Qian Xi Restaurant??

Hahahaa......ya...
Anyway my AD photographer is Kah Hxng (replace x with e)....no lovenest leh...

Oh ya ladies, QXL muslim hor, any idea one table how much? Decided to have 1 table for my muslim friends..

trina_wys

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD Photographer</TD><TD> AD Videographer</TD><TD>Qian Xi Branch</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gin</TD><TD>11 Sept 2005</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD> Kah H*ng</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Paya Lebar</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maggie</TD><TD>7 May 2006</TD><TD>DIY (Printemps JB)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Farrer Park</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Petrina</TD><TD>25 Nov 2006</TD><TD>Silver Cloak Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Expo</td></tr></table>

trina_wys

Good Morning!!

hope i got this correct.. hehe..

gin,

i didn't ask about the muslim table thingy the last time i met susanna.. so can't really help here..

maggie,

opps! me forgot to put love nest.. ok ok.. the next time i'll add that in..

Hi Pet,
Its ok..i will ask her next month during my food tasting. :p
BTW my videographer is Christopher Tay..can update if u wan! :p

eiggam

Hi Girls!

Gin: I think it's $38 per person so one table $380 but u'll have to check with suzanna again ba. btw, is christopher good? what's his price like? i'm looking for AD photographer and maybe videographer now and looking for an affordable one. any recommendations?

Petrina: wow! u did a good job! hahaha.. anyway, my lovenest is at Sengkang.

trina_wys

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD Photographer</TD><TD> AD Videographer</TD><TD>Qian Xi Branch</TD><TD>Love Nest</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gin</TD><TD>11 Sept 2005</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD> Kah H*ng</TD><TD>Christopher Tay</TD><TD>Paya Lebar</TD><TD> TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maggie</TD><TD>7 May 2006</TD><TD>DIY(Printemps JB)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Farrer Park</TD><TD>Seng Kang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Petrina</TD><TD>25 Nov 2006</TD><TD>Silver Cloak Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Expo</TD><TD> Punggol</td></tr></table>

Hi Maggie,
Regarding Christopher's videographer, i guess it depends as different ppl different views. You should meet him and check out his work. He and Kah H*ng has very affordable packages...both add up merely $1.1K only...and we quite like both ppl's work..and had booked them already.

Thanks for the info on muslim table...
Hee....

trina_wys

hey gin,

i was thinking of getting christopher too for my AD... but mine is so far away that i dare not call him yet.. coz i've asked a few photographers and videographers whether i could comfirm them and they say that they do not take clients so early.. its either 1 year or 6 months before only..

Hi Pet,
Do call Christopher and ask lor..no harm ma! Kiasu is better than in the end dun have wor..

Hi Angel,
Email sent!

trina_wys

hey gin,

noted! i guess i'll call him somewhere end june.. coz hubby got exams till 3rd week of june.. then he'll be more free to meet up with the videographers and photographers..

Hi Pet,
Sure..arrange a day with him to see his work. Im attracted by his special montage using orchard road as scene...i guess he will show u tat too. :p

trina_wys

Good morning gals,

angel,

have u decided where you wanna hold your AD?? is it in qianxi?? when is your AD date??

gin,

hmm.. orchard road as a scene sounds interesting.. do u know about Fabian Lim as a videographer?? everyone was saying how beautiful his videos are and i was so excited and wanted to book him.. however.. when i saw his work.. i realised that it was a little too boring and slow moving for me.. haizz.. so i really believe that it is important to meet up and view the works first before deciding..

Hi angel,
As he used to be only a freelance, don't think he has one now...maybe in future ba.

Hi pet,
Yes..i agree..different ppl, different views..u wont noe whether u like it or not...cos onli u knew ur audiences best... :D

prettyangel

hi petrina, my fh prefer Imperial Court Shark's fin at grassroot club than qian xi paya lebar.. So maybe i will have my AD there. But its so nice talking to u gals so i come in to c c loh..
My fmil havent tell me the date yet maybe still waiting for 06 tong shu to be out I should ask my fh to call her to hurry.. What if popular date are fully taken up.. :p

hi gin, lets wait for Christopher to set up his web site..

hi maggie, have listen to ur advise went to Grassroot club.. Its a wonderful place.. Thanks so much.. Ur BS in JB ah.. Actually me also thinking of having mine at JB or Penang. But my fh say too troublesome to drive in and fro.. so we settle in S'pore. My fh is from penang.. That's y i want to limit my tables to 18 tables.. Cos at his side, think ard 50-60 tables. lucky cheaper there.

eiggam

Hi angel!

Great! Choose the one that prefer.
I think the banquet hall at grassroots club is a beautiful place. too bad i have more tables and my hubby prefers one with in-built projector.

Actually my JB BS is just a photography one -- the AD stuffs i'll DIY. i chose the JB one cos their photography is good and cheaper than spore's. for example i was talking to my hubby's fren who is also getting married and he said that in JB u top up foto only RM70 but in spore, need S$70. that makes a huge difference liao.

u choose ur BS already? if not, i highly highly recommend ted collection. They're not really a BS but they make wonderful wonderful gowns. i made a trip down today and my mum and i simply LOVE their gowns. considering if i should sign them up. $2200 for wedding gown, evening gown and cheong sum. fully beaded and MTM for keeps. really beautiful.. but the designer said i must lose 2-3kg to look nice in gowns.
so sad but true..

eiggam

oooohh.. must tell u gals this! i'm very happy! met up with my hubby;s fren and his gf over the long weekend. talked about our wedding and theirs (they're planning to get married in spet/oct next year). i told the gal that we'll be having our dinner at qianxi and her eyes lit up immediately. She said that that was the only wedding dinner food that she can remember cos it's SOOOO GOOODDD!!! hee.. so happy.. glad i din make the wrong choice.

prettyangel

hi maggie, i must rent the screen and projector at the grassroot club. Must pay extra $130+gst. at least qian xi better. My BS is golden horse awards. Actually for BS, we didnt really source around. That was the only shop that we went in and we paid deposit. Before tat, we only went to outdoor bridal show and spoke to 2 other BS. I thought Ted collection are very ex but now that you say $2200 for WG, EG and CS, i find it cheap cos MTM, fully beaded and can keep. Mine also MTM WG and EG only, somemore cant keep. They told me if fully beaded, i might have to pay extra to top up. I find yours good deal but you might want to consider cos you say your friend can tailor for u cheaper. You only need to lose 2-3kg then can wear Cheong Sum. I think i have to lose a lot then can wear. Thinking of buying those slimming pills but cant buy cos fh dun allow. He say bad for health so can only depend on aerobics. We must work hard to lose weight so that we will be pretty on our big day.

trina_wys

angel,

glad that at least u've decided on your restaurant.. i've never been to the grassroots club restaurant before.. so can't comment much on it..

wah.. if the restaurant name has got shark fins in it.. means to say that u'll definately serve sharks fin??.. me really dilema on whether to serve or not to serve..

aiyoh.. gals.. now u all taking about losing weight.. haiz.. me need to lose 4kg then i'm happy.. eversince i started working..i've gained 4 kg!! *sob sob*

Maggie..

thats good news on the food!! hehe.. so happy too!! but one of the brides in Bliss garden just had her AD over the weekend and her aunt complaint that the fish was not cooked.. hmm.. mixed reviews.. but i think that it shouldn't be a big deal coz it was just one fish?

i hope its alright.. hehe

eiggam

Petrina: Yah i read that. been following the thread also.
i think it's up to individuals la. i think that's one thing we can't worry about. who knows, maybe by my time they change a cook liao and food different. we can't control such things mah. most importantly is we must look mei mei ourselves and control things that we can control.

angel (and petrina also): i actually need to lose more weight leh but the designer told me must have front and back or else dun look nice liao. cannot be totally flat also not nice. i'm thinking of signing with amore once i start work so at least it gives me the motivation to go exercise. anyone tried that before?

trina_wys

amore??

which branch are u looking at?? i wanted to sign up with the Amara shopping centre in tanjong pagar coz i work very near it.. but heard that actually its more for exercise and not losing weight leh.. so still can't decide..

me want to do the pilates class!! built tone muscles..

prettyangel

hi petrina, Actually we havent place deposit lah so can still change mind.. haha.. So pls keep all those nice suggestions coming..
Thanks ah.. i think 1 of the dish on the menu is shark fin too. If you and ur hubby dun feel nice serving shark fin, dun do it. Just replace it to another dish. Pple dun mind as long as the dish is nice.

hi maggie, i have been going to amore for past 2yrs. Recently i took up another 1 &amp; half years package. Got free guess watch. Actually like what petrina say its more for maintain your weight rather than lose weight so must still watch diet. If u want to do pilates, can consider community club. Its so much cheaper.

Hi maggie,
thanks for assurance.
Can i ask u ladies, how many bottles of red wine u get? How many tables u had??

trina_wys

gin,

me thinking of getting 40 bottles.. one for each table estimate.. coz i think that with the free flow of beer, stout and hard liquor.. not many ppl will take the red wine.. so 40 more than enough..

i heard that carrefour can return the un-opened bottles if they are not being used.. so that's pretty good..

Hi pet,
WAH...i dun intend to buy so many cos got free flow beer and hard liqour...i onli intend to get 10 for my toasting...wat u tink ah? I got 37 tables...

How much QXL charges for 1 bottle?

celica75

gals ... thanks for the info you hv provided.
if that s e case will go down 2 bliss garden &amp; check out the place. Currently got one more place 2 shortlist. keke :p

trina_wys

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD Photographer</TD><TD> AD Videographer</TD><TD>Qian Xi Branch</TD><TD>Love Nest</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gin</TD><TD>11 Sept 2005</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD> Kah H*ng</TD><TD>Christopher Tay</TD><TD>Paya Lebar</TD><TD> Bedok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maggie</TD><TD>7 May 2006</TD><TD>DIY(Printemps JB)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Farrer Park</TD><TD>Seng Kang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Petrina</TD><TD>25 Nov 2006</TD><TD>Silver Cloak Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Expo</TD><TD> Punggol</td></tr></table>

Hi Pet,
Thanks for updating. I guess most ladies in this forum chooses ballroom over restaurant..nt so popular hor? Cos so far onli 3 of us here...

cherylpoh

Hi gin. So happy tat u have got ur lovenest liao! So how's the reno getting on? Need my help and advices?

Hi petrina, I am here too! hehehee....

Hi gals out there, personally the food fm Qianxi restaurant is definitely GD! so dun worry. as for service, its ok lah. at least they change every plate after every dish. However, they r slow in refilling the guests' drinks.

Hi senior,
Reno we decided to delay cos of financial status...so after wedding then reno.

I see u use Bliss Garden's emcee..hehee..KH told me he once photographed a couple who had wedding at QXL paya lebar and the manager only speaks in chinese and from the pic, i see he like to 'sabo' ppl sia..hehehe..anyway i managed to get 2 of my MSc class friends to help me with english and chinese. Now wondering my hubby need to gif speech or not? Erm..
Ur dinner wat time start? Wat time end? Got 9 dishes rite? share more info with me..hehee...Show me ur pics when u got them wor...btw is KH helpful?

eiggam

So nice of cheryl to join us here!
read some of ur postings at bliss garden thread and some quite funny. Think your wedding must be very beautiful!
Do share photos once u got them! Oh yah, did u give out favors?

Gin: I think some of the ppl choosing other restaurants lah. QX is not the only restaurant around mah. like angel, she chose grassroots club rite, angel?

cherylpoh

Hi Gin. My dinner is supposed to start at 830pm but the other couple is having their solemnisation at that time so the KJ has to go over ballrm A to help out so we started at 850pm and ends at 1040pm. 9 dishes altogether. KH is helpful and he is easy to get along with. Hope my photos will turn out nice! cos when we went outdoor to take photos, my hair is rather messy and i keep perspiring so dun noe whether its nice or not. Will show u the photos when its ready!

Hi maggie, i was going berserk during the preparation period so my postings also like crazy. now its over n its back to normal liao. hahahahha I did not give any favors but my guests r very happy with the delicious food! yummy!

eiggam

Hi gals!!!

I saw some very BEAUTIFUL and CUTE chocolate favors in the April 2006 brides thread!!! Very meaningful!!! Go check it out!!

Gin: y dun u do simple reno first? i also got resale flat and luckily, it was well-maintained so not much reno, just some painting and get new furniture(pay by installements). See what u can do lo.. Actually we were also quite tight financially but we did whatever we could to make it our own. L)

prettyangel

hi maggie, my fh prefer grassroots club but i prefer qianxi.. My immediate family members suggested ballroom.. The more i listen to pple's advise, the more confuse i am.. So envy u all, make your decision already whereas i am still like hanging in the air..

trina_wys

Hello everyone!!

i realised that this thread is active in the night but not in the day.. haha.. guess it goes to show how much i eat snake in the office.. hehee..

cheryl... you're here too!! haiz.. if only your wedding hasn't ended then i can put your details here.. then got 4 ppl already.. hahaha..

maggi.. you're right about other ppl chosing other restaurants.. its just that i find that they dunno about qianxi's new restaurant at the expo thats why.. its really very grand and nice.. and the best is its NEW!!

hey angel.. dun be sad.. tell u something ok?? i was looking at all the hotels instead of restaurant coz i wanted a hotel wedding.. but in the end.. FH and i sat down to talk and i realised that he was actually very worried about the money part.. so in the end.. i decided to have it at a restaurant that looks like a ballroom.. hehe..

i guess at times.. we can't have the best of both worlds.. so its better to talk to your hubby and then come to an agreement.. its both of your big day and i'm sure that your family members will respect your decision..

eiggam

Hi angel!

weigh the pros and cons of the two places. most important is that the both of u must come to a decision together. Dun bother about what other ppl say (believe me.. i have heard my hubby's relatives belittling even hotels so i close one ear cos i dunno what they'll say about restaurants).

like petrina, i chose restaurant cos my hubby is worried about the money part, since we just got our house and we want to concentrate on financing it and not blow it on "once-in-a-lifetime". my parents and his also agreed that we must spend our money wisely and within our means. the most important thing to him is that the food must be nice and he bochup the rest. so we shortlisted a couple of restaurants like qianxi (thanks to Gin's advice), grassroots club and roland restuarant. These are the ones which he thot the food is nice and i rated on the ambience and chose qianxi. we almost signed with grassroots club (went there to check out twice) cos we know the food very good but i was concerned that there's no projector and he has to bring his school's one. I didn't like the idea of him lugging his school's property neither do we wanna pay extra for it, so qianxi wins hands down with the in-built projector and screen.

actually, now, i'm glad that we chose restaurant cos we can now splurge on other stuffs like my gowns, flowers and photography.

i foresee that a lot of relatives will raise their eyebrows at us choosing a restaurant cos we can well-afford a hotel banquet but as my hubby always say, spend within your means.

prettyangel

hi petrina and maggie, thanks so much. I feel much better now. actually i also prefer restaurant. Feel that food is better than hotel. I am more concern about the money issue than my fh maybe becos i am accounts executive. :p I prefer to have some spare cash in bank. Somemore Qian Xi really offer very good perks except no wedding favour and hotel stay loh. I must talk to my family members. Maybe bring them down to the restaurant to convince them. haha

Btw, will u all mind if your guests turn up in jeans and t-shirt for your wedding? One of my friend say that she attended a wedding at 1 of the restaurant with guests turning up in jeans. I was so shock hearing that. Hopefully my guests wont wear that.

Hi Maggie,
Will share with hubby, see what he says lor..but dun tink he wans...indeed we are very tight financially. To be frank, we do not have a savings for our wedding....so...u shld understand wat i mean ba..
BTW no need to thank me la...good things muz share ard ma! :p

Hie Pat,
U got me wor..i also active in day..as well as nite..hahahaha..

Hihi senior,
I saw ah beng juz now on MRT..hehehe...:p

eiggam

Good morning girls!

Gin: I know what u mean, try and see what u can do ba.
reno loan leh?

Angel: actually, i wun mind, as long as they are comfortable why not? the most important thing is the guest cannot wear the same evening gown as the bride (or mothers) or wear nicer than the bride can liao. hee hee.. that's what i'm most concerned about. :p yah, u can show the restaurant to your family members see what they say lo, but if they're very adament about having it at hotel ballroom, also no use cos' most prob wun change mind so easily.

Petrina: see, i'm active in the day also.. hee hee..

All: ooh ooh.. i'm going to try gowns for my PS today.. so excited.. hope i can fit into something.. *cross fingers*

Hi Maggie,
Erm....will discuss with hubby and see what he say lor! :p
Hee...good luck to ur gown fitting!
I juz picked my photos yesterday. :p

trina_wys

Hi everyone!!

hehe.. today me late to post message.. coz so busy at work this morning..

angel.. i think that if we hold our wedding dinner in a restaurant.. there are bound to be some ppl who will turn up in jeans.. even in hotels.. there are still one or two who will show up in jeans... haizz..

wah.. maggi &amp; gin.. i evny evny leh... both of u can get to see your gowns and photos leh.. me still have to wait till the cows jump over the moon ah.. haizz.. so long.. i bu tahan!!! want to go for my first fitting!!!

prettyangel

hi ladies, i guess you all are right. I shouldnt mind that. i should mind whether they all will give BIG ang bao anot.. :p kekekeke

hi gin, how many photos u choose? got exceed the number of photos they free for u? My friend end up choosing extra 60 photos.. $80x 60=$4800.. wow.. But she say really very nice loh..

hi maggie, try to wear lots of gowns before u decide. Cos never know which style suit u best.. May u found ur dream gown

prettyangel

hi petrina, guess we have to wait patiently for our turn.. I also cant wait to try my gown but think ard oct then my designer will start on my gown. still so long.. Any idea when Herworld brides magazine will be out?