Plaza Park Royal

the No 1,2 and 5 perks on Li Ann's list are already inside the package rite? for 2006/07.

corkage is waived if house wine is bought.

i hope to get:
2 nite bridal stay, day room for helpers and more carpark passes.

is it too difficult?

I've attended a wedding dinner at PPR before and the food is pretty good. I also went for the wedding show but my bf thinks the ceiling is too low. He also didn't like the pillars and even commented that the ballroom seems quite small for 30+ tables.

But i think the package is pretty good and the price is very reasonable for weekend at a hotel. Plus i like that you can customise the menu!

Is there a particular coordinator to recommend?

Hi wt (lintoes), which package are you looking at? How much have it increased?

Hi Rachel, my AD is on a Sat, also have hard time negotiating waiver of wine corkage! I didn't get it too! Hahaha. But my FH and I decided to do without wine and just keep to the free flow of beer. :P Your AD is end of this year right?

Hi Babymiki, you can try negotiating. But I suspect they may not budge too much cos their package is actually quite comprehensive already. But if you succeed let us know!

Hi Priscilla, many of them feel that Felicia is better, but personally, I'm happy with Fiona's service.
Guess it depends on the individual. But if you want to play it safe, can use Felicia cos she's been at PPR longer.

hi Hui, actually my gut feelin also tells me that fiona wont budge le. i wonder if telling her i'm doin 9 course dinner helps? hahaha

shd be seeing her again this sat if she's able to make it.

i saw Felicia the las time i was there, she quite 'senior' lor. not the young young type. =p

Hi Babymiki, maybe leh. Try lah no harm done. :D Hahaha. Felicia is quite a mature lady. ;) A lot of experience. Bum into her once she looks pretty good! Heheh

I just met up with Fiona this week.
I just cannot stand Fiona that kind of "hao lian" atitude & that kind of see ppl not up look. She seem like cannot budge leh. I really turn off by her attitude. I just called & request for a change of co-ordinator.

I thinking of looking @ other hotel.

Hi babymiki,

When we meet her up, she gave me that kind of look...maybe i was not wearing shirts and pants, she just brought us to the ballroom, just briefly explain the ballrm. She seem like rushing to go home. Then i ask her whether she can show us the bridal suite & normal suite, she gave me a straight "No, all rm's are taken up."
Then I asked her whether she can increase the car-park coupon, she dun even bother to look at me (looking at the doc) and said "25%.".
Come on, i am customer, i come here and spend money and want to have a happy memorable AD. Just image I haven't sign the package and she so unflexible and gave me this kind of attitude.

Maybe she too young for her job...Nowadays comsumer like us need to look at these sales personnel face....no wonder our service level so bad..

So are u going to have wedding at PPR??? Who is your co-ordinator.

hi, chris is the new senior banquet manager. think so far he's ok. tok to him b4. and any problems i have the contacts of their boss at the top. can give u the no lor.
had problems with fiona.. cant imagine that her attitude still so bad after my incident.
well, can complain lor.
dun give up on the hotel just becos of her lah.. ask for a change in the coordinator lor.

Hi Xiao Ming,
Maybe can reflect your experience to Chris or Fiona's boss then, cos quite a few people here complain about her in the last few months. Maybe she is really not performing well and perhaps it might do the rest of us good if you help us convey your unhappiness to her boss! She's my coordinator, but actually I have no problem with her so far, even though my FH and I were also wearing casuals when we meet her. Don't know what happened to her lately.

Yea don't give up on the hotel just because of her, ask for Felicia or Chris.

Take care!

I have with Fiona too, so far so good. My AD is Oct 2006.

Xiao Ming,
I met Felicia suring my visit to stamford room set-up. She is a very nice and experience lady. She is very helpful. She bring us around and explain to us the set-up of the room.

Xiao Lao Shu,
Are you from FB thread? U r PPR bride too?

Hi MiniCutie, Hui & xiao lao shu,

Thanks for the feedback & advice..

I waiting for chris to call me. Last Thu,I have spoke to the F&B Manager & being told that he will assign chris to me. But on friday itself, i still did not get any call from them...so i called back & requested to speak to the F&B manager & being told that he on meeting & i have left my contact number to request the manager to call me back...then i called back again, being told that he busy...then i called the 3rd time, one of the staff told me chris is on leave.

At least they shall call me or inform me that chirs is on leave right....even the F&B Manager also dun bother to inform me....sian man

:-(

hi xiaoming,
i was also wearing casual the time i met her. but she nth le. quite normal. she led us to see both ballrooms, explain how the set-up will be etc and the gazebo area. i also asked to see the bridal suite, she also said its full as there's 2 weddings that day.

i dunno if my reaction to my HTB scared her or something. i sort of 'scolded' my HTB as he got the AD's date wrong. she's pretty polite to us.

ya i think fiona will be my coordinator lor. meeting her this thurs, 6pm to sign contract, most prob. she mentioned she;s on night shift, is there such a thing?

anyway, it seems they are pretty slow in returing calls to customers. fiona was also like that time. dun worry, call/email them to rush them

Hi Xiao Ming,
Don't worry when you have been assigned a banquet manager they'll give u their handphone number. Then its easier to contact them. So sorry to hear about your bad experience.

I agree with Babymiki, she's kindof ok. The first time I was there we asked to see the bridal suite of which she said it was full. Then the next time I went I asked again, she showed it to me cos no one was using. Maybe she has her moods, though of cos no customer like to be treated badly.

Minicutie, Oct 06 coming soon!!
Have you gone for food tasting?

who have the floor plan or photos for plaza room?
I went down to see the plaza room. But couldn't see the overall as they have a function going on. But quite worry as i find it small.... Hope someone have a photo of the plaza room.
Can email to me @ [email protected]

I tried calling Felicia on her mobile but realised her no is "Not in use"? Another hv her "new" mobile no? Pls advise. Tried calling hotel but could not get her...

Hi Joanne,

chere here (from June 07 brides) . Felicia has called me and informed me of her new hp no. to be 82004210

Hi Hui,

I am going to have food tasting on 21 July 2006. Any good recommendation on the food? I will be using the stamford room.

Hope everything go smoothly on my AD.

Hi chere,

tks a lot for the handphone update of Felicia
she was my coordinator too;)

Hi Minicutie,

have u printed your cards oredi? how are the card designs? how is your food-tasting? which dish to choose? Tks a lot!

Hi Hui,

long time no see;) can see u still very active here

Dun mention. Really glad that she took an effort to call and inform of her new hp no. Have not called her on this new no. though. Hope i did not jot it down wrongly.

Hi chere,

Tks for the number. I thot she left PPR cos she did not call me. I got kinda worried when i can't get through and no one responded to my voice mail. They must be extremely busy loh... I also will be using stamford room, wondering how the setup will be like. Hee hee...

hi crystal,

the plaza ballroom is a short, elongated (horizontal direction) ballroom. so, the guests furthest away will be at the side instead of the back. the march in will be quite short. hope u can understand.

i dun have photos, only the floorplan but its with my hubby. so cant show u.

hope to view the bridal suite this thurs.

Hi babymiki,

I will be going down on this thur to view the setup of the ballroom. Felicia told me that to avoid any interruption, the best time to view is at 5.30-6.30pm.

Hi Crystal,

You might want to consider to view it.

Can both of you share with me on the bridal boutique via email [email protected]

Hi Minicutie,
I'm not sure what is nice, but I tried their 8treasures shark fins' soup before it is super delicious. :P~~~~~
Let us know how your food tasting goes!

Hi Meifang,
How's ur preps?? Yea still hanging around.
Made some friends here. Hehehe.

Hi Meifang,

I have not collect the card yet but Fiona has emailed me the designs. There are 2 colours, white and red. The designs are the same. I personally feel the card not as nice as other hotels that i received before. Have to see the actual card on collection date then will be able be able to know. My food tasting is on 21 Oct. Will update u all on the food tasting.

babymiki,

wah... so different from what i saw before the renovation... haiyo.... if u get hold of the floor plan can email me? Really like to see how they are going to put the tables...

hmhywp,

i already gave my deposit ler... I met felicia and she only let me see the small partition room as there is a function going on. When she says, the stage will be over there... i really cannot believe my eyes... hahaah so NEAR!

Anyway... bridal boutique?? u mean u want to know the package thingy?

hi crystal,

ya, the plaza ballroom does look a bit funny compared to other ballrooms. didnt felicia give u the wedding package together with the floor plan? i will try to see if i can scan it in over the weekend. =)

hi hmhywp,
i already viewed the ballrooms but that time the bridal suite is full hence i didnt view it. hopefully this thurs, its available for viewing.

ya, bridal boutique means u wan to noe our BS?

babymiki,

The layout i have is the old one which can put 48 tables. And the She told us last weekend that the new renovated one is 45 tables. Haiz.. me and my FH feel abit cheated...

Hi Crystal / Babymiki

Sorry I'm new in the forum. Is BS stand for package? Is it possible to share with me? Thank you.

Hi Hui,

now done with my photo-shooting and selection, just waiting to collect my album and photos. next will be choosing the wedding card but according to MiniCutie, only 2 so no need to choose red for relatives and white for friends;)

Hi MiniCutie,

when is your wedding? I tot Nov? pls update me on your food tasting
most prob I will be doing food tasting around then too ;P initially hoping yours is earlier so can reference abit hee;) Tks a lot!

hi crystal,

ya..the new one hold 45 tables. how many tables do u have? i think 40 is a nice number to put inside plaza ballroom. anymore will be pretty cramp and not forgetting the pillars.

hi hmhywp,
BS means bridal studio. mine is from di gio. MTM WG+EG and ROM dress+makeup. i have not gone for any fitting yet. cos my wedding is next yr end =)

babymiki,

Think i got almost 44tables... haiz... so sianz when i see how far is the stage... SO NEAR! haiyo.... i was real shock sia when i see it.
Felicia oso told me not to put up to 45... see how bah... check can cut cut here and there anot... if not then no choice. Just take 44 + 1

Hi Crystal,

Thanks for sharing.

Hi babymiki,

Thanks for sharing. I view the plaza ballroom and distance between the door to the stage is very near compare to Stamford Room. Is it possible to share the cost and list of package for your di gio via email [email protected]

I just went for the food tasting. Here's our experience.

The 8 treasure sharkfins was disappointing. I know a lot of brides recommend it but no one mentioned that it's GREEN in colour! It did taste like normal sharkfin soup but there's some hard bits and pieces in it.

The green curry prawns was as good as the reviews. Really nice presentation and colour contrast. Taste superb. Not spicy.

We also tried the BBQ spring chicken in thai style. Fragrant and good but the presentation was really sloppy. They just dumped a bunch of salad greens on top of the chicken. Feels like chicken in the jungle.

Hi PPR BTB! *Waves*

It's been a long time since i log in...been busy with work...but i certainly miss coming here

How did your bargaining turn out?

I'll be signing the agreement soon with PPR...my friends all agreed that the package is good.

Had a quick glance at the postings...think i have something here useful to share with you guys...
387063.jpg
387064.jpg
387065.jpg

keke...my first attempt to post pic... should have made it smaller..

anyway...let me explain...
1. The wedding card and wedding favors.
I like the small boy and gal better than this one but the supplier no longer supplies that so boh bian...but if you want to opt out of favors, PPR will replace with an album (the non slot in type)

2. Wedding theme - white wedding
Fiona said that more people chose this theme. The flowers used are roses predominantly.

3. Wedding theme - zen
So far no one has used this theme..i personally dun like the stage backdrop...its flowers "pasted" onto a white sheet...looks really ugly... and it looks kinda bare without flowers. but when the candles are lit up, it looks romantic...

and then comes the food....

Told you i will share with you guys on the menu right?

Here you go...Fiona recommended these popular dishes:
1. Pink dory in ginger sauce
2. 8 treasure soup
3. Stuffed chicken wrapped in lotus ring
4. Yam ring
5. Crispy large prawns in green curry sauce
6. Pineapple rice / 8 treausres rice
7. Hot yam sago puree

i'm hungey just by typing the menu!!!

Hi Agnes, did U went for your foodtasting last sat? Mine was last sat.

yes, 8 treasures soup is green in colour, tasted it during this May wedding show there, I choose shark fins with dried scallops but will change it liao cos the soup is dark colour, weird man juz cost they using dried scallops. Else shld be no change to the food-tasting menu...I take e drunken prawns instead of green crispy large prawns, no particular reason,juz prefer to hua tiao over e prawns. ;) 8-treasures rice not bad, sine mine is 8-course, so rice at 7th dish is still managable.

Hi Li Ann,

yes, white garden theme is the popular one, but they might changed or enhance soon, waiting Fiona's confirmation on that, tentatively i be gg for white garden theme...I choose the bear as favours, though look 'naked' but look more ex as compared with key chain or paper clip...haha Too bad they dun provide e bears in bride & groom dressings, cos Fiona say she kena played out by the supplier, hence gt problem answer to the couple who chose them, but on e other hand, will prevent 'fighting' amg guests over groom or bride bear...PPR cant afford to give each guest 1 pair sia...I now in e midst of doing e inserts with richard, was given 100 red, 100 white by Fiona...shld be enuff for my tables of 20-25...

Hello Agnes! Thanks for sharing! Now we have more info before we go for our food tasting!

Hello Li Ann! The zen theme looks nice leh from the pic. Hehehe. What does it mean when you say they paste flowers on a piece of paper? Can't quite see it in the pic or imagine it. They have candles? WHere do they place the candles?

actually we like the zen theme too cos we saw it during the wedding show. i like the twig stand along the aisle in fact. The twig stand has tealights on the twigs hence when lighted up, it is very nice...

but the stage backdrop looks funny. Cos i need to make the pic smaller to fit into the posting, i don't think you can see the backdrop very clear.

If you look at the backdrop, against the white cloth are some "dark-colored specks" right? Those are the flowers (without stalk, leave) "pasted" on the white cloth...

looks really ugly...
but of course you can chose to do without the flowers.
hence all in all...they only use twigs (oh, there are some crystals on the twigs) and tealights.
it looks rather bare and clashes with my garden solemnization theme therefore i have to give up on the zen theme.

Hi Li Ann,

Ohhh..I see. We shld be able to do some changes to the theme if we bring in our own items right? :P Will find some ways to "amend" their zen theme. Really cool.

Hui...yeps...the zen theme looks better on the actual day...cos of the candle lights... exudes a very alluring and warm feel... so if it fits into your theme...strongly recommends you to use it and modifiy a bit to suit you... i showed the picture to my florist and she advised against it cos it is difficult to use flowers for zen theme... will "clash". And to create even more zen feel...prolly have to use more twigs and big vases with zen-feel....but will be ex lor. I'm seeking another opinion so if she has brilliant ideas that i will let you know..personally i thought maybe add more candles but fire hazzard la...keke...plus candles can be quite ex...

oh, if you are thinking of using zen, one idea is to put some aromatherapy oil to scent up the ballroom.... quite nice.

Perhaps for the ZEN theme, instead of having flowers pasted on the backdrop, can use vines drooping down instead?

Hi Win, my food tasting was on Tue. We tried pink dory, 8 teasure sharkfin, garoupa in teochew style, thai style chicken, green curry prawns, bai ling mushroom veg, ee fu noodles, and yam sago. It's 8 course too.

We were very full aft the tasting ourselves. Changed the 8 treasure sharkfin to the scallop ones too. Have u really seen it yourself? Fiona did tell me it's dark. u mean it's really really dark? How's the taste?

Change the teochew style fish to the soya sauce one as my MIL says no salted veg for wedding. Our orinigal plan was to go with hua tiao prawns too but aft tasting the green curry, simply fell in love with it. The noodles very nice too. Yam sago can be filling but personally feel that the yam not strong enough.