Peony Jade Resturant

Hi Christine, what's your email? Can't send u private messages. I have the menu (dated 2006) which I signed up for, can fwd that to you for reference.

Hi SB,

when will your AD? i'm also having it in nov this yr and is considering pj. will be going to meet pauline tomorrow afternoon as there is a wedding tomorrow nite.

I wrote to CASE to ask about the clause in the contract:
"All quoted prices herein are inclusive of 10% service charge and prevailing government taxes including GST" - and whether this means we are liable for the increase in GST if it goes up next year.

CASE has replied that we are "..liable for the increase in GST to either 6% or 7% next year once it has been confirmed by the government. As prices quoted for you in 2006 is based on the 5% GST instead."

So I guess it depends on which year you sign the contract, because I signed my contract in 2006.

Hi Blue_skies,

Thanks for the info. Are you saying tat the people who signed in 2006 is liable for the increased GST? I am a bit lost here...

hi..

i was supposed to meet up with pauline yest but since i was early, i talked to pamela instead..in the end pauline din come coz she knew dat pamela will discuss wif me..

bout the gst stuff, if i sign the package now, she told me dat the original 5% gst will be included already in the package..but however, if govt decided to increase by 2% later on, we have to absorb the 2% by ourselves...

Hi lab_baby79,

Yes, for those of us who signed the contract in 2006, we are liable for the GST increase.

From what I understand, this is because the prices quoted to us in the contract were based on the then "prevailing" costs (i.e. 5% GST), and the clause does not take into account the increase in GST.

Hi yun (felicissimo),

My AD is in early Nov this year. Good luck to you! :-)

When's yours?

*Huixian*> So envious of you as I din bargain for so many perks mentioned by you when I will be utilising their entire capacity. *pouts*

hi sunbubble,

mine will be in mid-nov. i haven signed up wif them yet...still considering....so far i've heard so much nice feedback bout the restaurant...

Jus have my WD on 13Jan, received many praises of the food so far...especially the Roasted Chicken and the Mango Sago Dessert. Thumbs Up for them.

Thanks to Pamela,Kenny & Leon for making all the necessary arrangement for us.

Wa Huixian, you still managed to get more perks from them,for me still topped up for my food tasting session for adittional 4pax and carpark ... Yr package really worth!! Too bad I read your posting too late if not i will go and squeeze Pamela liao..... Hahahahaa

Some advise to those BTB at PJ, the changing room is very big. It very cold too, especially when you are alone in it. In the end i even need to take my hubby 2nd March In jacket to wear.

The changing room window provide a good backdrop for pics too, do take more shoots from there.

Dun worry of hunger after dinner,PJ taopao lots of stuff for me to bring back to the hotel to feast.

Hi penjop (donk) ,

Congrats! I agree with you that Huixian has posted her comments slightly late when I had signed up with PJ. Think gotta top up the foodtasting & carpark coupons too.

In fact, I even negotiated the latter with Pauline but to no avail. Guess my negotiation skills not as good as Huixian. *sign*

May I ask what's so nice about the roasted chix & dessert? To try all dishes during foodtasting, Pauline was telling me I need to top up $50+++ for 6pax. Hence I like to hear from you first. What package did you choose for ya banquet?

Hi PJ Brides,

i m seriously considering PJ to be my wedding venue.

However, can i check if the aisle for march in is wide enough for 2 person or have to walk in single file?

Also, is there any comment about the place being a bit old looking? or whether the stage and the projector being too far to be seen for pple sitting at the far end of the restuarant?

Hi SB

Thanks!! I signed up in '06 having the old menu where 2 dish is diff from the '07 new menu. Pauline allowed me to choose between this 2 menu.

The Roasted Chicken itself taste ordinary but very crispy, the speciality lie in the sauce letting all my guest trying to figure what ingrediants they have put in... heeehheee

The Mango Sago with Pomelo sacs really fantastic !! Thick and creamy not so sweet with juicy Pomelo Sacs. Same quality and taste as those who have tried in Hong Kong.

The scallop too very unique..... many said that they cannot find any restaurant that served fresh scallop in deep fried batter and many thought that was fish!!!!

Well i took the Unity Pacakge, the food is good enough le. Do let me have your email, i send both menus to you for reference!!!

llyne,

Dun worry, the aisle for march in is wide enough. The sound system is great too... my guest at the VIP room right at the end feel so great with the privacy they have and they can view the screen clearly.

About the deco, many guest were amaze that such a small restauant can provide this ambience, and they thought that we were paying about $700 plus per table.

Hi shups,

U welcome... now i waiting for my AD PG to give me the softcopy and will be uploading them at my web. Hopefully it can be done up by this weekend!!!

Yeah,

Just to share more, i bought even bought 8 tubes of those tube popper there. So surprise they even provide 2 bigger tubes then mine for the second march in. Anyway i still popped mine too it was great my guest love it!!!

Another compliment from my guest, the waiter and waitress not aunty type all very lively and friendly.

Even before the cocktail reception start, they prepared fried rice for us to consume first too as they know that we wun be eating throughtout the dinner. They are very considerate.

Pamela guided me very well very step throughout the Wedding Dinner leaving me with no worries.

hi penjop!

thanks for the feedback and congrats to you for having a great wedding!

did u manage to negotiate for the projector to be foc? any comments bout the projector screen too far? how many tables did you have? about the song selection, did you plan ur own songs or did they provide?

sorry for the bombardment of qns. im seriously considering pj and another hotel..and i need to confirm by this week.

Hi felic, i brought along my own projector and there was no charge for the screen. as for the screen, pple in the last table (VIP room) has no problem watching the screen. one advise as to what we did, we requested everyone to remain seated when we march in so the screen will not be obstructed.

i used up all 22 tables with some having 11 and 12 pax.

re the songs selection, u refering to march-in? or playing of songs during the dinner?

if it is the earlier, i had personally prepared 2 montages for both march-in. as for the songs during the dinner proper, i left it to them. honestly, with all the chatter going on, it really doesnt matter what the speakers are playing cos cant really hear them too. :P

Hi pehjob, u mean the montages were played while u were marching in?

as for the songs during dinner, wat kind of songs did they play?

not to forget, congratulations!

hi, i also interested in PJ, but got the menu for yr 06, any changes for yr 07..

I intend to have it at 08... But might increase to 30? can squeeze it or not? scared very packed. I might some photos for reference. Any kind souls can email me photos.. tks!

I actually wanted PJ for my solemnization but felt that theirs was not buffet style so signed with one of the hotels.. Might consider them as my AD due to good foods and great reco.

my email.. [email protected]

i know, pauline told me b4. need to see their menu, cos' i dun intend have too many tables. just want to make it simple.

thanks penjop! i was referring to the march-in. and yup, with all the chattering, i dun think any music can b heard during the dinner...=)

hi blandqq, pj can only have max 22 tables, with 250pax.

Hi penjpo, congrats!! I will be having my wedding lunch at PJ.

So did you have any emcees? Or PJ staff act as emcee for you. Pls share.

Do u have any pixs to share.

hi blanqq,i signed up with them today,they cant squeeze 30 tables coz the rest too small,max is 22 tables,250 like that.

hi SB. the red wines supposed to be good i think, since they dont allow you to anyhow bring in red wines that will tarnish their reputation.

i saw the red wine names on my draft contract. went to carrefour to look for it but seems to be unable to find it.

they cant squeese 30 tables. most is either 22 or 23, with some tables having 11 or 12 pax.

Hi llyne,

Sorry i miss your qns earlier... yes we marched in halfway as the montage were still playing!!! they served as a backdrop during the cake cutting and champagne pouring ceremony, which i find it a tad monotonous from having attended past weddings. in this way, it gave my guests something to view as we go about the "traditional" processes.

hi blurblur, the emcee was one of my hubby's good friend.. but i understand if you dun have one can get Kenny (PJ's manager) to be... think no costs but at least must give him an ang bao lor...

i got my inserts printed at FocalAd at Ubi instead of T-dragon cos slightly cheaper $80 for first 200pcs as compared to T-dragon's $100 for first 200pcs. reason also Ubi nearer my home and no need enter CBD to collect.

as for pics, i will be collecting from my photographer later today. will post them in my blog

Hi penjop, thanks for your reply.

But PJ suppose to pay for the invitation card right? So did PJ pay for the cards for you at all?

can i have your blog address so that i can view your pixs.

Hello Penjop.. can you tell us a little more about the wedding cards printing thingy? What does PJ provide and what do we need to do?

Can you give me the contact details for focal-ad?

One thing for all to note... make sure you have a copy of things discussed to prevent perks from disappearing from the final contract... Be firm and always remember you are the one who is paying the money...

Regarding the Invitation Card,there are diff 2 issue - the card(aka cover) and the insert. PJ pay 70% for the cards. While the inserts we are paying from our pockets. Me got the insert from Focal Ads while the cards from T-dragon(FOC).

Focal-Ads Tel : 67492262

Penjop: thanks...what is the amount that PJ is paying for the card? Pauline told me is 0.50cents. So little only..is the cards cheap?

kieran: agreed on your points. is better to liase with them via email, so that you have a black & white on everything.

blurblur: PJ is supplying 70% for the cards, meaning if you are having 220 guests, they will provide you 154 pcs FOC. if you need more just order from T-dragon. Pauline will bill you when you settle the full amount at the end of the dinner, no need to come out with cash upfront. think additional card is $1 each.

however, if you decide not to take the cards from T-dragon, Pauline will only rebate $0.50 each. standard T&C.

my advice is only go elsewhere if you really cant find a design of your liking at T-dragon, as they have quite a large collection to choose from. as for the inserts, only $20 difference as compare to FocalAd for the first 200 pcs. its only if you need more than 200 then the difference comes, as T-dragon's charges for additional pieces is more costly. cant remember how much they actually charge but i remember FocalAd charges $90 for 300 pieces only. but unless you are those that easily makes mistakes else one usually doesnt use up 200pieces. mine was quite close, i used up 153 cards to invite ard 240 people.
as for the remaining 40 pieces of inserts, now also dunno wat to do with them.... kekeke...

just for info, wedding favours rebate at $1 each. i prepared my own so they deducted $220 from my final bill. unless you really want unique and customised favours, you can go for PJ's, wich IMO also very nicely done-up. Pamela will show you the samples during your food tasting session, think got three types to choose from.

anyway, here is the webby to my blog. hope you gals like it. pls note i am still in the process of updating with my AD pics. ;)

http://penjop.multiply.com/