Peony Jade Resturant

dreymin

hi mamoette,

how did your big day went?

pink, mamoette & all,

my FH and i made an appt to see Pauline tonite to pay the deposit and saw her hubby, Bill quite a nice man. quite glad to make PJ our choice, the ambience is great and Pauline has been very obliging to some special arrangements like tea ceremony before the dinner.

luv4cass

hi dreymin,
you made the right choice.

i can't wait for my AD on 14th-jan-06! i can't wait to go peony jade.

dreymin

hi pink,

thanks for the assurance. i share your sentiments tat tis place is quite unique! yest we were there and they actually hv a veil which separates a ROM group from the walk-in customers. very nice touch!

do share with your pics... hv u gone for the food tasting yet? we took the unity menu, i m thinking of changing a couple of dishes. for same value, there is no additional charge.

mamoette

hello!

The dinner went superb! I must say, having done two dinners, one at a garden, and the second at PJ, I give two thumbs up for the service at PJ.

The staff are experienced, very polite and handled all my last minute requests very well. I didn't provide them my programme nor my seating arrangement until about 4.30pm that night (I had some 11-seater tables, some 10+baby seats, etc), and they were quick to accomodate my plans. I also requested to change the music for the food presentation, and the waitesses had to do a quick rehearsal to my choice of music at about 6pm. Cuttng it close, but they carried it off!

For my 2nd march in, they even had two large confetti poppers, which was a surprise cos it isn't stated in the contract.

Food-wise, the servings were good, and the guests enjoyed the dishes. The suckling pig was well received, and many praised the steamed fish. Personally, my favourite is the mango cream dessert. Smooth, and the pomelo sacs gave a nice level of tangy-ness.

My only grouse (and minor one, at that!) is that the lights along the red carpet were off during march in. Not sure if that was deliberate, though, to give that romantic feel. The guests can still see, but I just thought it was a tad dim.

Anyway.....

All in all, I am really happy with the way things went that night. Pauline and her team are professional, quick to make changes, and I'd say this: PJ is an excellent choice for chinese wedding banquet.

luv4cass

Hi Dreymin,
I will be going for food tasting next Monday.

Yes yes! I simply love the decor. Very nice ya. I take Unity package too. No intention to change the menu.

Hi Mamoette,
My AD is approaching. Hope Pauline & her team makes my dinner smoothly as well.

dreymin

hi mamoette,

very glad to hear everything went well! wishing u and ur hubby a good marriage!

pink,

hey do share your comments abt the food tasting yah? i m changing probably juz one dish- the scallops with clams to scallops with macadamia nuts.

usu how long did pauline take before she come back with the contract?

mamoette

Hi Pink_martini,

Pauline's team is good. I'm sure your dinner will go smoothly. As for hard liquor, sorry, I didn't have that at my dinner. We only had beer and wine.

Oh, and about the mirror, don't worry about the thin ones. The wall adjacent to these thin mirrors is a full piece ceiling-to-floor mirror. More than enough to view yourself in all your bridal beauty!

Hey Dreymin,

Thanks for the well wishes. Btw, I changed the scallops with clams to scallops with macadamia nuts too. Very nice dish. Well presented too.

I can't remember exactly how long Pauline took with the contract, but it was within reasonable time. Is yours taking a while?

dreymin

yup pink, dun worry and be a happy and pretty bride! even if there are hiccups, leave it to your helpers to worry. i dun intend to do much except mingle with my guests and smile for the camera tat day!

hi mamomette,

congrats again! btw how many tables did u have? rgd the liquor consumption, how much wine and beer did ur guests consume?

great to know the dish is a good one, gives me confidence to make the switch

btw for any changes to dishes, do i need to state in the contract? i dun wan any dispute in the future. wl ask pauline to put it in, juz to hv peace of mind!

when is your honeymoon?

mamoette

I had 18 tables. As for beer & wine combination, sorry man...my memory fails me now. I think it was 3 jugs and 6 bottles or something like that. We had a few surprise drinkers and the wine ran out pretty fast.

As for the dishes, Pauline will attach the finalised menu to the contract, and so no worries about that! We signed our contract on the food-tasting night, actually. Do you have the sichuan chicken on your menu? It's quite good.

Dunno where or when we are going for honeymoon. Both of us are too busy with work to even plan!!! Terrible, hor? ;P

Any suggestions? What about you?

christmas_bride

hi pink,
i have also decided to do my make-up at the restaurant for convenience sake.

agree with mamoette that preparation for wedding banquet in PJ is really a breeze.

btw, my wedding is this coming sunday.....4 more days to go!!

dreymin

hi mamomette,

tat is abt the same as me, we will probably have 17+1: 15 for families and 1 each for our frens.

we hv the option of 20L beer and 20 bottles or 30L beer and 7 bottles. we prob take 20/20 option because more pple drink wine nowsadays.

yes we have the chicken with sichuan sauce in unity menu. i m thinking of bringing our folks to try the lunch buffet one day so we can try their other stuff.

hey tis is quite common, some frens also postpone honeymoon due to work or wrong season. juz thinking u can hv a short getaway over weekend if schedule not too tight then hv a longer holiday afterwards.

my thots r with not honeymoon, tat wl come later... my head filled with BS, renovation, furnishing, costs cutting!

btw are your pictures ready? maybe you can share with us?

lastly Merry Christmas & happy holidays to all PJ brides & brides-to-be!

dreymin

cindy,

so exciting for you... ur nickname very apt... Christmas Bride! hope everything goes well for you and hubby!

do share pictures with us after your big day

angel81

Hi Cindy,

Congrates on your coming wedding! U must be very excited! I agree with dreymin, do share ur pics with us after ur big day.

christmas_bride

hi dreymin,
thanx for your well wishes, i really enjoyed myself the whole day!

The banquet yesterday was really great! My hubby and i was very impressed with Pauline and her staff as they were not only able to handle some of my last minute request well, they actually did their best to see to every small detail of my wedding dinner. This makes my banquet very personalised which is exactly what i wanted. I must say that their service is really excellent.

Besides their staff, i also received a lot of compliments for their food and ambience from my guests. My aunt even commented that this is considered fine dining! Another close fren told me that she was shocked when she first step into the restaurant and she was thinking "Wah, so grand". My jie mei, who has helped some of her frens' wedding before, told me that she has not seen such accomodating management before.

Overall, I'm really glad that PJ is able to fulfill my dream wedding without bursting my tight budget. I strongly recommend to anyone who wants a personalised and beautiful wedding!! Disclaimer: i'm not paid by PJ to advertise for them...hehe..

angel81

Hi Cindy,

Sounds like u were really very happy! Kkeke, really glad that your banquet went so well. After reading what u've written, I'm glad that PJ will be my banquet place.

So will you be going for your honeymoon soon? Do show us your pics after you've uploaded them.

Congrates once again gerl!

greta

Hi cindy,
Congrat on your big day! Wish you and hubby "fu qi xiang ai, bai tou dao lao". BTW, what time did u write as the start of cocktail and dinner? When did your dinner actually start and end? What is your flowers colour theme? Sorry for so many questns. Really glad the service and food at PJ is gd. Hope to c your nice pics soon!

christmas_bride

hi greta,
i wrote 7pm cocktail and 7.30pm dinner. my dinner started at ard 8.30pm, i wanted to start at 8pm, but my parents were still downstairs, so after delaying for a while, then it starts. I can't remember the time it ended, cos i was busy, but one interesting thing i saw is, all my guests stayed to finish the dessert as well.

1 thing that caused inconvenience is, that its 2 storey. while the reception is downstairs, its hard to coordinate the seating arrangement. i anticipated it, brought a few walkie talkie, but because i dont have time (my makeup was delayed due to my mum's and MIL makeup, as they arrive at the restaurant late) to brief them, nobody used the walkie talkie. In the end, i was running ard the 2 storey and the banquet floor. That's my little regret, cos i didn't really get to stand at the reception to receive my guests. So brides, take note of this!

i think the colour theme is mainly deep red and white roses. Looks really nice. And also, they also uses loose rose petals to put on all the guest tables, i didn't know it, and prepared my own rose petals.

hi Angel,
i'm not going for honeymoon, cos everyday is our honeymoon!! hehe...

will definately share my pics with u all when i receive it.

angel81

Hi Cindy,

Wow, tks for the good tip that you gave about the walkie talkies. Think that's a good idea. Kekek, tat's very sweet, about everyday being your honeymoon.

Looking forward to viewing your pics, and enjoy ur lifelong honeymoon gerl! :p

vonn

Hi Cindy,

Congrats on yr big day and i'm relived that u r full of compliments for PJ. I hope my AD in 06 will still have the same good service from them and hope they maintain their std.
Something to share with u, my colleague also attended yr dinner. wat a small world.
Can i ask, did u earn or suffer a loss from the dinner? Jus wondering wat ppl think of PJ...

christmas_bride

hi vonn,
wow, wat a small world! can i know who is your colleague? if not convenient to say here, can email me. [email protected]

for overall, i actually gain $2k, but becos we gave our parents 8 tables and let them keep the ang pows, we have to fork out additional $2.5K to pay for the banquet. u mean u r wondering wat thy think of PJ before they are there? or when they saw the place?

Hi Greta and Angel,
don't mention it... wish all PJ brides-to-be have a smooth and happy preparation!!

vonn

Hi Cindy,
actually when ppl see the card, they will think it’s a normal resturaunt and give restaurant rate but when reach there, the restaurant is actually not those or biang kind and sorta of 'high-class' restaurant lor.

U have photos to share?

greta

Hi PJ brides,
I am thinking since we put the addr "clarke quay" on the cards, ppl won't think it's cheap place bah cos restaurant at this area quite upscale.

angel81

Hi Greta,

Well, the address to PJ has already stated Clarke Quay, so people should know already. I intend to add the website of PJ to my cards, so people can have a look at the website, and see that it's really a good place. Hopefully that will increase the amt they give! :p

mamoette

Hi Angel, putting the website on your card is a great idea! Wish I had done that for mine, but then again, most of the guests were the older generation and probably not very tech-savvy. Would have been lost on them! Haha.

In any case, I agree with Greta that the fact that it is in Clarke Quay projects an above-average class image.

Here's wishing all PJ brides a great 2006 ahead and a handsome sum in your ang pow boxes!

angel81

Hi Mamoette,

kekeke.... i read from elsewhere that we can "share some details" with a very gossipy relative, so that this gossipy relative will relay the news to others that it's a rather high-class place! keke... so tat means u'll need one one each side (ur side, and ur FH's). I think that's a good idea, and I'm going to do just that. kekekek....

I was also hoping that the cousins and kids will search the website, and tell their parents / the older generations that it's a good place. Hence the website add in the card.

Have a wonderful 2006!

christmas_bride

hi vonn,
ya, i thot of that initially too. Esp the name "peony jade" sounds like those typical cheena restaurant. But as i'm inviting only really close frens so the ang pows doesn't matter too much lor. Actually, its also good, cos some of them really got a surprise when they reach the restaurant.
ehh... u haven told me who is ur colleague leh? not convenient arh?

hi dreymin,
u're welcome. My hubby also gave another idea, which is to place the reception table on the 2nd floor if u r not using full capacity of the place. but i didn't arrange that cos, i thot the first floor will be very quiet.

hi angel,
the printing of website on the cards is really a great idea! i also personally pass the email address to some of my very close frens..

vonn

Hello Angel, u so cute....for me my relatives are those far relatives, so they canot gossip already.

Hi Cindy,

My colleague initial is S S J.....u know who is she?

dreymin

wow brillant idea! will put the website on card for frens. hv to cross my fingers wont lose too much coz 90% are relatives!

my other idea is to have the food tasting and let my mum/MIL tell the relatives how classy this place is and spread thru word of mouth! haha!

btw when will the food tasting be? 2 months before AD? hmm... hope can give the cards after food tasting.

jia luck hv to resort to such method... a bit scared coz my close fren chalked up $10K for her wedding... (shudder!)

dreymin

cindy,

yah u r rite, i also think i may not have reception upstairs coz i wan it outside at the platform.

angel,

wow brillant idea! will put the website on card for frens. hv to cross my fingers wont lose too much coz 90% are relatives!

my other idea is have the food tasting and let my mum/MIL tell the relatives how classy this place is and spread thru word of mouth! haha!

btw when will the food tasting be? 2 months before AD? hmm... hope can give the cards after food tasting.

jia luck hv to resort to such method... a bit scared coz my close fren chalked up $10K loss for her wedding... (shudder!)

angel81

Hahah, hi girls,

I felt rather $-face when we decided to tell a gossipy relative how nice the place is, but what to do? We just dun wana lose too much money. Alternatively is to tell them all about the place during CNY, during visiting. Kekke...

wow dreymin, 90% are relatives ah? that seems rather alot leh. tink mine shd b about 60% - 70% ba.

We are going to send the cards after food tasting. Cuz we intend to send the cards about one to one & a half mth before AD, and food tasting shd b about 2 or slightly more mths before. So your idea of letting parents/PIL spread the word shd work. Kekke... I'll try your idea out too! keekek

10k is rather a lot to lose leh! where was her banquet?

dreymin

yup we will hv 15-16 tables for relatives and 2 for frens, my FH doesnt wan a big do, cant cut on relatives so hv to cut on frens

my fren had her wedding dinner at intercontinental at bugis on a weekday, probably that is why pple gave less.

the culprits were mainly relatives who bring whole families (and even maids!), this also threw her seating plans upside down. i was helping at her reception, quite chaotic, the close frens had to slot and sit wherever is available.

tis is a lesson learnt, we hv to work with our folks and get the seating arrangements & confirmation with them, juz to be on safe side!

angel81

*pat pat* well maybe u can have a housewarming for your frens instead of inviting them to ur AD. I had a fren who did that recently, and it was rather fun.

seems like u have lots of relatives. lets hope that your relatives will be very generous!

ooo... intercontinental! I tink lots of pple duno tat its a very good hotel, maybe that's why pple give lesser too.

I hate people who do that. why do relatives tink that they can get away with such things? guess we really have to confirm with them the number of people they are bringing during rsvp, and request that they stick to that number.

christmas_bride

hi vonn,
cant figure out who... if conveinent, u email me her full name? if not, then its ok.

To all ladies,
i've just uploaded my pics, pls give me your email add if u wanna view them.

christmas_bride

hi dreymin,
Same here! some of my relatives say they will not be coming and gave my mum angpow long ago, then on that day, a lot came and also brought along their spouse and children. in the end, the table for my father's friends were all split up to fill up the spaces for those who didn't turn out. its really chaotic, luckily my brother handle the situation quite well.

vonn

Actually relatives abit diff. My sis wedding, 1 family of 6 said they will be attending and u gals knw wat....the nite b4 the wedding, they called up and said not coming and oni gave $100 AB.
really hope i dont have this issue