Park Green

Carol,
Have your in-laws start nagging at you to respond to the govt produce more bb policy? hehe.....Can start planning now, I'm most eager to share with you more on pregnancy

I can't really cook but hope to learn. I'm amazed by the types of dishes & pastries you can make! If you need anyone to sample your culinary skills, call upon me!

Hey, have you found a place for your oven since ours dun come with it?

Sure Fanta, I will love to let you guys sample the food I made, and I want comments too

Have not thought about where to put the oven, will have to look at the kitchen layout before I decide, but very likely will get those stand alone type and not built-in. If I have known earlier (from the Finique pple), I would have engage them as my contractor to do my house and then ask them to leave a space in the kitchen for my built-in oven. Now all have been fixed, cannot change liao

My mil those modern type, and she doesn't enjoy taking care of kids, that's why she never push us to have babies... I think she's happy that we didn't rush into having babies after we got married

She even said it is not necessary for young couples nowadays to have kids. Even if must have, 2 will be the max..dunno what she's thinking...

Carol, how big is your unit? Our kitchen seems kinda small, after placing oven & other appliances like no space liao. They shld give us an option to leave a space for built-in oven, now too late liao.

Hey, sometimes it's good to have modern MIL. I'm sure both of you can get along quite well

Hi hi Carol & Fanta,
Now i know where to run to for free Tiramisu samples or for cooking tips! hehe....have stocked up on cook books, now just waiting for the time to come when i can shift in and use them!

Dont think i am that good, lived overseas couple of years but lived off Spam and alot of instant 'just add water' food! hehe...

Yah, so quite excited this time round - can experiment and force hubby to be my food guinea pig!

Dont intend to get anything beyond a multi-purpose microwave and the bread maker thou...

Hey Fanta,
At first I thought I cld get along very well with her since she's unlike most mil, but it's never easy living under the same roof. She claims to be modern, but then still wants to stay with us (and rob us of our privacy
). Worse is that she meddles with our affairs

Hey Limay,
Since you have many cookbooks, maybe we can group together once in a while to experiment new recipes

I have a multi-purpose micro-oven but if I want to bake cakes and cookies, think cannot use baking tins cos not suppose to put mental stuff into micro-oven. Think even the temperature setting is also diff for micro-oven. Recently I kept reading articles about it being unhealthy using micro-oven to cook food. So for my case, I use it moderately, only when I need to heat up food fast then I'll use it. Seems stupid of me to have paid so much for a mult-purpose micro-oven just to use it for reheating food..

Hi Fanta,
Heehee, maybe bigger I will kick my hubby off the bed and get him to sleep on the floor.
154640.png

Cos once, his knee kicked me quite hard and luckily, the kicked landed on my buttock. Heehee...

Carol,
Poor thing... I think yr hubby sometimes being sandwiched in btw. Yr MIL has her own flat or she wants to stay with you all. When quarreling, I dun think its good for MILs to meddle in. Will make things worse. Imagine them meddles with our child's upbringing. Alamak... Sometimes, no choice but to tolerate...
154641.jpg

Hey Missylan,
Indeed, my hubby is sometimes sandwiched in between. MY mil doesn't interfere when we quarrelled, cos we dun usually quarrell in front of her. What I meant is that she poke her nose into what we are doing and sometimes tell us to do this and that.. I hate being restrained and told to do things her way cos I have been very independent since young

And like what you said, I'm also scare that she'll interfere with my way of discipling my child. So whenever I have the chance, I'll try to "hint" to her not to interfere when I'm discipling my child in future. Some grandparents will try to be the "saint" whenever you cane or scold your child but shielding them... I really hate this sort... and I have already made it clear to them no such things in future.. am I worrying too much?

Carol/Missylan,
I'm staying with my in-laws for almost 7 years liao! There're conflicts here & there but overall still can live in harmony lah. MIL used to meddle with the way I do cooking, etc
but I made my hubb talked to her so whenever I cook now, she dun even step into the kitchen. She understands now that she has to share her kitchen with me

After we had our girl, we even treasured them more. They have been a great help! When come to disciplining their only grandchild, both got different styles. MIL will use cane while FIL will shield her. I can understand why FIL does that, can't blame him. We as parents will act as moderators if they tend to overdo it.

It's good that you have discussed with them on the way you hope things will turn out before the bb arrives

I am also staying with my ils for almost 6 years..heehee....nvr try to touch her 'golden' ktichen....so nvr got the chance to try cooking. But I used to do some cooking when I am not married tat time.
My hubb always 'suan' me for not able to cook. Looks like I know who to consult when I have problems time. I must prove him wrong and show me that I CAN COOK!...kekeke

Fanta,
Are your in-laws still coming along to stay with you guys?

You know what? I faced the same kitchen problem like you did in the past. She tot I wld mess up her kitchen and she kept coming to the kitchen to "spy" on what I was doing. Then after I'm done, she wld inspect the kitchen to see if I clean it properly!
It's such a pain.

But ever since I started whipping up diff things more often, she was kind of convinced that I more or less can cook and interfere less often, and was ok when I want to borrow her cooking stuffs

I dunno if I want to rely on them to take care of my baby in future cos the way I see them moan and groan (complains) about having to do more when my sil's kids are here. My sil only comes once a week and they can complain about a day's chores. How to expect me to rely on them? That's why we didn't have kids right after we got married.

Oh no, it has started to become a PG wives' complains forum!

We shall share our experiences when we gather together for tea when our homes are ready

Ah Eng,
Yes man, you must prove yourself, not only to your husband but your mil too! Then maybe like my case, your mil will give you more freedom to use the kitchen...

But I think now the house we will be moving in belongs to OURS, so we shld have every RIGHT to use it right?

Do women who are living with mil suffer more in terms of mental health?? I think so

I seriously think we can form a "PG Wives Club" now. Get together for tea, cooking, swimming, exercising...everything!!

Carol,

Absolutely agreed with your bright idea! We no longer 'new brides' so must form a PG Wives Club now. So exciting can do so much things together

Hi all "PG Wives members",

Yup, the "magic" word KITCHEN sometimes, irriates me too. My MIL will not inspect or complain about the cleanliness. But she has her own way of cooking. E.g,(this is shocking for me), She dun wash her cooking wok. She said that regular washing "no good", the detergent "no good" to the wok. Wah liao.... Then I've been eating GERMS for years. Now a bit scared when eating her cooking. Not used to her cooking, I miss my mom's cooking....
154784.jpg

Missylan,

Your MIL dun wash her wok when she's done with her cooking or she dun wash it till she cooks the last dish?? Is it a non-stick wok she's using? Better change her wok esp now that you're eating for 2

Anyone bought fridge already? Which brand/model do you recommend?

Hi all "PG Wives members"

I think maybe is good for all of you to organise a gathering!!!! Heee....

Btw, "Fanta" (my wife) & I have not receive any letter from our lawyer yet. What letter is it all about?

Dear PG Wives members,
I almost burst out laughing when Missylan said she has been eating GERMS for yrs!!

She does have some cooking peeves, doesn't she? My mil's kitchen peeve is oiliness, she will use newspapers or mahjong papers to cover this and that in the kitchen whenever she cooks, so that the whole kitchen is less oily and she doesn't have to clean that much!!

Missylan, if your mil only washes her wok after she finishes cooking her last dish, I think most of us still can accept it. But if she DOESN"T wash her wok at all, I will faint if I'm you.

For those who are cooking, non-stick pans are actually harmful for health. I won't condemn the pans if you use it for occasional cookings, but not everyday cooking cos it may cause cancer. Some researchers have shown that the fumes that are emitted by non-stick pans under high heat (Chinese always cook using high heat) are poisonous, causing flu-like symptoms. Some of the assembly line workers who were in contact with the chemical used to make the non-stick pans gave birth to deform babies!! So a word of caution, if possible, avoid using non-stick pan for daily cooking if possible.

As for fridge, I have read other threads where pple have been praising Mitsubishi Folio Series fridges. But if I'm not wrong, the freezer compartment is at the bottom. I dun like such design. Not used to bending down or squating to get my frozen stuff. I'm sure if the last compartment is easier to open than the conventional drawer type veg compartment, but if it is, then those with young kids at home have to consider this factor. You won't want your kids to keep opening the fridge for nothing... or hide in there if it's empty!! Am i been too paranoid or what?!!

Hi Ka Ro,

Thks. I still have not receive the letter yet, will call & follow up.

Hi Carol,

Will your in-law be staying in PG with u? If yes, introduce my parent to them be'cos they are worry that EC will not have much elder people staying & was thinking to buy studio Apt (HDB type) but we need them to take care of my girl.

PG wives club...i second the idea!! But hor, come to think of it...i really no luxury time for tea ...if i can afford time to swim 3 times a week, think i will be very happy liao. With 2 monkeys at home, it is difficult to cook not to mention bake and cooking desserts :p

I like mit fridge too. But my hubb feels it is too ex. The things u said bout having kids at home..u are not being paranoid. My boys are very fond of opening fridges doors...indeed not a good idea to hv the freezers on the last compartment.

Carol, my mom has cautioned me about those non-stick woks/pans too. Scary huh? If you happen to see a good wok on sale somewhere, must let me know.

I'm considering to get either a Mitsubishi or F&P fridge. Not sure which model yet. Will do some homework first.

Alvin,
I think your parents are worrying too much. I'm sure they will be able to find friends there
Sure I will introduce them to your parents. My mil is super sociable and friendly that sometimes me and my hubby finds her noisy.

But Alvin, tentatively, my pil will only move in one yr later cos we told them we want to have some privacy ourselves. But I'm sure they will come to swim and exercise before they move in, so if your parents do swim and exercise too, they can "jio" each other in future

hehe, think we will all start with swimming 3 times per week and that will dwindle to once per month in no time...
at least i know i will...so slack!

We got a GE fridge at one of their sales..kinda regretting now cos we arent too sure if the size is right...urgh...plus we have to pay for storage ($1/day) for another 1-2 months! Was just sold by the fridge cos it was in stainless steel and looked good! hehe...superficial. But yah, the Mit fridge is good - suppose to be energy saving as well, so over the years, your eletricity bill will add up to less, and so should be worth the money! We wanted an F&P one, but alot of their models are also too broad, not sure if they would fit into the compartment! My advice - Best to get the keys first before you buy!

Ah Eng,
Glad to know that I'm not paranoid cos I was picturing what going to happen to me in future when I have kids. Your boys must be very mischievous

Fanta,
Other than going to those "wu jin" shops to buy the normal stainless steel wok, I will think Metro SK comes in second place for having an ok variety of woks on sale. Go check out Metro SK when you come to SK the next time round. They are having sale now.

As for F&P fridge, I read in one of the threads that although F&P is a NZ brand, it's motor is made in MALAYSIA, and it can get quite noisy at night. Many attest that Mit Folio the motor is not noisy at all, saves energy, blah blah... If I can find a Folio model with the freezer at the top, I will not hesitate to buy. I think it's worthwhile to invest on fridge too, cos gd ones last for many yrs and choose those with inverter technology. Saves energy.

Hi limay,

I have the same thinking as you. Wanted to get F&P but worry too broad. Ended up we put on hold until the unit is ready and we can access to take measurement.

Hi "PG wives club",
My MIL used those retro black wok, she said that using detergent will damage the wok.
As for the non-stick pan, you cannot use the rough surface to scrub, the black stuff will come off and not good for health. You have to use the soft side to clean. Before using the non-stick pan, you have to cleanse and using it boil water. This is to remove the industrial oil which might remain on the surface. If you see the silver stuff, the wok has to go.
My MIL don't use detergent after cooking, even the last meal.
154868.jpg
Which I discover recently. Eeee.... She will used water and bring to boil(somehow to cleanse the wok). Have being eating for years liao... If DEFORMED, also deformed liao
154869.jpg

Carol,
As for F&P stuff, we are using the fridge and it is very new. For less than 1 mth, the bulb is gone. I dun think I will trust their products even it's quite high end. I will go for samsung or LG which my friend was their ex-saleperson. She said though from Korea, but quality is good. And for the Simmoms mattress, I read reviews from USA that it is not very good choice for long run. Quite a few same reviews from other sites. Maybe you can do a search...
154870.png

Rachel,
Alamak, the fridge still got limited size to fit one hah? I was thinking to get those 2 doors one. Wah liao... why make life so difficult. Luckily, we haven't confirm our choice.

We are working overseas now and will not be
back for some time. Will appreciate it if someone
can post latest photos of PG development.

Anyone planning to buy Hi-fi set for your new house? My friend told me that Panasonic Hi-Fi set are selling S$599 (Very silm & modern design). Can share your view?

Hey Alvin
we are getting the LG wireless one...only cos it looks nice enuf, and is wireless...cost is ok, $1499. Got a Bose set for the bedroom

Alvin,
We got the more basic set - ordered from the US, which was abt $800-$1000 cheaper than in Spore. Cant remember the model #, hv to check with Alex on that.
The LG wireless retails for $1399, that is the only wireless set they have. Actually, we are also looking for other alternatives, so if you find other brands with wireless, let me know k!

I am quite concerned about the monthly maintenance fees and electical bills already. As I've heard from my friend saying that if you stay in condo.., you are expected to pay more for your electrical and water bills. Is that true? Is it officially mentioned anywhere?

Hi Missylan,
Your MIL wants to retain the 'flavour' from all those dishes she whipped up over the years....hehehe. My MIL's also using the black black retro wok which I'll get rid of (secretly) very soon. She's very attached to the wok.

Hi Carol,
Regarding the next wok I purchase, it must be to the liking of MIL. Saw one Tiger brand at Robinsons, quality quite good but expensive lor. I'll see what Metro carry as well.

Btw, I have not got my ideal mattress yet. Stopped by Robinsons but we were too overwhelmed by the promoters (it was Sat but hardly got any customers at the dept). After discounting, the price still steep for King size mattress. Our ID said he can get King Koil at below retail prices, so we'll purchase thru him.

Seems like Mit fridges are more popular. I also have to look for design that can deter my girl from opening the door too easily. Perferably, those sleek looking, stainless steel ones. My current fridge (National) is still working fine but the door is way too light even for my little one who likes to peep at those foods we stored every few hours!

Hi Fanta and Missylan,

I used to use the "retro" black wok too to cook before I got married, it seemed to be good and cheap, since it didn't stick when I cook. However, I realised that the wok will start to rust after sometime, meaning the black "paint" actually peeled without me knowing!! I cld have already eaten lots of the paint!! So ever since then, I stopped using the retro wok. In my opinion, I now think stainless steel wok is the best (and most probably will get one for my new home) although it sticks every now and then

I think Metro carries more of Meyer and Tefal pans and work, but I think I saw some stainless stain woks on sale the other day. Meyer also carries stainless stain wok if you are interested. Tiger is an expensive brand, I think Zebra (how come all animal brand?) will be a cheaper substitute since it's made in Thailand

Fanta,
You all found an ID already? Which one? Did you check with him if the Kind Koil mattress he can get for you are those newer models one? Scully those mattress are very oldr model which many places are also selling at competitive prices, like those you see in the papers...

As for fridge, I think once a fridge has been used before, it's never advisable to move to a new place and expect it to work for anor gd 5-10 yr. My in-laws' old fridge spoilt w/in a yr after they moved into this current place we are staying. I think the movers could have handled the fridge roughly when moving, so I think the gas compartment was spoilt after some jerking and jolting.

I may be getting a Mit or LG fridge, though I did consider getting a Panasonic (used to be National).

Hmm..is it advisible to get the non-stick pans like Tefal? read somewhere that the coating may cause cancer...have been using non-stick all this while, but not sure if we should get the stainless steel type instead...We got some stainless steel pots from WMF but not sure abt the frying pans & wok...

Hi Limay,
Those non-stick pans are actually not suitable for Chinese cooking cos we always use high heat for Chinese cooking (see our earlier posts on non-stick pans). There had been reports that the Chinese authorities had removed all the non-stick pans from their shelves and will only start selling again until there are reports to show that they are really safe for use.

Moreover, there are so many things we cannot cook using non-stick pans. They cannot be used for steaming, as the pan/wok will lose it's non-stick properties after that. We also cannot use it to cook black pepper/chilli crab or stir-fry prawns as these seafood will scratch the wok and spoil it

But if it's only use for light cooking, then it's definitely more convenient using the non-stick pans. It's up to individual preference and needs.

Limay, my gosh! You must have spent a fortune on those WMF utensils! They are so very expensive! I dun think I will spend that much on pots and pans, cos I need to save those $$ on the reno and appliances. I think the only stuff I have splurged on is the Corning Wares. They are convenient to be used on the stove as well as in the micro-oven. I dun have to transfer them from one pot to anor if I want to switch to quicker cooking using the micro-oven

Hi Carol,
MIL's black wok is indeed durable and seen us thru so many years without rusting. It's multi-purpose too, can steam, fry, etc. Don't know whether the animals brands can perform as well if not better. Otherwise, MIL won't be happy

We've confirmed on our ID (ID Living & Reno) and quotation shall be out very soon. So long as the mattress we eyed on is on sale somewhere (new/old stocks), he shld be able to get for us.

What about you? Have you been asking around for quotations? What's your reno budget?

Hi Limay/Grin,
How good are WMF utensils? Offer at taka still on?

Fanta,
I have not looked for ID yet nor have I started asking around for quotation cos we still have not decided what we want to do for the house. It wld probably be very simple touch ups here and there plus some in-built cabinets. I have no experience in reno, so I dunno how much I must prepare to fork out for simple reno. Maybe 10K or so. Is it too little for our house? Let me know when your quotation is out. I wld like to have some reference as to how much to fork out for such reno.

Just got another lobang for cheap electrical appliance:

Iberna Pacific P/L
Blk 258, Pasir Ris, St21, #02-329
Tel: 65853733

They quoted to me Toshiba 32" LCD (model: WL46) at S$4100.00. (So far the cheapest for 32" LCD TV.)
If you got other cheaper lobang, pls kidly advise. Thks.

Hi fanta,
I bought my stuff more than 1 month ago. WMF was still on sale last weekend, but I donno if it's still on.
Hi Missylan,
Those old cast-iron woks need a layer of oil on them or else they'll rust. Think that's why your mil didn't use detergent to wash it.

Hi grin, fanta & carol - no lah, bought the WMF pans during a sale - think it was at Robinsons a couple of months back...they had really huge reductions...else i wont bother, cos it is overpriced!
We also got the corningware and correll stuff - been using these for ages (cos I microwave alot, hehe...lazy when staying alone overseas)..regret abit thou, cos I have been coming across alot of nicer looking plates which are apparently microwave safe too...

Carol - we have shortlisted our ID - also doing just basic stuff and the price list adds up to approx. $8-10k. can pass u the contact if you want

Hi Limay,

I want the contact of the ID!!!
That quotation appears pretty reasonable. What reno will you be doing? What's included in the quotation? Can tell me more?

Hey Carol,
In a nutshell, these are the tentative pricings:

New light wirings (if need to change locations) 530
Dimmer for lights 105
Paintwork (Wash & wear) 1,500
Dining - Wooden ledge 450
Dining - Wall feature 1,425
Living - Wall feature 1,860
Parents room - wooden ledge 550
Study room - wall feature 1,000
Total 7,420

We have gotten all the furniture seperately, nothing that is mounted on the wall. Also, getting a large mirror by the dining direct from a supplier(cheaper by abt $400)

The guy is called Sam, from this ID called Fusion Concept. Contact - 93875150. Tell him Li-May from Park Green recommended u
We havent signed with him, but most probably will when we get the keys and the final ID contract (after he views the place)

Hi Limay,

Thanks for the details!

You are not doing anything to your master bedroom? Your paint work is quite ex. Maybe your area is much bigger than ours. I might want to do the painting ourselves to save that $1K+ if we have the time..

I have jotted down your ID's contact and might get in touch with them when we get the keys

Nope, no false ceiling - the ceiling is low enuf as it is...and we hv a 4-poster bed - just getting fancier lights and some stand lamps, plus hidden lighting for the display cabinet at the lounge.
Yah, think the painting is abit on the high side - our area is 1,356 sq ft. Sam was saying that its because they use locals (as opposed to foreign workers) and the paint job will be better...duno..

Hi Limay,
I tried painting my own room before and I think though I might be slower, I saved a lot more paint when I painted it myself. But it's really really very tedious, esp if we have to paint the ceilings. Will see how.

I have signed the ID contract wif AT Design at Harbourfront. And we have given them a budget of $6k (excluding lighting). Waiting to see their detailed drawing by weekend.

The designer recommended us to go to OM Furnishing at Joo Seng for living and bedroom sets. Went over the weekend, and found their stuff pretty classic.