Plaza Park Royal

Hi Rachel: Ya I agree, I think everyone will get a space exclusively for their own wedding on that day.
I actually think they will attend to details as such and will try to minimize confusion.

Hi Li Ann: Using candles and flowers will be a great idea.

hi sspl, sorry i havent checked this thread for a long time. I have some photos but it does not provide a very good view of the background as i did not scan all. if u want it, prob only 2 that seems to say something, just email my [email protected] and i will reply ya back from there

Hello everyone!

I'm oso having my banquet in the plaza room on Oct 21. Now choosing the menu for food tasting. Wat do you all recommend?

Hi Crystal! Do you like their 8 Treasure Shark's Fins soup? I love it! Though its green in colour and some BTBs find that too strange. :D

anyone with photos to share? especially those who used the plaza ballroom.
i'm really concern over the projector and the screen. they only have 1 and it's portable kind.

crystalz...read somewhere in this forum at some other PPR thread that the green curry is nice and the steamed groupa is fresh

hui..hehe...i got the idea from some mags writeup on balinese spa retreats...the picture turned out pretty...with the candles and flowers everywhere...but not sure if the hotel allows that..

i dunno what;s wrong with PPR/ Fiona. I've been trying to contact them since last thurs and no one got back to me. quite disappointed with them.

anyone have their contact numbers that are contactable? can share with me?

thx Hui! u r my life saviour.

but anyway, this Fiona called my HTB on thurs actualy and told him will call him today (fri) to confirm appointment, but break her promise again.

did anyone face this initial communication prob? i understand they are bz...but 1 week?

Hi Babymiki, how about checking with Fiona what happened? I guess if there is some dissatisfaction with her response time you can let her know. Maybe she has a good reason. If she doesn't, then she'll know better than to disappoint you and ur HTB again.

hi babymilk,
i dun like fiona's service lor.
initially, i was under her, then now change already. cos she made a damn big mistake wich causes so much headache for me. luckily, it's resolved now.
i booked my AD with her and they were using manual book to keep track of the taken dates, when they changed to computer system, she actually forgot to key in my booking!!! can u imagine? in the end she called me and tell me that her colleague went to book that date and ask me whether want to change anot.
how frustrating can that get? got to speak to so many other channels to finally got it sort out.
just sharing my story so that all of u out there can be careful when working with fiona.

she can make mistakes... on the day of my soleminzation... it was Felicia who corrected the stereo system for me. Fiona disappeared as she was busy with the other couples... later we saw her crying as Felicia filled us in that Fiona was scolded by one of the couples who had a wedding cocurrently with us

hi Hui, at the moment my HTB only spoke to her once on the fone. i have yet to comment to her abt the 'response time' and was planning to feedback when we meet up.

Hi xiaolaoshu, i read abt ur incident in the previous entries and told myself to be very hard on them abt the date, cos i dun have alternative date to start off with. so now u changed to who? i was actually hoping to get felicia but the coordinator only gave me fiona's contact. so, the sales managers are only felicia and fiona?

hi xiao_xiao, sometimes i dunno whether to pity them a not.

Hi Babymiki...think Fiona was on leave last week but she still manange to respond to our questions via email after she came back on Friday...could it be due to the fact that we have yet to officially sign the agreement??

oh dear...i'm beginning to get worried...

Actually i did encounter some initial frustrations with her regarding the wedding themes...but eventually we brushed it off to "blurness"...and inexperience... she seems to not know alot of stuff e.g. what kind of flowers used for the centerpiece and not even having any pictures on the wedding themes to show us...we have to keep chasing her for them... end up we may opt out of the decor and get some other florist to do it...

Is she going to be our wedding coordinator for the wedding day itself too? I hope she doesn't make any mistakes on that day...

Hi brides of PPR,

I just wanted to compliment Felicia (even though I have never met her).

I was enquiring about the availability of PPR for one of the dates next year and I gathered from her that it was on tenative booking. I was actually thinking of going down to see if the 1st couple decides to release the booking and told Felicia to tell me when they've confirmed whether they are taking it. I am very glad to say that Felicia did call back (to say it was taken..) and I think that's very responsible of her as some places do not do so and I have to call them to ask them.

yup, that's all~

Felicia is very good. I highly recommend her.

For Fiona, it seems she came from some big hotel .. can't remember if it was concord or something and didn't have to do much coordination and stuff... from what i heard from felicia... she only entered the royal park plaza sometime last year or before last...

i'm having the senior banquet manager to coordinate my wedding now after the 'big' incident.
so i really hope that nothing goes wrg.
anyone with problems, i can give u the no of their boss on top.

juz attend a wedding dinner last sun...
food nice nice...
but at e same time got 2 wedding dinner ...
a bit confusion @ the recept area.... @ first tot go wrong floor lucky saw my friend...
heheee...
any idea is the food cook by the hotel chef or the resturant downstair(si chuan duo hua)?

wt...so glad to hear another good review on the food *relief* :D
according to fiona, the food is cooked by the hotel banquet chef who has many years of experience...cantonese cuisine.
Grand PPR food is cooked by sichuan dou hua

hi li ann, the decor not much leh....
every table will have a bowl (shallow) with 1 small candle floating....
mayb all the decor depends on the wedding couple theme also...

mm...the flip side of getting a cheaper package...

i personally dun think much of the zen and white theme of the hotel... the decor esp the backdrop on the stage looks amatuerish...need to get florist to top up...

hamster (i'm a hamster too..keke)

yep...i did view stamford room before...not bad...small and cosy...but the ceiling is the low type...and no chandelier.. but with the warm lightings, it still look cosy... i'm also gonna use it for my AD

If you like the ballroom with high ceiling and chandelier...more grand...you can check out Grand PPR...they have nice ballroom.

Today there is a wedding at Stamford Ballroom, you can go check it out before 7pm...

I am gonna use the Stamford Room for my AD in Mar 07 too. The low ceiling was a bit of a bother then, but I guess those with high ceilings are too big for me so I didn't mind taking this.

I do like the fact that a part of it looks out to the poolside. I hope they can at least draw the curtains aside if they can't leave the sliding door open then.

been to a wedding dinnner @ stamford room...
quite alright ...
can made use of the poolside as recept instead of the main entrance...

Yes, its nice and rather unique to have the recept at the poolside
But then again, the guests will have to be properly directed there....

Hi, just wondering if anyone knows if the food is nice? I mean not at a food tasting session or during the fair, but during an actual wedding itself? Because I heard the food is not provided by Si Chuan Dou Hua restaurant, but it's the hotel's banquet chef. Thanks!

Hi Kaya, the food is not provided by Si Chuan Dou Hua, but many people before us have commented that the food is pretty good, and pretty big portions.

I have yet to attend a weddding there but have tried their 8 treasures sharks' fins soup which was VERY YUMMY. :P~~~

huiz...think we met at Silverlining thread too...are you also having your banquet at PPR? What a coincidence...

kaya...yeps...hui is right...PPR has a banquet chef....who whips out cantanese cuisine... sichuan dou hua cooks for Grand PPR.

went to PPR last Sat to see the wedding setup for Stamford Room...not bad...the banquet manager is very efficient, polite and experienced... puts me at ease...and the room lighting is nice...warm and cosy...

There is also a ROM session going on at the foyer at the same time hence the reception was held just outside the ballroom... the buffet spread and the setup by the poolside is nice too...

Not bad at all...

hi Li Ann,

i was also ard on sat to view the ballroom and Fiona attended to me. whens ur AD and which ballroom are u thinkin of using?

Anyway, Fiona told me she was on leave that particular friday when she was supposed to call me to confirm the appt date. She was very apologetic abt it. ya, she did look blur whenever she talk on the phone. so i think anything must tell her face to face.

overall it was good, decorations in the ballroom are quite plain but i'm not really concern abt it.

Thanks Hui, for the info on the food. Cos quality of the food is quite important to me.

I went by the other day to have a look at the ballroom and Felicia was really helpful and provided us alot of info. She's quite funny too, hahaha!

babymiki...my AD is 12 Dec and we will be using Stamford Ballroom. Our solemnization before the banquet will be held at the foyer (pavillion outside) and thereafter the cocktail reception will be held there.

Some of the perks i can recall are:
1. food tasting for the full menu for 10pax
2. 2 VIP carpark lots
3. up to 100% invitation cards
4. up to 80% of carkpark coupon for guests
5. waiver of corkage fee for wines on condition that we buy 6 bottles of house wine at $30 each
6. 2 nites stay in bridal suite
7. 1 free room for helpers - up to 11pm

and there a few others..really cannot remember them now...the standard perks that are normally requested...

kaya...agree totally that food quality is important and thus am glad to hear positive review about the food...

think the minimum is 20 tables...but then again...you can check with them to see what kind of package they can offer you...

you can have the banquet by the pool under the stars...

hi Li Ann,
thx! i'll go all out to negotiate then. ur perks are exactly what i need. but...80% car passes are a lot rite? compared to original 30%?

how many tables do u have and who's ur co-or? 12 dec is 2006 rite?

Hi LiAnn,

Your perks are super! I only manage to get your item 1,2 and 5! It's would be great if I could ask for a free room for helpers. Fiona seems to be very stringent on the perks

LiAnn,
Thanks for telling us your perks, you must be really good at negotiating leh! By the way, did you take the 8-course or 9-course package? How many tables you having? I don't have a lot of tables so not sure if can "bargain" as much :P

oops babymiki...paiseh...yeps...carpark coupons are up to 30% only

I have about 30 tables to date...but stamford ballroom can only hold up to 32+2 so nothing more than that. And yeps..12 Dec 2006 is my AD.

Rachel, Kaya... actually most of the items are all provided in the package..i merely "tested water" to see how far she can go. One main reason i manage to get these perks is bcos my AD is on a weekday. Usually they are more flexible for weekday weddings.

I've asked Fiona to rec popular menu or the must-have dishes...am thinking since the food portion is huge, we will order 8-course first and if on the food tasting that day, we feel that it is insufficient then we can add one more... think they will be more than happy to accomodate.

If she get back to me on that menu, i'll share it with you gals

Agree with Li Ann that most of the perks are already in the package. PPR has quite a comprehensive package.
I've got what Li Ann has as well, the only difference being I've got one day in the Bridal Suite, and another deluxe room for free for helpers (overnight).

seem that the price of the wedding package have increased... juz ask fiona to fax over their wedding package .....

Hui, is your AD on a weekday or weekend?

Mine is on Sat, and I had a difficult time just to negotiate on the wavier of wine corkage. In the end, I still didn't get it. haha...