Problem sleeping with hubby snoring

marie

wow..this is an interesting thread!
My Daddy's snoring is also very powerful...as we live in a mansionette...u can hear his snores from his bedroom at the second level all the way at the living room....its was so loud my mom had to sleep elsewhere =P

My FH also snores..but not the serious kind (heng manz!...he also grind his teeth..i think i snore too..but only when i am under alot of stress and am very tired. =P

Hahaha..i think guys really got the on/off switch..one moment they can be toking to you and the next moment zzzing liaoz..my FH can zzzz off within the very first 2 min he lie down on his bed.

Yahlor..scotch tape sounds dangerous and torturous manz!!

nivlek

Hii all...

Ya.. I agree using Scotch tape is kinda dangerous for really blocked nose situation... But funny thing is the tape will come off by itself in the middle of the night.. guessed by then.. my wife will be sounds alseep..There was one night when my snoring is so bad that woke her up... and the snoring continued till she can't get back to sleep and had to watch TV ard 4am..poor thing.... So hope this aloe vera juice really helps....

Any more suggestions to help overcome this SNORING problem??? Any Doctor out there???

another sufferer

nivlek, i think the scotch tape fell off cos your saliva "melted" the adhesiveness glue....hehehe!!!!

chloewinkie

hi gers,
my FH has a very bad snoring problem too. But we have tried this spray called "snoreeze" that can be purchaed at pharmacies.
It does help to reduce the snoring quite substiantially for him...
perhaps you may wanna give it a try... it cost abt $26 i think...

fleur

hi nivlek,
my fren say it's Dr Peter Atherton, has a book titled "The Essential Aloe Vera, The Actions and the Evidence". In 1 of his speech, he mentioned FLP's aloe vera gel cured his snoring problem.
he fwds me these links:
http://www.ymp93.dial.pipex.com/doctors/atherton.htm

http://www.aloevera.co.uk/aloeprop.htm

coolman

Hi ppl,

Dunno whether u all still come to tis thread as the last posted date is last Feb.

I been laughing my way thruout reading tis thread. Cos I myself also snore.. And the worst thing is my FH is a light sleeper... So whenever he heard my snore, he will try to wake mi up. The problem is i knock out veri fast. We can be chatting for awhile and the next moment, I will be soundly asleep... Though I dun snore everyday, i m afraid tat after our wedding, my FH will have hard time getting his sleep when i snore sometimes...

Sometime i suspect my snoring is due to "yi chuan" from my father... Really have to find a solution to cure my snoring problem...

pausini

HI,
I got snoring problem too.. and i realise if because of m block nose and i using my mouth to breath so i end up snoring inmy sleep.

My doctor give me the nasal spray so i can breath thru my nose and the snoring problem is gone.

honeygem

This is such a funny thread.

FH recorded my snoring. Until now, will still vehemently deny it was me
Also, if all else fails, he'll just clamp his hand on my face whilst sleeping. I'll wake up. And snoring stops.

I have a habit of kicking him off the bed anyway in the middle of the night. But that's another story altogether...

bamboobride

ladies,

can recommend me any dr to see in nuh? snoring is very bad cos it makes one very tired the next day. i heard nuh has a dept to see this prob. but i am not very sure how to go abt seeing one (i want to bring my hb there for consultation). do we need to get a referral letter or we can just call n make an appt?

snoozy

my FH snores too.. no matter which pattern he sleep.. he snores.. but i already used to it.. NOw he is back to aust.. kinda missed his snore :p

starfruit

Here is one simple tip for you. I do this whenever my hubby snores.

When he snores, i will gently move his head very slightly (left or right its ok) i.e turn his head..the reason he is snoring could be due to the bad or awkward position that he is sleeping in, and by moving his head and shifing it slightly, u will minimise or even stop the snoring. It works almost everytime i try and becos i am doing it very gently, he does not wake up.

jeanz

Just chanced upon this thread and read about all your problems with hubby snoring

not to scare u all but do look up on the term "obstructive sleep apnea" ...just to make sure that it is not a medical condition your hubbies are suffering from . There are certain characteristics adn symptoms etc..if u see them in your hubby , u might want to seek some medical attention

kohbaby

hahahah i didnt know so many of you are suffering from snoring hubbys...

I have this problem too, my hubby can fall asleep in ten secs, there is once we went for holiday in aussie then when i finish my shower, he was there snoring, really cannot tahan, i make him wake up then ask him to stay awake til i fall asleep, he agreed then i quickly try to sleep but in less then 30secs he start his engine again..... then i so bad, i make him wake up and sit at the sofa then when i asleep then he can come back to bed but he started snoring on the sofa.... then suddenly a flying pillow hit him. hahaha i so bad hor
now i have already get used to it, my method is try counting his snore, by 50 you should be asleep already, better then counting sheep, good idea right? try it girls

ublur

aiyoh. how come guys like tt one eh? myFH snores teribly too... i was so fed up last wkend that i woke up and recorded his snoring using my video cam!!! ultimate right? but i jus wana let him noe tt he snore tt loud.. ahahhaa.. when i show him the clip, he was shocked too, he din noe tt his snoring is so terrible.... ended up tt night i could not sleep well.. in fact, i have been using the ear plug for a few times.. hahaha..
i can still rem when i went to japan wif my FH.. we were staying in a campus room (6 pple in a room).. they were having snoring symphony together wif my FH!!! i was like "orrrrhhhhh oh my god!!"

mashybrainz

Call me paranoid but I'm quite glad when I hear my hb snoring.
At least I know he's alive and did not die in his sleep.
You should be thankful that you can still hear him snore.

lim

hahahahaha.... this thread is really very funny.
Now I feel that I'm not alone in this world with a snoring husband.
Yeh... when I first got married 1 yr ago I got so fed up with my hb snoring that I slept in another room but my hb got so upset with me. So I tried the spray, again no use. Then I found that if my hb sleeps on his side, the snoring will stop or will be softer. Pillow also plays a part, get one which is harder so hb's head is elevated and that will somehow reduce the snoring. I also move my hb's head to his side to stop snoring.

ublur

mashy, wat u say is quite true to certain extend....

rabbit, my FH also very upset too.. he keep apologising after he saw the video clip.. hahaha.. but he din do it on purpose..

fam

My husband also snores in his sleep!!! N Really Loud!!! He can fall asleep in ten secs too! maybe he's too tired... But something weired is that, when he start to snore when he fall asleep, I just tell him, 'WEI, u can keep quiet abit anot?!?!?' then he STOP! its really weired but i think he can hear me talkin to him in his sleep. sometimes during the night, when i wake up due to his snoring, what i do is that i just push him abit, then tell him to shut up. and he did. hehehe.

takahara

Doris,

Hahaha!! I had the same exp as u also, except that for my case, I had to have a 'small' pillow fight with him b4 he stops his snoring (temporarily). most of the days - its the ear plugs tat helps.

fam

Well, abit curious about the pillow fight... Anyway, the meanest thing I had done to him, is to pinch his nose! hehe! I think that most of the time i really bully him alot.

takahara

Doris,

imagine getting the bolster right smack on ur hubby's face?

after a whole day's work, n u need to have tat ample rest...N this particular person sleeping beside u snoring away..GGRRR!!feels nice planting that bolster on ur his face..

sashay

hahaha~ this is real farnie... my hubby dun usually snores unless he is real tired but he grinds his teeth!!!! In my opinion, its as bad as snoring.

fam

haha! But usually like last night, I'm talking to my HB about the renovation things and mag stuff, he just fall asleep and snore straight away in like 5 secs! cant imagine that. he can snore strange patterns, like normally ppl snore is breathing type, in out, in out. His is v funny. in out out out... Making me angry that he fall asleep while i'm talking to him, but also makes me laugh with his snoring.

takahara

Morning ladies!

Doris,

Sometimes when i point out to my hubby that he snores, he will deny lor...Got once that i got so mad - tat time i was 8 mths pregnant- when he was bzly snoring away. I had this mischievous act - took out the video cam, n made a home video of him sleeping n snoring away. While we were having our quiet quality time together, i suggested to see "a new show" that i had been been setting aside for both of us to watch together. Looking at the shock on his face seeing himself snoring ,made me laugh n nearly peed in my pants. HAhahahaha!

fam

Morning to u,

haha! U gave him a surprise huh... That's really funny. Give me an idea to video him using my hp! But he never deny his snoring. We dun have quiet quality time one... when he comes home ar, always ignore me one... First thing he do while waiting for me to sleep, is to take my hp and play with the game. so i quite mean to him too. sometimes he complain that i'm too slow to pack the things, i just shout at him that i'm the only one doing things and he is no use, cannot help. But when he help me, I also shout at him that the way he fold clothes is way too terrible. Either way he's wrong...

Anyway, about snoring, I dun snore... But when I'm younger abit, my last time maid tells my mum that sometimes i shout in my sleep.. =X

Think cos of my dreams.. I dream alot.. Like these few days, yest i keep dreaming about my new flat and the renovation. then the day before, i dreamt that i had twin boys!!! my dreams stretch too far into the future liao...

takahara

Wah Doris,

isnt it abit to far fetch a dream? geez cannot imagine if u dream about ur old age..wrinkles n all..

fam

hi, old age dun have la... But got all these weired dreams... esp the twins.. Renovation is current so its normal... But the twins, cant imagine lor.. Maybe its telling i might have twin boys??? hehehe... j/k (maybe i like twins ba)

dur30cat

I think the snoring trait must run in husbands! He didn't do that previously until 2-3 years ago when he starting putting on weight. I also attribute it to work stress. On days where he's really tired, his snoring gets really bad.

He's trying his best to accomodate by sleeping on his side lately but I am not sure if he's getting the sleep he needed.

And I am trying to hit the bed earlier than him! He swears I snore too! albeit softer - I have sinus problem :p

Does anyone have a good solution so far?

piggydog

snoring is not a small problem. my husband went to see a specialist and he had an operation to remove his tonsil. Great! Last time he used to snore so loud that I can even hear him behind closed door. Now..he seldom snore n even if he does, it is very soft. The doc did a test on him on sleeping pattern and found that he sometimes went sleeping without breathing for a long time and then will grasp for breath. In the long run, it will affect him seriously, i cannot remember what. I am not kidding.

for those with such snoring problem..better consult a doctor about it. sleep apnae can be fatal. can check out the sleep disorder centre @ SGH - typically if diagnosed with the problem, it can be corrected through oral medication, surgery or through the use of equipment to correct the breathing. short term solution is - to go to sleep before your hubby does..so that you won't be kept awake by all the snoring. also, get him to sleep on his side instead of on his back...if you notice, the snoring is worse when he sleeps on his back 'cos tendency for his tongue to roll back and block his breathing passage way - hence resulting in loud snoring.

soxcotton

hi bobbydog,

How much does it cost to c a specalist and which hospital did ur husband went to?
My husband also has snoring problem.

piggydog

Hi Cotton,
I'm so sorry that we cannot remember the costs involved. The operation is done in Changi Hospital. He had his tonsils removed by laser. Is your husband snoring serious?

007bond

Hii all,

For your info. I am a snoring patient too. Went to see Dr in poly and was then referred to TTSH.
At TTSh, they scheduled me for a sleep sturdy and found out that I suffered from OSA- Obstructive sleep apnea which caused us to stop breathing in our sleep. My report indicated that in 1 hour, I didn't breathe for 60 times (appx a few second no breathing)

Subsequently, did a operation consisting three parts - remove my tonsils, tied the other end of my tongue and one part which I don't know how to explain, ie. they made a cut around my adam apple to do don't know what.. so now I got a scar at my neck..

Result of operation - Snoring still there.. but softer.. and breathing improve greatly.. The neck pain and headache which I experienced before the operation was gone.. Now at least can sleep better...

Cost of my operation ard 3K plus.. claimable from medisave and incomeshield..

bitchyme

my hubby also snores very loud...in watever positions...he will snore...i really cannot stand his snoring....i remb i wakeup n cried cos his snoring make me crazy man...we haven customary yet....now this becomes a very big issue for us....cos we keep quarelling over this thing....

eml_

for those with bad snoring problem. it could be sleep apnoea. You may want to consider a consultation at CGH's ENT dept. Likely, you will do a scope first (about $200 -$300) to find out what could be the cause(s) of the problem. This is done as an outpatient. As the doctor does the scope, there's a screen that you can see what could be the causes of your problems.

I think the service is also available in SGH. But what i heard is CGH's doctor is a surgeon that can offer advice for both surgical and non-surgical intervention/solutions, whereas SGH i heard is a non-surgical doctor.

Know so much about it cos a friend went to consulted for the same problem too. Hope the above helps!

noscon

my hubby also snored but i just persisted in sleeping with him n now has gotten used to it. last time i used to wake up a few times a night but now i will only wake up 1 time max... i think i have grown used to his snoring.... i was surprised myself

hakida

My boss is an ENT specialist in paragon medical centre.Our charges for the scope is $175 exclude GST and is claimable up to $150 using the medisave.
Actually there are a few reasons as to why a person snores....
You can read his website to know more about snoring problems
http://www.entdizziness.com/snoring.htm
Emily,

I am actaully a little puzzled when you mentioned the SGH doctor is a non-surgical doctor....All ENT doctors are surgically trained...

I am the information from his website is helpful for those whose hubbies snore in their sleep

cute_devil

Hi Hayashi, my hubby snores very loud. May i know the whole detail. After go thru scope, does the doctor examine further to know whether the patient need to go surgery? If yes, how much is the charges? thanks in advance

filletofish

Hi guys!

Finally found people in the same boat as me.

My FH snores very loudly! feel annoyed, unable to have a gd sleep. Now im used to it... but after reading this thread... im kinda worry.

OSA- Obstructive sleep apnea sound really danger.

jjlo

hahaha... my HB not only snores, he grinds his teeth! but i totally deaf to all these.. after 5 years..

pkum

after taking some supplement, my hb is sleeping more peacefully. he feedbacked that he has more quality sleep and feeling more refreshed. for the last few months, he has been sleeping well.

qianqian

Hey, my hb also snore very loudly. but his one is normally constant so i will just count his snore to sleep but then he will suddenly a snore super loud one (like he kena choke of wad). many time i have been waken by the suddden snore. and check whether is he choked...
do u think he have OSA. kinda worried for him.
last time i alway kick him to wake him up so i can sleep.. but now me pity him.. cos his work too busy so he really very tried and stressful so better let him sleep

hakida

HI chloe,

You can tell your hubby to do a sleep study test to determine if he has OSA problem.My clinic charges $450 exclude GST for a sleep study test.We liase with one company to go over to patients house at night to set up the machine and the report will be ready the next day morning.
OSA is not deadly,more likely the quality of life is affected as most patients wake up in the middle of the night choking.

redruby

HI qianqian

i agreed wif u. i rather stay awake than to wake him up.but if really cannot take it i will tickle his nose he wil change his sleeping position and will stop snoring for awhile.kekeke

missbluey

my hubby snores too! i 'counter' his snores by wearing ear plugs..hahaha...sometimes no help as his snores are pretty loud, sometimes don't have..