Orchid Country Club

Happy National Day!!

aye...im the husband leh..GCY = dar bor. hahaa..

just collected my cards yesterday. Gotta do my printing of inserts asap liao.

I'm using the garden and foyer instead of the ballrooms. my PG is Willy Foo, not using VG.

Hi all...Im new here...juz wan to know more abt the OCC weddding dinners...so far any bad comments? interested in OCC too...thanks..

hi shinez, welcome.... so far there is no bad comments. find the place is nice and heard that the food are not bad... they gave quite a big portion that is wat i heard. Have u take a look at the package?

Understand that Duty Free Hard Liquor is not allow to be use for the dinner. But read from the forumn and know that some hotels do allow the couple to transfer duty free liquor into duty paid bottle. Does anyone have any idea that OCC allow to do so??

Also, is there any lobang to get cheap duty paid hard liquor??

lim, my friend gave me a contact, quite cheap. but the person hasn't gotten back yet. If not, i will print my inserts in JB city square..hee..our BS from there too.

von> I tink as long as the bottle doesnt states duty free its fine. Cos tats wat the lady at DFS told us. It used to have the logo there.

Lim thanks for colating, but like nt in order of AD lei, hw u paste ah, maybe I rearrange n paste..hee!

Hi Suelynn,

Thanks for your reply.
I read from the forumn that only DFS is selling 1L hard liqour. You will only be able to get 750ml from retail store which is duty paid. So, is the bottle size that tells. Is it true???

hi shinez
me & my hub especially like the spaciousness & grandness of the ballroom. From the grand staircase to the ballroom, its like oni in fairy tales tat u get to walk tru a long aisle.

shinez> i chose there cos of the price and it can accomodate up to 100 tables. I need 50 tables at least n not alot of hotels can offer that much tables with the price.....

Huay... I noticed that u choose Thomson Wedding.D as yr BS... care to share yr experiences w them? I tot of goin there too...

thanks all...congrats to all too! im also considering OCC...so comparing to ballrooms i have been too...and supergal...u have a nice date...tink it's a hot date... =)

hi supergal
find tat their overall service is not bad.Me & hub chose them coz we're comfortable wtih the co-ordinators & like their fotos. U may go to Thomson Wedding thread to find out more...

tried to post the table...hee! Do update us with more details! Its according to date of AD 1st to last.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>GCY</TD><TD>14-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Willy Foo</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huey</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Thomson Wdding Design</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Raymond Delon Poh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>Jan 07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Suelynn</TD><TD>8-Jun-07</TD><TD>Di Go</TD><TD>Edmund Leong</TD><TD>Christ Tay </TD></TR><TR><TD>Supergal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lim</TD><TD>8-Aug-07</TD><TD>Pending</TD><TD>Pending</TD><TD>Pending </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

hi all, i actually kinda confirmed on taking occ already but something gotta happened last minute which makes me very disappointed.
As at 11th aug, the ballroom menu has changed. less 1 dish and the dishes seems to be different already and the perks seems to be not as good as before.
Very sad. I actually wanted to confirm on these few days but i am just a week late!

hi sparkley...mind to send me the package? i also considering...but isnt suppose to be based on the package which they have showed u earlier?

hi suelynn and shinez, i dont mind sending the new package/menu list to you all but i dont have your email addresses.

we thought we can negotiate back the old menu but the manager said nothing is confirmed unless contract is signed.

my FH is very upset about it too.
we actually went to yishun lake to test the food there because we wanted to make sure that the food is really good. after trying, we thought we can finally settle on this but who knows at the end of the dinner, the lady from yishun lake show us the LATEST menu for the ballroom.

what is even more angry is the manager actually sent us the same old menu couple of days before we went to test the food eventhough its supposed to be changed already. If we had know that the menu have already been revised, we probably wouldnt have spent the $ and time to test the food already.

for the new menu, the pricing and food variety is no different from hotels.
we are looking into hotels now. hope can find a suitable place soon. *sigh*

hi sparkley> thanks for sharing, the new package for weekend has free flow beer!!!! its menu is almost the same lei for weekend, weekday has better quality food. So its like u pay a lil more nw for more things i guess.

Hi all, and welcome the new pple joining us in this thread. My mum not well so warded hosp for 1week plus, and was tired after getting home late, then next day gotta work. Now doing more houseworkd liao... hehhe

Hey so the menu has changed ah? wat are the changes? can email me at [email protected]

But those who have signed earlier how? will it affect?

my AD is on a weekday so i am comparing the weekday stuffs only. For weekday menu, 1 dish have been taken out which is the whole suckling pig. so from 9 dishes, it becomes 8 dishes and the price remains the same, perks is the same too. Indirectly they have increased the price for weekday.
I dont think yiplim will be affected but i think michiko, its better to double confirm with them because they are changing the menu for signing with them effective 11th aug.

sparkley> did they mention tat they gonna change when they liase with u all?
then its nt very fair for them to change jus liddat. but they are very flexible.

sparkley, i fax to them the contract which got the old menu one (with the suckling pig). Serene also din say got changes to it when i called her. If really they take out the dish without informing us, they will have to ans for it since we already agreed upon all the conditions when we signed the contract.

free flow beer sounds good. I only got 1 barrel, i.e. 20litres. ordered 2+2 of red wine. will not be getting hard liquor. I think the 20litres cfm not enough one. wondering if i should order 2nd barrel or go on per glass basis. or do you folks have any other suggestions?

GCY, i went to order another barrel of beer, coz 30L also not enough.... if go on per glass abit expensive. But u have to see the timing lah. if the event going towards the end and ur 1st barrel just finish, then go as per glass basis....

Ohh then during the cocktail, are ur going to have beer or just soft drinks first?

GCY> hw many guests u have? Its definitely nt enuff for me cos my hb's frens n relatives are drinkers. I ordered another barrel. Ur BS n VG gao dim? So I can update hee.

hi, i'm thinking of holding my AD sometime in mid to end 2007 or early 2008.

Can someone send me the menu pls?

Can someone tell me whether OCC cater 20 to 25 tables only? cos' we didn't want to have it but my dad insisted cos' i'm the eldest daughter. so no choice lor. and all my relatives staying at Yishun also.

Ours is a weekend package. 30 litres of beer will not be enough for at least 40 tables. We secured a total of 90 litres (inclusive the 30 litres) to 'lock in' the price for beer in case the price shoot up again.

My personal feel: OCC is reviewing its prices, package details ... (start from the price per table, deposit amount, cards design - normal annual review, now the no of courses, what's next?)

So better secured whatever you want first. Do get everything covered before there's changes again ..

huey, my contract is dated 6th Aug. Based on the $628 per table for weekdays, can choose either suckling pig or braised boneless duck.
Ribena, i think when they send the contract to you, under beverage, they will indicate rate for beer at $500+1%GST per 30l or $5.80+1%GST per glass. So even if the price goes up in future, we shd not be affetced.

blanqq, menu now has change slightly, what i have is the old one.... you can email the OCC pple to send you their packages...

OCC do cater for 20-25 tables, but it will be held in the function room instead of the ballroom, as it need min 40 tables.

hi lim,

i would appreciate if you could email me the current menu, cos' i can't confirm my dates yet and i need to calculate my budget 1st.

Sorry blanqq, as i have said, i have the old one, dont have the current menu.....

People out there, would u mind send blanqq the current menu please? thanks!!!

blanqq, if no one send u then send a query to OCC and ask them to email u... thanks
Ohh btw, wat is your budget? the cheapest is $558+++