Orchid Country Club

Jonathan: My AD is on 7 July this yea, what about yours?

Ya, I also looked at the floral stands and did feel like adding some more, otherwise might look a little bare, but then I think about how much more that would cost, so I ended up scrapping that idea.

Ribena, I took the small trinket case for my favour instead. Thought it was quite nice.

Sharon Wok> My AD is on 14 Oct 07, like what u have mentioned the floral stands do look a little bit bare but the additional charges are a bit turn off though keke. Hmm u got picture sample of the trinket case? If yes can share?? Thanks in advance :o)

Oops.. I didn't manage to get a picture sample of the trinket case, but I have a similar one at home, if you'd prefer I can take a photo of that and post up?

Hey people! Finally home... Last night was out clubbing with friends...kns St James is the most crappy place in Singapore! >

Anyway, pics!
488581.jpg

488582.jpg

It's only similar, not the same, the case is around 5cm long, same shape as the one in the pictures, but it seems to be ceramic and it's white in colour with blue flowers...a bit like those Ming vase-type of decor (but obviously not so nice la, hor) and it's got a little clasp at the side so that you can open and close.

Actually quite amazing hor, on my AD there are at least 6 others using OCC but none are posting here leh...

Sharon Wok> Thought St James is one of the most happening place in town now, how come u find it crappy? Hmm think I have a rough idea what the case look like. Anyway going down to OCC tomorrow to meet up with David, to check out the wedding invitation cards, the flavours (any new one or not) and to help my colleague recce the foray cos he plans to have his wedding cum soleminsation there.

suelynn> 7 days away from your AD right? How is your preparation so far? Can give me the contact of the printer u used? Thanks in advance :o)

jonathan: It's supposed to be the most happening place in town, but quite honestly the way things are run there is really just plain bad lor. The queues for newcomers, members and re-entry are not clearly marked out so you end up queueing for a long time in the wrong place. Then every time you want to go into another part of the building, you have to queue again. Then if you get sian of queueing and want to go back to the room you originally came from, you are supposed to go back out and join the re-entry queue outside! KAOZ sian right???

Anyway, I've gotten my invites, mostly sent out le. I quite like mine, it's the gold colour one with the 'xi' on it. Their recommended printer a bit... errr... fast is fast; I got mine slightly less than a week after I sent it for printing. But not cheap leh, around $127 for inserts and hotstamping our names and the date on the front (90 invites). And they initially got the spelling of my chinese name wrong and my BIL didn't see and approved it for printing! I nearly died of horror and made my FH call quickly to change it. Good thing they hadn't started printing yet. Otherwise....

suelynn: congrats on your coming big day!

Sharon Wok> Hmm din know that St James got so many "rules" and "regulation" when going in, like what u have mentioned better dun go waste of time and it dampen your clubbing mood in the end. Wah think OCC recommended printer abit expensive lah even with the hotstamping thing might go and see see look look around before deciding. Have to get it done b4 Jul.......

Jonathan: ya lor...we wait until super sian... my friend was so extreme that she even suggested crawling through the aircon vent to get to the main dance floor. So unglam right? Hahaha

I also think that they are a little bit expensive, but right now you have plenty of time lor, so you don't have to worry so much. Quite a few recommend T-Dragon over in the cards section of the forum, or if you have loads of time you can go to Hi-Tech, a lot cheaper but very slow. Anyway don't worry la! I print and send out my cards 1.5 months before my wedding and everyone still say it's super early lor. How come you need to print so early? Lots of overseas invites?

Sharon Wok> Wah your friend too extreme, if cannot go in then go other place mah too extreme liao lol. Yah find them a bit expensive also, maybe will go Hi-Tech cos near my wife's house :o) Need to bring early cos going back for ICT in July, most of my kakis are from my days when I am a regular with the air force mah :o)

Hi all, thanks, me still doing the seatings, we kept increasing tables, nw it slowly decreases, so irritating...Best to print early n send early, my contact is from OCC.

Sharon> think we got same card n same printer. I used focal Ad, we spent $300+ for printing of cards, hotstamping directly onto the cards. I went to clark quay on vesak day eve cos zouk is too crowded!

suelynn: Wah, good thing I didn't decide to go Zouk instead! My goodness... my friend was saying that all the clubs would be super-crowded cuz 1) supposed to be ladies' night and 2) got PH so everyone will go that night! You hotstamped directly on the card? I wanted to do that originally but David say not nice... But now the inserts look a bit funny... Regret a bit now... how was Focal-Ad for you? Okay?

Yesterday confirmed will be packed at most places cos alot of people taking long weekend. Even my office is like a ghost town today.

Just to check for the wedding invitation cards does it has a map in it or we need to print the map into the insert or on the card directly??

Nope, invite cards don't have a map printed on it, you have to tell the printer to print it, either on the insert or on the card directly.

sharon> focal ad was ok for me, just that its ex lo.

jon> cos the printer tie up with OCC so they give the map as inserts for free for me cos i hotstamp onto cards. If u print inserts, it will be printed on inserts too.

Thanks for the reply, me going down to somewhere near Selegie to see this printer shop called I Success later, heard it is quite reasonable but they dun do hotstamping. Me and my wife dun plan to do hotstamping just normal printing will do for us kekeke

Hi Sharon and suelynn,

Wah meeting with David was solid, no wonder I found him familiar lor, he used to work in Pan Pacific b4 he joins OCC. Think must be one of the wedding I have coordinated before that I have seen him. A thumb up with his coordination, no need to worry cos everything is in place.

Have a discussion on the ballroom setup, the wedding flavours, the reception area setup, the lightning etc. For the wedding flavours, there is a new keychain and the cermaic one has been taken out. We took the new keychain which is quite unique but too bad forgotten to take a photo kekeke.

He reminded me to come down maybe 2 weeks in advance to try out the photo montage at OCC. Also set the timing of the bus pickup from Yishun mrt to OCC (before banquet), OCC to Yishun mrt (after banquet end). Collected some of my wedding invitation cards from him, the rest will collect from him next week (they run out of stock).

What I can say is that this is the first time I manage to find such a accommdating, flexible and efficient coordinator. Even my wife is impressed by him, David might look young but find him bery good so far. Frankly speaking I rarely see a male coordinator who is so efficient and effective lor.

That is my comments about David work so far :o)

One more thing to add he even tell us what to change for our wedding banquet menu. He told me which are the ones more well known and more people will like too lor.

Another thing to add is that he also advises us not to place the buggy there before the banquet started lor. Cos if got kids running around the place, there is always a safety concern and not to mention if the buggy is spolit might have a problem later for the 2nd march in.

OCC is one of my shortlisted venues. Is it true dat the price per table is ard $608+++? If tats the case, the price has definitely increased by quite abit! The price given by OCC is quite different from the one given by this website.
Thanks for enlightening me!

Yan> The price has increased since last year, there is two pricing one for weekend and one for weekday. The $608+++ per table is for weekend one. Hope this will clarify your doubts :o)

Jonathan: Wah! David really solid man! Now I feel so much better with him coordinating my banquet. They retired the ceramic case le? So sad... Tell you what la, if got extra, I'll get my JMs to keep one for you and suelynn k? Hee

BTW are your dates considered popular? I was just wondering, because if it is and then everyone is coming for wedding dinners at around the same time, then does OCC have any plans to increase the frequency of the shuttle service from Yishun MRT for those days? Hmmm....

sylphide> I tink the split of having a sales and events team has helped in making the service better. I have several weird request like changing the dummy cake, changing the placing of bridal table and also additional reception table to split the male n female sides. My coordinator also very prompt in following up etc. So far quite happy. Cross fingers for my AD this friday! My AD has only 1 wedding which is mine lei, so I nvr tink so much abt the shuttle bus tho...

Jon> the key chain issit the couple keychain?? Anyway I got soft spot for bears. I ask my parents to keep the bears for me kekeke

sylphide> Thanks for the offer :o) According to David, they will take into consideration for the number of guests if there are more than one banquet ongoing together. But think for my AD is the same as suelynn one also, my wedding is the only one that will be held. The ceramic case is due to safety concern than anything else. If the case break it might cut the guests.

suelynn> Yeah having a sales and event teams has helped alot in providing a better service. Sometimes sales team have a habit of trying to get the deal and not much follow up lor :o). Din know that dummy cake can be changed? What did u changed to? Since u mentioned about the reception table, think I will have to spilit mine also into relatives and friends I guess. My total number of tables as of now is 58 + 2 (already confirmed my attendance for my banquet). Keeping my finger crossed it dun increase anymore lor else piangz when going from table to table for phototaking lor.

suelynn> Hmm which couple keychain are u referring to? The one with two version - one chinese tradition wedding couple and the one is western wedding couple? Not these two, it is a keychain in the symbol of man and woman but dress as a western wedding couple. Find them more unique as compared to the rest. My wife has a soft spot for the wedding bears too but every guest can only get one bear, look a bit sad lor cos it shld be a couple mah :o)

jon> I changing to another dummy cake that is less flowery. Split recep into frens n relatives a bit hard lei, cos for us split into female n make its easier. Cos ppl will ask u are guest of groom or bride n our angbao box will differentiate. My tables initially increases to 62 then slowly drop to 58, we kiasu abit, so better to confirm lesser and increase if need be, else wait we gotta pay for those unconsumed empty tables. We only confirmed 55 tables. I know which couple keyrings le. I saw tat when I went for my meetup to discuss the details in april. We still chose the bear hee!

Anyway I am not doing table to table photo-taking cos more than half of the ppl I and my hb dunno them,we takin family fotos on stage and will be going ard entertaining guests after tat n our fotos with frens will be more journalistic

suelynn> Plan to do the same thing also, have group family photos, both our families simply too big liao. As of now my tables is still stand at 58 but will try to reduce to 55, find the setup for 55 tables more spacious.

suelynn and jonathan: I wish I could do that, just take a few photos here and there... especially because both my FH and I don't know any of our relatives, but ours is quite small, 15 tables so I guess we just have to do the rounds... Don't forget to stand by one extra AP box for each side!

suelynn: can I please see your photos too? Thanks!

sylphide> Er what is AP box?? Find it a hassle to go round the tables, imagine me and my wife are missing all the good food hahaha

AP box= ang pow box. Ya, imagine lor, we all foot the bill and all we get to eat are sandwiches and the first course... sianz

sylphide> Er I am still praying that at least can eat the 2nd or 3rd dishes then go and change hahaha. The AP box think will only have one since I plan to have only one reception table instead else find it abit too messy but will see how it goes as the time is closer :o)

jon> i ald ask my parents to keep aside some food for me, so after 2nd march in i can eat! Where got so greedy one rite? ahahah! I got 2 angbao boxes, 1 each side. I made myself . hee

sylphide, i posted on multiply, u got acct? Then u can see. give me ur email add i will add u

hihi everyone! looking at yr posts, make me regain confidence abt occ..
eh..can let me knw wat perks to bargain for frm all yr experiences?
my ad will be in jun next year..so in midst of sourcing..actually wanted to give occ up one, cos tt time i went down n tok to Serene, she's not impressively nice or watever

treegirl> Hmm what perks can bargain will depend on the number of tables u will be having lor. That time help one of my ex-colleague bargain until one bottle of red wine per table. She was having a buffet lunch for her ROM.

haiz,

i jus contacted serene, she mentioned tt there's already another couple who reserved my wedding date..seems like occ will be out of e question