Raffles Hotel

agag

pebz>> ya... better than on the west, otherwise i'll faint. hehe... Weekend is here!!!
Can't wait to go off... haiz... you enjoy yours too!

pebz

Anticipate: Hello! How was your weekend? I attended the Glamour Bash yesterday..saw quite a few gowns in the fashion show..ok la.. Didn't miss much..or anything rather..

agag

pebz>> weekend was too short like always! LOL Can't wait for Thursday night to come now... heehee...

Oh ya, almost forgot about the Bash, are there lots of people? Did you manage to sign up with any? Are those gowns from selected BS only?

pebz

Anticipate: Same here! There were lots of people but still manageable la..didn't suffocate or anything..haha! I didn't sign up with any as I did not intend to at the show..yup..only the selected BS that were participating..

agag

pebz>> ohh... okok... when is the 'latest' that you'll need to decide so that things are not so rush. Must set a time-limit, otherwise will just wait and wait... hehe...

agag

pebz> heehee... no wonder no 'sound' from you.. I think July should be ok but if can, try to sort out earlier... don't know if they will increase the pricing or what...

Just in case they are like Raffles Hotel, the prices went up so much! My frez who's enquiring about one the those in Sentosa, they increase by 1k which I thought is a LOT! So you're pretty much there and can shake leg loh... hehe...

pebz

Anticipate: Hmm..If you go for the slightly 'high-end' kind, I do not think there will be price adjustments? Usually the normal ones will have..but in anycase, its most important that I have to look good in it? Keke! 1k is alot! Think same theory with the hotels, higher-end ones will not see ALOT of diff..

Hoping to take it slow... Have you gotten your wedding bands?

agag

pebz>> neh... not getting wedding band, will use the proposal ring as my wedding ring. That's a BOMB so must wear it more often and come to think of it, more meaningful... cos he propose using that and it's like THE ring... personally feel that way lah... hehe... As for his, already making in process so hopefully can get it done before our PS. Otherwise, might have to do without it... I'll also need to go alter my ring size too...

visha>> is it just $100? Refer to the past postings, someone was telling me that the 2010 package is $1888 (the most expensive one) but the 2009 is $1488. That's like a $400 increase per table. Although they cover the live band but still $400 x 20 tables (min) = 8k. I'm sure can get some celebrity to host it... hehe... Haven't seen the new pricelist myself so not entirely sure about its offering. Just hear-say only lah..

pebz

Anticipate: I see..as long as you are comfortable.. Heh! I will be getting bands cuz (my) the 'ring' feels inappropriate for daily wear if you ask me.

agag

pebz> I do feel mine is not appropriate too leh... but can't leave it there and don't wear it, feel a bit bad to leave it there too. Hmmm... actually i saw a ring at Love&Co which I quite like and can use for daily wear, cost 1k. Still thinking whether should buy or not. My hb was telling me to wear the ring for now. Band can buy anytime in the future... he's that sort that's not concern about the ring or wedding or even the ceremony, feel that most important is 2 person staying true and together forever sort, the rest are just 'ritual'. Makes sense lah... i think of the same too but sometime still hoping for fairytale sort of scene. LOL

pebz

Anticipate: Keke! I can't bear to wear la. Scared kena scratched and all..intend to wear only for special ocassions..normal days just the band...I think if you tell him that you want the band, I'm very very sure he will say ok. Keke!

agag

pebz>> me too! Scare this and that or whatever... but come to think of it, how often are there special occasion... he also asked me to wear it then i said back "ok loh... if anything happens to it, then can get new one. Old one don't go, new one wouldn't come"... LOL

Ya... I think he would be ok to buy... think he sort of sense it and mention to buy but I said it's ok lah... seriously, don't have that many fingers to wear both the ring.

pebz

Anticipate: Dinners and weekends la..hehe! Ultimately its between the 2 of you.My theory is still quite traditional..so I would want a wedding band..

shingirl

actually nowaday alot of people wear 2 rings in one finger.

i be will wearing my enagement ring on top of my wedding band.

in fact in western country, they wear 3 rings in one finger. the husband usually buy the 3rd ring for the wife when they have their first child.

agag

visha>> agrees... nowadays many people are wearing 2 rings but for me, just find it a bit too 'bulky' lah... hehe... otherwise, one on the left and another on the right... LOL

pebz

visha: I like the idea of the 3rd ring! Haha! I think its what they call as a 'push' present. Sometimes can be rings..bags..

Anticipate: Think it through..cuz you do not wanna think back and regret...

chuar77

I have the following items for sale.
These are bought last month, thus in very new condition.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 9 bottles, $70 each

2) Chivas Regal 12 yrs, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $55 each

Please email to [email protected] or sms to 91106030 for enquiries now!

agag

hi pebz!! Oh ya... you said you're going to HK right? How's your trip??

all>> anyone has the Raffles Hotel package for 2010 huh? Can share with me?? Still thinking of what else I can ask from them...

pebz

agag: yes, I did. Fun but way too short..I also didnt have time to check out the wedding place as well.. I do have the packages for 2010. Can email you?

agag

pebz>> oh... you're going HK for your PS?? That's nice! When are you going? Have you finalised on your BS already?

Yes, please!! You may email me... THANKS!!

agag

pebz>> oh... when you said you don't have time to check out the wedding places, I thought you meant the places in HK for PS... Aren't you going with Four Season for your dinner?

My email is aggy_sg @ yahoo.com Thanks a lot!!

pebz

agag: I am with Four Seasons, what I meant was check out the complex which sells wedding stuff-accessories and all. I sent over already!

agag

pebz>> ohh... you meant those traditional guo da li stuffs? I heard there're a few in Chinatown, just need to go there and tell them you're getting married, they will sell you the whole package. But also depends on how comprehensive you want it to be...

Received your mail but no attachment leh...

agag

pebz>> you know what... I'm getting a band in the end!! LOL... was intending to wear my proposal ring maybe once a week until the AD... today is the first day and that's it... addicted! :p Going to get a rel plain and simply, possibly slimest possible so that maybe can wear together. My hb also cannot tahan me... :p

As for GDL stuffs, no, I'm not getting anything. going to give most of those a miss ba... Those are given by our mummy one huh? Like jia chuang? If so, skipping a lot of those, told my mom to skip but by then, she already bought the bedside lamp and tea set. Tea set a must lah, otherwise nothing to use for tea ceremony. Then she bought jewelleries for me too, that's it lor... As for things that my hb needs to give, nothing much also, going to use red packet to replace all.

w_w

20.09.2009 Wedding Dinner Package at Raffles Hotel Ballroom to let go.

Special date 20.09.2009
$1,200++ per table, min 30 tables.

Am posting on behalf of my friend. Serious buyer, please contact Jay at 82333387. Thanks.

pebz

anticipate: keke! wear together is nice! You intend to wear daily, as in both rings? Maybe you wear out and go insearch of band? Then can see whether match anot!!

I will be skipping some of the GDL stuff too!!

chrissyc

Hey Loy. Have you gotten the package yet? I think you can write to their coordinator: [email protected]. That's whom I got my qoutes from.

Aveline, I haven't gone for my food tasting and like you, thinking of not serving shark fins. But my mum seemed insistent of serving it though.

We are considering Raffles hotel as well. Does anyone have pictures of their ballroom setup and pictures at the table and the outside reception area?

Reason for asking is that we have seen the ballroom (without setup) and it seems abit bare, old and small...

ivan9127

Raffles hotel is having a wedding show on 6 Sept 09.

The prices are :

Luncheon with cocktail reception ( 11.30am starts )

SGD 88 per couple
SDG 48 per person

Cocktail reception only ( 2.45pm starts )

SGD 40 per couple
SGD 28 per person

Does anyone knows what many courses are serve on lunch ?
What are the programmes for that day ?

The price is much higher than the previous show. Not sure if it is worth the value to go. Even recent ST Regis charge much less.

chrissyc

I heard that Public Holidays and 10 October 2010 will not enjoy the perks because these are really hot dates.

Ya think Raffles is charging the highest for bridal shows but to think about it, S$44 per person for lunch is very affordable.

I will be having my wedding in December this year and had signed up for the Cocktail Reception tickets to see their latest setup, floral and wedding favours. Can't wait!

cubitus81

Just want to share my experience for those who will purchase wines on consignment basis. Please be careful as Raffles Hotel did not handle my wines correctly during my wedding lunch. As a result, the labels of some of my wine bottles are ruined and I was not able to return the wines to the seller.

Please remind them to handle your wines carefully.

vershawn

hi anyone here who has held their wedding at raffles hotel?

I've booked mine and was invited to the wedding show recently...boy, did i get a shock when i saw the bridal suite! it's SO SMALL!!!!!!!...i've been to so many bridal suites of my friends at different hotels and this is the SMALLEST i've ever seen...it's like a normal hotel room, just slightly bigger...and i'm paying so much more!!!!

any idea if I can actuali 'upgrade' my room? Need to know the cost too...everything is about $ in Raffles....gosh....