Orchid Country Club

for me, have more cards, then change the anniversary to extra nite on AD loh.. and the corkage waiver. coz all the perks are ok, so never ask much....

Hi steve, i went to the printer rec by OCC, focal ad. much better as they do up everything for u, u dun have to source the address, printing of map done for u. prices are oso reasonable. 400 inserts for $105 or something.

suelynn, i used allegretto by Bond. what presentation do u mean? the dish itself or the ballroom??

Steve, standard of food no worries, def no complains! all mi guests only had praises for the food. the serving portion is very big too, a lot of ppl couldnt finish the food.

Hey pierced, on your AD did you get a 2nd barrel and manage to used up all?? Coz i am intending to get a 2nd barrel then have more corkage waiver!!!

suelynn, so you are going to get 1 more barrel? i thinking if really can finish or not.... not sure if the 1st barrel will be finish.... but have a feeling that 1 barrel not enough..... been thinking of this matter for like 1day plus...

hi lim, yup i got a 2nd barrel for mi AD, used up prob abt 3/4 of it. but still better than taking by glasses coz very ex. oso helps in negotiating for cockage waiver as they will be more willing to waive off much more bottles.

1 barrel def not enuf for the whole dinner coz u have got cocktail bef hand as well. unless u dun plan to have beer then.
a 30L barrel is ard only 60 glasses if i didnt remember wrongly.

same like suelynn, i changed mi anni rm for another extra rm and itz adjoining rm to mi suite. plus we paid for another day rm for our xiongdis as well.

OCC was very generous regarding cards as well. i had a lot of leftovers from mine. now dunno what to do with them. hee...

hi gals,me go to OCC last wkend wi hubby to chk out their package. din get to see andrew, supposingly the manager. co he on leave. tok to a guy named trevor though.quite a friendly guy.

the package he show us the same as wat u gals are getting.me had discuss wi hubby n family. they are quite pleased wi the environment n the price.so we paid a deposit there. haha..quite fast rite? hehehe..1 ting less to do.

pierced: can i noe for the march in,how long would it be? cos i m trying to find songs for it.dun 1 a song to suddenly end aruptly.haha.
intend to do a 1st march in wi dad, 2nd 1 wi hubby.

Pierced: I thot 1 barrel is 90 glasses? that is wat my co-ord told me. Anyway, have decided to have a extra barrel of beer. But also must depand who are the guest that we are inviting....

Wow galgal... so fast you have put the deposit on the spot? But to tell the truth, OCC is a good place to hold the wedding (if you wanna talk abt food and environment, is good loh!!) Also is out of town.... imagine if you at town, there will be jammed, moreover complimentary parking for all guest.

So when is your AD?

I tot of having a weekend sit-down chinese LUNCH at OCC. Tot the price was comparable to some other hotels. Not as cheap as I expected it to be. Any sugguestions and wat can i bargain for in the package?

Dear all, u all sign contract then give dep rite? My coordinator like not ganchiong, havnt resend me the corrected one....Cos they mis-type something.... Shld I make them convert the anniversary rm on dat day to jiemei rm on contract? The original contract states we should sign by 22 jul....but till nw havnt pass me yet. Need to get my godpa to endose it.

My hb tinks my coordinator like "ai mai ai mai"...

serbina, have u take a look at the package? will ur have a room to stay or wat? is it the same as the nite dinner? will it be held at the ballroom or other area?

suelynn, for me is i give deposit then sign the agreement. if there is a mistake, u should inform the co-ord, then they make amendments loh. for me i have some amendment so will resend to me the corrected one, after signing then fax over can liao

hi galgal, trevor's the coord for mi AD, he's very nice. he's andrew's boss infact and he can make most decisions on his own. march in act around 3-4 mins.

lim, arh..den i remembered wrongly. 90 glasses. but wont be much too. thk even if the guests are those who dun drink much, u would need another barrel. i act expected mi guests to drink more but they didnt so only had 2.

haha... not forgetting u no need to have i/c for carpark coupons. i attended one which had no free parking...siong!

suelynn, act i didnt have it down on the contract for the anni rm exchange. they are quite ok about it. they are not afraid u take longer time for contract. main thing was that they wanted the deposit down coz they cannot close the date for us without deposit. i paid deposit first den i took very long bef i returned the contract back to them.

Just cfm my wedding at OCC. My AD in June07. Very happy with their package and service so far.Price reasonable. I paid the deposit before receiving signing the contract and mail to them. Think this is the usual practise.

Only make 1 trip there and the rest of details all thru email. easier.

lim> they corrected and and send the contract to me ald....will go down to pay deposit when hb is free. Luckily they extended the contract return date or my hb will burst kekke cos he wasnt in town last week.

lee> when is ur AD? mine's in june too!

Pierced, can u email yr photos to me?

Suelyn, maybe yr coordinator is busy. Give them a few days to reply. maybe u're over kan cheong. they don't work 24/7.

They usualy reply me within 2-3working days.unless they are on leave.

My family members, friends, collegues give good feedback on them, so i have 101% confident.

lee> I waited for 3 days then email her to ask lo. Din rush lei, imagine we met up in april, then negotiate for some stuff, left for hols, then later hb nt in sg, negotiated again n drag till nw then got contract. Cos before my hb left for overseas, ald mentioned to her that we are not in singapore,so when she send the draft I got shocked the deadline quite short. Now that its extended we felt better. As compared to other venues, they are like really slower. But nt as bad as one venue who totally nvr follow up at all!

Nt really blaming her or wat but things could have been better....Maybe is her attitude bah...I seriously prefer to work with the men there. Jus personal preference. Gotta give her credit for having to come back to us on various matters.

Thanks pierce, the club is free parking, which is good, no need to fight for how many coupons... but there are reserved 12 lots for the family etc...

Lee, congrates. Welcome to the thread!! Hope we can all share and exchange ideas...

Suelynn, so far how many times u went down to the club? for me just like 2 times, first to negotitate for the package, then 2nd time went to see the room (1st time went there not available) and pay deposit. Waiting for resent of contract to be signed

hi lim, yup the reserved lots are a bonus too. juz rite in front of the stairs. even the basement parking was very accessible too,

as for negotiation, thk unless u are really having lots of tables like 60, den it will give u more room for negotiation. otherwise i found the perks for 40 to be quite alrite. juz have to discuss regarding the extra rms and corkage charges. cant really blame them since they are not involved in the beverage side and it is act the one that they make profit from.

hee, suelynn, coz the males working there are the in charge so can make more decisions.

hi lee, have sent mi pics to u.

lim> I had went down a few times prior to discussing with the coordinator abt the banquet.Went in jul 2005 for their wedding show, end of the yr to have dinner. Then went by this yr to meet the coordinator. So only met them officially once.

hi hi.. hv not been in the tread for a long time.
Been busy with fotoshoot & collating addresses of prospective invited guests.

juz wana check hor... if i can't fulfill the 40 tables,will there be extra charges. Maybe abt 2-4 tables empty.

Just meet up with Serene. She told me she is trying out with the bubble machine. Hopefully they are buying it.

I am seeking for a printer. Do you have any printer to recommend? If possible, can you share with me the costs?

Thanks!!!

hi huey, most prob they will juz charge u for the the tables not filled?

hi steve, as mentioned previously, u can juz stick with OCC's printer Focal Ad. i checked out others but oso quite costly. there's one which is Hi tech but they charge for printing of map so when u work it out, focal Ad seems the best choice for it. and they already have all OCC info so dun have to take fr ur coord.

Focal Ad printing charging for how much... i like have 320 cards.... but taking next year lah....

steve, so OCC is going for the bubble machine? really?

Sue, so everything settle for you??

Hi yiplim, They are testing out the machine.

Hi pierced, I know you bought the golden strings instead of getting it from Focal Ad. Is it much cheaper?

lim> contract came ytd. so need to go down n pay deposit 1 day. my hb always so busy, n by time i go down there, very late ald. So need to arrange a timing to go down. Tink shld be ok ald. Hmmmm din hear anything abt the bubble machine lei, hope they will bring in!

hi there, din logged in after my last msg on 11/7/06.PC break down n office internet cant access sg brides.
so got to wait till now then logged on.

lim: my ad in in jan 07. so ard 0.5 yr more..now concentrate on my house n photoshoot.since banquet already settle.btw, i heard frm trevor that they have a new team cuming up as in wedding planner kind. so we will liase wi them instead of trevor n his team.

hi gal... congrates to you...

Ya i heard abt the new team, but if there is anything, still can get in touch with the co-ord....

our hubby and i also like OCC, so we will go settle the deposit soon. yeah..finally one thing down..then gotta settle others..
I find the 20 barrels for weekday too little, is it possible to ask for more? anyone succeed in that?
What are the perks that we can request from OCC?
Thanks for sharing!

congrates michikl, when is ur AD?? for the beer, you could get another 1 more barrel of 30L. For me is under weekend and they gave 30L, also i purchase a additional of 30L barrel of beer.

Actually the perks are all ok. Do ur want the anniversary room? could change for extra nite or for your jie mei...

What team is that u mean for the banquet itself ah? Or after discussing abt the package, sign ald, talk to wedding planners??? Hmmmm, hope they can service the weddings better in future.

michiko> I saw in her world brides, the last issue b4 this. There is free flow beer for weekday. When will be ur AD?

So glad to see more ppl in this thread, else like abit quiet kekke.

My parents like looking at the menu, dunno wat dish is wat cos the english name see ald oso supposed to be wat kekkekek.

hi lim, thk if u taking about 300 plus cards, prob around 100. or slightly more coz they go by quantity. it oso depends whether u printing on card directly or inserts.

Hi steve, yup, i bought the gold threads. def very much cheaper. i got one big bundle ard 5 bucks and cut it on mi own. if Focal ad tie the cards for u, they charge u 10cents per card i thk.

Hi michiko, welcome here! thk for perks, OCC has quite a comprehensive list. most of the needed stuff are covered so dun thk u can negotiated for much. juz like the ex-OCC ppl who had their AD bef mi, not much can be done exccept when neg for corkage and beer.

pierced> thanks for sharing, hope u will still be ard till my AD so dat I can ask u tonnes of qn. Hw is the 1st dish presentation like ah? My hb said dunno y always ppl us Kitaro music or robert miles song as 1st dish music kekek

Sue, actually no need to chose the menu now right, you could wait till nearer your AD.. I wanted the first dish song to be kitaro music too.... nice mah... hehe

Pierce, did you print directly on the card or on rice paper (insert)

hahah my parents also... but have chose those wat we wan to eat.... so when u going down to OCC to make payment and sign the agreement?

I signed ald, havnt decide when yet cos by time we knock off very late ald, most prob go down on weekends. Do u all zap a copy of the contract to keep ah?

My AD is 3Dec07. Is on a monday. Dunno will pple turn up anot...
emm...so i can request for another 30l of beer i suppose...
they dun give free flow of beer anymore

hee..suelynn, dun worry, u can oso go to the other thread for looking at sharing of music. Usually, nowadays ppl tend to wana choose their own music for 1st dish.

lim, i printed on inserts instead. if u print direct on cards, higher price. plus quite wasteful if u make any mistake. gotta throw away the card. use inserts got plenty to spare. hee...ppl oso dun really bother about what card design or template coz aft the wedding, they tend to throw it aaway.

suelynn, same here. i kept the original, coz we fax it back.

pierced, so means if i have 300 cards for example, then i can print more then 300 inserts rite, as you said just in case write wrongly.....

Michiko, if you request for another 30L barrel of beer, they will charge 500plus..... think for free flow is every table top up another 55+++, then they will give each table wine..... but i think not worth it leh....

Hi all, finally paid the dep ytd.....a load off our minds....So will be quite end till next yr....Will OCC call us nearer the dates or we need to call them ourselves like few mths b4 to get cards issit?