Park Green

ah_eng

I m @ blk 8, facing the empty plot of land. Do not have mozzies problem. Mayb report ur problem to MO and see if they can help

Take care!

limay

Hey Soprano, did u check if it could be the neighbours up/downstairs? Maybe someone has planter pots containing water? We do encounter ocassional mozzies as well, & suspect that it could be stagnant water from a neighbour (they have a big pot where they grow duckweeds/water plants)

Also, try the liquid "plug into eletrical power point" type anti-mozzie repellant. Can't recall the brand now, but u can find it in most DIY/supermarkets. Quite effective.

soprano

Yes, we have surveyed our place from outside our block and realised that we are probably one of the few units who are surrounded by many potted plants - left, right, and upstairs. My direct neighbour has an extensive "garden" on the balcony with many pebbles decorating it.

The reason why we dun have any potted plants is becos my father is an ex-dengue patient and also we've got a baby at home. So really didnt expect this. We dun want to pin point the problem to our neighbours, so we tried to eliminate all factors from our home first by using mosquito coil in every room and in the living room. But the worst part is i can even feel and hear mosquitoes near my ear while i am sleeping. And on some days, my sleep gets so disturbed by the mossies. And sometimes my son wakes up with bites all over his face and arms. I am really not exaggerating... but it feels like staying at pular ubin sometimes!

we've told the MO, but they keep saying they have done the necessary checks and there is nothing else they can do.

it feels so unlucky that we are the only one facing the problem.

btw, limay, when you suspected the previous bout of mossies was caused by stagnant water from your neighbour, did you do anything? e.g. speak to your neighbour?

limay

Hey Soprano,
So poor thing

Did u get the plug in liquid i mentioned? Its really quite efficient, u wont feel like u are in pulau ubin anymore!
Nope - we didnt speak with the neighbour, not 100% sure its them, and dont want to antagonize anyone. But if anyone from block 6 is reading this, pls make sure u are not breeding mozzies in ur stagnant water!!

Our situation is also not as bad as yours. Have u called the 1800-Xdengue hotline to report suspicious cases? Get them to come over & check.

It is a long time since I log in here...

Found a seafood restaurant along Upper Serangoon Road. It is just below the bridge where we can travel towards Aljunied/Belastier. The restaurant name is Nomin seafood restaurant... hmm... sth like that. Very tasty fish noodle(better than CompassPoint's), nice food!

jovious25

Do u have any part time maid to recommend? I need a part time maid for either sat afternoon or sun morning? Any contacts? Thanks ya.

soprano,
You have to try most of the insect repellent thing in the market. Dunno is it my level is high, I don't experience mozzies. But I kiasu mama, I bought those electrical type of repellent. The pack is in red with white electrical plug and transparent liquid. Think cos you are the only one unit complaining about mozzies, so they cannot help you. You might like to consider rearing some lizards and frogs *just kidding... Try the repellents or you can buy those essential oil. Read this http://www.superhomeremedies.com/blog/14/natural-mosquito-repellants

chinesetea

Long time didn't log in the forum.

Someone looking for Dehum? There is a brand Eco-Dry available in the market. Recently brought the wardrobe dehum. Not bad but need to recharge every week perphaps due to the humid weather in S'pore.

Now considering buying the room dehum. My colleague brought recently liao and heard that the comments is not bad and work for her hse.

Perphaps you all can consider it too.

limay

Hey Dolphine,
How much is ur wardrobe & the room dehumidifier? We saw one at Home Fix-it, think about $100+ for the room one, quite ex & bulky & not sure if it works, so didn't dare to buy

chinesetea

Hi Limay ,

My wardrobe one is $19.90. i buy from Home-fix also. the room dehum one is $99.90 at Home-fix too. Hv not yet buy the room dehum. But heard from my colleague that that one works. n she suggest buy 1 room dehum will do, as it can be switch between rooms on alternate days.

N the best part is, she told me she had used the water from it collected to iron her clothes ? ;p

Actually if u want, i can email to u the product info email on the dehum which she had sent to me.

chinesetea

Just heard from my colleague that her fren is the one who distribute to the home-fix one. So if a lot of pple from park green are interested, maybe i k suggest a bulk buying for you all and see if i k get a competitive rates too since if it is a bulk buying. but currently her fren is out of town. only able to contact him next week.

In the mean time, maybe you all can consider it and revert back to me if interested?

For me, i will definitely be buying one of the room dehum if i k get it at a cheaper rate. and the room dehum comes with a one-yr warranty

melodie

Dear neighbours,

My mum is offering to take care of young kids staying in Park Green to pass time.

She's an experienced baby-sitter. She has taken care of kids at her own place and at houses of expats.

She specialises in taking care of and cooking nutritious food for toddlers aged 2-3 years old.

She can also take care of babies aged 3 months and above.

Charges are reasonable...

(She'll be taking care of the kids at my place at Park Green)

Please contact her for more info: [email protected]

limay

Hey folks, have just refinanced my home loan (currently with OCBC, variable rate was just raised to 3.95%!) with Citibank. Quite attractive rates & just wanted to share with all:
Variable - Yr 1: 3.75%
Yr 2: 3.25%
Yr 3: 3.5%.
I am an existing Citibank client, so they reduced the above by 5 basis points.
The variable package has a cash reward of 1% of outstanding loan (to offset penalty if you leave before contract period ends).

Fixed is 3.6% for 3 years.

Legal fees is about $2200 - 0.4% subsidy (based on outstanding loan).

The best deal is that they have a one-for-one savings account, so interest rates on deposits = interest rates on home loan, & your interest on the deposit moves in tandem with the loan rate. The interest earned will go into offsetting ur home loan.
Anyway, let me know, they are processing our application now....Of cos the more the merrier cos we can negotiate for a better deal.

whowillbe

hi people,
just to let you guiys know...
I just got a loan conversion from Citibank.
2yrs locked in, 2 yrs fixed.
1st yr 2.5%, 2nd yr 3.4%

whowillbe

limay,
if i'm not wrong, for Citibank, the interest rates on deposit is only 2/3 of the interest rates charged on your mortage.
cause i've double checked with my banker.

limay

Hey Roy,
The loan conversion you did sounds quite attractive as well. The 2/3rd rate was an old one, I checked with them about 1 yr back & that was what they offered, so I stayed with OCBC. Not sure if its just for private banking clients, but they have since increased that offering to 1-to-1.

whowillbe

oh limay, its useless even if I give you cos I'm already under their home mortage, so for me its a conversion of loan but for you, you're not, so yours is considered as refinancing. So i'll advise you to check with your current bank whether can they convert your loan to a new one...

limay

Hey Roy, no worries, OCBC is not offering attractive rates for conversion, will still go ahead with the 1-to-1 refinancing with Citibank. Thanks anyways

kyosho1

wow, our polling station is the school just opposite. How convenient

I think there will be huge traffic on 6th May.
The field opposite Buangkok Station will be used on 29th April ie tomorrow, between 7pm to 10pm for rally speech by SDA.

sept03

recently, i saw a lot of black patches on the white silicon glue at the side of the Master bedroom sink. Does anyone of you have that problem too? any idea how to get rid of all these black patches???

samily

sept03,

Had that problem too.

Had to remove it and redo the silicon.
Guess it part and parcel of house maintenance,
just like dismantling the basin every few months
and removing the hair stucked so that used water
can flow can smoothly.

Don't like to do it but have to.

samily

Get a scrapper. You can get these as well as the silicon at any hardware/DIY store. My preference is to purchase them at the neighbour store than the DIY stores at the mall 'cause they are usually cheaper.

I would use the scrapper to remove dirty silicon. Apply new silicon and use my finger to run through the silicon so that it is smooth. Warning : takes a little practice to get it well done.

razor

Hi Boh Eng,
I think they are filming a scene for a drama serial. Christopher Lee and Apple Hong (I think) was filming just outside the gym for about an hour or so.

By the way, anyone knows whether our MC is up already? Haven't heard anything yet.

limay

Razor, don't think the MC is up...but it has been a looonnnggg while ya?
btw, is it just me, or has the rubbish/long kang smell from the canal gotten worse? Esp. bad in the early morning, and sometimes even in the evenings! Yucks....

ahbeng

Anybody knows which neighbour forget to flush his toilet huh? The foul rubbish smell is getting stronger and stronger these few days leh. I tak bulek tahan leh.. My brothers and sisters came my place sit sit and complain leh . Aiyoh ... So malu leh....

limay

Hah, funny. But seriously, I want to write to Charles Chong and complain or something.
I remembered we brought up this topic maybe 6 months ago, and I contacted the Ministry of Environment - they said the smell was from severage work - which will last till 2007/08!!!
Too bad elections are over, not sure if action will/can be taken to reduce the smell!

limay

okie, i found his SIA email address. Just popped him a mail to comment on the smell and asked if he can look into it
(I back tracked on our postings & found that we have been complaining about the smell since mid-2005 - have actually feedbacked to PUB then and they said that they were constructing the sewage system underground which wont be ready till 2007.)

Anyway, doubt Charles Chong will bother to reply, but just trying my luck

pollycheng

Limay,
Remember me? We complained abt the smell in mid-2005. So, PUB told you the smell originates fm the sewage underground and not the canal when its dry? Any idea why the smell happens only in mid year bet May-Aug period? I have filed a complain letter to Pasir Ris Punggol TC Attn to MP Penny Low. They are taking it up with PUB.
Pls cont'd to raise this issue to for action. The smell is becoming a health hazard.

limay

hey polly
yes, good to hear from u again! I guess the smell affects some of us more than the others...like my hubby, he says he is okie living with it. But yah, it is getting more frequent & intense, quite irritating...imagine having ur BBQ and feeling like u are eating beside a public toilet! Not like we can have the windows closed & aircon switched on all the time.

Previously, I did speak with PUB, initially thinking it was from the canal, but they sent people in mid-2005 to investigate & called back to say it was from some sewage works which wont be completed till 2007.

Not sure something will come out of our complaining, but at least worth trying

limay

Here is his reply -
quite fast eh, within 24 hours.

Dear Li-May,

Thank you for bringing this foul smelling problem to my attention.

I was under the impression the smell emanated from the marine clay at low tide from the nearby riverbed. We were told that there would be a dam constructed across the river mouth within a year. The water level in the river would then be high all the time and the smell problem would no longer exist.

However I am quite alarmed to learn that the smell could be from the underground sewerage works that will be completed only in 2007. I will take up this issue with the relevant authority and seek a remedy as soon as possible.

Please do not hesitate to contact me or any of the other Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC MPs should you or your family need our assistance in any way.

Best Wishes

Charles Chong
MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC

boheng

wah limay, thanks for your feedback to Charles Chong.. hope he will solve the smell for us

btw anyone notice got neighbour throwing old newspaper into the rubbish chute. last sat, i saw the rubbish chute door at the carpark area open and full of old newspaper coming out of the rubbish chute door... this causes fire hazard.. can image if someone throw one lighted cigarette butt down the rubbish cute and causes fire.. hope our neigbours can be more considerate as to tie the old newspaper and put them at the lift lobby at the carpark for the cleaner to collect or better still bring them to the rubbish collection area

sept03

recently i know a lot of black toilet flies in my roof terrace area and the toilet. Does anyone have the same problem? Any idea how to get rid of these toilet flies?

corolla

i agreed with boheng on the improper disposal of old newspaper into rubbish chute. It is very wasteful as the newspaper cannot be recycle and MIGHT create unnecessary fire risk in the chute. It will increase unwanted rubbish load on the old cleaners. Don't we know that our natural environment is being destroy everyday? Hope our management can provide recycle bins for plastic, paper and metal cans respectively.

limay

Hi all - FYI - reply from PUB with regards to the smell
Hopefully it will be better with them clearing the deposits from the river; the construction of the dam will take some time thou....
================================================

Dear Ms Li-May,

Thank you for your valuable feedback of 15 Jun 2006 to Mr Charles
Chong, MP
for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC . The occasional unpleasant smell that you
have
encountered in the vicinity of your home is from Serangoon River. The
smell was more pronounced in late May / early Jun 06 as there was a
sewer
leak in the area. The leak has since been repaired.

There could still be occasional earthy smell during extreme low tide
when
more of Sungei Serangoon's river bed is exposed and especially when the
air
is still. In order to alleviate the smell problem, PUB has carried out
some clearing of deposit at the river. We will continue to monitor
closely
to ensure that the river remain clean.

We have plans to dredge and dam up Sungei Serangoon for a water supply
project. Upon completion of the project, Sungei Serangoon's river bed
will
be fully and constantly submerged in water. The will help to resolve
the
smell problem. We have called tender for the project. It is expected
to
commence from Sep 06.

We would like to appeal to the public to keep our waterways and canals
clean by refraining from littering.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please contact us if you require
further clarification.

Best Regards,
Chee Chan Foo
for Quality Service Manager
PUB

boheng

This morning was raining so heavily and with the strong wind makes the walk to LRT difficult. If only there are walkway shelter along the school to the LRT

limay

Passed my correspondence with Charles Chong & the PUB reply to the mgt office. Looks like they cut & pasted PUB's response & posted that up on the notice board

whowillbe

hi people... anyone know what can i do if i spilled soft drinks onto the marble flooring and thus cause the top layer of the marble to be removed, resulting in a mark. anything that i can use to apply onto the marble?

razor

Hi Roy,
Our marble flooring is extremely porous and I doubt the mark can be removed by any normal application. The juice would have seeped into the top layer of the marble and cannot be removed by any kind of solution.

It happened to me when my fren accidentally dropped a glass of orange juice on the floor and left a big mark on the floor. In the end, I have to get a marble specialist to grind the marble to remove the mark.

Somehow, localised grinding doesn't really work for me as it results in uneven shine. In the end, the guy grind almost my whole living room. But after grinding, some light grind marks can be seen (at certain angle) - I think that the marble we have is very porous. At least, the mark was removed. Depending on what soft drink you spilled, it may not be bad as mine cos mine was spilled with orange juice containing citris acid, which makes it even worse as it eats into the marble super fast.

For your reference, my fren recommend his contractor (who happened to renovate his house at that time), and it costs me about $150, if I did not remember wrongly.

Good luck! :)

limay

The compress marble is totally impractical
Dont know how you guys with kids/dogs manage...our floor already has grey spots from water spillage (even water leaves a mark if you fail to wipe it off after a while, let alone red wine/juice!), plus calcium deposits from soap stains in the bathroom.
If we don't move after 5 years, will likely hack everything and re-tile, thou it would be a hassle & costly

samily

Kind of given up on the marble floor spills (just like my master rm bathroom floor). Once, accidentally spilled some ink, I used a wet sponge and manged to suck some ink back out. But there are a lot of permanent marks that can't be removed.

Does anyone know if there is anyway to laminate the floor?

Marble floor are really nice when new but is totally impractical. I would prefer something more practical. What is the point of getting a nice apartment when the floor creates some much stress to maintain? A house is for relax, not stress.

ahbeng

Does anyone knows weather our aircorn is under warranty?

My aircorn not cold leh thinking of asking them to come and check but not sure must pay or not.

limay

Hi Ah Beng, the warranty has expired. We also had the same problem, together with some water leakage a couple of months back. Called the maintenance company to check (number in the warranty pack provided by Park Green)& they billed us $80 for cleaning/transport.

ahbeng

Wah lau our warranty so short oni eh. Dam I should have call them for service before it expire. Our Daikin look good oni, but it don't seem to perform very well leh.

merci_puku

Yes indeed. The marble floor is very porous. So before I move in I applied a coat of marble floor resin protection to protect the marble against accidental spillage.

So far so good even water does not enter the marble pores (can see that the water does not spread on the surface) and the shine is still intact. But need to recoat every three to four years after the coat are worn off by human traffic.