Park Green

YYBB,
currently, me staying with my bro. he has a F&P fridge...only a yr old...it is quite noisy...i can hear it even in the day time! but i heard that F&P washer and dryer not bad.

hi Hermione,

my gf using f&p washing machine.
found it not bad too.
suppose to be energy saving.

actually i'm thining to get brandt.
dun mind go check out f&p b4 decide.

Hermoine & Roooller,
F&P and Brandt washers and dryers are both worth considering if you are getting front-loader. Continental brands are supposed to be better than Asian brands in terms of their front-loaders. However, if you are looking at top-loader, then choose an Asian brand cos Asians are the pioneers in making the top-loading washers.

Also, you may want to check if the washing efficiency of the front-loading washer you are getting is of "A" grade. The best washer comes with "AAA", meaning "A" for washing, "A" for spinning and "A" for energy consumption/efficiency.

Carol,
You've seen how small our laundry area is. The only way is to wall mount the dryer but it seems to be blocked by the electrical outlet. Based on my observation, there is not much sun for my unit but the facing of your laundry area will tend to get more sun. You may not nid a dryer.

hermione,
thanks for the advice !!!
Like fisher & paykel fridge due to their design.. dunno about the quality. Thanks again for telling me the cons.

MeLodie (melodie) :

dun need to lie alreadi mah .. somoeone just said they will still give it to us.. anyway if they realli make noise... just apply the resident card for our mums lor...

ALL:

yeah i oso wann know how much for the curtains... my ID quote damn ex ...$2600

Kenneth,
Went to check out Ikea prices for curtains (measurement, sewing and track inclusive), also damn ex, estimate ard $2 - $3K

fanta (fanta)

wah thats a little ex for ikea.. soo u think my ID's quote of $2600 should be reasonable? If soo i dun think soo much alreadi ...let them do everything.. as its easier for one firm to settle the whole hse.

carol,
I am getting a topload washing machine, any idea which brand is of AAA quality?
which brand are you getting?
thanks thanks..

1: Alvin & Fanta: Blk 12 (#06-20)
2: Dracwy & Limay: Blk 6 (#08-08)
3: Jun Loh: Blk 8 (#15-10)
4: EIG: Blk 8 (#06-11)
5: Cher: Blk 6 (#12-06)
6: Vera: Blk 10 (#02-16)
7: Ka Ro: Blk 6 (#04-08)
8: wenwen: Blk 6 (#01-09)
9: Chenchen & Eunice & family : Blk 12 (#06-22)
10. Kenneth Blk 2
11. tupiddog Blk 8 (#02-15)
12. PC Blk 6 L12

Hi Cher, we are neighbours on the same flr. Cu ard soon!

Hi Fanta,

If there is no space to wall mount the dryer, you may want to consider a 2-in-1 (Washer cum dryer). My friend is using the LG 2-in-1 front loader, can't rem the model though (I guess they have 2 model of diff vol) and her comment is not bad.

1: Alvin & Fanta: Blk 12 (#06-20)
2: Dracwy & Limay: Blk 6 (#08-08)
3: Jun Loh: Blk 8 (#15-10)
4: EIG: Blk 8 (#06-11)
5: Cher: Blk 6 (#12-06)
6: Vera: Blk 10 (#02-16)
7: Ka Ro: Blk 6 (#04-08)
8: wenwen: Blk 6 (#01-09)
9: Chenchen & Eunice & family : Blk 12 (#06-22)
10. Kenneth Blk 2
11. tupiddog Blk 8 (#02-15)
12. Polly: Blk 6 (#12-08)
13. Samily Blk 2

yes Hermione, brandt also under thomson.

hi carol,

i'm lookg at brandt now.
washer 1012 n dryer 101.
any comment on this model?

heard f&p is hving warehouse sale.
thot of chkg out their front-loaded too.

hi kenneth

yah, see how lor

ur quote for curtains is quite ex.

mine is ard 1.6K for the whole house.

but it all depends on the kind of materials u choose.

Hi roooller

my mum is using brandt washer and dryer, good good. Dunno the model nos. tho.

Hey YYBB,
I dun think there is a grading for top-loading washer. Maybe that's becos as compared to a front-loader, a top-loader uses more water and washes less efficiently (according to wat I read from some articles on washers), so they can't use the grading of the front-loader on top-loader. If they do so, I think no top-loading will ever get an "A" grade. For myself, if I do get a top-loader, my only reason wld be the convenience. I can start and stop a top-loader anytime I want to add in more clothes, but I can't do that with a front-loader. Furthermore, a front-loader takes a longer time to complete a wash load (maybe that's why they say you get cleaner clothes with a front-loader).

I think Brandt will be a good brand to invest. F&P will be a good choice too, but if one has the spare cash, I will recommend Brandt/Thomson.

Hi Roooller,
I have not tried Brandt myself so I can't give any feedback... but I have heard many gd reviews on this brand. Go for it if your budget is not that tight.

Kenneth,
Ikea & Spotlight will be the cheapest option if you DIY. I also got another quote from a curtain maker who came to take measurement for my next door neighbour & they charge around $1400. Suggest that you source ard 1st. Some of them can give better price if they get more orders fm PG.

Snowball,
Thks for your advice. MIL's passing down her seldom used F&P top-loading washer. Will try to use its spin dry function & see how it goes 1st

For P&G, they have both the front and top loading washers. The warehouse sale has both fridges and washers. Think they should have dryer too but we didnt bother searching for it. Like what Fanta said, there is not much space for the dryer as the electrical point stands in the way.

The sale starts from 8.30am till 5 or 6pm, I think. It lasts till Sat. The details are in the advertisement. Can check yesterday's Straits Times, pg 19, for more details.

Those who are really keen, must go fast cos there were many eager buyers. We zoomed for what we wanted and settled everything by 9am this morning.
Saved about $450 for the fridge and about $400 to $500 for the washer!

thanks, Carol for the triple As thingie...was wondering how to read that when surfing the web for my washer....

YYBB,
most probably, i will get a front loading washer. cos it uses less water and to me, a front loading washer looks nicer...kekeke...looking at either BOSCH or Brandt...cos F&P washer all are top loader.

Christine,
What model you bought for the fridge & washer? What is the actual amount you paid for each? Luckily you din get the dryer in case there's really no space to mount it.

Forgot to mention, one main reason why we gotten the P&G fridge was because of its dimensions (beside its sleek appearance). We have collected our keys and the kitchen (for a B1 model - 3 rooms with study) was really small. Thus, the depth of the fridge cannot be too 'fat' to allow space for walking.

For the washer, we were so used to the top loader yet wanted something that do not cause much creases. P&G has this 'crumple'-free function (cant remember the term for it). We paid $649 for a 8.5kg model which is comparable for some of the Asian models.

Roooller

Savings based on retail price from HN and Best. Called Minsheng (one of the neighbourhood shop in TP) and they could only offer $100 discount max.

roooller,
oh...guess the sales person does not have good knowledge on his products. thanks for your info. those posed on F&P website are all top-loaders too...

hermione,

my gf is the one who has gonna the f&p top-loader.
she told me, regretted should get the front-loaded one instead.

Christine,
Good buy indeed. Btw, hope you're refering to F&P.......hee Looks like we belong to the few F&P fans here
I also like the sleek look of the 411TX stainless steel model. Bought it @ $1150. Did you see this model on sale?

Hermione,
Most people recomended front load.. but I am so use to top loading...

Christine,
You have such a good buy there... Envy...
Wonder if I go down during saturday, will there be anymore good stuff to grab?

christine,

based on min sheng's pricing.
wat's the savings like?

aiyo i can only logoff at 6 leh.
wonder how good sale can i get when i go on sat.

btw, dun mind share wat model hv u bought n how much?

Fanta
Ha ha.. Ya, love the look and the interior design of F&P! Think most models were on sale but not sure if that's 411TX. Is it the one with height 177cm or 157cm? If the taller one, think you got yourself a good deal for stainless steel $1150! Didnt manage to see the price for that model.. Ha ha, we were there for only 30 mins.

Roooller

Sure... For fridge, we bought the E415HRE (the 3 door model) for $849 and retail price is $1298. For washer, we bought the Intuitive Eco - IWM12 (8.5kg) for $649. It comes with full warranty, which includes:
2 years comprehensive
5 years compressor
5 years internal condenser
5 years rust free

Can check out more at the website. http://www.fisherpaykel.com.sg

Like the sales lady was telling us, she doesnt think the sale will last till Sat. If can, try to go as soon as possible cos buyers there just seemed to know what they want, including many expad.

YYBB,
If you belong to those who throw laundry into the washer and won't "disturb" the washing until it's done, then you find the switch from top to front loading washer easier. Unless you are one of those who always like to throw in additional clothes after you start your wash load, then you better stick to the top-loader.

If I'm not wrong, F&P top-loading washers come with an agitator (a "stem" in the middle of the tub). FYI, some articles mention that agitators actually causes more wear and tear to your clothes(cause clothes to be out of shape too) and lowers your wash load capacity becos it takes up space. I'm not discouraging those who want to get a F&P washer but just to highlight to the rest that there's an agitator in the washer.

And for those getting 2-in-1 washer (washer cum dryer), you have to note that the drying load is always half the washing load. So whenever you wash one load, you've got to take out half of it after the washing is completed. Kind of troublesome also...

Christine,
Wah! You chop chop bought the items within 30 mins only ah....kekeke The height of 411 is ard 1.7m with 2 drawers. Bargained quite hard for the price at Min Sheng. If they're selling it much cheaper at the sale, I'll bang the wall

Ah eng,
Your curtain price is quite competitive, if get more PG orders, price will drop further? Do they have a website?

Christine,
You enjoy brushing up your bargaining skills wif him? I do! Got a sense of achievement after slashing the prices wif him.......hahahaha!! What did you buy from him? Btw, which blk are you at?

Expert Carol,
Wat will be the right size of washer to get if I can to throw the quilt into the washer? Is 6.5kg enuff?

Fanta,
Not too sure if the price will drop further but his current price relatively cheap to me now. They do not have a web. The factory = showroom. My collg did not even go to his shop. Just call him and ask him to bring his materials to her house for her to choose.

Something to note..my quotations do not include any day curtains.

Wondering... Are all the refrigerator slots space the same for all units in PG? I don't want to buy after that cannot fit into the slot, it will be such a waste...

I still haven't get to look at my unit

Talking about curtains..
There's a few shops recomended by other thread. Found this one which offer the least price sound too good to be true.

Can check this out :
http://www.goldenleaf.com.sg/

Go to their special price page... One whole house cost ~$600 only for budget range. I guess all depends on the materials.

Haven't check out the shop yet.. Hopefully someone can comment on it. Thank you

Fanta

I am just one floor below you. Blk 12,
. Different unit no though. My unit is no 23.

We bought a 42 inch plasma from him. Toshiba latest model. Was trying to check the price at HN and Best but the model is not even displayed yet.

Hi Rooller

We did our research and learnt about the pros and cons of each. Plasma offers better clarity while LCD offers longer lifespan. Accordingly, LCD can last for 32 years while plasma about 16 years. For us, we are more than glad if our tv can last us more than 10 years.

And lastly, comparability of price-wise, can get a bigger screen for plasma for the same cost. Hee hee.. the cheapo side of us.

Christine,
Din know you're so near. Sorry if I've missed your previous posting. You facing the pool rite? If tired of poolview, can come to my hse for LRT view.......hee Yup, same qn as roooller why plasma hah? What is the price he quoted you?

Ah Eng,
I won't recommend that you squeeze your quilt (we're talking abt quilt and not its cover right?) into a 6.5kg washer. You might overload your washer (best is 3/4 full load), esp if it's a front-loader becos front-loader uses less water in its washing. Even if you can squeeze the quilt into a 6.5kg washer, there might not be space for the quilt to tumble and move abt during washing and rinsing...then you end up having half-cleaned quilt

But of course, the above will depend very much on the thickness of your quilt. If you have thin quilt, then 6.5kg barely makes it. 7kg and above washer will be a safer bet if you want to wash quilt and curtains. For those getting washer with an agitator, better get an 8kg one if you want to wash your quilt in it