Qian Xi Restaurant??

trina_wys

hehehe!!

hey maggie and gin!! of course i know that real one is better.. but still got so long to go.. so just have to be contented with the dream lor.. hahaha..

maggie.. i've email kai and he is very nice guy..
i'll do my best to persuade my fh to get them..

gin ah.. your photos are nice leh.. how come u say not nice? dun be sad.. maybe as a consolation.. u can re-take your wedding photos when its your 5 year anniversary?? hehe..

gals,

how many types of invitation cards does QX have? are they nice?

nini

Hi Maggie & Angel,
Thanks for giving me the info of the beautiful sights...
I will look around 1st cos my AD will b next year...

Hi Petrina,
Actually, i also quarrelled with my hubby regarding the photograher things...guys always like that never interested abt these kind of things...they alway feel that take photos only mah... why must b so ex...

eiggam

Hi kelly!

Your PS will be in Dec or Jan next year rite? then u have lots of time to look around. you can ask ur PG also cos they should know where have nice nice scenaries.

Hi Pet!

Yah, Kai is very nice and he's very funny also. very helpful also, just asked him some photography qns and he answered them promptly. but the one thing i'm not comfortable with initially is that they start at 7am and anything before that, they charge extra. cos i'm teochew normally will start early but then my mum told me that must look at the tong shu for auspicious hrs so also dunno what time start. so i just tkae them first then see how much extra i have to pay. sigh..
i asked suzanna abt the invitation cards before and she showed me the whole book. quite a lot but mostly quite cheena. my hubby and i wanted something cheena anyway so it was ok with us.

trina_wys

maggie,

he never reply to my email leh!!

so sad.. guess i better email him again.. so weird.. it seems hard to get him..

they start at 7am? do u know how much more do they charge for an hour if earlier? i'm also teochew.. but my fh is not.. we may not need to follow the traditions then.. hopefully!! otherwise its more money..

gals.. when do u all confirm the menu and cards with suzanna? how long in advance do i need?

please advice..

celica75

pai sey ... to reply so late.
far too busy wif work :p
Petrina ... will update u once the date confirmed.
Currently still waiting the tong shu to be out, however will be in Feb 2006.
My BS : Golden Horse
Photographer : probably Yew Kwang, pending if he is available on my AD.
QianXi branch :Expo
Love Nest : AMK

Hi maggie,
The layout ah...i can do better.
My photographer for PS is from my BS. He does the layout too. Ya collected my cards. Will be distributing out b4 chinese 7th month. The design of my card is peach color with gold xi outside.

hi girls... long time never come in liow, been so busy.
Gin, Maggie, yes, managed to see all of your beautiful beautiful pics. Nice nice...
I still waiting for mine, should be able to get the soft copies next mth.

A question to ask all - May I know how are you going to pay for the banquet? By cheque? By Credit Card? or Cash??
I'm afraid I do not have enuff cash to pay up after the dinner... Credit card, I don't think enuff limit right? Does Qianxi accept Cheque? At least can bank in next morning...

eiggam

Petrina: I told Kai about him not replying your emails. He said he did but he said he'll go check again. He told me to apologise to you cos they have lots of mails everyday and will try to reply all asap. But he still can't figure out why he missed your email the first time. If he didn't reply your email just email him again. Or just add him to msn and msn him.

they charge $50 per PG per hr if start earlier, which is quite ex compared to other PG. That's y i'm praying hard that dunneed to start so early. i dunno about the menu and cards thingy. see what the other brides say.

Gin: i think i know what card u're talking about. i like the ones with the "xi" word also. So sad to hear about the layout thingy. Sorry that i'm so kaypoh, i read from the Dawn's thread that you are going to do another PS? not happy with your initial one isit? i thot it's nice leh. why leh?

Bubblybride: Altho' it's still a long way to go, my hubby and i decided to pay by credit card. You can increase your credit limit for that few days by calling the bank in advance (think one week or so but u better check with the bank on this). i think better to pay by credit card cos can chalk up points. Do share your pics when they're ready!

Hi bubbly,
I wil be paying by cash on that nite.

Hi Maggie,
Ya...wanted to go another BS to take..but perhaps not due to budget constraints. Did feedback to my BS and they will be redoing some of them...

trina_wys

Hi maggie,

haha.. kai replied already.. he apologised coz he was really busy last week and that he has 40 over mail within a day.. its ok.. at least now i know that i've got to wait for him to reply and not that he doesn't have my mail.. hehe

wah.. $50 per photographer.. then it'll be $100 liao if start at 6am.. more money involved..

gals.. i agree with maggi leh.. use credit card can chalk up more points.. hehe.. then can use the points to exchange for free gifts.. haha..

eiggam

Bubblybride: I'm not sure how much limit we can increase to but i think you can tell the bank what limit you want it to be. You better check with the bank on this. But better increase more than what you think you're supposed to pay in case there's more cost involved than what you had calculated to be.

Gin: Oh good, at least they'll be re-doing some of them. Dun worry so much. Actually, my AD gown designers were telling me no point taking PS (they dunno that i'd done my PS) and said that on AD itself, just go to some nice nice place and take pics and DIY own album and it will just be the same. They even showed me one "album" that they did for one of their customers and it looked exactly the same as what my photography BS showed me as their "new" album style. The album is those black types one and the photos are like mini collages pasted on the pages. very good effect and very different. they even told me that that customer is very rich but wanted something different than the normal styled albms so save money on PS and did the album with them. My hubby very heartpain spent so much money on PS since our gown designers said they can do it for us for free after our AD and it'll be the same as that from BS. I feel that no need to spend extra money on PS since no one looks at them after wedding anyway but if you want, go to an outdoor location on your AD and ask your AD PG to take some photos. I think the effect will be better since on your AD, you'll def look more radiant and beam from the heart.

Petrina: Glad that he finally got back to you.
Yah, quite ex. if u need them to come earlier, make sure they got things to take. Kai told me that once, the groom told him to go to his house at 4am and refused to let kai take pics of him getting ready. In the end, kai ended up taking photos of his house instead but the groom wasted so much money lo. So make sure that before you tell him wat time to come, you have something for him to do lo or else waste money.

prettyangel

hi bubblybride and maggie, just to share with u gals that i got ask suzanna before. She say only accept cheque and cash for AD but credit card can be used for paying deposit. Its best that u gals check with her again.. just in case..

trina_wys

ahahahahah... maggi.. kai ended up taking photos of the house? its so funny!!

angel.. are u sure about the cash and cheque thingy only? oh no! then can forget about accumlating points liao..

any of u gals going to meet eith tony or suzanna soon? maybe can help us clarify this issue??

gin.. i find that what maggi says is true.. dun spend more money to retake your PS.. just get a better AD photographer and he can take nice shots for u too.. i've seen lots of ppl do that and at the same time.. the quality is very much similar..

eiggam

Hi angel!

long time never see you here liao, how's venue-seaerching? Settled already? Missed talking to you.

Really cannot use credit card ah? I thot can leh cos i thot the chalking up points thingy was told to me by suzanna and we used credit card to pay for deposit. i better check with them.

HI Pet!

Yah, Kai very funny one. Meet up with him soon lah. Actually, i checked out another PG that offers dual PGs and their cost is $11xx can't rem the last two numbers but they dun do printing for you at all, just photography only. So i think kalyedoscope's dual PGs is considered ok. What are the other PGS you're looking at?

ya... have checked with suzanna already. She said she can only accept cheque and cash, not credit card. I am not sure what's the reason but it's good for us. at least we don't need to worry about how much we can increase the credit limit of credit card.

prettyangel

hi petrina, think bubblybride has answered your question. Actually i am thinking of using citibank dividend card. Can get 3% cash back some more but too bad cant be used.

hi maggie, missed u all too.. so come in to kpo. :p actually i have decided on my AD- should be on 21 May 06. Its a sunday though i prefer saturday but no good day on may06. I havent confirm on my venue but most probably will be at chengdu Rest. I heard is sister company of Qian xi. Considered the fact that its at orchard area and they will give me a bridal room.
But i havent book yet cos very busy with my bro's wedding--tomor..

hi bubblybride, u very cute..
Normally pple prefer to use credit card cos can accumulate points and can drag for another month or so. I think the reason for unable to use credit card is becos some banks will charge the restaurant up to 5%.. I find quite unfair to them but i wish i can use credit card to pay too..

trina_wys

hi maggi,

i am also interested in a*tz photography (replace* with n).. but he's a single photographer.. his cost is $688 for AD..

bubblybride.. thanks for the info.. oh yes.. i remember now.. yes the bank does charge a certain percentage when using the credit card so its not a good option for them.. can u imagine if my dinner is 25K.. then 5% of 25K will be $1250.. its like 2 tables losses for them.. so really not worth it..

wah.. but if can only pay cash or cheque.. then its either to open up all the angpows on the night itself (which is not very nice) or have enough money in your bank for the cheque.. wah.. *faint..

eiggam

sighz.. i wish can pay by credit card also so can gain points and dun need to worry about not enuff ang baos on that day or not enuff cash in the bank like what Pet said.
headache..

angel: ooh.. so fun! your bro's wedding tmr. guess u must be very bz!! u been to chengdu before? i went there to check out but i din like surroundings leh. but they have a small ballroom for you? enjoy your bro's wedding!

Petrina: I told u that anthony from a*tz is the backup of kai before rite? They shoot the same style so he's a good choice also. I actually saw his wedding pics, very funky. hahaha.. very funny also. have u heard of sam wong? i like his style also but too bad he replied me very very late (i emailed him thrice and he din reply until 2 weeks after the third email) after i signed up with kai. his price is $680 and quite a comprehensive package.

Hi Maggie,
Actually, to me, if you invited alot of friends, I guess it should be able to recover. Actually I only cater ard $3k for the lost..perhaps might be too much too..who noes?

I actually intend to lock myself in the room after the whole wedding to count the ang baos and pay in cash on that nite.. :p

sleeepi

Ya is true that they only accept cash or cheque payment.
According to Tony, if we do not have all the cash on that day, we can pay portion of it and pay the rest the next day. If not, issue a cheque for them with a clearing date few days later.. Tony and Susanna are nice pple,can let them know in advance about the payment arrangement

sleeepi

Then if that is the case, write a cheque with a clearing date few days later, so that you have enough time to count the red packet and deposit to the bank.
This should solve it rite??

I left with 2.5 mths to my AD...erm...no feelings now actually..hahaha..not excited...nothing...

prettyangel

hi maggie, i have been to the place before--twice. My fh find the ballroom quite old but i find it quite alright. Indeed the surrounding is not very ideal but consider the fact that its at orchard area and bridal room will be provided so I decided on there. All the terms & conditions are similar to qian xi eg free flow of beer..

trina_wys

hi angel..

so u've confirmed your banquet already is it?

gin,

u can take more photos during your AD and it will be rather similar with your PS shots.. dun spend extra money to re-take the entire PS.. it could come up to quite a bit.. save the money and spend it on your honeymoon!!

Hi pet,
I decided to retake only the indoor shots. I wil be taking out my extra pics money from my BS to retake as I top up quite abit for my photos.

eiggam

Hi angel!

Chengdu is the sister branch of qianxi so i believe that it's should be ok. U confirm there already? Then next time you can join us in here! How was your bro's wedding?

Hi Gin,

I hope your indoor retake will turn out better. Will your BS be doing the retaking or will it be some other BS? You have 2months left, will it be ready in time?

Hey all gals,

I'm doing a list of things to do counting down to my AD. May I know what are the important things to do?

Hi magg,
Another BS. Told them my wedd in sept and they say they will rush for me. :p
What is ur list to do? Can share with me? :p

eiggam

Hi Gin,

Actually, I'm doing a month by month countdown like what must I do in a certain month cos I suddenly realise that i only have 10months to my AD and there are many things not settled yet. Not sure if it'll be useful to you since your AD approaching. However, I have a AD schedule (things to do) from another bride in here which may be of help. If u want, I can send to your regular email.

The other BS is so nice. You told them specifically that u only want indoor ah? May i know which BS is that? Will u be taking the pics with your AD gowns?

Hi Maggie,
Yeah..I only had 2 mths to my AD..hahaha...:p Email me pls at [email protected] Thanks leh!

Actually most BS have only indoor or outdoor package wan. Not taking with AD gowns as its a different BS lor. Sigh... You email me then I tell u in my email which BS..hehehe..

Hi Senior,
Go where see? :p

sleeepi

Hi Cheryl,

Can share with me your photos???

Hi Petrina,

The other time saw that you are sourcing for wedding flavour.. Have you found yours???
Yesterday i happen to see something which I find that is nice and affortable... You wana give me your email address or i can send to u via mms???

eiggam

Hi gin,

Sent! Hope it'll be useful to you. Come to think of it, the countdown not very done yet and i think it looks quite silly. hahaha.. If i missed out anything, u tell me k?

Hi Cheryl

Can I view your photos too? my email is [email protected]

Alo Mag,
No la..thanks for sharing. Let me view the document at home in detail then tell u wat u missed out...we remind each other ba!

Hi chill1padi,
I did that in early june..and my AD is 11th Sept.. :p Its up to u la seriously.

chill1padi

No plan, so ask around to see when is the norm. Probably I'll do it around early october. Then mid oct Guo Da Li.

Come to think about it, a lot of nitty gritty stuff to take care!

hey girls, anyone decorating up the FP Qianxi? Can share how you gonna do that? Any decorator to recommend? On low budget but wanna deco the place.

Hi chill1padi,
I used the food tasting to tok abt GDL things...perhaps u can do tat..or like my friend, choose those friends who is going to help out at nite to have a lunch or dinner as a treat lor..

chill1padi

hi gin

thanks for your advise.

We already had our "ti qing" session at my house the weekend before our PS. So I think food-tasting maybe some gtg session for both families.

cherylpoh

hi chill1padi, I went a few weeks b4 my AD. Like wat Gin has said, its up to u. In fact, I didnt want to have food tasting cos on tat nite they only cook for ur table which is only 1. So they will definitely do a great job. However, on that nite, they will be cooking for up to 50 tables so the standard will vary. However, my guests all commented tat the food is delicious n filling. Only that one of the table's fish is not cooked. Still raw so the mgr changed it.