Qian Xi Restaurant??

Hi Maggie(eiggam),
Erm...then keep both lor. :p I personally dun like Yam Ring. :p Anyway 9 more value for money? Means more time also...To me...8 is more than enough lor...
I guess you cant say much cos banquet in fact is for parents to be happy wan la...you know la..old people. :p Actually I tink QXL or BG's menu are quite affordable for 9 course, so go for 9 course lor. :p

chill1padi

Hi morning

I just had my Guo Da Li last sunday!

It was a very fun and exciting event. Most of my relatives came to my house to WITNESS this event. My mum was very happy until she forgot to eat!

trina_wys

hi gals!!

morning!!

*NEWS FLASH*

Both ballrooms in bliss garden restaurant in expo has not changed.. its still the same.. ballroom A is the smaller one and ballroom B is the bigger one..

eiggam

Good morning gals!

Petrina: Good that u finally clarified the ballrooms with suzanna or else i think u will be very luan. As for the frustration, like what u said, they'll ask why restaurant not hotel. somemore not a lot of ppl know qianxi restaurant, so i think they expect like normal resturants with sucky ambience and pillars. anyway, i dun care liaoz. i told my hubby that at least we'll be happy to know that we wun lose money. hahaa.. as for the prawns, hee hee.. i'll ask my mum to tao pao!! muahahaha..

Gin: What i mean is those people who give ang bao will think that 9 course more worth their ang bao. i also think that it means more time, but anyway, i wanna do many many things during the banquet so more time nvm. i dun think can reduce to 8 course also. anyway, most prob wun get their yam ring, think my hubby also dun wan. i think he very bo chup cos he knows that i have everything under control.

chill1padi: Tell us about ur GDL!! I know nuts about GDL, dunno what to do at all! wow u so good so many relatives come. Guess ur mum must be really really happy and u too of cos!!

Hi Chill1padi,
Grats Grats!
Ya...share with us GDL things leh...I also dunoe wat we do on that day..email me at [email protected]

Hi Maggie (eiggam),
Anyway who noes ur menu before on that day? Doesnt mean they saw ur menu 9 course then will add to your ang bao ma! :p Heehee..tat's good...glad that u have things under control!
Mine still very vague..sigh...

chill1padi

Hi hi

It was a very joyous day for everyone. I have about 35 relatives in the house that day to witness the whole ceremony. We videoed the whole event too. Alot of laughters in the background.

But of course my mum is the most happy, smiling face throughout the whole video.

I have attached a photo on what my mum had prepare for me as jia zhaung. May not be complete!
320472.jpg

We didn't take any "long feng" candles as we do not have any altar at home, both my mum's and FPIL's.

Additional may be the sewing machine, kwa, ring pillow (I DIY).

tansan

Hii Petrina; thank you 4 the confirmation made~!

Hii Maggie; i tought older generation pple will appreciate the food as Qian Xi is a 'lao zhi hao'... anyway, those pple who have nt been to Bliss rest., they will be VERY SHOCKED!!! (cos of their high ceilings and look a like hotel style ballroom...)
kao_drool.gif

Hii chillipadi; wow~! ur hse must be very happening lor... hmm... its a great idea to record the whole scenario on GDL day hor~!
Feel happy for u too...
btw, wich dialect r u frm?

tansan

Hey gers! (sorry 4 little advertisment made here!)
those who are interested in the G cream, they hav start to consolidate orders, so pls made ur order at the thread ther... TQ!

chill1padi

hi tansan

We intend to combine the Guo Da Li video with the AD video and show during the banquet.

Anyway, I am teochew, my FH is hokkien, but our mums cantonese. So my Guo Da li is a combination of all the dialet group.

Hi Chill1padi,
Thanks for your nice photo and info...can tell me the process? How long it takes? And do you give out invites on that day?

chill1padi

Hi gin

This is the schedule for that day

9.30am - cakes delivered to FH's house

10.30am - FH, his gang and "Mei Po" reach my house. (they suppose to reach between 9am - 11am)

Then he was introduced to all my relatives.

They stayed for lunch and about 12+ then go back home.

My mum then return him
1. part of the "pin jin"
2. 1 ang bao for his birthday as first year son in law
3. 1 ang bao for a pair of sugar cane and a pair of chicken
4. 2 oranges juices
5. half of the oranges he bought over
6. half of the can pig trotter
7. half of the peanut sweet
8. half of the sesame sweet

And together with my jia zhaung.

I distributed the invites and cakes to those relatives who came down that day.

In fact that day, all my relatives received our invites and cakes! For those who never turn up at my house, I drove my mum around to distribute.

Likewise for my FH, he drove his mum around to distribute.

tansan

Hey chii1padi; thanks 4 ur elaboration!
quite a new idea of showing ur GDL process wif ur AD during ur banquet hor...

Hi Chill1padi,
Erm...how come no roast pig? Or is it onli for AD? jia zhuang = SDJ? FH need to follow us to distribute cakes or no need ah?
Your GDL things quite affordable...the items in the pic you post b4...got a list also? :p

chill1padi

Hi gin

I not to sure abt others. At least for my family, roast pig is only on AD. After I marry over to FH house, tea ceremony, change to Kwa, then bring the roast pig home.

My mum will then return the pig head and back, together with a new pants to my FH.

Jia zhuang is not SDJ. SDJ is given by my FMIL. Jia Zhuang is prepare by my mum.

My list of Jia zhuang
1) pillow/bolster
2) blanket (I replaced with quilt cover)
3) new bedsheet/pillow cases
4) sewing machine
5) bridal chest (replaced with luggage) - to put new cloth, undies, etc
6) baby bath tub/ face basin
7) potty
8) mug
9) toothbrush/toothpaste
10) 1 pair New bowl/spoon/chopstick
11) 1 pair of chopstick (to open mouth for baby in the future)
12) zi sun ruler (as we dun have the comb hair ceremony, this will be brought over on Guo Da Li)
13) 1 pair of oil lamp (battery operated)
14) 2 pair of slippers (bride/groom)
15) 1 new set of pyjamas (for the wedding night)
16) 1 new teapot (for tea ceremony at FH house, must put lotus, longnan, red dates, etc)
17) 1 set of sewing kit in a box (to symbolise the bride can only do needlework, no HARD LABOUR work)
18) makeup set (I bought new lipstick, and powders)(to symbolise the bride can put on make up everyday, so no need to do hard work)
19) some barang barang for an chuang purpose
20) my kwa and shoes
21) ring pillow which i made (a piece of needlework the bride do)
22) 1 pair of new towels

On AD, then I will bring all my jewellry, including SDJ to FH house, to show that the bride is bringing gold to FH house, but I got to leave behind some gold for my two brothers, so as not to take away all the gold from "mother's" house.

My FH did not follow us around to distribute cakes. I don't think there is a need.

Hi Chill1padi,
oic...
Thanks for the detailed list! Will cut and paste and save as list. :p

Thank you..

eiggam

Wow!! Thanks chill1padi for the very very detailed list. I remembered that once, i went with my mum and my auntie to buy the GDL stuffs for my cousin, a lot of things to buy. I know that some of them must be those traditional traditional type (like teapot and sewing kit and baby bathtub). where did u get all these things ah? I remembered that my mum was driving around the whole of hougang to look for a shop that STILL sells these traditional stuffs.

chill1padi

I got my traditional stuffs from Chinatown and Jurong West. The ladies from both places are very friendly, give alot of advices.

But most important, you must know what you need and don't need. Like the sewing kit, i only buy the "container"! I buy what the esential neccessities sewing stuffs somewhere else!

If you don't know, you will end up buying a lot of things.

summergerl

Yaya: If you are going to book your AD for 7 Oct 06, quickly source for a venue! Expo is already fully booked on that day! I had a tedious time to source for an available venue for 7 Oct 06! I think Farrer Park and Paya Lebar still available.

trina_wys

hi gals!!

hehe.. u all are so funny.. firstly it was slimming.. then now GDL already.. hahaha!!!

our qianxi thread is fast becoming a 'rojak' thread!!.. haha.. so fun to talk to all of u..

maybe one day we should organise a makan session at bliss garden?? haha!!.. just a little suggestion..

maggi (eig),

i totally agree with u on the money saved part!! then can spend more on the honeymoon!! hehe.. and maybe also because my FH promised that we'll go china to take some PS after our wedding coz the scenary there is breath-taking!.. haha.. so happy!!

Hi yaya,
Hee...cos she din email me, she write here..so i cut and paste lor.

So when's ur AD?

Hi the rest,
Hahaha..share more info ma...who's wedding coming? :p

Hi Senior,
Hihih..long time no seee. :p Me going to retake wedding photo again..show u when i got it. BTW KH din reply my sms already..so I most likely wont be taking him as my photographer liaoz...so scary...
Another friend also booked him, and she also intend to find back up liaoz..

eiggam

Good morning gals!

Chill1padi: can u email me the exact address of the shops selling such stuffs? i dun wanna go round spore looking for them when the time comes. my email is [email protected] thanks in advance!

Petrina: wow.. u wan a makan session ah? hahaha.. but aren't we supposed to lose weight? hee hee.. which part of china r u intending to go to retake ur photos? the impression that i got from china (beijing) is very terrible, there's LOTS of people EVERYWHERE!! and the people are very rude, they just walk into ur camera frame. mabbe u can try some cities or places with lesser people. i actually have the ssame ideea leh, but for me, i'll pack my gowns when i go for honeymoon to new zealand (now my hubby considering japan also) then ask my hubby to take for me there. hahaha..

Gin: U retaking ur PS? when is it? U said that u'll be going bintan rite?

Lily!!! Are u around?? Ur AD photos ready?

hi Maggie (eiggam),
If budget allows...i will go...else just stay in SG and enjoy the PS outdoor lor. :p

Heee all...I also lose around 2.5kg since Monday. I guess its water retention...I hope to lose more and till I got to my ideal weight, then I will maintain it..
Good luck to me, Good luck to all...

sleeepi

Hi Maggie,

Yup i am stil around. JUustthat recenly busy with work and at my mum's house, i got no internet access..
AD photo is ready. Managed to scan part of it to computer already.
Let me have ur email add so that i can email you.

Hi Maggie (eiggam),
Mon - Morning: Similar to meal-replacement drink
Lunch: 2 breads from breadtalk
Dinner: Nil
Tues - Morning: Meal-replacement drink
Lunch: Nil
Dinner: Curry chicken (few pcs) + potato [Without rice]
Like this lose 2.5kg liaoz...drank alot of water...go alot of toilet...but it really does the job. My weight lost is all due to i skip dinner and no supper and tibits. I realise u eat dinner, next day sure hungry...if dun eat dinner, next day still can tahan leh. :p To me la. Then no cravings for tibits also...but muz be able to endure lor. :p Like not very healthy la...but I am happy with the results...water lost la perhaps.

chill1padi

I just came back to the office. I went to my Bridal for WG and EG fitting. Now the EG is at home, since no need to alter. Only the WG need to alter the size abit.

Also just settle the buffet too.

As for the shop that sells the guo da li stuffs, let me go back and check the address. I know is Blk 506 Jurong West 51, details got to check.
Another 16 more days before AD, so so excited.

tansan

Hi Chill1padi; feel so excited for u too... i tink u hv to sleep and rest well in order to look more beautiful on ur AD...
btw, care to share wat r the things tt paid by u, groom, bride's & groom's family individually... cos me wana list down into a wedding expense checklist. Many thanks in advance!

chill1padi

hi tansan

The cost breakdown

Preparation
Me
-own facial, manicure and pedicure.
- Material for ring pillow, flower's girl basket and accessories.

FH
- bridal packages (gowns, shoes and photography)
- jewellary set to match gowns
- AD photography
- AD videography
- wedding bands
- ROM registration fee
- house renovation
- furniture

Guo Da li
My mum
- jia zhuang and misc like red dates, longan etc
- 1 set of jewellary
- my kwa
- angbao for FH's first birthday as son in law
- angbao for 1 pair or chicken and 1 pair of sugarcane
- angbao for brothers and mei po
- caterer

FH
- liquor
- oranges
- peanut/seaseme sweet
- cakes
- angbao for ping jing

FPIL
- Jewellry set
- ang bao for helpers

An chuan
me
-all the neccesary things

actual day
My mother
- caterer
- angbao for all helpers

My FPIL
- angbao for all helpers

MY FH
- dress for my mum
- dress for his parents
- dresses and clothes for flower girls and page boys
- catering
- banquet
- wedding favours
- roast pig
- angbao for nappy money
- angbao for all helpers
- wedding car

cherynn

Hi lily
Care to share ur photos with me??
I will be visiting Bliss garden this friday to discuss details with Suzanna..

i realised that Suzanna is very busy... When i talk to her, she was talking to someone else.. pretty rude i think, after she apologise, i feel better..haha..

cherynn

Hi Maggie(Sum)
Care to share more on the meal replacement supplement?? Seems pretty effective...
How much is it?? Is it nice?? where to buy??
Cos my hubby a bit fat, need him to lose weight for my AD next year..haha!!!
If not the photos come out not nice...
I am also losing weight..trying hard to achieve my ideal weight.. Wow u all staying in Sk..my mum stays there too... I staying in Bedok.. So if my AD in Expo, very near my house...

summergerl

Lily: I want to c your pics too. Can send to [email protected] Thanks!

Cherynn: The meal replacement can make u lose weight and radiant looking at the same time cos it gives you all the nutrients u need mah.. This wk I lose another 1 kg!

Breakfast: take the meal replacement
Lunch: as per normal
Dinner: take the meal replacement

sometimes i swop my lunch and dinner loh.. if u want to know more, u email to me lah at [email protected]
else later my account kana ban leh.

Hi cherynn,
I agree that Suzanna can be quite rude at times...sometimes her expression on face also. I dun really like toking to her especially that time I find her for 2 weeks she also no time to tok to me.
I also stay at bedok...at bedok north.
Where's urs? The new flats near stadium?

Hi Pet,
My PG confirm Hector Niam. Thanks for updating.

el005

HI Liliy,

THanks for ur photos...

u looked pretty in the photos.. no worries gal!

Gals how long QX takes to print the card?

trina_wys

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD VG</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Qian Xi Branch</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Email</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Love Nest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Bubblybride</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 Oct 2005</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Universal Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sam</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Kevin</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Woodlands</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">chill1padi</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">5 Nov 2005</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Camellia Haute Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Wai Peng</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mark Yang</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Bishan</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">El</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">23 Dec 2005</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">White Link</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Amos - **********************</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Lakeside</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Gin</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">12 Mar 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Jess Haute Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Hector Niam</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Paya Lebar &amp; Conrad</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bedok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Maggie (eiggam)</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">7 May 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ted Collection/Printemps JB</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Kalyedoscope</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Own Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Kelly</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">27 May 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ever Bliss</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Tansan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">1 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Maggie (Summer Gal)</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">7 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Petrina</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25 Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Silver Cloak Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Simon - F0t0 Themes</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Punggol</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Elaine</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">4 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Ang Mo Kio</font></td></tr></table>

Last update on gin

Hi lily,
Your pics are lovely.
I hope i din get it wrong cos i receive an email with pics but no name. :p
Anyway its very nice and u r very pretty too. Thanks for sharing!