Qian Xi Restaurant??

Hi lily, u've got mail!

hi petrina, i havent sign yet. Maybe i will wait until Oct05 then sign cos my fri say its better to wait nearer the date then sign. Or u gals think i should sign up now??

hi maggie, i havent confirm yet. my bro's wedding is a great success. Although its a weekday, almost every one turn up.. 99.9% show up
He make a profit of 6K. Lets hope all of us also make that much or even more.

hi gin, u intend to retake your indoor shots? actually i find your photos very pretty leh.. I intend to follow maggie's suggestion. AD then go outdoor to take extra photos to save money. Cos every extra photo at my BS, i need to pay $80. Too much $. Low budget.

Hi chill1padi, initially i intend to bring mine and his family members to go for the food tasting straight after our rom. Abt 5 months to our AD. But I have drop the idea cos i think need to have 2 tables. Anyway, i think there is no exact day as to when its best to go. Maybe will just book 1 day when i feel like having a big feast.

Cheryl: Your pics are so lovely. U look sooo radiant and so happy! I love ur wedding gown! I always like gowns with trains like yours.
glad to hear that ur guests enjoyed the food.
May i know which menu u chose?

Chill1padi: I intend to go for food tasting a few months before AD, maybe during a special occassion or something. And at the same time choose invitation cards, so must def be a few months before so they have time to print. Like what the rest had said, just go when u feel like it.

Bubblybride: I'm a fellow bride of Farrer Park and I intend to do a bit of deco. Must haves are red rose petals on the floor forming the red carpet (cos heard that QX dun have red carpet) and rose petals spread on the tables and reception. Also thinking of balloons but then they have low ceiling so dunno if it'll make it shorter. I may get my frens or cousins to help deco the place cos most of them have event management experience so no prob for them.

angel: wow.. ur bro's wedding must be a huge success! U all must have enjoyed urselves! and he earned so much somemore! I hope to earn also.. *cross fingers* is it at chengdu also? Actually since u both decided on the venue, why wait leh? Cos if urs is on a hot date, other ppl might book it also.

Ya ya, i agree with Maggie.. I also like wedding gown that has a train behind... Like that then it look more like a wedding gown hor.. But mine dun have..Sobsob.. Those with the train the design i dun like it..

hi lily and maggie

Indeed wedding gown with train behind look good! But hor, very stress too.....

My wedding gown has a 2m train. Alot of stress, especially I am very "chu lu" I had a long train because I intend to have my solemnisation during the banquet.

Maggie..

hahaha.. all your comments are so funny.. especially the *cross fingers* hope can earn one.. hehe.. i think every bride wants that..

i'm also thinking of whether to put ballooms but the expo ceiling so high.. haha.. one so low one so high.. so funny!! i'm going to put tea lights on every table so that it'll be like a candle light dinner.. and maybe get a ivory or cream coloured cloth for the 'carpet'.. hmm. still thinking for more ideas..

actually after i have seen cheryl dinner photo, i was kind of excited. The last time i saw expo was the period when they are still doing the reno.... no feel yet.

chill1padi,

expo now is very nice already.. but i think that they should change their flower stand deco.. coz its not very nice.. too artificial for my liking.. maybe i'll do away with them and add my own flowers.. hehe

hi petrina

I was thinking of getting my own florist to decorate the place... yet to bring them down to take a look. Any idea what the budget like?

Ya, i love gowns with trains.. have a very princessy feel but also quite cumbersome, very mafun. but dunno whether i'm suitable for long trains cos i'm quite short, not sure if it'll shorten me further. :P I think for church weddings with extremely looong aisle then it'll have a better effect with long trains.

chill1padi: i think there's a way to hold ur train so it wun get into the way. ask ur BS about it and they should be able to help u. If not, get one of ur bridesmaid to help you.
actually, i think it'll be cheaper to get the flowers from the florist and ask ur frens to decorate for u. i think it will be much more expensive to get the florist to do decorations. what kind of decos are u thinking about?

Petrina: hahaha.. sigh.. i think i too free liao, keep planning what to do and all. i thot of using the candle light before and then after much thinking, dun sound very feasible leh. it seems like the candles will get in the way of the guests when they're eating and also, i always have the perception that there will be lack of oxygen cos candles take up oxygen for burning. Imagine the whole hall of candles.. i feel suffocated already.. hahaha.. but may be nice to put it on the recept table or at the champagne pouring glasses there.

hi maggie, my bro's wedding is held at conrad. The event is quite grand but i find the food and service so-so only. I think i will book ard Oct05. Cos i think now still very early to book.

chill1padi,

i am thinking of getting my aunt to do the flower decor for me coz she knows a bit of flower decorations.. and as what maggie says.. it really is cheaper to buy wholesale flowers and get your friends to do it.. i have not enquired about florist prices yet.. but i believe that they are not cheap.. maybe to decor can come up to $500??

maggie ah.. me too.. i also too free liao.. keep thinking about other ideas to beautify the restaurant.. the main thing is that i dun want the restaurant to 'look' like a restarant.. coz i should make full use of the high ceilings and pillarless area to make it seem like a hotel ballroom instead.. keke..

Hi maggie, thanks for your compliments! My menu was fm last time Marina south one cos initially I booked there but they din cont with the lease so they asked me to change to other outlets. I dun noe wat menu they provide at expo now leh.

Hi maggie
My BS did teach me to hold up the train, but sometimes I keep forgetting about the train and tends to 'U-turn' and '3pt turn'. My designer reminded me to get a bridemaid to hold the train too.

Hi petrina

Next week I will go down with my florist to check out the place. They will try to work around this my budget too. But like what have mentioned if it is around $500, then I think can still consider.

But my options are opened!

hey chill1padi!

so weird.. i remember posting a message here yesterday but its not here now!! *stratch head*

anyway.. for the florist thingy.. actually sometimes i find that its a lot more hassle-free to engage a pro to do it.. but its always the costings that are making me stop and think whether do i really want to spend on the decor.. hmm.. maybe if i can do everything myself then it would be cheaper..

then i can spend more on the videographer and photographer.. heehehehe..

Hi maggie

Have u tried the food tasting at FR QX?

Becos this is one of the resturant I am considering. From the forum, I saw that your brother is having his banquet at CHeng du. Can you share with me the how is Cheng Du also. Thanks.

GIN, Cheryl & maggie I see your mei mei photos.
Can email me at [email protected]

Hi YaYa,

I dun have a brother so that person whose bro had a banquet in ChengDu is not me. I had eaten at FP QX before and both my hubby and i liked it. My mum also had a dinner there and she likes the food there also. One of my hubby's fren's gf also commented that the best wedding dinner she went to was at FP QX so i had a lot of confidence in their food.

As for ChengDu, I had never eaten there so i dunno how's the food like. But it's a sister company of QX so should be not bad also.

Hey Petrina and Chill1padi,

Maybe it's cheaper to get flowers from the florists in the wet markets if u intend to do ur own deco. The flowers that I normally buy (for colleagues and friends - be it bouquet or stalk) are from my trusted market florist and everytime, my frens will comment that the flowers are very nice and cheap and the bouquet wrapping are also normal flower shops standard. For example, I always buy sunflowers (by stalk) for my frens and the nice auntie will charge me $2 per stalk and it's really fresh and big while those from the flower shops in town sell one stalk for $5 and they're almost dead. The other time, during my cousin's wedding, my sis and i went to ask the auntie for some rose petals for my cousins march in and the auntie gave us one big bag for free!
The auntie also wrapped my ROM hand bouquet (lots of good comments received also) and she charged me $70 but she din accept that much from me on the actual day. So do remember the florist in the market. Cos i think a lot of flower shops charge disgusting high prices.

Hi YaYa,
My AD not yet..so no pics to show you. Cheryl's can be seen on my photographer's website...I msn u already..

Hi maggie,

i know what u mean about those florist shops in the market.. i too think that they are so much better, fresher and cheaper in terms of their flowers..

your auntie is very kind to give u a bag full of rose petals for free! guess u must be a regular there.. hehe..

Hi maggie

Thanks for your advise. But are they able to do up the decorations in the ballroom???

Anyway today just browse through my CD collection, just finish compiling 64 love songs for my FH to shortlist. Is the sound system at Bliss Garden good. How many songs did you use during the AD

Hi Pet,
If im using petals for march in, i will go for those florist shops in the market....its only $1 a packet and its quite a big bag wor.

Market shops are good in value..hehhee...not sure abt deco though.

Hi Chill1padi,

I dunno if they are able to do the deco, that's y i said u need to help of ur frens for that -- get the flowers from the market florists and do it urself. For me, I'm getting my cousin to do all the flowers stuffs for me cos she is from the Ikebana club and she had training in flower arrangements in US before. She used to do all the car deco and bouquet (and even hair accessories) for my family members who married and all real flowers, very very pretty. i still think that getting a pro florist to do deco will be very ex cos i dun think u can do much deco also. Ask ur market florist and see what they say.

BTW, my AD not so soon so i dunno the sound system of Bliss Garden.

Hi Pet!

Yah, I'm a regular, was the unofficial "flower-buyer" when i was doing my internship cos the flowers i bot are fresh and cheap. Hee.. And my mum always buys from there.

Hi Yaya,

I haven't had my AD yet so no pics to show u also.

hi maggie

you are lucky to have friends to help you. Not as lucky as you. I think I may have to get florist to do liao.

Sorry, I wanted to ask cheryl about the sound system.

Hi chill1padi, the sound system there is superb. So you dun have to worry abt it.

Hi Yaya, you may go to my photographer's website to view my pics.

Hi Cheryl,

Did you get anyone to redo the flowers again??
Been there yesterday for lunch and somehow dun really like the flowers.. To be frank, think the flowers do spoilt the whole image of the layout..Such a waste...

Hi chill1padi,

U manage to get get the quote for re-doing the flowers??

Has any of the expo bride spoken to Susanna about the flower layout???

hi lily

I will only bring my florist to the restaurant later part of the week. I will then share with the rest of you once I got the information.

hi lily

I will giving wedding flavour. In fact I should be getting from Duet Forte.

Now I was thinking whether should get a professional EMCEE or not?

Hi chill1padi, I used kevin kern song to play during my powerpoint slideshow. Then I used "I do (cherish you)" for my 1st march in. Then "Everyday I love you" for 2nd march in. I passed him the Michael Buble CD & kevin kern CD asking the DJ to play it throughout the whole nite as background music. So dun worry. Wat I do is I list the songs down, which track, which cd and in sequence for him. So tat he will not get confused.

Hi lily, I did not like the flowers too. But after getting the quote fm florist to redo the flower stands in the restaurant, its over my budget so have to live with it lor. I just tell myself the flower stands r gonna be there for 5hrs. And everyone is not going to keep looking at the flower stands. So dun waste the money. hahahahah....

Hi petrina. Yah. the sound system there is superb. I am impressed by it. Yes. I did show my slideshow.

Thanks cheryl

As time is getting nearer to my AD. The more I panick! I think I know what to do with the music liao, background music copied into 1 or 2 disk. The "important" music will be in another!

Thanks again

Hi Cheryl,

Is true lor, to redo the flowers is quite ex...Maybe the flowers is not nice, the attention is on the bride instead...hahaha

hi lily

EMCEE is master of Ceremony (mc). Someone who will host the whole wedding ceremony!

There's different view of whether to engage a professional MC or to get friends or even the banquet to do it.

But personally, I have discussed with my FH, we got friends who can do the talking on stage, but just feel they may not be good to create the kind of mood we wanted for our wedding. So we decided to engage a professional to do it.

Hi Chilli1padi,

Personally, I feel that a friend will be better than someone as they know you guys better..
You are right that they might not be profesional lor...

Hi lily

It all depends on what kind of ambience you wanted the whole wedding to have. For us, we will prefer to have something more romantic and serious, furthermore we are going to have our solemnisation at the banquet too.

Anyway we are still toying about the ideas. Still trying to see whether any of my friends or staffs can do the mc-ing!

hi lily

Officially, I not married yet! So both my FH and I are enjoying our singlehood now. Next month then we will sent in our application to ROM.

I am pretty excited, the fact that everything will change in another 3months plus. From Miss to Mrs. And hopefully, end of next year, we can become parent.

I just checked with a florist from the wet market. They sell the rose petals at $8/kg. According to her, is about the size of the normal NTUC plastic bag (full). Can be assorted colours or single colour.

Ohh so u better enjoy the last 3 mths of you singlehood... But not too bad, you look at Cherly, she is so happy and contented after her ceremony...Rite Cheryl??
Any suggestions for the colour of the rose petal???Becos on Sun when I went, the color of the carpet is red??

Hi lily, yah. I am very happy and contented after my ceremony. In fact, when I went down to see the banquet hall, I asked the boss Tony to switch off the cove ceiling color to just blue and not their style of changing the colors. Then I asked them to put a white cloth on the 2 round blue 'tables' on stage as I dun like the blue. And asked them to change the color of the roses on the flower stands. After that, my hubby told me not to as it will inconvenience the ppl there. And he said, its only 1 nite and ppl will not go there to keep staring at those tables, ceiling n flowers. So i listened to him. And indeed, even I also dun really go and look at these stuffs. hahahhaha.. like wat u said, the attention will be on the bride! hahahahah

As for the rose petals, you can opt for pink and champagne cos the carpet is in red. so no point taking red roses petals as there's no contrast.

Hi yaya, y dun u give me ur email add so tat I can send the link to u.