Orchid Country Club

hi lim, yup, i printed around 400 inserts but that's up to u if u want to print less. coz i had a few left over. inserts are much cheaper so u can afford to waste it, not the printed cards.

suelynn, i didnt wait for OCC to call mi as i was unsure when to collect mi cards etc, can juz give a call to ur coord to ask when time is nearer. now u can juz sit back and concentrate on the other wedding things.

Sue-- i will be like calling them in march next year to ask for the cards.... my co-ord advice me around there to collect.....

Ohh sorry, mixed up the date.... is suppose to be collect on Apr/May as my AD is in Aug.... Then send out the invitation in June.....

lim> so fast my give cards ah, nt 1 mth b4 then give out? Tink I call them 3 mths b4 n collect then can do printing of inserts etc...anyway still long time hee!

Michiko, like pierced has said.... the perks in OCC are not bad compare to other hotel..... you could try your luck lah.... no harm asking...

sue, i planning to give out in end june... so like early May then get and print, write the cards and post.....

Ohh pierced, do you have a sample of your wedding card? like which pattern u choose...

sue, which card are you going to choose? I prefer the white one...

Lim> I dun remember the cards ald to be honest, I was showed some new cards they have jus tis yr, I prefer the newer ones...

Hi lim, i got all of their sample wedding cards coz i juz collected all from them to choose and den let mi Coord know which one i wanted.i can email u all the sample cards and the inserts if u want to.
i picked the longish ones with some in peach for chinese and ivory for english vers.
can mix and match, meaning pick 2 different colours.

Hi lim and suelynn, have sent u a link to the cards pics.
thk u have the one sent by huey regarding the guest bk? otherwise i can take a pic and send it to u. itz gold coloured with ribbon. quite nice la, only thing a bit small to write for 400 ppl.
The 1st 2 cards in the link i sent, i thk itz prob the older ones they have. dun really like the designs. i chose the long cards with ivory and peach.

hi lim, sent the link to u again.
yup, i used OCC's guestbk, i had one too from mi BS on standby but ended up not using it. still managed to squeeze all in. coz maybe the relatives didnt write much. haha!

I'm planning to book OCC too, cheaper than all the other hotel's banquet rates. Anything that I must take note of when signing up with them? I realise that they provide wedding cards but without printing, do you have any lobang for the printing of cards?

Mine is actually very rush, AD in Mar 07, have not yet book any venue. How much to pay them for the deposit? By the way, I heard from my friend that Country club ang-bao rate is like restuarant rate, some can go as little as $20~$50. Any advise?

Thanks pierced for the photos..... You mean the BS will give guest book too? so good ah??

Karen, have you take a look at the package? and have you met up with the co-ordiantor? You look thru the package see what to exchange with, like the anniversary room can change for jie mei room or extra nite. Then take a look at their invitation cards and favour.... Deposit is 4K. Also you need a min of 40tables to use the grandballroom.

Country club ang-bo rate is 20-50 meh? i thot was 60 onwards... 20-50 is like for malay wedding lah....

huey> thanks for the email! the cards looks so much better now. Pierced's timing more old fashion.....

karen> $20-$50 is for restuarant rates 10 yrs ago....nowadays its at least $60 for restuarant lei...

huey... did u ask ur co-ordinator to give u more instead of paying to get more??? they give 70% card base on ur confirm table.....

hi lim, yup. thk depends on ur BS's package. mi came along with a guest bk with our pics on it but i 'she bu de' to use it. end up juz using OCC's one.

Hi karen, thk it depends on the guests that u invite but 20-50 a bit too low. mine was quite alrite for the Angpows.

huey, i got extra cards from mi coord but no need to fork out extra $$. juz request them to give u more. i was abit kiasu so now still got plenty of left over cards. now they no longer using the long cards already??

haha, suelynn, thk by the time urs nx yr, will be much better. they always improving on the stuff. the guest bk previously was much worse.favors was oso much better than when i previously seen it. every yr they will change the things.

hi lim
they give me 300 cards.if need extra,1 card will cost $1.50 leh.

hi pierced
u mean the Long cards from old or new design?? can ask them to give har,maybe i'll try to ask from them.

huey, ur confirm table is 40? will you get more? the 70% is 280cards rite, they can only max till 300cards? so they give 20 more only

pierced, how many cards did they gave u? u have more then 40 tables rite?

huey> I got 80% cards after negotiation....Dun tink need 2 pg ba....very shiong lei to get 2.

Anyone noes hw to set up a table of all the OCC brides ah? I keep forgetting who is when etc...hee!

huey, not too sure mine was the old or new. was the new one when i had mi AD. dunno now if there's new designs.
no need to engage 2 pgs for dinner, juz get a gd one. can juz assign one or 2 helpers to help take pics as well or video as backup.

lim, i got 300 over cards thk extra 70. but i didnt use up all anyway. i had around 44 tables.

hi suelynn
ya hor,bery x to engage 2 PGs. Maybe should check with my coordinator if can increase nbr of cards or not. Thanks for the advise.

hi pierced
my co-or says the card tt i chose is the new 1.Tink i roughly know which card u hv..hee..
thanks for the advise on the AD PG..

sue, wat "set up a table of all the OCC brides" hmm dont understand

The OCC cards are new ones when i went to take a look in June. Each time they come out new cards will last for 2yrs...

Huey, u still have around 1mth plus to settle ur wedding... wow so fast ah.....like very rush hor??

Sue, then u create the excel table loh... hehehe

Hi GCY, urs is 2weeks b4 huey...... congrates.... hmm i thot now should be sending cards for printing liao then write all ur guest name and post.... anyway, ask ur husband to help u and slip the work.... enjoy the process of preparation....

hi GCY
congrats!! Looks like we both on the same boat..me oso got quite a lot of things not prepared.

hi lim
me hv press the *panic* button liao.. must chop chop prepare all the staff...hv to get hub to help,can't do everything alone.

huey, most impt is to settle ur guest list and seating arrangements first. cards is easier once u have done up the list. the headache is the guestlist so prepare that early.
posting cards, if itz local mail, should be quite fast so a mth is quite comfortable. mi fren who got married bef mi @ OCC super coz only posted the cards out like 2 wks bef...

I wanna to confirm occ as my wedding dinner venue on Jan 2007. But i will bring Gim Tim as my caterer..(my IL's perference) any feedback for them? Still under some bragaining with my caterer and OCC. Is there anything should take note or requested from them before signing the contract??

Any feedback is welcome. You may drop me a mail at [email protected]. Thanks

sue, then how u wan the excel sheet look... i can do lah, but wat information u need?

hi yvonne, welcome, if you ask Gim Tim as ur caterer, do u still need to pay extra?? Gim Tim food is nice....

Hi Lim,

thanks. i booked the ballroom from OCC and they will provide the services. It abt $300+++ per table for weekday, which included waitress, free flow of drinks, tables, chairs, wedding card, etc. Gim Tim will just cater the food for the dinner. the whole package is slightly higher then occ offered.. but definately with better food.

Lim, no need pay extra for gimtim juz that when i compared the menu, i preferred OCC's menu. plus some of the perks are not given for Gim tim's coz u are renting the ballroom thru the caterer.
mi frenz who had tried Gim tim and Occ's caterer tot that both were oso quite gd. that's why i stuck with OCC instead.
all depends on the package and menu that u select.

Ohh okok, but i thot abit leh chey... anyway, both caterer also the same and nice rite? as long as everyone enjoys it....

Hey friends, how abt this excel... did i miss out anyone?

Nick AD
GCY 14-Oct-06
Huey 28-Oct-06
Yvonne Jan-07
Suelynn Jun-07
Lim 8-Aug-07