Park Green

Hi Rachel,
I was at the LIM's sale on Fri as well...didnt want to leave till i got something (haha...i am a retailer's dream) so i got this ceramic pepper/salt holder (kinda cute, with lizards on the holder)...Yah, LIM's is not the cheapest place, alot of stuff are actually things u see in BKK/Indonesia/India...at 3X the price!

Hehee...I believe you will have a wild time at Chatuchak! The last time, we were real kiasu and was there by 9am - even before the shops opened (someone told us to go early when its less like an oven). Maybe the weather is better now, a fren just got back and she said it has been raining quite abit in BKK

Hi Limay,

I was told now is raining season in BKK. So hope the weather won't be too hot. While i was at Lim's my hubby ask me why bother to check out the price.

I went to dempsey road yesterday. The furniture there are nice. But mostly doing ang moh business.

Hi Rachel

U r taking morning flight... so good. I'm taking the evening flight. I got the last 2 tickets somemore. Waste 1 day

I think by the tm u come back fr malaysia, i'll be back from BKK. Then, we can share our experience there

Enjoy ur trip! I'm sure u'll have lots of fun!!!

Rachel,
Try not to shop the "market" for too long... cos once went with a buddy gf... ending up me face "black black". Cos she shopped every single unit... and the shops are like Pasar Malam... most clothings are repeated... Some clothings even not suitable for dressing in Sngapore. Had the worst shopping spree... Sounded like complaining... Sorry... Cos discover my buddy's inconsiderate side!

94874.gif

Hi missylan,
I went with my hubby for the past 2 years. So far we both love the same things. So until today we still miss the shopping in BKK. Think most of time i will hang around at household corner.

Hi melodie,
At least you reach there on Friday night. Sat full day to shop at chatuchak market. So not too bad.

Hi Melodie,
Alamak, we both same same.
In fact i bought my ticket without promotion. Thats where i get morning flight i guess..

Hi Rachel

I didn't get the promotion rates also... i guess it's the peak period. Should have book e tickets much earlier. Now no choice lor...

U are going by SQ or TG?

Hi Melodie,

I travel by TG. I was told now they having promotion on holiday to BKK. But just not my luck. Coz at first my hubby say want to join his cousin to Malaysia. But last min he change his mind to go BKK. So ended up we get the non promotion ticket. But i am looking forward to BKK. So i don't mind paying a little bit more just to go BKK.
How about you? Travel by TG also?

Hi Rachel

I'm also taking TG flight. We couldn't get tickets for 4th of June so have to go on 5th June evening. So, will be back on the 8th.

I'm also looking fwd, so excited for u too

Hi Melodie,

Can you imagine i already took out my big cargo bag, empty it and put my hubby cargo bag inside.
We gonna carry 2 empty cargo bag to BKK.

Don't forget to carry bag with lots of pockets. Try to separate your money.

I remember the first travel agent we went tell us the date we want are all fully booked. But the second travel agent still have the date we want. So different agent actually let go certain date.

Hi Rachel

wow... all ready huh? good... I must start digging for big bags already... haha

ok, i'll put my money into different pockets...

Yah, i went ard asking also. The evening flight is the only available one. So late yet still so expensive.

BTW, how's ur ID sourcing? I've a few quotations liao
Now, trying to decide on one.

Hi Melodie,

So far my hubby prefer to get contractor. So we still source around for furniture. We roughly know what we wants but sometimes can be quite difficult to visualise. Hope that the showroom is ready and is the same size as our unit. Then we can go in and take measurement. Does you ID include furniture or just reno?

The showflat will reopen in June ya?

If anyone comes across good IDs, do let us know..we have yet to commit to one.

Rachel - thanks for the Lrg Ampas addresses..we went to check out Rainforest & Colonial Antiques over the weekend..Nothing from the former, but possibly the TV console, study desk & a storage chest from the latter! Their teak wood looks pretty solid..

Hi Rachel

My quotation only include simple carpentary works,platforms and walk-in-wardrobe.

No quote for furnitures at all. We have to get our own too.

Gd idea to take measurement when the showflat reopens.

Any updates on the TOP? I am getting more excited by the day, and really hoped that the TOP will be in Q3 as promised by choice homes.

By the way, my friend staying in Bishan Loft told me that we should group together to buy electrical items. 5 of his neighbours group together to buy 42 inch pioneer plasma TV at about 9k compared to the list price of 12k.

Hey Wei,

We are pretty excited about finally shifting in as well...bought the place in end-2002, so its really been ages! Anyway, think it should be on schedule since they are already doing up the exterior.

We have gotten our telly, but not the other white goods - so yah, count us in for bulk purchases (doubt the price would vary as much as your friend's plasma TV though).

Hi Rachelm if you have not gone for your honeymoon yet, just like to share with you my experience of vienna and prague.

i think you should try taking a train from vienna to prague...lots of magical scenary, not too expensive, and a really nice romantic ride.

I went Vienna, Salzburg and Prague for my honeymoon too. and really, the train ride is possibly no longer than 3-4 hours. but what the heck, I wouldnt give it up for a half hour plane ride,if only for the beautiful conutryside views you get along the way.

Hi Melodie,

I am leaving tomorrow morning to BKK. So excited now.
Can i take a look at your quotations? My email add is [email protected].

Hi Mobe,

Thanx for the advice. Most probably we will take train from Vienna to prague. Manage to borrow some books from library.

Hi wei,

Thats a good price you can get. I am still thinking of whether to buy Pioneer plasma. Will let you know if i want to be involve also.

Hi limay,
You are welcome. Did you go to Dempsy road to take a look? They have a few furniture shops there too. Mostly zen design.

Hey all,

anyone staying near PG can update on the progress? Haven't got time to go downfor awhile...

GSS is on now...anyone got anything? Understand some went to BKK to start their shopping spree...so enjoy the shopping!

Hello Fellow PG-ers!
It's been a while since I last posted. Seems like everyone is looking forward to TOP and has been shopping around for IDs + furnitures? Btw, anyone bought their furnitures from Lorenzo or Lami? Any comments about them? Are there any affordable Zen concept furniture stores around that you guys can recommend? Do share share info yeah? :-)

Oh, btw, someone was asking for an update on the progress of PG. Well, I have some bad news:

1) I checked with Elias (Appointed Agent for PG) today. Was told that it was decided that the show-flat will NOT be re-opened anymore. From now onwards, viewing is strictly by appointment, and I was also told that even by appointment, can only get to see the floor plan and not the show flat! So sad! My fiancee and I were waiting eagerly for the show flat to re-open to take some measurement. Now how? Anybody knows the measurements shown in our floor plan are of wat units? inches, mm, cm, etc?

2) Drove past PG today and drop by to talk to a PG worker who is taking a breather. Spoke and ask him abt the progress. He said that TOP shd be end Sept 2004. Also said it is "unlikely to be early Sept 2004" as he don't think can finish by then. Dunno how true la, but just thot I share share info that we just found out today. But he did re-affirm that the show-flat will not re-open anymore.

Hope the above helps. :-)

Heya Razor

Thanks for sharing! Btw, hubby and I took measurements from the older show flat (that closed in May) - can get him to pass the main measurements to you if you are keen.

Hi Rachel,
Will be going to Dempsey road tomorrow to check out the teak furniture...hoping to get something similar but cheaper than the stuff at Colonial Antiques!

i don't have the measurements anymore, misplaced them. sorry...
anyway, the floor plan given to us is drawn to scale. the units are in mm. by using a ruler, u can easily find out the approximate dimensions of the room (except the height, which is about 2.6m (without false ceiling)).

Hi Melodie & Razor,

There would be some variation depending on the type of unit we bought, so yah - guess our individual floor plans (to scale) would be our best bet.

We will just have to leave the actual measurements for ID work etc. till after we get the keys i suppose.

Hi Melodie,

I just came back from BKK. Really shop like mad. I bought a lot of plates and bowl from chatuchak. If you are keen can take a look at Suthee home deco @ section 19 Soi 8 chatuchak for plates and etc. Love a standing lanp but too big to bring back. After finding out the shipping price, realise is not worth to ship back so gave up the idea. Went to Pratunam market. The clothing are really cheap and wow.

Melodie,
Remember when you go to any departmental store and ask for tourist disc card. Certain dept give disc to tourist.
The money changer at golden mile has got the best rate of 23.60 where as in BKK the best i can get is 23.57. Happy Shopping as the sales just started.

Hi Rachel

U're back!!! Where's Pratunam, never heard of it b4... I only know Suan Lum, Chatuchak & Patpong Mkt. Where to ask for disc. card? At the info. counter of the mall?

Received my quotation? Got 1 more to send u...

I went past PG today. Trees are waiting by the side to be planted, worker quarters taken down, perimeter fence revealed (looks like a prison bars, at about 1.8m height). Saw cupboards and aircon installed.

kyosho1, that sounds like good news, though the fence doesn't look appealing. well, at least it seems like we can shift in soon.
do keep everyone posted if anyone has more news.

Wow ... seems that most of you folks have started to source around for furniture and renovation ideas
Hopefully the TOP date can be achieved in Q3, the earlier the better.
Btw, anyone has come across any nice dinning sets or sofa sets ?

heh..i bought the latest 2004 mighty mice street directory & find that the KPE exit to Sengkang is via Buangkok Drive in front.. sure very noisy next time..anybody got any news on this ?

oh yeah janett, didn't notice that. but it'll definitely be much easier to reach the city via KPE.
actually, KPE seems to me like an irrigation channel, bringing prosperity to sengkang... (property prices rise...hehe...)

Hi janett,
Means my unit wil be affected.
We purposely don't want the unit facing the pool is to avoid the noise. Now seems like the traffic noise level is even worse.

At first, I want the units facing the park... I rmb wanting to choose blk 8, and left the unit 14-14. My mom dun like that unit number... 14 means hungry to death... But the main reason to opt blk 8 out is becos my hubby saw like 6-8 lanes of traffic in front of the blk. And he said that first few years shld be ok but later more and more ppl, meaning shuttle bus, more cars etc... The noise level will go up. But think not to worry much for high rise levels... The noise pollution will not be unbearable.
Luckily, I heed my hubby's advice... Think the most we can hear is children's screaming while playing at the pool...

106574.gif

I doubt it will be that noisy along the road facing the park (Buangkok Drive). The entrance to KPE is fed by Sengkang East Drive and Upper Serangoon Road as well. These 2 roads are fed by many capillary roads. The noise will come mainly from these 2 roads. Lower floor apartments will not hear as much of the road/car noise compared to higher floors apartment (whether facing pool or park). My friend who lives at the opposite Rivervale Condo told me not to buy high floors (he bought high floor) as the traffic noise around the area affects his sleep.

Hi Everybody,

I am also a Park green buyer. Blk 12. Hope to have more info on the progess & also want to know any playgroup near Park Green,

Thks

Hi Everyboby,

Just to check with you guys whether Park Green will have any sauna in the changing room.

Thks A Lot.

Hi Everybody,

I just found out this website today & I am also a buyer in Park Green(Blk12). Hope to join as a member to have more info on the progress of this property. Any pple staying in Blk 12.

Thks,
Alvin

Hi Rachel,

Do you know whether the changing room have a steam room or sauna, be'cos I called up NTUC & Jean said that it will be either one of it, any idea?