Pan Pacific Singapore

panggou

Ah Da, may I know how much is your table?? your food looks so tempting leh!!! they only provide complimentary tea, no softdrinks etc... thanks for your feedback on the card! I told the coordinatoer, Iky to pass me one on sunday.

Kym, you can refer to my selected dishes for reference hehe, but hor, i have not gone through my food tasting yet.

isobellies

hi joy,

if your parents think that it might not be enough it might be a good idea to just go with the 9 course dinner, because if there's like 1 person who says that it wasn't enough then they will say "i told you so!". my FH also thinks that 8 course might not be enough so i just let him have his way and insist on 9 courses.. maybe if got leftovers i ask the hotel to tahpao and make FH eat for the next few days, heehee!!

ahda

Hi winnie, mine is the 778 package. Actually wanted to change the dessert to 'OrNee', but Pauline said may that be nice as the chef is a hongkee and Ornee is a teochew dish so it my not be nice, so just stay put the dishes loh.

Hi Ryan, you mention the Roasted chicken with shallot and garlic vinaigrette. They actually give me this dish known as 'Roasted Chicken with crispy Minced Garlic' Dun know it is similar? coz if it is and you said was nice then i may want to take that

isobellies

hey guys,

for those using pacific ballroom, which theme are you using, pacific pearl or pacific passion? any thoughts to share on the themes? i haven't seen them yet though...

anfield_kid

H bao bao,
u are back! u did sent me ur wedding pics,remember? sad to say that andrew's wife is not doing videography anymore

anfield_kid

Hi AhDA,
did u went for ur food tasting? To me,"Roasted Chicken With Shallot And Garlic Vinaigrette" is nice. Pls dont blame me if its not nice
because everyone has got his own taste. so when is ur AD?

anfield_kid

Hi joy,
I had attended 2 weddings at panpac and both with 8 courses. To a guy,the food portion is considered enought. If u tok abt second serving,not everyone will be able to have second serving. It seldom happens for a 5 star hotel

anfield_kid

Anyone going to the natas fair tis weekend? I am tinking of going to hongkong disney after my wedding. Anyone booked their wedding package already? care to share?

esterlla

Hi ryan,

Thanks,but at least there is still some left for some to go around for 2nd serving?

The problem here is my FH's auntie told his mum that the servings are very small ( like fine dinning) and not enough to go around. So the impression has already been formed! : (

So that's the reason why they prefer mandarin orchard.however, i prefer pan pac

ahda

Hey WGC, thanks!
you and your sis really look alike..

Hi ryan,
not yet, will be in early oct. Because we need to tell PP in advance what dish we prefer so we chose the pipa duck..but if you say chicken is nice then may consider changing, as once we have the food tasting, no more second round liao.. : ) i Trust your taste ..hee

Mine Ad is Dec 23. How about yours?

Hi Joy,
Just to share with you..
like you, me and my hubby actually narrow down to PP and mandarin as our final choice of hotel for our wedding. Then we finally chose PP, as i dun really like mandarin ballroom(if you are talking about the small and the medium ballroom on the same level) I also heard from my friend who attended wedding at mandarin before that the food is not very nice. One thing is the coordinator is very friendly and helpful in attending to most of our request.

sandychoo

Dear Momoko,

Today's ur wedding.. Hope everything goes fine with you.

Think now is about time for hubby to come and fetch you liao..
Wish you and hubby a blissful marriage and "en en ai ai"..

Dear Kep,

Your big day also coming in 2 days time.. should have get most of the things done and now relax to stay pretty pretty liao hor.. Wish you and hubby "bai tou xie lao" and "zao sheng gui zi" ya..

I've just collected my wines last night, did not ask them to deliver to Pan Pac. Still can't find a frame we want for the poster lor.. think got to borrow from PP cos no time to go shopping liao.. I've just done my guo da li yesterday.. both side family blur blur cos first time prepare wedding for only son and daughter, keke.. but in overall it's smooth, and both side happy with the things given lor..

Still haven't pack for my honeymoon leh.. still waiting for Iky to confirm the schedule for media testing.. think next wednesday then change small notes for ang pow $$.. haven't checked with Pauline if the bridal suite got provide free internet surfing or not.. if have then I can still chat with you gals here next week and then will disappear for my honeymoon until back in Sg on 28..

anfield_kid

Hi joy,
actually wedding is abt u and ur FH. Pls dont let other ppl change ur point of perspective. I dont want u to regret in in the near future. I had attend a wedding recently at orchard mandarin. Yes,the food is slightly big portion compared to panpac but the food not very nice. The ballroom not as class as panpac

anfield_kid

Hi AhDa,
If the chicken is not up to ur standard,dont scold me hor
Actually its up to individual. During my food tasting last sunday,the chicken was slice into 24 pieces,which is quite a big piece.I feedback to our chef already and told him to slice into smaller piece during our wedding. The view at Hai Tien Lo is simply beautiful!!

ggpower

hi Kym,

1) i don think sea perch is xue yu, cos xue yu is cod fish rite?

2) i will be trying the chicken shallot and spicy vinigrette 4 my food tasting next weekend. I hv only tried their crispy roast chicken, so so only.

3) I wld vote for sharks fin. more exp. and class.

4) i will vote for live poached prawns. cos prawn sounds better than clams. breaded scallop is real scallop or will it be like those 'fake' breadcrumb coated scallop sold in supermkt?

just my two cents worth of thoughts

kimmies

Hi GG... I chose my dishes already. Instead of the teochew style fish, Ichose the sea perch instead.. something different.
as for 2,3,4, I chose them. I think my husband mentioned that item 2 is their speciality, before the good cook left to open his own restaurant...

panggou

HI everyone! back from my food tasting!! feedback on the dishes below hehe, cut and paste what I have sent to Iky and Pauline:

Just sent the feedback to my coordinator cos she was absent last night, as she had an emergency at home. only manage to speak to the chef, but i blur again, when the chef wanted to shake his hands with me, i thot he wantted to take the feedback form from me, thus, i passed him and he looked shocked hehe, my hubby says cham liao, we can expect smaller chicken hehehe.

1) Combination of Deluxe Appetizer
(Suckling Pig, Roast Duck, Prawn Salad, Deep-fried Crab Meat Ball, Jelly Fish)
Very good.

2) Braised Shark's Fin Soup with Crabmeat and Shredded Fish Maw
Generally, quite average, as the crabmeat is not very fresh and the crab meat is not sweet enough and thus causing a slight fishy taste.

3) Poached Live Prawn with Chinese Wine
Excellent dish.

4) Marinated Farm Chicken in Honey and Soya Sauce Smoked with Jasmine Tea Leaf
Excellent dish.

5) Steamed Live Sea Bass "Teochew Style"
The fish has been overcooked, and the presentation looks a bit messy, we are considering if we want to change the fish.

6) Braised Sea Cucumber and 'Bai Ling' Mushroom with Oyster Sauce on Seasonal Greens
The Bai Ling mushroom is very tough, not sure if it has been overcooked. We will like to change this dish to
Braised Sea Cucumber and Fragrant Mushroom with Oyster Sauce on Seasonal Greens.

7) Fried Rice with Diced Ham and Prawn Topped with Pork Floss
Excellent dish.

8) Sweetened Almond Cream with Glutinous Rice Dumpling
Excellent dish, but we wish to have the almond flavour to be slightly thicker.

ahda

Hi ryan and winnie,
thanks for sharing..
seem like nobody taking roasted duck as their dish, so dun like want to try that or not..

if say after the food tasting we do not like the dish, we can still change to another dish on the menu right? but guess we will not get a chance to taste the 2nd choice dish, except on the Ad?

panggou

hi ryan, it is actually steamed live prawns with the chinese wine, it is soaked in the brown wine, cos er how to say, they mix the chinese herbs in the wine, so it is very nice and shiok hehehehe.

Ahda you can change the dish, but cannot retaste...

anfield_kid

Hi winnie,
As for the prawns,I had sauteed live prawns in "szechuan" style. I tink urs better because I like prawns in wine
was the prawns overcooked? was the size of the prawns just nice? Maybe I will swoop to ur dish

panggou

ryan, the prawns are not overcooked on the food tasting session, in fact, it was really nice, my in laws and parents are very happy, cos the live prawns do no tcome with you know, the black string of waste on the body?? not sure if you know what i mean hehe, the waste material on the prawn body.... the portion is good for 10 people.

sandychoo

hi gals..

just some updates on my media testing last night. Those who are using OB, duration for the march in songs must be longer than 3:30 mins..
and their DVD player is a separate unit from the audio sound control. You can choose to have own background music or using PP's music.

Looks like my menus are different from many of you, cos mine is old package.. I had prawns in "szechuan" style too and had given excellent grade for that dish, my family said prawns in wine is too common, so quite like 'szechuan" style..

Looking forward to my wedding dinner on this Sunday. Hope everything will go smoothly.

So who's coming next? Anybody before me these 3 days?

sandychoo

Hi Dino / Iso,

Thank you.. hee.. will come back again and show you gals some pics taken by helpers.. photos taken by AD PG think got to wait 2~3 weeks time.. Those of you who haven't seen the complete stage deco maybe can ask momoko or kep to show you cos their weddings just over last week.

The media testing is referrring to the test on photo montage, photo slideshow, and songs for march-ins, food fanfare and champagne pouring.. We compile all the songs in audio cd format cos that's the safest mode.. I'd advise you gals to arrange with your co-ordinator for the media testing to make sure there's no problem with the songs and the montage video you provide on the actual day..

anfield_kid

Hi joline,
I had prawns in"szechuan" style for food tasting. How u find the taste? I find it nice also.but the poached live prawns in chinese wine also not bad leh.

sandychoo

Hi ryan,

Hee.. we did not change the dish, since we are happy with the szechuan style.. if you prefer the prawns in wine more than the other option, by all means go for the wine, most importatly you and family like it then it is good enough.

Yeah, we tested the photo montage at the DVD player.

anfield_kid

Hi Joline,
wish u all the best for ur wedding tis sun
Will be waiting for ur ballroom pics
By the way,which wedding favour did u choose?

esterlla

Hi ahda and ryan,

Thanks so much for the assurance! Now I am more fan xin. They were asking me to make sure that the guests have enough to eat if I choose PP.

I will be going to the wedding show to see what perks they have. Anyone here going? Do they usually let you know the perks few days before?

aloe79

H Joline,
Congrats on your upcoming wedding! Be a beautiful bride on this Sun ya.. enjoy yourself..Cheers to your wedding..
Hope to share your after-wedding pics after that.

orosalind

Hi all, I held my wedding at Pan Pac one almost one yr ago, gg back for my anniversary stay next month.
Really no regret on choosing Pan Pac, really satisfied with their serv. One day before my wedding at 2am, I was confirming my guest list (real last min rite? Dun think there's any other bride who isnt slpg at this time now cos next morng is the wedding itself!!), realised I am short of 7 tbls, I was really worried cos I wonder how can Pan Pac add on 7 tbls at the last min and I cant squeeze the extra guests into existing tbl, was really worried tt I may nid to get the guests to go for a separate buffet, which wld be real embrassing. But, my coord reacted fast enuf, they managed to get the 7 tbls in less than 24 hrs notice, PHEW!!!! Also, aft banquet serv was superb, the food was properly packed in warmer and a nicely decorated choc fudge cake was given. Oh ya, when u reach the hotel, a staff will be there waiting for ur bridal car with a bouquet of flower, real impressed. The banquet mgr was real nice and helpful too. Everything went well with a breeze...

ggpower

anyone can advise whether pan pac have MP3 player to play out the music during the banquet? or i Must provide them the music in CD format?

momoko0

i just came back from my HM few days back. Had a great trip and was quite reluctant to be back at work. Well, we are fresh out of cash, so no choice...

my wedding at PP was a great success!!
everything went smoothly and my HB and I were so thankful to our coordinator Ivan Tan and the event manager Joseph Chua. They had been a great help and we really appreciate it a lot. I had a rather similar situation as orosalind. Just 2 days before our wedding, unfortunately, my grandma passed away. I'm very sad and lost... was told that all my relatives can no longer attend our wedding. Told PP about it and Ivan acted promptly on our request to reduce the number of guranteed tables. That really helps to reduce our pain... we are so thankful.

on the actual day, i didn't have to bother much. Most of the things are handled by my HB. He went down to the ballroom at 5pm to do a media test. Our video vendor/coordinator, MC and main coordinator were there too. My HB commented that PP service was excellent. During the testing, there are cases when the songs played & cannot be heard but PP managed to solve that problem immediately. btw, we didn't have any media testing prior to our wedding dinner.

truthfully, i didn't have much worries during the dinner (just personally very kancheong during 1st march-in). Everything was very well coordinated and Joseph was there to guide us through. Coming to the end of the dinner, I remembered him asking us whether do i need to change to teadress. He advised to make a quick one as it's already coming to the 2nd last dish and usually guests may leave without having the dessert. I told him I needed 15mins and he was like 'huh?'... hee. In the end, my HB and I walked very fast (almost running) up to our suite and came down within 10mins. That was fun

i'm just glad that we chose PP. Definitely no regrets or complaints. I have VIP guests from other hotel organisation and they even commented that their service was excellent. No doubt abt it. I'll be back next yr for my anniversary night and I'm already looking forward to it. But not for the view, it's for the people and their excellent service.

Many thanks to Ivan Tan, Joseph Chua and team!!