Orchid Country Club

treegirl

ya..i like e grand ballroom..Serene jus emailed me to say tt it's available nw..

bt nw i in a dilema, i heard laguna country club oso v nice..if nt, even better..bt i nt sure..laguna coordinator better than Serene tt's for sure

jonchew

treegirl> Have been to laguna country club to take a look yet? Take a look before u decide where u want to hold your wedding banquet :eek:)

suetan

hi all thanks! Will share pix will u all after my AD k, will be going for short trip on tuesday. My hb going hk for work.

treegirl> serene is not coordinator, she is jus sales. the events one are much much better than her for sure! its best to make tentative booking 1st and also to view the venues b4 deciding

henkitty

Im shortlisting OCC for my banquet..Although its big but not very nice ley..like my school hall..maybe is becos i went there in the afternoon..maybe @ nite wif the lightings will be different le..I saw the pic they put on web..still not very satisy..

Any kind souls can share our wedding photos?

yuene

Wah~~ just got back from dinner at my PILs' house... eat until so super full...like that cannot lose weight in time for the wedding leh! Aiyah...feel a bit sian leh, like kind of sad that I can't eat the food... eh is there any way to get them to reserve one portion and serve it up to the room after the banquet ah?

jonchew

sylphide> Guess it will be difficult hahaha but u can request for some finger food like sandwiches to eat before the banquet lor :eek:) Besides which bridal studio are u using?

suetan

hi all, finally got time to post! The event went well, we had lots of last min request like having tea ceremony over at the dinner and OCC was very good in helpin us with that. I was impressed with the place, when I march in during 1st march in then I saw the ballroom. My coordinators frens dun allow me to go down n show myself to my guests....only allow b4 I march-in.

We get serve sandwich at abt 4 pm, and after our event, they serve us the food which we din eat during the dinner as supper. Cos bridal table the food is individually served one. Alot of ppl impressed by the place, said the food is great. No complaints except the serving of wine n liquor is really slow. End up we have lots of red wine left.....We open 1 barrel of beer and 31 glasses.....Quite unexpected....

My cousin tot of having her wedding there too! Depends on the kind of ppl u invite, some ppl give $50.......and $60...like nvr go for weddings b4 one, so surprised...... We managed to break even.

ribenaberry

Suelynn, congrats! Glad that everything went well on your big day, and managed to break-even.

How many tables did you have during the banquet? What was the originally number of guest when you send out the invites? After RSVP, what was the number of tables left?

What time did your banquet start? Quite surprise that only consumed approx 1.3 barrel of beer. So you only pay for 31 glasses of beer?

Did you request for the sandwich? I do not recalled that this is in the package.

Any photo to share?

jonchew

suelynn> Wah only 1 barrel of beer and 31 glasses of red wine! That is quite a surprise, same situation my wife and I will be happy if we can break even. But the people for give $50 and $60 is relatives or friends? Wah still got chance to eat hopefully me dun end up too drunk to drink after that hahahaha

jonchew

Ribena> Me using Focal Ad for my inserts printing, will keep u updated about the pricing. Bringing my cards down for printing next sat :eek:)

suetan

jon> we have 1 additional barrel n 31 glasses of beer. wine we use abt 5 boxes of red wine n 2 bots of white n 3 bot of hard liquor. We booked 59 tables, tink only abt 80% filled....some left halfway.

U will be surprised, the $50 n $60 comes fr working adults, those nt close ones n some close ones oso Cat! my own uncles n aunts all gave alot. those long distant one are horrid! some frens gd ones no show!

jonchew

suelynn> Hmm that is what I worried that is why my banquet will be chop chop one, dun want end up not much people around when go for PS taking around the tables. Wah even good friend also give around that range? That sounds bad lor......

For the red wine u used from the OCC contact? They charge based on consumption? 1 box how many bottles? Wah think your WG look wonderful on u :eek:)

yuene

Suelynn: Congrats on the 'hitch-less' wedding banquet! Wah, $50 and $60...abit 'giam' ah.. But eh, quite good lor, can break even!

Jonathan: In the end you decided to use Focal-Ad too. What is your card like? And ya, David told me that they will serve sandwiches to our room around 5pm--actually I didn't even think about that, he 'zi dong' tell me one, so I was quite pleasantly surprised. My bridal studio is Santiago. You leh?

suetan

jon> the red wine we got from supplier, we bougth 8 bots of red and 1 bot of white, left with 3 boxes n 3 bots of red, white only use 1 bot. Will sell away the rest.

Anyone interested??? hehe!

jonchew

suelynn> Oic how much u selling keke :eek:)

sylphide> Er the insert will only be able to show this weekend as I am going down on Sat to confirm my printing. Yah me request for sandwich and chicken wings cos my wife loves chicken wings but think the chicken wings got additional charges. My bridal studio is My Bridal Room.

suetan

hi all, today I realise something horrid! Some frens comment, the fish on some tables some are red and some are black garoupa!

jonchew

suelynn> That is bad, how come like that one? Run out of stock?

Ribena> Er the sandwich me not too sure got charges or not. Maybe u can check with suelynn.

ophelia

Hi everyone~

I have confirmed my booking with OCC for my wedding in 08. I am wondering if any other brides/grooms are engaging Gim Tim as caterer? If so, what are the perks that you have gotten?

Thanks for sharing!!

suetan

jon> thats y lo, no stock shld tell us b4 hand, in fact the wedding bears were changed 1 day b4 our AD. There is some shipment prob they say but its ok, the one we had is cuter than the 1 we chose. Alot of ppl fighting for it, cos some guests stole other table's...... Its still acceptable if we are being informed but then when we are caught by surprised what the guests told us...we dunno hw to react lo!

suetan

ribena> the sandwich is free, if they charge us, we would order something else, anyway we cant finish.....we gave our helpers n parents to eat...

jonchew

suelynn> Can show me the wedding bears, I am curious hahaha. The out of stock thing should not have happened, should have anticipated and informed the couple if there is a shortage. Your banquet is from Gim Tim right?

jonchew

Ribena and sylphide> Just send my inserts for printing today, send my printing to Focal Ad recommended by OCC. They will email me the sample, if confirmed the printing will take one week.

Spend around $173.25 (after 5% GST) for a total printing of 350 inserts. The exact breakdown is as followed:
1) 350 inserts - $100 (around $0.28 per inserts)come with free map
2) 350 ribbons - $35 ($0.10 per ribbon)
3) 3 icons - $30 ($10 each)

Never used hot stamping think it is a waste of $$$ cos dun think anyone will take note of the wedding invitation cards :eek:p

ophelia

hey everyone, sorry for late reply..haven't been in the forum for a short while..

hm, i haven't settled my menu yet so..i can't give u all the details
sorry...i'm sure u can negotiate with them for the specific dishes u want!

pannie

Hi there.

I am thinking of holding my wedding banquet at OCC. Could anyone give me some feedbacks on their food (eg. nice? Portion enough for gurest? etc), staff coordinator & the function room?

Thanks alot.

jonchew

Ann> Will be holding my wedding banquet this Oct, so far the coordinator assigned to me has been doing a great job for me. Using the grand ballroom for my dinner but find one of the function room Ruby Suite not bad with the curtains drawn up, it has a nice secenary view. For the ballroom, it is one the grandest that can be found in Singapore with its high ceilings.

Food so far the portion from the D & D and wedding dinner I attended is big, food so far is all right I guess. But will be going for a food tasting in Sep, will be able to give a better accessment then as my brother in law who will do the food tasting. will provide us with the necessary feedback.

vivi77

Hi everyone here,

I will be holding my wedding dinner at OCC this Dec. Already place my deposit with them but yet to sign the contract. They said they will be mailing the contract to me, is it what they always practice?

jonchew

Jovi> Yeah that is the normal practice, I also received my contract after placing my deposit through mail. Besides are u using the function room or the grand ballroom? Who is your coordinator?

vivi77

I am taking the grand ballroom. I like the setting very much, spacious and grand...hee!
My sales coordinator is Jenny, will i be assign another coordinator after i sign the contract? How many tables will u be holding? i am holding around 40-45. Your wedding is in Oct? wow...3 more months to go...Have u taken your PS?

jonchew

Jovi> Yeah the ballroom was the main reason why we choose OCC. My wife simply loves the ballroom with its long aisle. Bery grand and spacious like u have mentioned. The one who did the sales for me was Andrew Lim their sales manager.

Was assigned a coordinator after I signed the contract. Think u will be assigned one coordinator also. So far my coordinator has been doing a great job for us :eek:).

Holding around 55 tables and still counting, hopefully can reduce it but quite unlikely lor. My AD is on the 14th of Oct, my PS will be at end of July.

suetan

based on my experience, you can minus 4 tables off your list and then confirmed on that. Cos what happened is we only minus 2, we have about 61 tables and we confirmed 59, we included in the reserved tables, who knows end up we got about 4 tables empty if we were to squeeze all the guests to fill all the tables. Its easier to ask for increase than to reduce.

And be prepared to lose $ cos generally ppl will give $60 or $80, some even gave $50 and below. Am quite surprised cos nowadays ppl give $60 even for restuarant......

jonchew

suelynn> Guess me more or less prepared to lose $$$ liao. Think for my case will confirm around 51 tables instead of 55 tables as my AD is a sunday.

pannie

Hi Jonathan.

Thanks for replying to my enquiry. But I think I have to give up OCC unless I can find pple to fill 40 tables at least.

Hai... was looking forward to holding it there since it's nearer to my house and far away from city.

jonchew

Ann> No problem :eek:). Hmm for the grand ballroom think 40 tables is the minimum requirement. How many tables are u planning to have? The small function room like suelynn mentioned is not bad either. Might want to consider these function room.