Park Green

Hi Vica,

Jean from Choices Homes told me that. Maybe you can try to call her again to confirm the date of TOP again.

I guess the end Aug 2004 date on the board is only the date when all the construction/architecture work is completed. I believe there's still the handing-over part from contractor back to developer. Developer will probably take some time (perhaps a month or two) to inspect and approve. Only after the inspection will the TOP be issued. so Jean may be right to say that TOP will be sometime in Oct/Nov.

I guess we're all disappointed to know that the actual TOP is a few more months away. oh man, gotta pay quite a bit of warehouse charges for those stuffs due for delivery in Aug/Sep.

xls file sent...might not be the same as some of your wish list but can compare the prices for neighbourhood shops against bigger chain.
We should really consolidate the electrical purchase..anyway wouldn;t be buying so soon as electronic stuff depreciate very fast.. reported that plasma/ LCD will drop another 15% by end of year. So that's the only consolation if collection of keys is later...
as razor said..disappointing man...

Tokky
received your email. Thanks alot. Can provide the contact # and address for ALP? My hubb is eyeing at the same 17" LCD TV as u....but we got the lowest quote was $1000.

We drove past PG last nite. The workers quarters is still there. If by Oct, still cannot get the keys...I will hv to go and 'lobang' my mum or sis liao house

HI Ah Eng,

I am also planning to buy LCD TV, can I know where to buy is cheaper. I am looking for a 32" for my living room & 20" for master room (Budget S$5k for both item, thk

Alvin,
the lowest quote i got is from Sweetson. But it seems tat Tokky's quotation from ALP is quite competitive. Tat y I am getting the contacts from Tokky ;)

Hi Alvin

Merdeka @ Sim Lim Sq also seems to offer quite good price. If other merchant can offer more discounts if we purchase more sets, maybe we can combine our orders?

Hi Ah Eng & Ka Ro,

Thks for yr info, will go & check it out.

Hi Everbody:

"PICKET & RAIL" is having up to 80% warehose sales from 6th - 23rd Aug at: 556 Woodland Rd, Mandai Estate Tel: 63622096

hi all, if you are interested in LCD/plasma tv, i have a friend who can give a lower market price. beside tv, he also sell pc and network stuff, but too bad he is not selling fridge/washing machines.

I went to Picket&Rails. The whole warehouse is on sale, however more items will be moved out slowly into the tentage only when whatever is at the tentage is sold off. eg queen size bedframe usual price $1300, slashed to $599, now slashed further to $299.

Went past PG yesterday, saw some people having meeting at the completed gym room with clear large windows exposing users to public viewing like California gym in Orchard

Fountain at the guard room is filled with water. Can't see the swimming pool though. Looks like the only thing left is the landscaping.

I've resent the xls. Sorry about the delay. Anyway I'm still surveying on the prices...
Ah Eng,I've heard about sweetson, will go and check as it's near my work place at BB. ALP address Blk 190, #01-588 TPY central (directly below safe and pizza hut, look for Wilson)

Ka Ro,I don't have too good a experience with Meraka (esp Sim Lim)...bought a MD rack player with them before..err not good service..

Some of the shops give bulk discounts but they do not commit how much they wanna give, maybe they want to see the amount of items we purchase then they will decide. Anyway I'll continue to do my homework (guess it's part of my hobby now) and update you guys again

Hi again,
the recent Samsung promotion is not too bad. A brand new plasma 42" selling at $6499/6999 (2 new models)..if you have a old samsung 29" TV (any condition) trade in for $1500 (any condition). So effectively $4999 for a new plasma...as good as the JVC LCD 32" i'm beoing.
Also JVC launched a new 35" Plasma TV...arggg so it's like I'm spoilt for choices. But I'm still weighing the pros and cons of these 2 technologies. Any advice folks..

Hi Kelly,
Will appreciate if u can check wif ur fren the price for a panasonic LCD TC model TX-17LAIM and a flatscreen TV model TX-29F150M.

Tokky - we got our plasma from Courts, but still looking for a LCD for the bedroom - thinking of getting a 21" - if you have any lobang, let me know!

Tokky,

advantage of LCD is that it has relatively lower radiation than plasma.

plasma refresh rate and resolution much higher than LCD and CRT. LCD is limited to smaller sizes, although recently there's a breakthrough in LCD technology. However, the bigger size LCD (i think is about 40+ inch) is about 3 or 4 times the price that of a same-sized plasma.

The disadvantages of plasma is the radiation and price. plasma supposed to have the highest radiation, even compared to conventional CRT. Depending on whether you mind the radiation exposure and whether you're willing to part with your cash, my view is that plasma is definitely a better choice for visual satisfaction.

just want to share my latest purchases:

went past park green on Sat, and noticed that the swimming pool has been filled. Landscaping is also almost done. Yipee.

Just bot a 42 inch LG 42PX10 plasma TV today for $4,700 inclusive of wall bracket at Mega Discount (United square). Much cheaper than Best Denki and Courts. Heard from the salesman that some Park Greeners also bot from him. The salesman is selling us the 5000:1 contrast model (which will be released in Oct)instead of the present 3000:1 model. Also we place a low $200 deposit only.

I intend to buy the washing machine and fridge from him. He also mentioned that we can get bulk discount if we group together and purchase from him. Anyone interested?

Please include us in your mass mailing list [email protected]

hi wei

we have been doing a lot of research on plasma but juz curious why u ended up with LG? we are eyeing more on the panasonic or fugitsu.

in fact we went to mega last evening and the guy was trying to sell us the hitachi one :P

i dun mind getting our electrical goods from them if they can give us a good discount but i think we should wait till we collect our keys before we buy.

Well it is mainly the value for money reason that i bot the LG, n he sold me the lastest model which will be released in Oct with a contrast level of 5000. 853 by 480 resolution should be good enough for normal TV, cable, VCD and DVD. A Higher end model such as the pioneer and Hitachi won't show much difference as the signals are not high definition, hence can't justify the additional $3k. This model is also HD ready, and should be good for my needs for the next 5-10 years. I have also read comments posted on the net that owners are generally happy with it. Well I think 4.7k is a good price. Best and courts are selling about 5.5k excluding the wall bracket ($230)& GST, but include a low end 5.1 speaker system

Poox, i agree that should buy after we collect our keys, thats why i didn't commit on the fridge and washing machine. this offer was too good to pass up. so according to your research, are their prices one of the most competitive around? he also pushed us the hitachi model initially, (more commission for him?)If u can get him to show u TV on both LG and hitachi/pioneer, u won't notice much of a difference.

Tokky, u can go to he web http://www.plasmatvbuyingguide.com to find out more on LCD and plasma technology

dracwy there is also an article on radiation on that webpage

Read your discussion on plasma monitors/TV. Well, we just bought the Fujitsu EDTV with a contrast level of 4000:1 at S$5999 during their road show at Plaza Singapura. I think it's worth it as compared to the higher end HDTV ones because prices of plasma TVs are dropping. I strongly recommended Fujitsu Plasma TV because their screen are very much durable as they are mainly used in the corporate market. As for radiation, I think dracwy got the concept wrong. Plasma TVs are supposed to have lower radiation level as compared to convention CTV.

Just went pass Park Green today, looking at the progress rate, I think the keys should be ready by end Sept.

Hi zann,

We've been trying to decide between the Panasonic EDTV and Fujitsu EDTV. We considered the Fujitsu but decided to wait till we get the keys in case there are further price drops.

Am very interested to know how the Fujitsu performs, so please let us know once you have had a chance to test it out.

Hi Wei

I haven really started comparing prices for fridge and washing machine :P heard the neighbourhood shops can be cheaper, but the price is comparable, I rather get from places like Mega or Harvey
will let u know.

Li-May & I went to this place at Genting Lane, and found they're selling quite low prices for TVs. you guys might wanna go check it out, they're having the sale till the end of this month.

Jia Shing Electrical
81 Genting Lane #02-03 Everich Industrial Building. Tel: 68415910

They're selling even cheaper than Audio House. the same 29inch CRT TV selling for $699 at Audio House is being sold at $499 there. They're also selling 39inch Toshiba plasma for $3900+. do go have a look. seems ok to me.

Hi poox,

We got Fujitsu plasma during the roadshow which has already ended. But just heard from a friend that Fujitsu will be having this promo at their showroom at Funan centre: 42" plasma going at $5999 with speakers, desktop stand and basic installation. Understand from this friend that there will be a roadshow on fujitsu laptops around aug 26 but I am not sure if there will be any further price drop or freebies for the plasma during this roadshow.

Hi Tokky,

Thanks for your quote, Btw, do you have Tai Sin Address be'cos their 32" LCD is the cheapest in your list.

Beside JVC 32" LCD, do you know what other brand is cheaper than S$4680? Thks.

Hi Tokky

Thanks for your advise. Also, with regards to the 2 technologies, Plasma is suitable for you if you require a bigger screen (for better viewing pleasure) and don't mind the higher electricity consumption and discarding the set after 60,000 hrs (for major brands)of TV viewing. LCD is suitable for you, if you are not looking for bigger screen such as 42" and prefer to have lower electricity consumption and longer TV viewing hours (eg. more than 60,000hrs).

Hi Kyosho, the people you saw at the completed gym room are the main-contractors. The guard told us that they are using that for meeting and they are working through the weekend til late at night so that they can hand over to the developer this month. Hope this is a piece of good news for everbody.

Hey guys,
Yah, shd go look at Jia Shing Electrical at Genting Lane...not a big selection, just mainly 21" and 29" Toshiba CRT ($299 and $499) and some Toshiba Plasma TVs, VCD players, stand fans, kitchen appliances.

But like hubby (Alex) was saying, prices are pretty reasonable; my parents bought a Toshiba 29" CRT for our present house for $699 at Audio House the weekend before (Best Denki sells for about $800) and saw the same model for $499 at Jia Shing! urgh!

We bought a small 21" there and the guys said that they will only start the warranty from date of delivery (2 months later)

Hi Dracwy/Limay,

I tried to call up Jia Shing Electrical (Tel: 68415910) but he told me that I got the wrong number, can I confirm with you the number again.

Btw, I have called up a few electrical appliance store (Sweetson, Audio House, Goh Ah Bee & Lee Meng I think Hong Liang (Tel: 62783331) at Bukit Merah is the cheapest of all. They quoted to me for Philip 30" LCD at S$4100 & Panasonic 20" LCD at S$1500. U guys can call & check out the appliance that you want to buy.

Went viewing PG yesterday night. Seems like everything is all done up, dunno bout the interior. I like the concept where no one can park their cars outside or on the ground level like most of the condominium. Luckily, the slope to the basement isn't steep.

Hi Limay,

Thks for yr number. Called Up Jia Shing & she quoted to me Toshiba 32" LCD TV at: S$4399 & is very cheap. Very headache, don't know what brand to buy now?

Hey Alvin,
Welcome! Just wanted to add that they charge $30 for delivery, and the guy just told us that they will keep the TV FOC till their sale ends (23rd Aug)- after that, you will have to pay a storage of $20 (no time limit) for them to keep it longer...but the warranty starts when the TV is delivered to the new place.

Just to let you know the prices of the various shops that I asked prices for:

Model Hitachi 28LD5000TA - 28" LCD TV (Retail price: $3,999)

Kong Tai - $ 3,750
Etronin - $3,690
Mega Discount - $3,400 (Promotional Price)
$3,680 (Normal Price)
Hong Liang - $3,680
Iberna Pacific - $3,750
Bargain City - $3,780
ALP Audio - $3,380

Model: Sharp LC-30AA1M 30" LCD TV (Retail Price: $4,999 with free 13" LCD TV)

Mega Discount - $4,200 (Without Free Gift)
Audio House - $4,699 (With Free Gift)
Hong Liang - $3,980 (Special Price after hard
bargaining: $3,800, Without Free Gift)

At the end, I got the Sharp 30" LCD TV from Min Sheng as the boss gave me a very special price(without free gift) as he had one customer who cancelled the order and I could take delivery this Friday. I actually asked him to match ALP and Mega Discount promotional prices for the Hitachi LCD TV but he said that it's not possible as his cost is higher than their selling prices.

If you are interested, you can call Vincent (Boss) from Min Sheng and ask for his best price.

For all of you who are considering LCD TVs, the most popular model now is the Sharp LC-30AA1M which has the speaker below the LCD TV. The next most popular model is the Toshiba 32" LCD TV. Other brands like Hitachi, Philips, Samsung etc are not popular with buyers. Another note of interest is that Sharp LCD Tvs have always been rated very highly for their picture quality.

Hi Peter,

Again, thank u very much for your wonderful info.

Just went down to PG today & spoke to one of the worker & confirm that they have to complete the project by end of the month.

Hi Alvin,

Juz to let you know. Most of these small retailers do not wish to keep stock for their customers as they have limited warehouse space. Unless you are willing to take delivery immediately, they will not be willing to discount a lot off their normal selling prices.

Also, another thing to take note is that prices from the distributors also vary depending on their current promotions and whether they are discontinuing the model you are looking for.

Thus, if you only want to take delivery after the current promotion ends, they will not be able to give you their best price.

We are unable to visit the PG site.

We would really appreciate it if anyone can
update us on latest photos of PG development.

Just to check with all of you whether do you know of any "SALES" going on this weekend? Thinking of shopping around for household product & electrical appliances. I knew that HARVEY NORMAN in Juorng Point is having sales.