Orchid Country Club

pannie

The smaller funtion rooms can only catered to maximum 20 tables. I needed 30 tables.

OCC informed me that if I wanted 30 tables in the grand ballroom, then I have to pay the function room rental fee of $3500++ which I don't think is worth it.

Hai..... guess I have to source for other venues.

jonchew

Ann> Wah the additional charges will be not worth cos that will add up to about 4 to 5 tables price. Guess a little bit bor ban.....

yuene

Ann, can try Four Seasons, they have quite a nice ballroom as well, and it can accomodate around 30+ tables comfortably.

pannie

Hi sylphide and Jonathan.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Heard that F1 will be during Sep/Oct 08 period and no weddings can be held during that period due to road closure. Is this true?

I was thinking of holding my AD during that period. One problem not solved. Another problem arises. Hai...

jonchew

Ann> Hmm the F1 will condone off certain area for the racing, might have to check with the hotel. If take a location near the F1 track might have problem for transportation. But din know anything that no wedding can be hold at the area due to road closure one. Maybe u can verify it b4 u decided.

yuene

Jonathan, it may be due to safety concerns and also transportation--if they close the roads, then cars will be unable to pass by those routes, then all the couples holding their weddings at the affected hotels will have to walk to their venue--totally tak glam la. Also, the guests would be unable to travel so conveniently to and from the banquet, so I think that affected hotels would rather not take bookings than to risk unhappy customers... But as far as I know, the main places affected are Raffles Hotel, Suntec, Marina Mandarin, Oriental, Ritz Carlton and those in the general vicinity...Don't think Four Seasons will be affected?

Went down to ROM yesterday to pick up my documents... Need to contact my florist now...10 days to wedding, somebody stop me from freaking out!

suetan

michiko> I had 59 plus 2 reserves, in the grandballroom, its in lvl 3. Not squeezy, its quite spacious among the tables

jonchew

michiko> It is not squeezy but if more than 60 tables, some of the tables will be behind the pillar though.

sylphide> Hmm doubt four seasons will be affected cos dun think it is part of the F1 route. Wah 10 days to go no need to panic lah everything will fall into place nicely :eek:)

yuene

Jonathan: yeah, that's what I was thinking too. Cuz I remember the route being largely around the City Hall area, not going all the way down to Orchard... Think the retailers would seriously freak out and make a ruckus if they closed Orchard Road just for F1...no matter how much F1 brings in, it won't be equal to the sales volume they'd lose over the few days...

Sigh... now my number of tables keeps shrinking... hope I can fill up the tables with people...

yuene

Ya lor, first my PIL side only 70% coming. Then my father didn't manage to invite his relatives because cannot contact them, and they live all the way in northern M'sia... so the bulk of the tables that were supposed to be filled with his people are now empty. Then suay suay on that same date itself, one of my other church member's son is having his banquet, so some of the church people say that because the day time ceremony they went already, then they'll go for his banquet which is at night... I have 11 tables barely occupied now.

yuene

14 +1 reserve initially. But okay la, we have until 3 days before the wedding dinner to confirm tables, so maybe not so bad lor... Then dunno if my dad will suddenly be able to invite his relatives... then bye bye sure no space liao...arrrrgh

jonchew

sylphide> Hmm then not so bad still got 3 days to confirm b4 the AD, how is your preparation coming along? Guess u must be excited :eek:)

yuene

Jonathan: Yep, feeling the excitement more these days! At first I was wondering "Eh, how come I so bochup and everyone else is so excited" but now that I actually see the certs, can really feel that it's real! Now busy burning my songs onto the CD for the church reception, later on my JMs coming over to my house to pow-wow on the tekaning session and also to make the wedding favours. =)

cheesey

Just came back frm a wedding banquet @ OCC. It was a vegetarian banquet catered by Grand Court. I have tried the food @ Grand Court recently and its nice!

However, the dishes served in OCC were not warmed before served. They were cold. Perhaps it has been delivered to OCC since afternoon, the food were tasteless (ie: the fried mee was tasteless and dry - no oil) and portion were small. As the banquet was held in OCC grand ballroom, I thought OCC should have done its due diligent by keeping the dishes warm when serving.

I have also heard that the tables are big enough to even have 11 to 12 pax per table. It is not! As usual, 10 pax already have a bit squeezy.

Maybe others over-rated OCC, or i am juz 'fortunate' to experience the other 'side' of OCC ballroom banquet.

OCC - there are still rooms for improvement ... Pls do something abt the warmth of the dishes at least - Chinese does not like to eat COLD food in a WEDDING banquet.

jonchew

sylphide> Yah usually these are the little things that will start u make u feel the excitement. Went to check my wife MTM EG yesterday at the bridal studio, frankly I felt that I am bery lucky to have found her to be the one and only in my life :eek:)

tinggy

I am gng to go down to pay the deposit soon. I realise that the below are missing from the price list.
- wedding helpers room
- Complimentary use of 1 LCD projector, screen and sound system?
- seat cover
- pre-dinner cocktail
- lower corkage. how much for wine purchased fr OCC

Can help? What are the stuff that you bargain?

michiko

exactly 5 months from my AD. and I haven't really prepare anything yet! my goodness...
Can share what i should be doing or shd be done now?
Another qn, my evening gown gotta wear those big 'kent kent', possible to sit on the buggy?

jonchew

michiko> Hmm thought u supposed to stand on the buggy to be driven in? Maybe u can verify with your coordinator. My wedding is around 3 more months to go. Let see for my wedding preparation:

1) Select the theme for our wedding - done
2) Wine selection - outstanding
3) Settle the timing of the shuttle service - done
4) Wedding inserts - done
5) Guest lists - outstanding
6) Reception layout - done
7) Food tasting - outstanding

Think this is the roughly what me and my wife have done so far............

yuene

Jonathan: =) your wife must also think herself v lucky also! My wedding gownm now hanging from my closet door, today I feel very bimbotic, keep going over and opening the garment bag to feel it... must fight the urge, otherwise on actual day pple will wonder why got handprint on left side of the dress leh...

Actually 5 months to go still not much to be done, I think around 3 months left you should confirm your booking and do prelim discussions with your coordinator to decide what things you want. I went for my food tasting about 6 weeks back only, 3 days left and I don't know if my FH has settled the reception layout and everything else! Hais~~ nvm, I'm a bit more bochup abt the dinner anyway... =)

rubber

Hiaz... Have booked the function room from OCC for my ROM and my ROM will be in 2 mths time but the coordinator have yet to contact us...

jonchew

sylphide> Er think it is a bad habit of mine lor, I want her to have the best. Not to mention the fact used to freelance as a wedding coordinator, dun mind overseeing these little things :eek:) But my wife has her own list of things to do also. We split the work load and this way things can be done faster and more efficient. Guess u must be couting down now right :eek:)

rubber

It is David whom Selina,the sales executive informed me thru email in May. The email was also sent to him and got his reply, informing us that we still have 4 months and have ample of time to prepare. Now is already Jul 07, I was scared that it will be quite rush for me as I will be tied down with my busy work schedule so is my HTB...

yuene

Jonathan: That's good that you used to do wedding planning, that way you know most of the inside things and what to look out for. My FH eternally blur one, only yesterday then he realise that hey, it's three days to the AD and he doesn't have a proper detailed timeline for the banquet (which I left him in charge of)! LOL... but that's him, I guess, whereas when it comes to event planning I tend to be more pessimistic type, think of worst-case scenarios etc... But I agree that splitting the workload is easier! So your wife is planning which part? =)

Janice H: David is not in town till the 14th of July, so do be patient, wait for him to come back before you contact him again yeah?

michiko

thanks jonathan! now feel more at ease.

jonchew

Janice H> Dun worry u are in good hands if David is your coordinator. David is my coordinator for my AD. He is currently away for vacation and will be back on the 14th of July. He is one of the coordinator that I have encountered who is bery thorough with his work and arrangement.

jonchew

sylphide> Ok lah this year cannot do freelance wedding planning lor cos my own one more important mah :eek:) My wife will take charge of the jiemeis wrists corsages, the doll for the car decorations, the flowers petal for our march in, her EG design, angbao box, wedding songs etc.

Just revised our wedding photo montage, will have to do some minor touch up b4 going down to OCC and try the montage in their projector :eek:)

rubber

Jonathan> Thanks... Glad to hear that David is a good coordinator... Do you happen to have the ROM emccee speech? Mine is a buffet lunch and there will be no photo montage and no 2nd march in. Just walk into the function room, solemnise and then eat already...

yuene

Hey all! It went super well! A little rushed for time, but I'll update in a few days' time, after I've recuperated. =)

reneyin

Wanna find out more about the packages that OCC has. They have small function rooms is it? Coz I won't be having many guests. Ard 20 tables is enough. So will it be held in a small private function room or will be like those area share share with others?

yuene

Reneyin,

Yes, they have small function rooms; in fact, I held my banquet in one of them, we had 12 tables and it was extremely spacious, but the Sapphire Hall is meant to take 20+ tables, so you probably won't have to share with others-- we had the whole thing and the cocktail reception area to ourselves, even though Sapphire and Topaz Halls share the same area. I took a $698++ package from them, quite frankly I think that it is more than good enough.

Jonathan: yeah! My guests liked the food a lot! Even though there were like 4 other weddings being held at the same time, the quality of the grub was still very good, better than the food tasting =) Many of my guests were very pleased with the portion size, and my friend (who was also holding his wedding dinner there at the same time) told me that there was so much that he could afford to pack 11 people per table. If you can hor, go for the braised pipa duck and the Thai Olive fried rice, I find that those were my favourites in the dinner. Coordination was overall very good, even though I didn't know what was going on, the staff at hand were very experienced... yup!