after going to many of them. I need gotta ask around if any of you have done yr ROM at the lawn just before the banquet? My HTB is concerned with the time coordination and how to keep the guests entertained till the start of the banquet. Any ideas?

pebz> High-five, me too, having 3 events to plan. But my ROM which is on a diff day will be just going to ROM, sign and eat since it's just a month from AD, so not going to make it a big thing. For my tea ceremony, I'm holding at the hotel function rooms and catering lunch for them. Have you decided on how to do yours?

Blanc> congrates on sorting your BS!
I have not attended any at The Lawn but it should be very beautiful. The only thing is the hot and humid weather in SG. Any specific timing that you are looking at for your ROM and what time is your dinner? Let us know and we can give some suggestions.

Anticipate: I planned but the cost is extremely high, if you ask me. ROM - gonna consist of immediate family and friends (they not going dinner). Tea Ceremony-family, relatives and providing lunch/b'fast but its 80 pax leh! How much did they charge you? Mine hovers around 60 per pax.

pebz> ya man! I was doing a rough calculation the other day... super expensive... the lunch buffet have about 65-70 pax at RH, cost about 80++ per pax. Still ahve about 20 from godparents side but they want to do it at their home with outside catering, cost is definitely much cheaper and spread of food BIG TIME better. Just the tea ceremony already half-broke... haha

So we are going to keep our ROM simple, his parents and my parents, that's it. Still don't know whether have to call my godparents, if call, seems so weird but don't care, doesn't look nice. How huh?

Err... Why is yours only 60 per pax? You seem like you're going to be super busy that day.. do you want to split your ROM on a different day since it's mostly a different group of people?

Anticipate: 60 per pax are just people attending the tea ceremony and these are relatives. Its breakfast! Cuz of the timing issue. I'm intending to hold Tea Ceremony on same day as dinner. ROM will happen in May 2010.These will just be friends/family. I'm not for idea of holding it @ home..too troublesome. I was thinking another alternative; HTB can do it in the morning and I do mine an hour before the banquet?

I think quite strange leh...if you do not include your god-parents?

Hmm... but you'll need time to make-up and do up your hair, getting ready for the dinner right? If you do right before, is it going to be in front of all other guests or are you going to get them to come earlier? Which means you have to be 'ready' even earlier...

Alternatively if you don't mind, you can hold both your HTB and your side together, his side will go first while your side eat. After that, you'll switch around. Once all done, everyone can eat and 'intro' by both yourself and your hubby.

As for my godparent, they are not familiar with either my parents or PIL. So we will have like '3 groups' of parents, not really knowing each other sitting together to have meal... I thought it would be weird leh... but... I also don't know what to do... haiz..

Anticipate: Yes, that would be what I want to do. Tea Ceremony all together..But cost is really high! I also don't like to rush! Try Four Seasons Catering (no affiliation with Four Seasons Hotel), Angeli (www.angeli.com.sg) - reviews seem to be good from my friend who tried. Yes, heard of Glory Catering but never tried.

morning pebz> thanks for the caterer names, i'll check them out. For your tea ceremony 'buffet, if you don't mind the hassle, maybe can do it at Swissotel/Fairmont instead? Maybe can check out some of the restuarant over there to see if they can offer you a 'private room'? Or maybe do the tea ceremony in The Lawn then proceed to 'opposite' for meal. Not sure if RH has any regulations on insisting that you need to order the meal with them. Or can split half at swissotel/fairmont side?

Anticipate: No worries. Maybe. But am hoping to do all @ 1 place so I need not travel..no need bridal car even..

pebz> true, it will be more convenient, save the hassle of traveling. hehe..

As for bridal car... your HTB staying in the hotel with you or ..? If not, he'll need a car to go pick you right?

pebz> in the same room as you? then don't have to open door already, both of you can hold-hand and step out of the door. My HTB suggested the same, saying that he stays with me in the same room, then i said he's cheating, trying to avoid getting 'sabo'. haha...

Still not sure how to settle him yet.. like stranded 'outside' as of now.. LOL

pebz> so he'll just walk over to pick you? Have you decided on your venue? Must make up your mind soon then you can start the rest will just fall into places - that's what i'm told!

Still deciding between Raffles and Four Seasons?

Anticipate: Yes, will just walk over! I know I need to make up my mind soon...Boo! Four Seasons seem more like it now..as for now..Raffles hasn't come back to me with rates?

Anticipate: How come I'm like so kan-cheong and you are like relaxed? Whatsmore, mine is only next year and yours this year...

pebz> if you have more tables then probably makes more sense to go with Four Season, if you're looking for a small cosy one, you can look at RH. But of cos, you'll need to work big time into your guest lists cos limited seats. Drop RH an email or call them for the rates again, one thing for sure, they are very friendly. Are you talking about the dinner rates or ...?

I was very kan cheong in the beginning too but as the planning goes along.. energy getting lower and lower... until now, just feel like shaking leg and wait for the day to come but still some work to do. So do bit by bit to keep myself occupied to the day.. LOL

I have to relax a bit cos my HTB very relax too. Then if i kan cheong alone and he 'do nothing', then I'll say that he doesn't care, etc... and ends up quarrelling. I think this is pretty common sight so I tell myself to keep cool and slow things down, then both of us can discuss things bit by bit and be happy about the whole thing.

But hor, mainly it's me lar... looking into the small little details which he sin't really bother... :p

my AD is Fed 2010.......

all my excitement started last yr dec......
Started with banquet booking..... then confirmed my gown in feb........ and all my planning for my ROM in this may.......

so now it's april..... i feel that there's totally no excitement...... lol...... in fact i feel very 'fan' when i tot of other stuffs......

like AD photograhpy and video.... maybe just shortlist a few so i feel better..... but dun plan to confirm so early becos we tend to find better options........am dragging these stuff till end of the year

cos all left are those small little things like si dian jin...... tradition guo da li stuffs..... which i dun plan to bother until early next year......

so now it's just chit chatting in forum for the time to come... =)

visha> ya, both hands agree that the excitment will died down a little... I've only started like 3 weeks ago... and now, a little low. LOL Guess we have to spread things out to keep the excitment going! :p

And yes, please do come here to chit-chat... it's pretty much quiet...

Btw, have you sorted out on your BS? Mind sharing which one that is? I'm still looking for one to cover all my AD stuffs...

anticipate: Yap i had settled all my pre-wedding shot stuffs.

But it took me quite some time because i do not have a BS. After seeing my friends going to BS and spend quite alot of $$ on the 'top up amount', the results of the photoshoot and the endless sales talk, i decide to go ala carte.

For gowns wise, im very american-influenced. if you surf those US wedding webby, their gowns are very simple and classic without any beads or lacey stuffs. They focus on cutting and sewing.... which SG BS do not have. Therefore all my gowns are 'design' by myself (of course i copy and paste) and ask those professionals to sew it. Sourced from the forum, i went to TED COLLECTION. their price is very reasonable, 3k for sewing WG,EG and CS.

For pre-wedding photography, i enaged Light Pixels. They are one of the very premium ones in sg..... $4500 for 6 hours. But you get to take back all high resolutions photos...... so it's around 150 to 200 unqiue pictures?

For make up wise..... yet to confirm.... going to trial first..... so if i set it to a budget of $1000, all mentioned above is $8500.

For my husband's suit, flowers, car deco..... $1500 should be enough.

Therefore for 10k, i get the best of everything..... no sales talk..... all photos.... get to keep everything......

at normal bridal shop..... MTM package think start around 4k?....... but the picture top up is alot...... and your gown topup when u wanna sew in special things....... all my friends account to ard $8-9k at least...... with maybe ard 60 pictures? and the end result is just a typical normal wedding album

but of course..... they are very affordable professional pre-wedding photography..... that are ard $2k...... more worth it than a BS

visha - wow! that's a lot of money for me... we didn't budgeted that much for the BS/AD stuffs cos the dinner itself, tea ceremony buffet and hotels rooms are already killing us...

So for now, the main important thing to sort i guess would be the AD gowns, photographer and maybe videographer... cos I have already book an Taiwan package for pre-wed PS.

Oh ya and yes, I like the gowns from US too... my HTB is also quite american-influenced. For MTM gowns, how would you determine if it looks nice on you? Some design are really nice but not suitable for everyone, that's actually one of my worry. Any suggestion to counter that?

ohhh.... if u already have pre-wedding, then AD shouldn't be expensive.....

what i did is i go around those bridal shop to try on similar gowns..... becos basically gown are only made of those A-line, princess cut, ballroom cut, mermaid.......... so when u tried them on, if A-line look best, your MTM also stick to A-line cutting.........

if you like very big dresses like ballroom cut, then have no worries..... a big fat dress makes human look smaller.....

for me i love mermaid.... but only veryvery thin people can wear mermaid.... so me too cant get a mermaid

most of all... you must be thick skin.....lol.... i went to veryvery expensive BS and pretend to be very interested..... i show them what u wan.... and the designer will comment.... so just learn..... and i ask them to quote..... and tell them will confirm with them soon.....

ohhh... i see... so just stick to those 4 cuts and then see which one suits better. I like mermaid cut too but must be super skinny and seems difficult to walk. Probably have to hop cos i seen in the photos, some are really tight at the bottom, don't know if I can even sit down. LOL

I like A-line/empire wise but those 'sticking' to the body and not too flare type, like silk materials - i think it's silk cos it's from mag :p.

What is princess cutting?

anticipate: those that stick to body one is chiffon(dunno how to spell). they have silk ciffon..... chiffon is more romantic feel and softer.....

where else silk alone is shinny type, more like satin.

princess cutting is like a-line.... with a sharp cut at waist then the below fatter...... something like ballroom but not so kua zhang

you can visit www.theknot.com

but beware..... once u surf there..... u might not like sg stuffs le....lol

visha> ahh... i think it is chiffon and not pure silk as the ones i saw are not shiny. So that it is... how long does it take for MTM gown? Does yours take months?

for me it take around 6 to 9 months because i got 3 pieces ma.........

but of u are looking at chiffon material..... it will be quite cheap.... and not worth to do at bridal shop...... you can buy it online from usa.... somemore chiffon material is not veryvery fitting type, sizes is easy to get right.

but if u do it in singapore, should not cost more than $1000. ard 700-800 can get

can try
www.houseofbrides.com
www.bestbridalprices.com
www.davidsbridal.com

these are veryvery reputable online shop in usa.

thanks THANKS!! it certainly helps and I like buying online! hehe... haven't been buying off the local shops in ages since i started online shopping.. hehe

Woah! So fast this thread is moving!!

Anticipate: I'm almost going nutz! Sometimes I get so stressed that I wanna cry..haha! Will try to pace...

Visha: For 3k, you get WG, EG,CS (whats this one?) Thats a pretty good deal. I'm trying to get mine ala-carte too..but I don't want to think too much about it, until I settle the banquet thingy. Lighted Pixels are good! Seen their work, friend of mine used them.

visha: oh! Thanks! You really put in loads of efforts man..dunno if I can do that...heh! Think I would needs loads of advice to get it going! Phew!

pebz> neh... i'm probably going to take OTR, cos I don't think I'll even have time to sort out the details of MTM from scratch. And also don't want to keep the WG, etc. Some keep it but for me, no space to keep lah... haha

Don't get stress, take it easy and enjoy. This is probably one of the 'busiest and stressful' period but once in a lifetime!

haha.... i gonna keep the gown till after honeymoon then i sell it off myself

lol

not gonna keep for long.... no place to put.... collect dust only