Park Green

Alvin,

Actually all major electrical stores have weekly sales. E.g. courts, Harvey Norman, Safe all have slaes every week. You may wish to check the newspapers on Friday/Saturday to get the details of their sales. Mega Discount and Audio House also have sales all the time.

However, for the big ticket items, unless they are already discontinued items or clearance items, the smaller retail shops will always be cheaper than the big retailers.

Hey guys,
Have u all started looking into curtains yet? We bought some (ready made ones, standard sizes based on the floor plan for our unit) from IKEA for the rooms, but wondering if we should tailor-make the ones for the lounge (odd sized)...

Checked out some prices - seems like "proper" curtain shops charge like $39/m for most standard material, but Spotlight is selling similar stuff for approx.$9-15/m! Not sure of the tailoring services thou....

The tennis court is done up too. I think TOP should be very soon. There are not much works going on now, except landscaping works. Think the 1st TOP inspection quite successful.

Alvin,
i thought u say TOP delayed till Nov? How come now wanna buy insurance liao? Did your bank loan come with fire insurance? Never call Jeanne again to check on TOP date?

Hi Limay,
I made curtains at spotlight before, quality was very good. It was on offer then, so total workmanship charge was only $8! My mum made curtains at some industrial estate that was in the classifieds n it turned out horrible. The better quality cloth in spotlight is about $30+, cheaper if you buy remnants.

Hey Grin
That is good to hear - went to Spotlight yesterday and they are selling most material (not the remnants type) at a discount..like $9/m for something that used to be $19/m. The lounge windows are about 3.3m width by 2.4m height and I think we need about 17m in total cloth(!!), so the price difference adds up to a whole lot!

Went to Anchorpoint across from IKEA and checked out a curtain shop there, and found out that they were selling similar material for $39/m! $30/m difference - thats like $500 more expensive!

One question - since they dont make cloth that wide anywhere, the woman at Spotlight said they would have to join, did u do that, and how clear were the seams then? She mentioned workmanship costing $48, which sounds pretty cheap anyways

Hi Vica
How many TOP inspections do they have to pass before final handover to NTUC Choice Homes?

Alvin - yah, think most of us are on a bank loan with free fire insurance...but better check

Hi Limay,
the cloth has to be joined, no choice. The cloth I chose last time had a very busy pattern, so the seam wasn't obvious. If you buy a shiny or sheer plain cloth it'll be more obvious. If it's very gathered instead of flat(like tab top), it'll be less obvious too. The offer last time was $2 per width, so 1 window 4 widths=$8

Hi Vica,

I think our most of the bank only provide 2 years fire insurance free. What I mean is home protection insurance, any lobang? I have check with my insurance agent & he said that we can start to buy insurance before the T.O.P date. The amount is around S$280 - S$350 per year.

Last Saturday I just received a letter from my lawyer to fill up a form to release my present HDB flat within 6 mths from the T.O.P date & I think the T.O.P shall be on the first/ mid of Sept, we still have to wait for 3 - 4 weeks to collect our keys. So I think the early to get our key in on Oct. Correct me if I am wrong be'cos this is the info I got from Jeanne. Thks.

Hi everybody! I'm the newest member here! I'm also a PG-er, staying at Blk 12 (am I the only one in blk 12 here?)
It's was really a feat to read all the (lengthy) posts all the way from July 04..my eyes are tearing now!

Anyway, there are so much to talk about after reading all the posts. To cut things short, I think those who have bought their big plasma tvs early cld have already been in shock cos the prices keep coming down. It's best to wait for another mth before committing if you have not bought one. Me and my hubby are shopping for a suitable one but not yet buying cos we believe the price will drop further. I'm not sure if all of you all out there know this, althou plasma tv produces high quality pictures, but they consume more energy and have shorter life-span. They will also have "burnt marks" (dead pixels) in the long run. So maybe LCD would be a better choice here if you want a more durable tv.

Also, I heard that Gain City is not a very good place to shop for appliances thou they are slightly cheaper. I am tempted to try Audio House but not sure if they will be responsible in taking back the appliances if they spoil within a yr. If prices are not of too much diff, I will prefer to buy from Harvey Norman cos you can pay a little more for extended warranty. They are really handy when your appliance break down right after its first year of use (some appliances seems to have the 1-yr internal breakdown clock which breaks down right after the 1 yr warranty period). HN's extended warranty is better than Best becos during the extende warranty period, if your appliances cannot be repaired, HN replaced you with another model equivalent to the amount you have paid (if your current model is discontinued). So imagine if you paid $5K for a plasma/LCD tv, 2 yrs down the road and it's beyond repair, you can get a newer model without having to pay a single cent :P (that's my understanding after enquiring from HN's staff).

I will love to be kept in the loop. My email is [email protected]

Hi Carol,
Welcome! welcome to the Park Green forum!

Grin - i actually always assumed that they used 1 singular piece of cloth rather than have to join..hehe...blur..but i dont go round inspecting curtains...maybe i should from now on!
Was thinking that a joined piece with busy patterns would look more obvious cos the designs will still need to flow...& that a shiny piece would reflect better and look less obvious too! (Am actually looking for something classy in cream, with a subtle sheen & patterned)

Alvin, keep us in the loop if u find a suitable agent...was not thinking of getting home protection insurance just yet...urgh..so many things to start paying once we get the keys - 6 mths maintenence, property tax...etc

Hi Limay/Grin,

Are you guys able to estimate how much is the savings if you get curtains from Spotlight/Ikea instead of custom made?

Anyone ordered furniture from Bernini? Saw their ad in the newspaper last weekend - TV console going for $199. We went to their showroom at Lavender & it was such a disappointment! All the items on promo weren't display at all. The salesperson simply showed us a B/W drawing & wanted us to use our imagination to figure out how it looks like. Though it's cheap, we rather not take the risk & be shocked to see the actual item during delivery.

Hi Carol,

Welcome, I am also staying in Blk 12. Which flr are u? U can try to call Sweetson or Hong Liang be'cos there are still the cheapest LCD that quoted to me.

Hi Limay,

U mean we still have to pay property tax upon T.O.P, estimate how much?

Hi Fanta,
We spent about $150/room for each of the bedrooms (dual track rods & ready made curtains from IKEA), have not gotten the ones for the lounge yet cos its not standard sized. Saw some that fits (Spotlight and Mustafa) and looks ok, but didnt like that they were pencil pleats - prefer something easier to mount, like tab tops.
The lady @ Spotlight quoted us about $200 for custom making for the lounge, so all in, total cost would be $600+ for the whole apartment...

On average,I would think u would spend about $1200-$2000 otherwise!

Hi Limay, Alvin,

I'm staying at #08-21 (which unit is yours?). Actually I was "con" into buying an unit on the 6th flr during the soft launch, but later change to the current 8th flr (after paying additional admin charge of $500 *ouch*!).

Do you think we can make noise about the maintenance fee so that they will adjust it lower? They are like blood suckers! All my friends who are staying in condos got a shock after they heard how much I will be paying for the maintenance fee...almost all my friends paid less than $200 to max $240 for a bigger unit...none has paid $280 at all (and imagine that's the minimum sum!)

You know, it's really very tempting to see how much lower those smaller eletric shops are selling their LCDs, but I am worried that if I "sway sway" ganna a tv which spoils after 1 yr, then I might end up paying more to repair it. That's why I am considering opting for extended warranty.

Hi Alvin,
To add on the ppty tax thingy, I called the authorities to check on our ppty tax and the lady said we won't be paying it so soon as our ppty will only be valuated after it obtains its TOP. So according to my friend's experience, she said either we will end up paying a bigger sum on our 1st time or we will to pay more than once in that particular financial yr. But it should not be anything more than $500. According to my understanding, the tax is 4% of the annual value of your property (annual value is the estimated rent that your property can fetch and I think that's ascertain by the valuer).

Carol Ng,

I'm at Blk 12 too, level 16. Welcome...

Me also kenna cheated also but by my hubby... heehee... He said Blk 12 also got breeze... swimming pool breeze.
140664.jpg

Cos I wanted Blk 8... open space in front and park view...

Welcome, carol!

I did not get any home insurance protection. In fact, my hubb and myself got those 5 years insurance to protect ourself for the loan amount.

I heard from a fren cousin, staying at Florida and is paying near a thousand for the property tax...dunno how true.

I am looking at vertical blinds cos of two boys...Else they always like to play hide and seek in the curtains when gg to my frens' house :p

Hey Ah Eng....hehe..ur boys very active hor
next time when we have a gathering, have to bring them along lah...

My sis mentioned the property tax yesterday, that's why i brought it up. Not sure if it will be less than $500 as Carol mentioned, but shd definitely be <$1k.

Carol- on the maintenence fees thingie, we are all hopeful that they will lower it..the $280+ is just tentative...hopefully its a kiasu estimate on their end &amp; the actual will be closer to $200! In anycase, u will see hubby &amp; me in the gym everyday to get our $$'s worth! hehe...

Oh, btw, we are also on the 8th floor...but in block 6, diagonal from the pool.

Hi Limay,

I really do hope they will lower the maintenance fee. I am really very unwilling to pay such money..so I told my friends, colleagues and relatives to come as and when they like to "help" me get my $$ worth. And like you and your hubby, me and my hubby will definitely pop down to the gym as often as we can. But you never know, scully they dun have that many machines for us to work out. That will be so sian... anyone been to Compass Heights? I'm quite impress by their gym and surroundings. Let's cross our fingers and hope the standard of our condo facilities will be comparable.

Oh yes, since we are TOPing soon, is there anyone who's interested in getting Feng Shui master to look at theire house before engaging ID to do up their house? I happen to come across this FS master on the net and he's charging a reasonable fee (S$788) for an EC. So I thought if there are many of us giving him business at one shot, he may be willing to charge us lesser. So anyone's interested? His website is http://www.geomancy.net/consultation/consult-home/home-onsite-audit.htm
very detailed and informative. He's an MBA holder somemore!! Dun play play!

Hi Carol,

Boy... if everyone were to have the same thinking ,regarding getting our $$ worth, then we (the residents) will be the one to suffer. : p

I think it is not fair for other residents to ask your friends, colleagues and relatives to help you get your money worth. Then what's the point of staying in a condo environment? Dun forget you are not only paying for the facilities. If others think the way like you, Carol, will you be happy if you find the pool crowded every single day with non-residents, having to fight or queue for the gym with guests, etc? Will you be happy staying there? Come on, that is a selfish, inconsiderate and low class mentality.

Limay,
It's all because of my 2 monkeys...I cannot have mirror and glass furniture in the house. Current flat wif such accessories had created enuff 'minor' accidents that my hubb and me are now into 'accident-free' environment....haahaa!!

Carol,
Thanks for the fengshui offer. Although I believe in such thing, I rather not know too much. Cos Fengshui will not remain the same all the time. Will try to avoid some general stuff like main door cannot face windows and such

Hey DunBKS,
Yes, I am sure Carol doesnt mean that she will be calling every single relative she knows &amp; the whole office to come squeeze into our pool!

As for my case, hubby &amp; i have been procrastinating going to the gym for ages now...so at least with the gym/pool at the door step, we would be more compelled to get into some regular exercise routine

I think it's right to say that it wld be unfair for the residents there if our facilities are overwhelmed by non-residents. But I think some are taking that too seriously when I say that. It was meant to be a cheeky remark to in retaliation to the high maintenance fees. I am certainly not one of those who goes for buffet, starts piling food and stuff myself silly kind of person. If one must judge based on that, I think judgements must be delivered in a more polite way since this forum is for builidng rapport and nuturing a healthy relationship among the PG residents. I thank DunBKS for his generous, considerate and high class comments. At least now I know there are people out there that will misunderstand what I had said earlier. If people are so fast to pass judgements, it would be difficult to live in harmony

Hi Carol,

Thks for yr info, I am staying at the 6th flr (06-20), What do you mean by "con" u the buy 6th flr? Did they give u a special price for 6th flr?

Hi Limay,
Thanks for helping me out in my predicament. If I really meant it, how wld I ever be free to stay home all day to wait for my friend, colleagues and relatives to come and use our facilities? *think*
I was already groaning that we only have 1 tennis court, wld I want to make matter worse?

And like you, me and my hubby never have the chance to exercise together in a gym, and that's partly the reason why we choose to stay in a condo with these facilities

Hi Alvin,
I wouldn't have said they (the agents) had con me if I had paid a special price for it. I went during the soft launch and only 39 units were pre-selected for union members. I told them what I was looking for in a house, they showed me too units. One is at blk 12, 6 flr and the other 16 flr unit on the opp blk. I felt they were both unsuitable but they persuaded me to buy, saying that the units may be pushed out in phase and I might end up getting a lousier unit or nothing at all! I got worried and so I ended up buying the 6 flr unit. Less than a week later then I realised that the units are all pushed out at one shot and I felt so cheated after having to pay a "fine" of $515 (inclusive of GST) before I can choose my unit!!

If I had taken that unit, I wld have been your "direct" neighbour

Hi Carol,

Oh I see, I bought my unit on Nov 2002 &amp; not much unit left for unit 20 (I think only left 2nd , 4th, 5th, 6th, 14th, 15th)&amp; the agent told me that 6th flr is above the LRT &amp; also within my budget so I just take his advise. God Bless is really above the LRT.

Hi Alvin,
I was actually bugged by the fact about the LRT was pretty close to my unit and that's why I moved 2 flrs up. Have you tried taking the LRT to check out your units? You even get a bird's eye view of the swimming pool (now filled with green coloured water instead of usual blue!) and the tennis court. And becos my unit is facing the tennis court, my hubby and I thought it would be better to take an unit on a higher flr in case there are people playing tennis early in the morning during the weekends

What I have learnt on my 1st time buying my own ppty is that never trust an agent 100% even though they look honest (unless you know them). My agent looked pretty inexperienced (so we thought we could trust him) but was assisted by his manager and both used sales tactics on us. Anyway, I have paid for my lesson and it's a valuable one. If I do ever buy anor unit in future, I will do my homework first. At this point of time, I'm still satisfy with our purchase (of the current unit) and I'm keeping my fingers crossed until I inspect my house for defects.

Must check the tiles very thoroughly cos the worksmanship is generally lousy these days. There were fine hairline cracks on the tiles when we moved into our current home 5 yrs ago. Now the cracks got bigger and it's unsightly. Only 5 yrs and it's like that. The quality of housing now are so much lower as compared to the past.

Hi Carol,

Welcome....

Since you have taken the LRT ride, will the glass window frost as the train approaches near the blks of flats?

Coincidentally, a friend of mine is your future direct neighbour to be. This young couple bought their unit at 08-20.

Hey Carol,
So how long have u guys been married since u have been at the present place for 5 years?

Fanta - think the only LRT windows that frost up are the ones at Bukit Panjang; not aware of any that does along the NEL...

Limay, thanks for your info. No doubt the saving is great but me &amp; hubb are rather bad in DIY esp in terms of choosing materials and estimating the lengths, etc. Will go for custom-made ones first. Hope to get a cheaper pricing if few of us order together.

Thx for reminding us on the property tax, almost slipped our minds ** sighed**

Hi Fanta,
welcome! hubby is v handy around the house anyway, so no prob for us to DIY and install the curtain rods and everything ourselves!
Have also gotten the stuff for our water feature to DIY...Like it that way, somehow seems more meaningful, esp since this is our 1st love nest!

I certainy agree that's it's very meaningful to DIY and do up your own house, esp when it's the 1st time

But I am stressed at times cos I have to save costs, look for best deals, yet have little time to do all the research cos me and hubby both work late

As for curtains, I think I will opt for a mixture of roman curtains (draw upwards) and the convention ones. I think smaller windows look nice with roman curtains

Limay,
Hubby and I went thru customary more than 2.5yrs ago ("old" couple liao). We are presently living in very near PG in Rivervale Dr and thus we have the convenience of taking LRT as often as we like to check out the progress of PG ;)
Unfortunately, SBS is not considerate enough about our privacy. No frosting of the windows and hence I can see at least 80% of the whole of PG!

Missylan,
The tennis court is right by the side door facing the curved road (along where LRT is running). I can yell "hello" to you from my balcony the next time you are playing tennis *LOL*

And yes, is anyone aware that the maintenance fee is payable only every quarterly (if I didn't remember wrongly)? We got to set aside that sum every mth so we need not cough out a lump sum every 3 mths for that. A few yrs down the road and we got to pay for another fee called "sinking fund"

Hi Carol

A warm welcome to you. I have previously voiced out to the developer about the LRT ride which can see at least 80% of the whole site, perhaps they can plant more tall trees, tall fences etc. But they didn't revert. Now I see that the trees planted are so thin and short that I begin to wonder whether they are oversize plants or undersize trees??

Hi KaRo,
I dun think NTUC will give a damn about what we, the residents, think. I am under the impression that becos they are quasi-government, they will do only what they like or deem fit. Our feedback will not make any difference. I have encountered some unpleasant incidents when I called the developers up and those staff couldn't be bothered to follow up even they said they would.
Recently, I called them up to ask about the TOP date, the lady simply told me "we are projecting to obtain TOP in the third quarter". Period. She sounded unfriendly, so I cut short my conversation with her... maybe too many excited PG residents have been calling them to check on the TOP date that they are so sick of asnwering the same question over and over again! *oops*

Anyone remembers how the model of PG blocks of flats look like during the launch? I remember that the buildings are white/off-white with peachy contrast, but now the buildings look grey with peachy contrast...not very much like what I had in my mind... and grey doesn't give this very exclusive condo look

But if everything in our house is nicely done, that would have compensated the overall look of the buildings :P

Gosh! 80% of PG can be seen from the LRT, looks like my curtains got to be super thick in order to block out the full view of our unit from the LRT! The trees planted look indeed very thin &amp; under-nourished...heehee Planting taller trees &amp; higher fences won't help much for us at the mid-floor leh.

Limay, you're very lucky that hubb is handy, can save alot of costs &amp; most imptly both of you enjoy the process of building up your 1st love nest.

Carol, any idea how much to fork out for sinking fund normally?

hi fanta
haha...am sure Alvin does his share of work around the house..

Carol - called NTUC once and encounted a smiliarly rude lady; have not bothered since! But Alvin (our resident NTUC caller) seems to have better luck..maybe she just prefers a male voice...

Carol,
Heehee... I am not a sports person, hate sweating... Maybe I will scream "Hi" to you from my level. And a deep plunge from my master's balcony. hoohoo...

One opinion when choosing curtains, thicker for the bedrooms. You'll sleep better... heehee

Hey Fanta,
Dun worry about the having thin curtains (unless you are talking about sheer curtains that barely blocks out sunlight.. the LRT passes too fast for the passengers to realise what you are doing

I think that's the diff in SK LRT and BP LRT. BP LRT moves like a snail and that why I think they block out the LRT windows when it moves out from each stn.

As for sinking funds, I think it varies from condos to condos, ranging from $50 to $100+ every quarterly or half yearly. Various factors such as total no. of units, age of condo etc will determine the amt to be paid. I guess the bigger and older the condo, the more the residents wld have to pay as there will be more restoration works to be done. But I think a good MC (management council)is very important as they are the ones who determine the costs of sinking funds and similar stuff. If they have the welfare of the residents at heart, then we will "have an easier life" in future. For those who are interested in the condo MC stuff, you can check out this informative website by BCA http://www.bca.gov.sg/build_control/building_management/mcst/faq/mm_faq.html
Anor gd site by redas
http://www.redas.com/html/redasnews/DetailsDisplay.asp?msgid=150

Hi Limay,

Maybe I have to learn from yr hubby to fix up some of the things in my new house be'cos my wife keep on complaining abt me.....again. Ha!! Ha!!

Hi Carol,

If you get any problem or enquiry to call up NTUC Choices Home, pls let me know be'cos I called her quite regular &amp; she will ask all my questions. Btw, have u receive any letter from yr lawyer to release yr current flat within 6 mths from the TOP date?

Hi Alvin,
I think that lady must be sexist. Limay and I encountered the same thing. I think except wanting to know the EXACT date of TOP, there's really nothing much until we get our keys and inspect the house

Actually the flat we are staying in belongs to my in-laws (I tot my hubby then to reserve his name for our own house later), so we need not sell the present flat within 6 mths. But look at the market now, how to sell the flat at a (5 yrs old) profit? I dun even dare to dream about breaking even. And how great is our HDB, they pushed out the unsold units (which is also 5 yrs old but new) at $100K lower than initial selling price. Given that you are a potential buyer, would you want a new hse at $100K cheaper or a 2nd-hand hse at $100K more? I really dun understand. HDB is supposed to make our lives better, not worse! Now even govt/stat boards profitting from us

Hi Alvin
Hehe...yah, can get pointers from Alex on home DIY ~ he is well-trained cos my mum makes him come by our place to look at the lights/TV/computer/etc whenever any of these spoils.. hehe...have to earn his brownie points from my parents mah!

Even had to help weed the garden &amp; wash the fish pond a couple of times! haha

Hi Carol,
nice to have an active neighbour around... (as for me, sometimes too tired to post. You can see the time I post this message - i've just finished clearing my work)

Missylan, the tennis court is behind the swimming pool, nearer to the LRT track.

I would like to find out from you guys if there is any built-in oven in our kitchen. Not sure whether to buy one or will be given. Please advise.

I do agree with Alvin that the ladies at NTUC choice home are nice prompt and helpful..err..not sure why the double standard..

Alvin,
do u mind calling Jean again? If i am not wrong, once u receive the letter to sell ur flat within 6 months of TOP, that means that HDB has received notice that PG is close to TOP(or have obtained TOP). Have u found ur agent?

Also received unconfirmed news that some has moved in, likely to drop by tonite to see got any flats with lights on. Hope to see that happening cos it will means we will be getting our keys pretty soon.

Hi Vica,

I am planning to use your agent to help me to sell my current flat. Pls keep us inform whether if someone have already moved in. Cheers.

Alvin,
FYI...my hubb have not received any lawyer letter to sell the flat yet. U received already??!!!

Vera,
Your news really wake me up..hahaa!!! Please keep us posted of all unconfirmed and confirmed news...heehee

Limay,
It's definitely a blessing to have a 'handyman'at home..my hubb had tried to be handy ...but it seems he is only better at electrical stuff...dun even dare to ask him to self-paint the house..haahaa!!

Carol,
Next time, we better ask the guys to do the calling...heehee! Let the girls at NTUC to have 'some happy time' talking to guys..haahaa...

Missylan,
With ur big tummy coming out, why dun u try swimming? It is definitely a good form of exercising for pregnant woman!