Park Green

pg

Some pple buy pte condos for the reason of ease of disposal in case anything happens, like retrenchment... they don't have to be tied down by financial commitments like hefty housing instalments.

We might be getting married in 1-2 years' time. Also wanting to slim down. Always wanted to try the gym, but forever no motivation to go... might try using my UOB Ladies Card. Got free gym at California Fitness twice a month. Haven't utilised that since I had the card. Actually waiting to move into Park Green, so tat I can utilise the gym there!

My unit is Blk 10. Yes, Missylan. Felt tat you are the richest here among us... heee.... heee... yours is the 3+S unit type isit??? Or 4-bedroom type??? I really like the planters area of every unit.... can plant my favorite flowers there. I also loved the toilet at the masterbedroom. Not every EC has the shower and bathtub in 1 toilet. And the toilet wall tiles. Simple modern and chic! I was telling my bf tat the kitchen sink comes with the water filter for drinking water, so I dun need to boil water for drinking in future!!! heee....

At first, my bf and myself are tinking of getting a resale flat. But we felt tat resale 5-room flat prices are quite steep too. Just pay perhaps $100k more, and we get a new EC unit, with all the facilities. In fact, I got a fren who bought an executive mansionette at Bishan for $500k! Isn't tat steep???? Can't imagine my unit is cheaper than hers!

Hi PG,
I also dunno what type is my unit but 3 rooms only. By the way, what is 3+S? Sorry, me very blur one... If anything I should know, pls inform me... You know 2 of us are living there, maybe plus a maid...

Is it... we have bathtub and shower in 1 toilet?!? I am crazy over my new unit cos it is our first new home sweet home... I am also very crazy in decoration and stuff... :)

Yah, same here.... we applied for Punggol 21 5 room (beri cheap $230K+) and the high rise were are taken and our queue number is 1300+.... wah liao, if went down to HDB sure come back empty handed and sad. Then was thinking of getting a unit in Marine Parade (near his folks) but his mom said resale is around $400+, why not get a new unit--EC. So we bought Park Green. You know why your friend's unit much expensive? Because it is in Bishan! Bishan units even HDB beri expensive! Dunno why leh....

pgtoo!

we are in blk 12.

missylan, do you mind if i ask whether you have started working? you are only 22 right?

and i thought if have private property not eligible for EC or 1st time grant? my cousin wanted to buy but her parents have already used his name for one of their properties so he thought cannot lor.

i am 24 and my bf is 25 so i have only been working for 1+ years and he for 6 mths
sigh, thought we had a nice stash of $$$ to start out life together with but now all gone liao
actually i liked the ECs launched last year (dew, eden, nuovo) better but that time my bf not back from uni yet i think the bank officers would have laughed at us in the face!

yah i don't understand the attraction of bishan either. noisy and crowded!

Hi pgtoo,
We are self employed, I am 22 and bf 25 and your cousin can buy an EC! Same as our case, his parents bought a private property and placed his name in that property. What he can do is to do a withdrawn of name... But you know very troublesome!!!

1st: Call their pte property lawyer and told him that one of the owner wanna do a withdrawn. Ask the lawyer what should be done and how troublesome it will be.
2nd: Running up and down HDB and lawyer firm. Have to write in to HDB to request for withdrawn, tell them his reason.
3rd: If loan has been disbursed, maybe more troublesome. Our case, loan not yet disbursed so the withdrawn not that troublesome.
4th: If everything ready, every co-owner of that property has to go to the lawyer firm to sign paper.....
5th: The bank side also need to make changes.....
6th: It cost $$$.... :-D

What do you mean that the bank officers laughed at you in the face? If you are saying that somehow the officers/housing agent look down on us, I sure scold them upside down..... But the officers/agent I met is friendly and helpful.

pg

3+S means that there are 3 bedrooms + 1 studyroom. Meaning, 4 rooms to utilise. Judging from wat you've said about the price of your unit, most probably yours is 3+S unit.

Just last Christmas, I passed by Park Green again. Seems tat their construction is going on quite fast. For Block 12, they already at their 4th floor construction. My bf was curious why they did Blk 12 construction faster than the rest. The agent told him tat they intend to use one of the units in Blk 12 as showroom once the original showroom is torn down.

Actually my bf and myself have been looking around for furniture and appliances. Very excited at owning our first property. But we don't intend to renovate too extensively cos of budget constraint. How much did you all set aside for renovation and furniture???

Missylan, are your parents-in-law going to stay with you all??? Or is it going to be your love-nest???

PG,
Yah, I think mine is with the extra study room. Wow... 4 storey already, that is really fast! Think we can move in in year early 2004... My husband will not have any opinion on what I am using etc, even buying this unit, he wasn't really that excited but he longs to have our own sweet home. He is like "you like can already" type. So the furnish and stuffs are up to me which I think I perfer this way. I perfer to be the decision maker. Like what colour of our bedroom etc. Maybe some ladies will feel that the house is for 2 of us, how can 1 side is making the decision.... :)
No, it will be our own love nest!!! :-D
Think willn't need too much $$$ on renovation. Maybe some styling and the rest are appliances and furniture.

pg

Wow, Missylan, seems like you are up very "early" last night.... 3am???

My bf also like your husband... he said tat colors and renovation is up to me, so long as i like it, can already.

Where has Ah Eng gone to??? Not "seen" her for quite some time already!

Hi PG,
I sleep late... you can see a pattern from my forums... :) As our shop opens in the late morning so bf let me sleep late...
Yah lor, ah eng gone to White Water.. Haahaa

ah eng

HAPPY 2003 !!! ....it is a year closer to our TOP date ...kekeke

Notti missylan ...

Been busy in the office these few days ....as u all can see.....my msg are posted in the daytime ....cos i m using the office pc to 'chat'
....so today i m free to be 'back in action'!!!

pgtoo!
my hubb name is oso now under a HDB flat with my FIL ....but we oso can apply for the EC ...condition: we must sell the flat within 6mths upon EC TOP and tat FIL must form a family nucleus when he buy another flat....actually there are many case to case basis for HDB ruling.....ask ur cousin to go for his/her exceptions.

Talking bout renovations ...me watching the channel U .....'zi ma kai men'....see all the houses still me eyes blur blur ....making me more fickle minded about how i want to renovate the house ......i got very poor design taste....think i will left the renovation ideas to my hubb \image {blur}

Missylan ....own shop ....wat u selling/ providing for business ??...want to do some advertisment here ....heehee (jus joking)

PG...we are oso looking at simple renovations ...dunno how much is an appropriate amount ??

btw....do u all know that u hv to get ready ur stamp duty fee and 6 mth conservancy fees $$ ready upon TOP .....tat shld total bout $8000+ for me ....so my renovation budget is lower :eek:(

And for our sharing ....wat is the no. of shares u own under PG .....mine is 4 (think is the smallest) ....so i pay the least conservancy fees but i got the least voting rights.

Welcome back ah eng!

Haahaa... I used to surf hours of net in my ex-boss office, no choice leh, too free! Nothing to do yet have to look busy so keep typing and surfing net.

In Zi Ma Kai Men, some of the renovations are damn stylo and stylish but not suitable for ppl with kids. You know even now we are without kids but the renovation have to meet the future requirments. If happen to shot gun (Haahaa), the decoration too "damgerous" for pregnant mom or kids then no use to be stylo. Recently, the Zi Ma Kai Men winner's place is super nice and stylo but again not suitable with kids lor. Saw his underground fish aquarium.... the attic, looks like a mansion but it is a more than a 50 yrs house. It is a house or flat?

I am helping my husband in motorsports business, you know those motorsports products?(Piston, turbocharger etc). It is for ppl who wants modification products. Our shop is meant for most cars like Evo, WRX, GTR, Civic etc. Thanx man, I have my monthly subscription to a local car magazine.

Park Green has already deducted S$8000+ from the buying price for the stamp duty fee(my lawyer calculated shld not exceed $8K-stamp duty) and six months maintenace should be not more than S$2000.
Shares? You mean the co-owner share stuff is it? It's my hubby and my name only so is 50-50... I divorce him then I share the rest 50-50!

pg

Hi there!

Happy New Year 2003! Where would you be counting down the New Year??? I woke up with flu this morning.... slept through the day. Just woke up to have my dinner...
Was telling my bf tat we hope we can spend our countdown 2005 at our new home. Countdown Year 2004 at Park Green seems not possible!

Have to get ready 6 months of maintenance upon TOP??? Aiyoh, have to start saving now....

Open Sesame show is sometimes impractical for couples with kids... you can see, most of the couples are newly-weds staying in estates like Sengkang, Sembawang..... We would be going for simple renovation, but must also be done tastefully... I will place more emphasis on the lightings...

We also have 4 shares.... tink the maintenance is about $280 - $290 per month.

ah eng

....so next time my hubb needs any modifications on his car.....we know who to look for
The share i m talking about is ur unit share ....this will also indicate how much u will pay for ur conservancy charges....the bigger ur unit the larger the no of shares u own.

I agree with u all that those 'showed' houses are impractical ....good to know that both of u are young and practical girls!

PG,
hope u are well now! I was discussing with my hubb and we are thinking of saving a minimum of $20k for stamp duty, conservancy fees, renovation (ncl of furniture). Hope we get more variable bonuses, then we will hv more budget for better renovation.

ah eng

missylan ...wow so surprised to see u in the afternoon !!! ....not scared ur hubb scold ??...kekeke
btw....wat pic are u trying to show ?..cannot see anything leh

ah eng

missylan, ur pic of hamster reminds me of my 2 'dead' hamsters.

Let me entertain u all with my story :-
My hubb and myself used to keep 2 hamsters and there was once my hubb needs to go for an overseas trip, we get our PIL to take care of our hamsters for us (we are staying with our PIL and i normally goes back to my mum's place when my hubb outstation). When we came home, our hamsters are nowhere to be found. PIL claimed that the hamsters opened the cage door and ran away.

Coincidentally, our washing machine water outlet was jammed at tat time. Our kitchen always get flooded when we do our washing. We did not suspect anything until one day, one dead hamster came floating out from the hole!!!!
14589.gif

Ai yoh.... Your PIL murdered them izzit? Haahaa... what an excuse that they opened the door themselves. Drowned?!? Very pitiful! I've got quite lots of pets.... 2 pearl winter white, 2 robo, 1 Jack Russell and last 1 German Shepherd. Heehee. The Shepherd is over at my office store(upstair), Jack Russell over at my parents.... hamsters are in my room.

ah eng

WOW....U PET LOVER??!!!!
Anyway ...after the incident, i never rear anymore pets now ....dun want to cause unnecessary deaths
14679.gif

pg

Hey I would love to keep pets. But a pity that my bf is sensitive to furry animals at home. He said he'll consider to let me keep pets if we have our own garden....

Honestly, I think I dun really have the time for pets now. So better not be an irresponsible pet-owner! My bf said he'll love to keep fish..

Hey ask you all hor.... do you find that the lawyers representing the banks have abit of attitude problem?? Don't know if I'm over sensitive. But whenever I go there to sign documents and to submit cheque payment, seems like the lawyer's service is real bad!

Hi PG,
My lawyer/assistant are alright and quite friendly too. My loan is from OCBC and they link with ColinNg&Partners.
COMPLAIN them lah! Complain to your bank agent...

ah eng

Hi PG,
My lawyer is friendly and patient. She is representing UOB bank. I think that u shld voice ur displeasure, afterall u are paying for their service. It does not make sense that I m paying to see ur 'black' face!!!

pg

My loan is also from OCBC, but the lawyer is not Colin Ng & Partners. And the worst thing is, the lawyer who handles our transactions is the boss of the law firm! When I saw his namecard, nearly fainted! How to complain the boss????

I also told my bf to complain the law firm. But my bf is the sort who doesn't like to kick up a fuss. So he said to let the matter rest. Sigh...

pg

Was telling my bf tat your company does car modifications. He just sold his car, might get another when we move in Park Green. He said next time his car comes, he'll go ask your hubby on car modifications, can??? heee....

PG,
Sorry, my hubby don't do modification, in fact, we sell products only.
No, you should complain to your OCBC agent.
Leaving for Tokyo for business trip... now Tokyo beri cold.... But I love cold weather than Singapore's....

14760.jpg

Bye

pg

Hi missylan

That's a very cute picture! Seems like you really an animal-lover.

Bon Voyage! Tokyo's a very nice place. Yes, I also prefer cold weather... singapore's hot.

ah eng

Missylan,
enjoy ur trip!

I am different from u girls .....i m a sunny person ....cannot stand coldness .....my skin will kanna cold rash even at 15 degree celsius.

pg

Something to update you. Seems tat they are building Blk 12 pretty fast. Now already finished 5th floor of the blk 12.

But for the other blks, inclusive of my own blk, it seems quite slow for the construction. Tink Missylan can see her unit up and ready faster than us!

The LRT would be ready for operation this Sunday, 19 Jan. My bf and myself would be taking the LRT to look-see look-see.

ah eng

Hi PG,

I oso went down to see the construction last friday ....and was like wow!!! .....fifth floor already ...that's pretty fast. Blk 12 is pretty near the LRT .....luckily Missylan had the higher level :0)

Btw...PG ....do u know how long is the intervals for each LRT and the whole journey time ??

happy

i juz bought a unit at parkgreen recently..... so i'm very "green" in this thread.... u mean the LRT is operational by this sunday? wow, i'm really xcited coz i thought it will only be ready in march or april....

I'm back! I think there are a few units facing directly at the LRT, those blks more "jiat liat".... Me facing pool... I told my husband that he can see women wearing bikini... Haahaa

happy- Hah? I dun think will be ready this year. Quite scary if it is that fast... have to save money for furnitures.... My piggy bank not yet full leh! :)

Tokyo damn expensive but I really love Japs politeness and helpfulness. They are really great. I've been there like a week and notice that the roads, MRT (train) etc are much cleaner than Singapore. Saw NO cockraoaches..... no dark smelly drains.... Cool country!

Love their Disneyland....

We have estimated our expenses per day is around S$200! Train is expensive, cheapest/nearest station is ¥200+.... S$3+. Food cost around the same as we dine in Singapore Sushi Tei.

15698.gif

ah eng

Welcome Happy!!!!
Will u like to share with us the type of unit u had bought, which block, etc???

We are all waiting here for PG to update us on her LRT ride

Welcome back, missylan!!
15699.gif

happy

hi ah eng,

tks for the warm welcome...we bought blk 8 unit 13.... facing directly at the pool... wat abt u?

ah eng

happy,

me too!!
15740.gif
We bought blk 8 unit 15 ...cannot afford pool view prices ...kekeke

So now we have 5 PG owners here :-
PG - Blk 10
PGtoo! - Blk 12
Missylan - Blk 12
Happy - Blk 8
Ah Eng - Blk 8

PG and Missylan come into the forum mostly in the nite. I always 'eat snake' ...comes in during office hour ....shhhhh...kekeke

pg

Welcome another Park Green owner- Happy!!! You really make us feel happy with knowing another neighbour! But seems tat im the only one who is staying in Blk 10.... Blk 10 is also very near LRT. But I guess LRT not so noisy as MRT. My bf and myself did a test already. We stood opposite the HDB flat opposite Park Green to see the construction of Park Green, and they keep testing the LRT. So not much noise.

Missylan, happy to see you back here in the forum! Does the Mickey Mouse at Disneyland speak Japanese???

Happy, I also can't afford pool-view prices... quite great difference. But we are pretty happy with our own cosy home, with LRT view... heee...

Ah Eng, I dun really know if LRT would be operational this Sunday. Heard from my fren who's in the construction line. Seems tat it's not really being advertised on the papers....

happy

hi folks,

thanks for the update.... now i have four neighbours here... so how often do you all visit the site? i have not been there since i bought it 3 weeks ago....

pg

Hi happy

I go there once a month. In fact, my bf and myself like to go to Compasspoint. So we would go there at least once a month, and when we pass by there, might drop off to look-see the site. Very excited cos we are witnessing the "growth" of our estate! The only thing is, my block has not started building yet....

Check with you all hor.... seems tat my CPF has not been deducted for the other 10%. The lawyer told us tat if within 8 weeks of purchase, the CPF is not deducted yet, the developer will make us pay fines. But it's not our fault wat. Developer delay processing on their side, and now CPF board is delaying. We always go down to the law firm promptly to sign documents. How har?

happy

hi PG,

i really have no idea in this aspect... have you checked with your lawyer? BTW, who is your lawyer?

ah eng

PG,

my 10% was deducted from my CPF last month already .....hmmm....u better call up and chk with ur banker or lawyer .... i think chk with laywer first bcos the banker deals only with the remaining 80% loan.

Happy,
just curious to know that do u still enjoy any discount since u bot ur unit sometime after their launch ...heehee

sakura

I am a new Park Green buyer too...glad to come across this thread. I bought a unit at Blk 8, with the balcony at my master bedroom. =)

thanks for the update on the construction..me and my bf haven't got time to go down.

Very excited about decorating! there's some difference between me and my bf's tastes. Will use this time to 'iron out' our differences. =P

I need some advice on mortgage insurance cos my agent say it is very important that we buy it now. She's from Prudential but the prudential policy is quite weird. I must set an interest rate first, the highest which I expect the bank will go, and the premium will be calculated based on that interest rate. So the agent has advised me to put around 6%, even though interest rates are currently quite low now. Does your mortgage insurance works like that?

ah eng

WELCOME Sakura !!! ....I stayed at blk 8 and my balcony's at the master bedroom too!!!!

Actually if u had bought the unit under the fiance scheme....then i think there is no need to get the insurance now. Cos if one party 'no longer exists' the whole purchase can be 'void'.

I think it is more crucial to buy if u bot it under the family nucleus. For eg, I m married wif 2 kids. If i or my hubb passed away, i still hv my kids to form the family nucleus.

PG had bot her mort ins....mayb she can advise u more.

sakura

Hi ah eng,

So you are on a even floor too? Great! Actually, i initially prefer to have the balcony at the living room. But i went there too late, all units taken up liao. But after thinking, it's ok to have the balcony at the master bedroom. Bigger space =D

Thanks for the info! in that case, guess i can wait till TOP when the marriage cert is presented (me haven't ROM yet) Do you know if I still have to pay a penalty if it is 'void'?

ah eng

sakura,

Yep...me on a even floor...heehee

Penalty wise, i m not sosure ....Logically u dun hv to pay lah ....who will want the other party to be 'not around anymore' ....

If u dun feel secure, u can email and ask HDB....and when they reply, then keep a hard copy of the reply as ur support (if u need it "P)

pg

Hi Ah Eng

Did you pay any penalty for the late deduction for the 10% CPF payment? My lawyer told me tat we would be penalised becos there would be a delay in the CPF processing. So unfair!

Hi Sakura

Welcome!!! My bf actually checked with the agent on mortgage insurance. The insurance will still pay if either party not around, by the insurance company. Because it is for the loan payment, not for the house. Our mortgage insurance premium is calculated based on 5%.

My lawyer is SMT. Not good service. They don't really provide good advice. Already complained to our bank agent on this.

For me, I dun have balcony at any part of my unit. Initially wanted one with balcony. But it would mean tat our living room area is smaller abit. So we forsake the idea of balcony. Also cos of cost constraint....

ME also haven't ROMed yet. Might have ROM and traditional wedding on the same day. But might be hectic to do that.

happy

Hi ah eng & Sakura,

im also staying at blk 8 even floor.... like sakura, the odd floors were all sold out when we purchased it......

as for the discount, i think it's the same as all of u according to my agent....

BTW, how much do you all intend to spend on renovation?

I wonder why odd floors are "hot"? That time we have quite a number of levels to choose from. Was buying a unit facing the Park #14-14 then scared too noisy eventually chose blk 12. :)
Die lah, have to ask my lawyer when the CPF will start deducting and will I get the penalty?!?

ah eng

PG,
our 10% was already deducted from our CPF on Nov02, so there was no penalty imposed. Our monthly instalment was also first deducted on Dec02. Why they so prompt in deducting my CPF? If not, i can earn more interest...heehee. PG, u better call and chk on ur side. It's not ur fault in the late payment. Don't think that they can penalised u on that.

Ur fren is RIGHT! ...LRT for our side will operated tomorrow. Well, u can go for the free ride!

Happy,
after paying out the 10% cash, now we have to 're-save' all over again. We are planning to put aside $20k incl for stamp duty and 6mths conservancy fees. Looks like we will not have much left for renovation. Anyway, we are not planning to do any hecking or major renovations. Most prob will do up the ceiling ??!! ...Have not really consider much about the renovation. Budget affected by next year 5% GST too...*sigh*

Missylan,
Odd floors at Blk 8, have all the planters area at master bedroom and balcony at the living room. And Even floors vice versa. Guess most pple prefer to have the balcony at the living room. For my case, I avoid the balcony at the living room cos of my kids. So now the balcony is for myself and hubb to enjoy!

Sakura...going for the free ride too ??....heehee

sakura

PG, thanks. Forgot that it's the bank that I owed money and not the developer. =P Guess there is still a need to buy mortgage insurance now.

Yap those units without balcony is actually bigger. Initially, I very much want to buy the units facing LRT one but got great objection from parents cos of afternoon sun. (but dun think so cos got the HDB flats to block)

Yap, the 10% cash really wiped out me and my bf's cash. Have to save up again, targetting $30k for renovations, furniture and appliances. But not sure whether it is enough!! I will most prob do living room and master bedroom reno first, the rest can wait.

Not sure whether you guys know can use CPF monies to pay stamp duty? Read somewhere and i asked my lawyer when we met her. She then did up a written letter on the spot and asked us to sign. Now it is in processing, but I think shd be ok. Can free up some cash for reno.

Yeah, me going for the free ride this weekend! But the charges put me off. 64 cts for 1 LRT ride. If plus the fare for MRT, does it mean it will cost $2 to go to town? Hope not...

ah eng

hmmm...Sakura....i thot that if the whole purchase is void, i think the bank can sell ur unit and settle ur loan ...provided that the selling price does not match ur purchase price ...then the insurance will help ...anyway to play safe, if u can afford, better buy now. My hubb still dun want to buy now
15901.gif

For my case, I cannot use CPF to pay for my stamp duty. According to my lawyer, we can use our CPF for our house loan and stamp duty, BUT max 90% of purchase price. And in our case, we had use 10% for the deposit and 80% for the loan. So have to fork out cash for stamp duty. At our purchase time, we had signed an agreement to deduct the stamp duty from our purchase price. Sort of regret. Should have asked for cash instead of netting from the purchase price.

And I agree tat the LRT price is a bit too steep. But comes to think of it, is almost the same price as a feeder bus

Btw, with the LRT service, does tat mean no more feeder service available?

happy

tks for sharing wif me ur renovation costs.... actually my FH & I intend to set aside $50k for the renovation & wedding expenses (excluding banquet).... however, not sure whether it will be sufficient.... at the moment, we have no idea as to how we want to renovate the house.... so, this made it harder for us to estimate our renovation budget....

when do u guys think it will TOP? i'm suspecting that it might be somewhere mid 2004....

most likely we will be going down to the site this sunday.... will keep all of u posted of the construction progress.....

pg

My bf and myself are also going down to the site also on this Sun. Wanted to try the LRT ride around Sengkang area.

We are hoping that the TOP would be earlier, so tat we can quickly get married and shift into our love nest. And perhaps start on our exercise regime in the gym!

We intend to have simple renovations. But my bf is very particular about the living room and master bedroom. For me, im very particular about the lightings. So we will prioritise our spendings based on tat.

Tink there would be free LRT rides for certain timings only. If not, then bo bian, have to pay lor. I tink in Sengkang, there are no feeder services at all.

Can't get to sleep.... sigh.... and got to work later....

pg

Hi there!!!

I tried the LRT ride yesterday. Very interesting, as my bf has never used the LRT system in Bukit Panjang. So he was kinda excited, especially when our home is just 1 LRT stop from Sengkang MRT. Very convenient and fast!

We've checked our CPF again. They haven't deducted our next 10%. Must go find my bank agent to find out why we must pay the penalty. The lawyer is not clear in his explanation. He just told us to pay CPF for the penalty as a "processing fee". Have checked with my friend who works in a law firm. She said the lawyer is not very professional in saying that.

Tink you all better check properly regarding the CPF deduction of the other 10%.