Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
but for EG, that can keep and wear it for other function... unless it's more elaborated then probably harder to find a suitable occassion to wear..

pebz> ya... like what visha said, there're several different cuts so if you're looking to MTM, then go to the BS and try the 'cuts' to see which is more suitable.

actually, never ever think that you are gonna wear the evening gown again..... which is in the fact.... you will not.....

because..... everyone is gonna remember what u wear on ur wedding..... if you wear again.... ppl will say " wah...... same gown as ur wedding ah?"..........

lol

visha> LOL, that's true. Otherwise you have to wear it to attend those function organised by ppl who aren't present at the wedding... heehee... but i think probably would have the chance cos i think EG would probably be a little more 'elaborated' than the usual pte function EG cos have to be different from the guests right?

Wonder if anyone would be wearing the same design, then that would be embarassing...

Anticipate: Hmm..I initially still thought I would to have a MTM WG & EG..but come to think of it, am not sure now...Since its so true that we might not even wear again.. Did you manage to see any over the weekend?

pebz> no... didn't manage to visit any over the weekends cos HTB not in town, just came back yesterday only so hopefully able to do something coming long weekend... hehe

Actually getting a little lazy... lol :p

I just spoke with Tracey last week and I am so happy la..she was so energetic and i love her ideas so much.

She was very helpful and i can't wait to get the 2010 packages from her. she say got lots of changes and i can't wait to seem them lor.

super excited!!

grace> congrates to you and it's good to hear of your excitment and liking for the place!
welcome to become an official Raffles Hotel BTB!

Btw, what 'lots of changes' is she referring to? The hotel undergoing renovation??

Anticipate: thx so much la..i am not even bothering with other hotels already la..no point!

the changes she is referring to are to the packages. 2010 is gonna be different to the 2009 ones la...it's quite excited and suspicious hehe!

Visha: wow, the gowns on the websites you posted are amazing. thank you ver much for sharing.

I'm gonna hve everything a la carte also lor...this way i get what i want without anyone telling me otherewise..it's like so much better!

wowww....... DUN SCARE ME!!..... if raffles is gonna renovate..... it's gonna deflict the purpose of being raffles.....lol...... and i cant accept during my wedding.... there's those contruction wood panels around

Grace: Congrats on being ala carte. You'll defintely enjoy the planning much more because everything is gonna be soooooo YOU...... esp the pre-wedding phot-shoot part.
And ya..... the websites got lots of design..... but actually from there you dun really see the real design..... u have to go to the gown's brand website to see it.

grace> ohh... i see... wonder what the changes are, i'm just a few days away from 2010... heehee... Now, i'm wondering what the changes are... are they going to lower their pricing? hehe

visha> no lar... they are preserving the building so no reno, i'm just kidding. HOWEVER, they have weekly or bi-weekly painting, can't remember so perhaps you'll see the painting work going on.

Visha: thx...there's gonna be alot of diddle daddle la but it will be worth it.

Anticipate: hahaha we shall see lor

Raffles is great man! the ppl are so friendly and efficient. can't wait to get things in place and start to really plan. anyhoo..it's a small amount of ppl so there isn't much logistics..got a few contacts from Tracey, thank god she is so kind with her contacts la, so i'm sure the ppl know the venue, no need to think too much la haha

grace> ya lor ya lor... hopefully I wouldn't have to bang my head against the wall too much! hehe... btw, what other logistics contacts are you engaging outside? I'm a little lost on that... so far, haven't think of any addition to it apart from maybe getting a band/string quartet...

Anticipate: About $100? But the grandeur package went up to 1,888?? Everything looks pretty much the same..I do not think prices will be reduced amongst the higher-end hotels..

pebz? wow! that's quite a lot of an increase. The grandeur package cost 1488 now so it's a $400 increase?! I saw in the news recently that they are practising cost cutting - shutting down 2 of their toilets...

You better bargain and see if you can get them to give you more things, ie. extra room, no cockage fee... not sure what others you can ask...

Anticipate: Haha! The price freaked me out! Most likely I would not be going with them due to the number of guests that I'm having..

pebz> ya man... if you are talking about $50-100, that's is understandable but $400 is way too much! But you were saying that you might consider having your ROM there? how is that going?

Anticipate: She quoted me also quite ex that one. Abt 98++ per pax? Thats buffet lunch..Will need to decide that soon..

pebz> oh ya... if taking lunch it would be much more expensive, my eyes nearly dropped too... LOL. If you don't mind to go with canape, can go with the ROM package which is about 1999++ for 20 pax and subsequent is 46++ or something like that...

Taking the cost aside, i quite like The Lawn and having the ROM there but too bad...

pebz> yeah... I do agree and weather has been crazy these days! To add on, rain is a common sight in Singapore!

pebz & anticipate: The Lawn is wonderful la..I'm think of having my ROM there before the dinner. I understand from Tracey that we can put up a tent, which will gurantee a solemnization at the lawn lor..sounds good to me...she even gonna help me get contacts lor..fantastic..one less thing less to plan hor..haha

I was looking through the package..actually got a lot of changes leh..i'm gonna discuss with Tracey soon, quite confident that Tracey will be able to help me alot with planning!

anyhoo...like the grandeur comes with a band..i hear bands can go for 3-6k dependig on what kind and how many pieces lor...if they include it in, then (hehe) another thing to not think about kekekeke..

grace> you'll need to check with Tracey if the tent requires additional $. My friend was asking about it previously and I think it cost about 4k or something like that?

Oh really? The grandeur package includes the band now?! Was that the 2009 package or the new 2010 package? Can share the package price cos I can't find on their website...

hi can i hav the 2010 RH package list as well. I hav chosen RH as my venue but will be booking end yr instead as my dinner is 31st oct 2010.My email is [email protected]. Appreciate it alot. Any idea wen will be their wedding showcase tis yr?

hi! i'm thinking of having my wedding banquet either at four season's or Raffles hotel...anyone has the packages for these 2 hotels for year 2010? Appreciate if you can send them to me. My email is [email protected]. How many months in advance should we place booking? Any advice? Thanks! =)

Anticipate: I have signed with FH, all 3 events. heh! Am gonna take a breather before I start anything else. How's gown hunting so far?

June: Like you, I was torn between Four Seasons and Raffles. But cuz of tables, I signed up with Four Seasons. Prices start from $1,038++. But they are quite sticky with perks..Mine is in July 2010. Now would be good to go see and secure? Cuz some already booked on my date..

June> I'm afraid I don't have the 2010 list but you can email them, they will send it over to you, no obligations needed.

pebz> that's great! A major strike off from your list! so happy for you!
I have visit one of the local BS over the weekend and yes! I have signed up for it, with Di Gio. Had saw their gowns in the magazine and have a liking for them for a while... didn't visit others too so just go there, try on a few and saw one which I quite like... then there we go! hehe... I think I can also shake leg like you liao... what's next on your list to do?

Anticipate: Thats great. I have heard of them too but will not be considering them @ all - personal issue. Nothing wrong with gowns/service. I think I needa look at gowns too..but I want to take a break 1st..Hee! Think I might not be going for any MTM except Tea Dress? Cuz WG and EG..wearing for quite a short period only... u?

pebz> oh okok... good to hear that it's not something wrong with their gown, etc... saw some mixed reviews about them but so far, very happy with the 'first' meeting. But then, they're eyeing me to sign up so can't really tell... hehe...

I took mine all OTR, a bit lazy to design and do up the gown although I know it's once in a lifetime but... that's me lah... hehe.. Wanted to MTM at first but as I plan, energy fading... haha

For the Tea Dress, I'm probably going for Kua for have to see their designs too. Some are really bulky and big... makes me like giant... haha... yet to decide. Going for the first WG selection in late June after I came back from my PS in Taiwan. I'm now so excited about June and can't wait for it to come... seems like lots of things happening then! hehe

Which BS are you looking at? Are you going for the full package - PS + AD, etc? I was looking at The Silhouette too previously but never had a chance to go down... I think once you're settled on the BS, pretty much relaxing phase.. not really sure what's next I should do. LOL

Anticipate: I haven't really narrowed down to which BS...will give it some thought later..anyways I will be going to the Style Weddings Glamour Bash - will cover some BS though..start there? My HTB is quite particular on photography (this section leave it to him)..Maybe pre-wedding would be casual ones?

pebz> just done a quick search on the Glamour Bash you're talking about, I didn't know there's one there, otherwise shall wait until then cos Di Gio is there!!
Anyway, below is their programme of the bash, doesn't seem to have too many BS...

Programme:
1) Banquet showcase by Fairmont Singapore and Swissotel The Stamford.
2) Designer Showcase 2009 featuring Ted Wu.
3) Style:Weddings Celebrities Bridal Couture featuring Di Gio Bridal, French Studio & Bridal Boutique, La Belle Couture, Z Wed D¡¯sign, My Dream Weddings, WhiteLink and My Bridal Room.
4) Sumptuous high-tea buffet by culinary team of Fairmont Singapore and Swissotel The Stamford.
5) Wedding preparation workshops.
6) Style:Weddings Dream Bridal Wardrobe Draw. Win a gown from Divine Couture, and sparklers from Lee Hwa Jewellery, all worth S$16,000!

Anticipate: haha! enough for me lah. One-time see about 8 BS? have high-tea...lucky draw..can la! Have you signed with Di Gio? As in formally?

pebz> yes, I have signed up with them formally lor... just last Sat. Didn't know about this bash, and better not know too much details, otherwise, I'll go bang my head again. haha... After I came out from the shop, suddenly feel that I should ask for this and that, etc, etc... When I'm inside, brain a bit slow... LOL. Paid 4k... and kept nagging to my HTB then he said, "you should be used to it already, you're always 'ba ka' (ie. 'meat leg')...

Anticipate: Ok, then I shall not tell you anything about the bash.. whats that slang? erm..usually too kan-cheong will not be able to think of all the possible problems or whatever..unless you have a check-list on-hand..In that way, shops love to 'pressure' a customer.. Never mind, it will be ok..can share your package? email me? [email protected]

pebz> hehe... but curiousity kills the cat and I'll still be kpo to know. :p

he meant to say that I'm the fat meat, always kena 'chopped' by people... hehe...

As for my package, I'm not taking the all-in-one stuffs cos I've got my pre-wed BS so it's just on the AD. Would you be interested in that?

Btw, their 'standard' all in package starts from $3288 before the bargaining.

pebz> haha... he's always very evil but I have to agree with him. hahaha...

Sent the mail. Btw, have look into your shoe? Any idea to share where to buy huh? I think I need to start sourcing around, needs to get it by my PS in June.

Anticipate: Just saw and responded to your email. Shoes? No la. But I did see an ad in a wedding magazine. Essex Walk? Something like that..Google it?

pebz> spending too much on all the rest of the things and thinkin of 'saving' a little on the shoes since no one can see... haha... but but... always backfire on such a thought! :p

Those in bridal magzines cost few hundreds right? I don't intend to spend so much as I don't think I'm wearing all that often. Maybe getting a silver color one which can match both my WG and EG... and thereafter for any dinner function, etc. Some are too 'bridal/wedding' look and it's difficult to mix-n-match. Was walking around the shoe stores but don't seem to see any nice ones.

Are you going to get any shoes?

visha> you're finally here... has been a while since I last 'saw' you. hehe... Are their shoes comfortable? I know their style probably fits and are quite high... but some are quite painful to wear. Perhaps can go check it out - thanks!! Any others to share? :p

Anticipate: I'm doing everything a la carte. Photography, gowns & makeup..I just got my gown and evening gown..hehe only took me 1 week lor..Saw and fell in love la..it's just super pretty.

grace> wow! that's fast!! 1 week to settle all?! How did you manage that? hehe... so now can join me to shake leg... heehee

ANTICIPATE: haha.... cos i silent reader.......
i find that guess shoes are comfortable compared to shoes around the same price range......

like ALDO is totally not comfortable. nine west i don't quite like becos recently their design is not so bling...... and also made in china... =P

and guess always have discount so a decent pair cost less than $100.