Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

ssybaby

Hi whoofy

I have emailed Qian Xi regarding my req for the package, however nobody get back to me til now... is been a week ald

Do you have any package to forward to me, tks

eowyn_1711

Hi LittleVal & Whoofy, looks like the 3 of us booked the same place for our AD. Hee... I have one concern though. When i went to view the ballroom, i noticed that all the floors of the lifts are covered with cardboard. Very ugly! Suz's husband (what's his name?) told me that the club always lined cardboard whenever they have an event. I was like ... hmm.... It looks very unsightly. Did anyone else notice that?

whoofy

hi eowyn

yes, we notice tat during our visits there a few times. Initially we were thinking tat perhaps construction is still on for some part of the club, so the cardboards were lay to protect the new lifts. But we din realise tat it's still there after almost 1 yr of opening. It's realli an unpresentable sight.
Not sure if we can feedback to the club mgmt abt tis. Since they have already made the lift, wats there to over protect it for ??!!! And it's also rather dusty at times after so many ppl have stepped onto it. Yucks !!

I'm new to this thread. I'm currently actively sourcing for a venue for my wedding banquet on either 6 or 27 Jan and I've shortlisted few restaurants and one of them is Qian Xi Hilltop. Others are Brilliant Gardens @ Chevron and the Imperial Shark fins at Yio Chu Kang.

I'm going to view the venue at Qian Xi Hilltop tomorrow and would appreciate if anyone could share with me the package and what to look out for or negotiate with Suzanne when I meet her tomorro. Please PM me at [email protected]

princess_val

I haven really notice about the 'wrapped up' lifts becsuse I rarely hang out there. I think we should feedback to the management, if not we pay the $1200 fee for what?!!

Anyone knows what's the song Hilltop use for the 1st dish?

Must blast Suzana's HP if you need anything. She is too busy to reply fax. Their package is pretty standard, you will have to select your menu, if you want to change a few dishes then only some dishes will require top up around $5 - $10. Beverage all free flow & they will provide invitation cards.

dangou

hi ling,

been away for sometime. thanks for ur compliments. it was taken at mt faber... nice scenery there. : )

crystal ballroom is really a great venue for wedding cos it got a long aisle, can enjoy the feeling of walking down with ur hubby, very romantic. keke
food wise not that bad, but corner's stone not really good lor. if not wrong, they have aborted jacobs creek right?
that time, i still have a choice of corner's stone or jacobs creek, eventually after tasting, jacobs creek is alot better.

do they have the menu on each table now?

dangou

hi eowyn,
yes. the bridal changing rm is at the kitchen, so going to the ballroom need to by pass the balcony. but don't really worry, cos the guests inside will not really see you as the glass windows will be covered by blurry mist due to the cold air inside the ballroom.

eowyn_1711

Whoofy, i agree with u! The club also not that new liao, right? Why still need to protect the floor of the lift? They might as well wrap the whole of the club! Anyway, if by my AD, they still have that practice, i will just remove the cardboards by myself.

whoofy

Hi Little Val
I thought we can choose our own songs for 1st dish, 1st march, 2nd march and champagne pouring as well ? Since they boast so much abt their lights effects and sound system, we shd hav the previlage to make full use of it mah..

Eowyn.., perhaps we can have a mass feedback to the club management abt tis.. Flood them wif emails at one go.. see if they will take any action on the lifts... hahhaaa

So when are your AD ladies ??? Mine is on 31 Aug 08.. long way to go...

I met up wif Suzanne yesterday. I was impress with the Crystal ballroom and fall in love with it.

However Suzanne is not flexible at all. For eg, we try to negotiate with her to waive off the 50% charge for food tasting she is not agreeable. Then I ask her whether she can give us some time for us to go back and discuss with our parents and tentatively block the date for me and I'll revert to ASAP. She also not agreeable. I feel is strange as many restaurants are able to block of the date for you tentatively.

Do you gals find her very inflexible?

I asked about the cardboard on the elevator floor too. Accordingly to them, it's a service elevator and hence it needs to protect the flooring and moreover they use if for transferring the food from 2nd level to the 4th level...hence don't think it could be removed.

Their package does not include wedding favors and this mean extra cost to it. After calculating, we need to fork out at least $3K more for the ballroom reservation and wedding favors.

Did you gals manage to negotiate with her on anything related to the package and she is able waive off. Please share with me and I will not disclose your identity. We are going to meet her again on Friday to further discuss and wish to know did you gals get perks from her.

dangou

hi yoshiko,
i do agree with u, she is not flexible. no carpark coupons, not even for bridal car, no waiver of 50% food tasting. ask her if got lobang for favours, also no...
but still we go for the ballroom. but that time, mine was without the $1.2K booking of ballroom. so still ok.

Hi Dangou

We are caught in the situation now as these are extra cost to us.

May I know when is your wedding banquet and is it at the Crystal Ballroom at level 4? I understand that they renovated the ballroom...did you have the same decor as the current one? You may visit their website and view the video for their updated decor.

Thanks for sharing : )

dangou

yes. mine was at crystal ballroom at level 4. same deco also leh...

I guess u’d have to take into considerations the cost of wine and liquors that u’ll be incurring if u take others… cos from what I know only qianxi group of restaurants provide free flow. Maybe u can roughly gauge, for eg. Choose the menu u prefer, then add all these cost and compare to other hotels or restaurants. I guess after that u’d have a better picture of the pros and cons.

Hi Plain - Thank you for the photos....I've viewed your photos and they are very beautiful. The decor is exactly the same. I understand from Suzanne that her son wedding banquet is also held at the same ballroom around June 06 time frame...so I assume the decor is quite a while but the staff claimed that the decor is quite new....

Dangou: May I know when did you book your banquet....during the viewing did you see the exact decor or they did an upgrade after your booking with them?

During negotiation, did you able to get things waive off from Suzanne?

Both my FH and myself are very disappointed yesterday with Suzanne as she is really not flexible and the answer is always No and no further negotiation at all.

whoofy

Hi Yoshiko

the point on food transferring frm level 2 to 4 had reminded me of something which you may want to check wif Suzanna..
During the few times we were there. we had encouter sharing the same lift wif trolley carrying food.. without any cover !!!! Personally I;m unable to accept such unhygienic practice since the lift will be carrying many many ppl the whole day, God knows how many bacterias & germs are inside. Moreover with the cardboards, it has trapped dust & dirt..... Oh NO !!! This is Not happening !!! Pls do all of us a favour and check wif Suzanna if they are using something to cover the food during transfer...
Plssss.....

Hi Dangou

We have calculated. We've budget around 3K for both the ballroom and the wedding favors.

Did you have a minimum tables requirement for the ballroom? Suzanne told me at least 45 tables but we only have 40 tables.

My future FIL selected the most expensive menu and I feel that we can actually look at hotels too as the price is almost the same. And moreover, nobody will think that we get the most expensive menu. Most pple will think that we may be getting the cheapest or the mid-range menus...so I can expect losses....

dangou

i booked my banquet on 20 Feb 2006. That time, it was still under renovations, so nothing was up for us to see… but Suzanne claimed that it will be the most worthwhile venue for weddings in the west. So without further ado, after simple negotiation, we booked it. we couldn’t get anything waived too. Disappointed then, however just hope that everything will goes smoothly lor and it did…. So overall, I still enjoy my wedding day very much! Very memorable. Keke.

i hope yours will turn out very wonderful too...

Hi Whoofy jo

Sure I will check with her and thanks for highlight it to me. I'll check it out wif her when i next meet her.

A senior captain told me that steam fish is done at level 4 and the chopping of chicken/ duck are also handle at level 4 too.

I agree with you that it's very unhygenic to transfer the food without covering it.

Whoofy jo - did you pay for 1.2k for the ballroom and did you have a minimum tables required for the ballroom?

dangou

Yoshiko,
$3K for both ballroom and wedding favors is more than enough, estimated each favor cost at most $3, you still have a balance. But I guess favor, you can get it at $2 per pc, depending on what you choose lor. Yes, minimum is 45 tables. I booked for 45 tables, however got increased to 51 tables.
I think as for food wise, no point choosing the most ex one. Cos their normal one not that bad already, and I highly recommend their duck, maybe u can choose the not so ex one and change some of the dishes will do. I do agree with you, no one will care whether how ex the menu is….

Thanks dangou.....I believe that you've confident with Suzanne that is why you signed up with them even you didn't view the decor. But at least it's worth it because you do not need to pay $1.2K for the ballroom.

I'm really stress out le because most restaurants for my dates are fully booked and I have left with limited selection. Currently on my list is Ocean Orient, Gim Tim @ Yio Chu Kang (Grassroot club) - but I've to cut down from 40 tables to 36 tables, Brilliant Garden @ Chevron (waitlist) and Pioneer Spring @ Telok Blangah (will view on Friday). But my top choice is still Hilltop. May in order for us to save on $1.2K, I may go for the venue at Expo or the 2nd level restaurant.

dangou

yes. $1.2K is consider alot. can save and go honeymoon...
i think L2 not really bad, just dun like the sharing of corridor while u are holding ur dinner. think expo better.

whoofy

hi Yoshiko

yes, we had paid the 1.2K deposit for the ballroom, min 45tables.
I've also email you on my package details for your reference..
As dangou mentioned, 3K for ballroom and favors are more than enuf. Unless you are looking at very premium favours. If u see my email, I've mentioned tat I'm looking at the shot glass as favors, cost $2.50/ea. Do a simple calculation on 450guest, it's abt 1.2K only.. so in total you spend less than 3K for ballroom + favors.
Also another point to highlight again is the free flow of beverages in the package.. tis is really quite an advantage for us..

dangou

yes, for the freeflow, u can save the trouble of sourcing and bringing in to the venue. also can avoid negotiating on the corkages charges...

Thanks Whoofy jo...I've received your email and replied to you too.

Thanks dangou too...I'll ve a serious discussion with my FH and work out the cost and terms before meeting Suzanne on Friday.

I agree their ballroom is very impressive but I will still need to consider the venue as my relatives mostly stay in the East or North and lots of our friends do drive and there aren't complimentary parking. Also my AD is on a Sunday and being not in the town area this may affect the attendance too.

Anyway, greatly appreciate for sharing and wish me luck in my negotation with Suzanne ya : )

princess_val

hihi I am having my wedding banquet on 24/6/07.

Personally I don't fancy those wedding favors, so even Hilltop doesn't provide, it's ok for me.

Ya I have feedback to the guy boss (Suzanna's hubby), he also mentioned that her 'pattern' is like that.I' ve just collected my wedding cards, nicely printed :p

Yes I believe the Songs for March in & 1st dish presentation can be of our selection. But I have stick to their 1st dish presentation song (by: BOND, 4 girls - fast pace violin).

I think they only offer Concer's Stone now. super normal,but again free flow, what to expect wor!? I will remind Andy (coordinator) to wrap up the food during transportation.

whoofy

Hi Little Val
you may also want to inform the banquet coordinator tat on the AD, make sure all guest's glasses are filled wif drinks for the yum seng.. I have attended a banquet at a 5 star hotel before, having an almost empty glass to toast during yum seng.. Another point to note is that if the next dish to be serve is fish, ask them to stop first and serve the fish out only after the yum seng has finish so that guest wont need to eat a plate of cold fish... I'm personally very particular on these small details... but hope my 2 cents advise will help to have a closer to perfect wedding..

eowyn_1711

My AD is on 25/5/2008.

I find suz quite inflexible too... but i guess the refusal to waive off the 50% food tasting and 1.2K of ballroom is to make it fair for all the bridal couples who book with them. In my opinion, the free flow of drinks in cocktail reception and during the wedding can already save us a lot of $.

I didn't know that they transport the food from level 2 to 4 though. I just assume that they prepare the food on level 4 since there's a kitchen there. In fact, i was more worried that i will smell of food since the bridal changing room is just next to the kitchen! Haha... In that case, covers on the food is a must! LittleVal, guess your AD is the earliest of us all. So must feedback on that.

Hi Whoofy

I've met her up only yesterday as I can't make it for last Fri appointment.

We have signed up with her yesterday....as usual, she does not agree to give us any perks.

Anyway we have compared with Brilliant Gardens at Chervons & Poineer Spring @ Bukit Merah Safra club.

And we decided to go with Hilltop is because, they have carpark lots (we have many relatives & friends that are driving so this is essential), accessible to MRT, all beverages are included and grand ballroom design, food is good.

Though is slightly more expensive but I think is worth it for once in a lifetime. We also did a calculation and the ballroom charges can be saved if we didn't go with them but in the end we need to buy hard liquor and red wines for the 2 other restaurants..so end up to be in square one...so why not pay a little more and save the hassle to source for wines and liquor and have a nice ballroom.

I have feedback to them the hygiene of handling the food, the service lift lobby and the aisle floral design for the ballroom. They will be looking into it and improve it according. As for the food handling, they were surprised and they agreed with us that it's very important and will look into it.

ygc91285

Hi!I have booked the Hilltop Garden Restaurant in Jan07 for my wedding on 16Dec07. The booking is valid for small wedding setting with min 10 tables up to max 15 tables (at 2nd Floor Ballroom A). Now there is change of my wedding plan and I am willing to let go at SGD1.3k where I have placed a deposit of SGD1.5k. I really like the place but have no choice to let go now. If interested, please feel free to email me: [email protected] OR contact me at 98578137. Thanks and cheers!

princess_val

thxthx for your advice, whoofy.

I ain't hanging high hopes from Hilltop in their service wise, as long as their food is served hot & cooked.

I've dreamt that their service is superb bad...think I'm too stress out le

My FFIL is very particular about food and service and if really very bad, I think will ask them to compensate.

But I'm pondering, how can their servie be tat bad if 1 waiter/ress in charge 2 tables?

LittleVal, besides serving food hot and cooked, must remind the captain to remind the waiter/ress always to top up drinks especially during toating

kristy

Prepare to let go a wedding banquet at Qian Xi Paya Lebar (small ball room) for personal reason, good for holding more than 25 tables. Interested please contact my hubby @ 90045683. Thanks

princess_val

Hihi....i am back!!

Oh I think it is really tough to get the crew to refill the drinks especially on that day, they are extremely busy. 1 waitress assigned to around 2 tables. Unless they have settled the serving the dishes, if not i really don't think they have time to refill the glasses.

Oh mine the earliest? ya hor its next month!! haha Still have to do a rehearsal on the actual day. luckily mi & hubby staying nearby + CSC also nearby, so saves travelling time.

Oh I think it is understandable for the lousy service. I have spoken to the boss, he mentioned they haven't really got a team of full time experienced servers. But this is restaurant style, so don't expect v.gd service.

baihuayou

Can anyone share with me their experience with food tasting in Hilltop Garden Restuarant?

My famillies and I had a very disappointed food tasting with Hilltop Garden Restaurant. It really lose my confidence in their so call good reputation.

I really dunno how the food will turn out on my actual day... ?!?!?

My wedding is in July

luffie78

we're new here.
we've booked the crystal ballrm. the ballrm is realli nice (luv @ 1st sight). AD is 20.1.08.
didn't realli negotiate when we signed cos we feel tat it is a reasonably gd package. only bad thing is no wedding favours. didn't realli notice the lift to the reception area cos we took the other lift up tat time. anyone knows where can i get cheap and nice favours?

joey0219

Anyone can advice me roughly how long in advance we can get the wedding cards from Suzanne? Coz me wondering when I need to infm her the numbers of cards I need. My AD is in Nov'07.

baihuayou

hi Joey0219,

I choose my wedding card design on the same day when i went for food tasting, ard 2mths before wedding. They probably took ard 2 -3 days to fax you a draft of the wordings on the wedding card, afterwhich, you have to confirm whether there are any changes to make. Then after u confirm everything, have to wait around 1 week to receive the wedding card. My wedding is in July but i haven't received my wedding cards yet. Abit tight schedule, but no choice coz' understand from them that printing co. has not enough cards.

So maybe you can contact them earlier if you know roughy how many tables you are having.

Hope these info helps.

whoofy

dear ladies
my AD is on the 1st day of the lunar 8th mth next yr.. so will hav to distribute the invites to our guest before the 7th mth festival start as my mom says no ppl will prepare auspicious events during 7th mth...

joey0219

Hi baihuayou,

Thks for yr info! Wow, u haven receive yr cards yet when yr wedding in Jul'07...Then me must be very kiasu liao..but sometime is also quite hard to confirm the guest list when is still mths apart..

Think planning the guest list is the most critical job while preparing the wedding...

henkitty

I considering this restaurant..but can we change some of the dishes if we like them? and for the wedding cards are there a lot of design to chose from?

princess_val

Invitation cards are given based on 70% of the total numbers of tables booked. They will issue the invitation cards after the food tasting.For mine, I received my invitation cards around 2 months in advance.

My family & I love the food during food tasting wor!! I even took photos of the food. if you wana see , then i go dig for it.