Qian Xi Restaurant??

hi vivien & kat,

sorry for the mistake. my sis's wedding is nov 04, not 05.

kat, its ok to start sourcing now as the economy is still bad & prices for dinner is not at its peak. many hotels or restaurants also give perks.

considering the gst increse, it would save u some $ if u can secure it before it rises.

my wedding was 02/02/02 and guess when my dinner's booked? oct 00 as i'm very sure its a super hot date, and i'm right cos another couple has also reserved e date with e restaurant then.

Hi Cynthia

Thanks for ur advise..ok.. will speed up my work in the sourcing of the restaurants...
But my husband is currently not in Singapore, so I also couldn't decide on anything till he is back in feb 04..
pray hard.. that I can still get the venue I want...

BTW.. Cynthis, u had ur wedding in Qianxi also??Coz swa that u had a few postings above..
How many tables u had with them??

I had been to their website, but seems like the hall/room they had is either too big or too small to cater to my number of guests... I am expecting to have around 30-35 tables.. u thnk they will allow me to book with them and let me use their bigger room?? coz I dun like the idea of sharing the hall with another couples... :P

hi vivien, its always not too early to book if urs is a super hot date cos its better to get it early but secure ur date lor..better than getting disappointed.
ya, Qianxi got 3 branches, farrer park, marina n paya lebar, n i just booked at paya lebar one.

dun worry about sharing the hall with others, qianxi marina got 2 places that u can have the hall to yourselves once u hit 25 tablesm the ballroom n main hall. Qianxi farrer park also allow u to have the whole hall if u have 30-35 tables.

Hi Vivien,

Mine is at Qianxi Marina. 32 tables. Max for the ballroom & juz nice for me. If you are thinking of Marina's, they will extend the ballroom (using air-conned tentage). Else, 30-35 tables is fine at the other 2 venues.

Hi Santap44...

Thanks for the info...Me saw from the Qianxi website that the Farrer park Main hall can cater to 57 tablse.. then the changing room is in the kitchen?? U visitd all their restaurants or u only visited the paya lebar branch??

Actually Paya Lebar will be good for me. coz I live in the East side.. :P but think they had not updated the Website so I couldn't have any info on the Paya Lebar branch...How many tables u having?? Any idea if I can made tentatively booking first?

Hi Cynthia,

Saw ur posting shorly after I sent out the message... Air-con tentage sound nice...
maybe will call and find out more ...

BTW.. can advise what do I need to ask beside the packages, the complimentary items??

Hi Vivien,

U can always book first to secure the current price. It can be an open date (u decide later).

For paya lebar, i think u can ask for hotel stay cos not included.

Hi Cynthia

If I booked first does that means I must sign a contract with them already??Coz wanted to wait for my husband to be back from Japan first before we booked any venue..

I had visted your auction site, nice dresses U had.. but dun think I can wear coz I am more to Medium/large size due to my broad hip :P But I am rather interested in the receipes u had posted... can share with me...

Hi Vivien,

I think its better that you wait for your hub to return cos its an impt issue to both of you.

if you book, you have to pay deposit (1k or more).

Feel free to bid for the recipes you like. Can earn ratings some more.

U not interested in e CK bras/ Finding Nemo / 'iraq Most wanted' cards or the cute Hush puppies key chain?

Hi Cynthia,

Ya lor.. will wait for my hubby to come back and discuss before placing any deposit..
Meanwhile, will source for more info and update my hubby via email..

How I bid for the recipes??

hehe.. me dun need the playing cards..cannot anyhow buy things coz need to start to save up now... :P

hi Vivien,

for my wedding, i went to both farrer park n paya lebar, but i attended a friend's wedding at marina ballroom. so only chengdu, the one at orchard, i never been there before.

ya, u can book first to secure the price they have now just in case they make adjustment next yr, but always better to discuss with ur husband. mi n my hubby already booked ataround 40 tables paya lebar with an open date, still waiting for his mum to give us a date. the deposit is $40 per table, so we paid $1600.

May I know does QianXi charge corkage if we bring in DFS liquor? May I know what are the charges like?

Hi Jany,

Qianxi provides free flow of hard Liquor (Martell VSOP) so there's no need for you to bring. No charge for red wine brought.

Package i think ranges from 388-538 +/-. Can't really remember as i've passed all menu to my siblings.

Hi Vivien,

Have u bidded for the recipe? Juz need to go to my auction & choose the one u like & click on buy now. Its free. U juz need to sign in to yahoo auction.

hi hi...

i just attended a birthday dinner @ the farrer park.

not bad the food!! with the price of $500 only!

the waitress are helpful and friendly.

and the boss actually sponsored the birthday cakes!! yummy yummy!!

hi carol

i juz attended a wedding at the Paya Lebar branch a few weeks back, and i've got lots of compliments!=)

As we've all heard, the food at qianxi is definitely good and cheap. Plus i think the wedding theme is quite unique. Another attractive point will be the speed of the service! Really fast! My friends and i were very pleased with that=). Plus since we were all enjoying the dishes, time seem to pass by even faster!

I also attended a buffet dinner at Farrer Park before, nice environment i must say. Plus the decorations were really pleasant too=)..

Considering the price and service quality, im quite sure i will choose Qianxi over other restaurants=).

Hope i helped u in some way=)

Carol,

My sisiter also have her wedding there. Good food althot i have attended one wedding once b4 my sisiter wedding but the good quality have improve alot. even My MIL who is very particular abt food say is not bad. Cheap n good

hi all ladies,
Juz happen to 'flip' back this thread. Can those ex QXL brides of Paya Lebar branch share their pics with me cos Im holding my banquet at QXL in Sept 05 too..thanks...

I hope you ladies are still around..hehehe..

Hi marilyn,
My senior intend to held her there, but was transferred to Bliss Garden at Expo..i tink that side gonna close or reno? Better check with them...

Hi Gin,

thanks. Saw the photos that you attach on bliss garden on the other thread. Didn't know that bliss garden is under QXL too. But find that the location out of the way for most relatives lei as most of them live in the northern parts of S'pore.

Hi marilyn,

maybe you can check with Qianxi, they have bliss garden at expo, one at paya lebar and one at farrer park. or else, you can consider other restaurants. if most of your relatives are in the north, maybe you can try Gim Tim (jing zhen) yishun or the one at grassroots club at AMK. their website is www.gimtim.com.sg. I think their food should have some standard lah. are you looking for restaurants only?

Hi Gin, thanks.

Hi maggie, gim tim restaurant at grassroots club is my the other choice. I would prefer a poolside dinner if given a choice. That's why i pick QXL Marina. Actually, my first choice is charming gardens, but not much feedback from that thread as the most informations are quite some time back. initailly, both side parents had agreeed not to hold a banquet. However, earlier this week, my HB father changed his mind. We don't really have a budget and thus, looking for something that is cheap and good.

Hi marilyn,

it depends on what you are looking for. i dunno much about QX marina but i saw the photos for QX marina and i thot the pollside doesn't look good. and also, there's a lot of ppl say that QX marina closing down (i din ask the boss about it cos i'm not interested in marina -- too inconvenient) so maybe not too safe? i went to see both QX farrer park and grassroots club and here are what my husband and i think.

QXL farrer park: we like the pillarless, square ballroom. we think that it's quite convenient too cos only a few minutes walk from mrt. the boss and wife are really nice and friendly. they have the basic set-up like the projector and screen and their deco quite ok (not too cheena). boss allows me to do my own decor. Plus point is that they offer free flow hard liquor. food is no problem cos my mum went there to eat before and she liked it.

Grassroots club: looks more presentable from the outside than QX farrer cos the club looks quite impressive (or at least more impressive than the civil service club that QX is housed in). but inside, QX wins hands down. convenience-wise quite ok. food should be ok cos it's gim tim. they have a lot more perks than QX like free hotel stay and discount on catering. Minus point: weddings can be held in the restaurant or at the function rooms and on the day we went, they had weddings at both the restaurant and the function rooms and we saw quite a no. of ppl went to the wrong place. for QX, i dun think such a problem will happen unless really very suay 2 weddings happen on one day but i have 30+ tables so i'll take a bigger ballroom so not so bad. another problem with grassroots club is they have central aircon system so at 1030pm their aircon will start to off. So die die 11pm must clear. My husband wasn't very happy at that. Also no projector or screen and no intelligent lighting so when you walk in, the ballroom bright bright, no spotlight. QX has intelligent lighting and there'll be spotlight on you when you march in and there'll be tea lights and dry ice along the aisle.

as you can see, i'm kinda tending towards QX farrer. I kinda gave up on bliss garden cos i see no point spending money on the nice lights and all cos i intend to do my own deco for my wedding theme. QX suits my budget and i think it'll make (most) people happy (good food, accessible).

when's ur AD? what's your budget? maybe you wanna email me so we can discuss more? i can maybe give you some advice also.
my email is [email protected]. feel free to contact me!

Hi Marilyn. Gin was right. Initially I booked my banquet @ Marina South but they are not continuing their lease with Superbowl country club so they r left with outlets at Paya Lebar, Farrer Park & the newly renovated Bliss Gdn @ spore expo. Mine will be there.

I am planning to hold my dinner at Qian Xi restaurant too.. am aiming either farrer park or expo.

Any ladies care to share opinions on both places?

my AD is 25th Nov 2006, so it's still a very long way to go but would like to settle the banquet location as soon as possible..

Hi Petrina!

i think both places also not bad, you can check our posts here or on bliss garden. i think food wise should be the same cos since they're from same boss.

the differences that you must note are:
(1) Price: it depends on ur budget. the one at expo is about $50 more than the one at farrer.
(2) ambience: i think overall, expo has a nicer ambience with its hotel ballroom layout, high ceiling and chandeliers. both restaurants are pillarless and have built-in projectors and good sound system.
(3) location: depends on where your relatives are located. if most of them are living in the east, i think expo is a good choice. but if you're like me, with relatives all over singapore, from pasir ris to boon lay, farrer park is more centralised.
(4) novelty: i kinda like expo at first cos it's something new, people will be curious to check it out also.

I haven't placed my deposit yet cos i haven't confirm my AD - either in jan 2006 or may 2006. but my hubby and i confirm will be taking qianxi farrer park cos it's centralised, reasonable price and good ambience. my mum loves the food.

i hope this info will help.

oh yah another thing, the march-in at expo is very short, while the one at farrer is kinda long. but i asked the boss, he said can change the way u march in at expo so it's longer. try talking to the boss or suzanna, they're very nice.

Hi maggie,

thanks so much for the info. wow, it's really very detailed.

i've been to bliss garden in expo last sat and rather liked the place. my only concern is that if i do not have enough tables to take both ballrooms, then there may be 2 weddings that night.. coz nov very hot month for weddings..

and i have to agree that the walk-in IS very short.. thinking of how to make it longer.. hehe.. ;)

i will be going to the farrer park one this sat with my fiance to find out more about their packages and also to take a look at the area..

oh.. and have you sourced for your BS already??

i have no idea which to go for.. been to so many that i've just managed to confuse myself only..

haha..

hi Petrina!

How many tables are you having? i'm having about 30 tables, may increase a bit, so farrer more suitable. actually i think farrer can also have 2 weddings on the same day cos they have a smaller ballroom inside. 2 wedding very bo bian one esp. if you are in a hot month. such things are very common in hotels also. but i think if really have 2 weddings, expo might be better than farrer cos they're still separate (enter from different doors) but farrer only one main door. but bo bian leh..

i dun have a BS actually, having it DIY. I'm taking my PS in malaysia (printemps) cos going to tioman for PS. they take very nice photos (they're the official photographer for the malaysia royal family) and for a good price too (cheaper than singapore for the same quality). for my AD, i'm getting my friend to design and tailor my gown and maybe go overseas to source for other gowns. the other stuffs getting my friends to help here and there so not taking any BS. Which BS are you looking at?

Hey maggi,

I'm looking between 40-45 tables.

As for BS, really keen on The Wedding Present, but they're pretty expensive.. going for their bridal show this sun, so hopefully will get better deals. I like them coz they have really nice gowns and they tie up with Chris Ling Photographers...

But if it's still too expensive, then i might go for another alternative like Golden Horse Awards, Yvonne Creative or Thomson Bridal..

I guess to me, the photos are most important followed by the gown..

Wow! Overseas phototaking.. that's a nice change.. i've been to tioman quite a couple of times and there've been much changes over the years from a wooden jetty to now a concrete one.. but scenary and water is still lots better than Singapore..

meeting the lady boss tmr at the farrer park branch, hopefully i'll like what i see..

when will you be making bookings for your dinner?

hmm.. that's quite a lot of tables. it may be a bit cramped if you take farrer. ur guests might knocked onto each other's seats. you go take a look tomoro and see which one you like better. i think with 40 to 45 tables, expo might be better. with this no. of tables, will they be giving you the bigger ballroom at expo? you take a look already then do a comparison.

i think the Wedding Present should be not bad. am not very sure about the BS in spore since i'm not taking package from any BS. but i know chris ling photographers are very good. you can trust them on that.

i had never been to tioman but my hubby and i liked the tioman photos a lot! my hubby is a very "sea" and "fish" person. he saw one of the photos where the couple is standing in the sea and can see the fishes in the sea, he immediately said he wanna go tioman and take pictures with the fishes. dunno he take wedding photos with me or the fishes.. haha.. just hope that everything will turn out well.

i'm not sure when i will make the bookings leh. my mum said she wanna check if the date we chose is auspicious or not but i dunno when she's going to do that. not that worried at this point of time as the months that we want (jan or may 2006) like not very popular months cos not school holidays. and also restaurants normally not as hot as hotels. but we hope to book like maybe next week to get it out of the way. just waiting for my mum liaoz.

btw, what made you wanna chose qianxi in the first place?

Hi Maggie,

Haha!! couldn't stop laughing at your remark about your hubby wanting to take pictures with the fishes.. if that's the case, you should go to the Tioman Marine Park, where the fishes are used to being hand fed and will rise to the surface to 'see' the tourist.. somemore they are big and chubby.. i'm sure your hubby will be pleased
!! haha..

Just came back from Qian Xi farrer park and indeed the squarish pillarless area is very nice.. even from the last table can see the stage clearly.. only minus point is that the ceiling is rather low for my liking..

guess that i'll be choosing the expo one instead coz i really like high ceilings.. ;)

Hmm.. why did i chose Qian Xi?? coz i've been there (paya lebar)to eat before twice and found the food really good and nice.. and somemore it's within my budget therefore will be taking Biss Garden for AD...

Hi Petrina!

haha.. i'll remember to go to the place that you said so my hubby can catch and carry the fish and take photos. hahah..

have you placed your deposit already? i confirm my AD for next year may. will be going to place deposit at farrer next week but wanna sort some stuffs with them and take a look at the venue again to make sure that they can take the theme i'm thinking of.

i think one thing that we can be sure of is that qianxi has good food. i heard a lot of compliments on their food. for my hubby, food is the most important thing cos he dun wan the guests to give big ang baos then be served bad food and provide bad service. my dad also, keep insisting that i should have my dinner at restaurant cos food and service better than hotels. :P well, i'm glad to get the venue out of my way so can concentrate on other stuffs. hee..

how's your BS search? settled already?

hmm... i'm still in a dilema when it comes to BS searching...

really liked The Wedding Present but when for their show today and realised that I have to top up a lot of things.. from a $3500 MTM package w/o photography.. i think by the topping up others such as kua and extra photos.. it'll be more than $5k..

then happened to chance by the Precious Moment thread and found out from them that their service, gowns and photos are all very nice... hmm... might go down to take a look..

have you found yours already?? i think i've been to too many that i have officially managed to confuse myself..

*faints*

dun worry too much, just keep looking until you found the one that's most suitable for you.
i think a lot of bridal shops in singapore oer-charged. my fren who will be doing my gown for me said that a normal gown costs around $500 plus while BS charges really high prices (some up to $1000++) for rental alone. So that's why i'm asking my fren to do for me.
i think for some BS they charge high prices becos of the etra beading they do. just keep looking until you find a BS that you are comfortable with. Think you can check out the singaporebrides offers see if there are any BS having promotion.

I din know Wedding Present so expensive. Dun think it's worth it to spend so much. Look at othrs first before you decide. and remember to keep bargaining. normally, they will be able to offer you a lot of free things if you try to bargain for more.

My banquet will be at Qian Xi Paya Lebar, those interested to see pics, can let me know. My AD is 11th Sept...

Hey Gin!!

I popped by Qianxi Paya Lebar today and guess what? They are having renovations!! They're changing the ceiling to those like that of expo! I saw them put up the chandeliers, so BEAUTIFUL! I bet you're going to have a really beautiful wedding! I think they will be done by today. You should pop by when you're free! It's very nicely done!

Hi maggie,

I've placed a deposit for Bliss Garden restaurant already..

when i told the boss and lady boss that i knew that they place chandeliers in the paya lebar branch.. they were so shocked and asked me how i know??.. haha.. they didn't know that their restaurant is actually in the Singapore Brides forum..

so have you confirmed whether you are taking farrer park or paya lebar??

Hi Maggie,
Ya...i went to my friend's bb full mth celebration last monday and saw the ceiling and my hubby still say its like tat when we first came. Just browse thru my pics then realise newly reno.
My only concern is when there are 2 couples wedding cos it will be so confusing!
The rest is not an issue...sigh....
Thanks maggie!

Hi Maggie again,
So far, u attended any wedding at Qian Xi paya lebar and on that day got 2 weddings? I need ppl to gif me some feedback leh...cos like dun have!!! So sad...

Hi Petrina and Gin!

I placed my deposit for farrer already and it was on the day that petrina placed her deposit. hahaha!
petrina: You were late for ur appointment issit? Suzanna was late and she looked so rushed.
I confirmed holding my banquet in 7th may 2006, one week before mother's day so thinking of doing a mother's day theme. hee hee.. i keep coming up with so many themes i very confused myself.

Gin: actually i had never attended any weddings in Qianxi before leh so i dunno how it'll be like. is it confirm that day got 2 weddings? dun worry so much at this point cos u may be worrying for nothing if there's no other weddings on that day. but if there is, just get more ushers and make sure that everyone are at their correct places. i think cannot help it one lah.. farrer park also have the possibility of having 2 weddings and i'm trying not to think abt it so much at this point or else really a lot to worry abt. the boat come to the bridge will automatically be straight so dun worry so much now k?
how r ur preparations so far?

i'm going for my PS next month. very nervous and i still haven't lose any weight.. sigh..