Orchid Country Club

am new here. I signed up for a poolside wedding with OCC. it'll be a solemnisation ceremony cum dinner reception at either the poolside or Tee Garden (if it rains).

hi jatling... thanks for ur compliments ya... anyway its not tat hard lah... kekeke

yo rabbit... home liao har... so bought wat good staff back...

yo evon... hmmm long long nbr hear fm u leh... har... u better be quick and settle ur BS cos u only left few more months to go leh... btw... quite a no of my friends dun like JL... u better consider wisely cos u hv already forfeited ur deposit with GHA.... try sell it away to someone else lah... if not u lugi leh....

yo lynn... welcome to OCC family....

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>No of Tables+Reserve</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD Video&amp;Photographer </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rabbitwsl</TD><TD>24 Oct 04</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Dang Bridal</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evon</TD><TD>12 Dec 04</TD><TD>55+2</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Matthew</TD><TD>22 Jan 05</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellytots</TD><TD>11 Sep 05</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD> Mirage Picture &amp; Yew Kwang </TD></TR><TR><TD>jatling</TD><TD>29 May 05</TD><TD>60+2</TD><TD>In Wedding</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

Hi Rabbitwsk,
Thks for your sms....now I'm looking ard for another BS...Suffering from some 'damages' now...sigh..

Hi Matthew,
I'm staying at JW, near Jellytots...hmmm...reno actually spilt cos we went direct so I also duno how to show you the quotation leh...

Hi Jellytots,
Hehehe...you had fun with the gals on last Fri? Fun hor...
Hmmm...cant sell my package, my hb said dun want the other bride to suffer the same things like wat we had so we had to bear the lose

lynn and teo,

Welcome to the OCC family.

You can see the chart above and just leave ur details so we can update it..

teo,
I have tried the food preapred by the caterer before. Not too bad.. I think food really depends on individual.

Hi Evon

No problem... jus feel a bit anxious for you... only a few more months to go n u still need to go fan these kind of things...
By the way, next time I at JW, I will go look for u n Jellytots. Can?

Hi Lynn and Teo, welcome to the thread.
Teo, i been to the bridal show there... food is not bad according to my standard.

Jellytots, me got buy some tibits there lor. Also get 3 bags at less than S$45. Get some good embriodery books for my designer... Big Kinokuniya there, i spend abt half a day there looking at craft books. Really enjoy myself during the free time I hv. Also enjoy some degree of freedom and alone

Matt, Japan trip was good as i mention to Jellytots! Bought some stuffs back, good buy

Wed cant la! Its my business mtg day
This weekend can? Noon time like tt aft my yoga... never go for 2wks, very gulity liao :P
Or else next monday r tue also can. Let me know again ok.
For ur info, next thurs is my wedding PS... so pray for good weather for me ok

hi rabbitwsk,
ya lor, in fact i also very gan cheong...sigh...
sure sure...my reno almost done liao u can come soon maybe end of aug

u went japan again? wow...good hor...all the best to ur ps must show us ur pic yeah!!

Hi Evon

U no go lunch? Dun get too fan cheong lor... everything will go well

Ok end of aug sure got chance to pop by ur pl cos sunday always go to MIL hse mah. Actually tonite we are going there and visit some friends too...

Ya... go japan again! This time still, spending $ to shop cos summer sales.

Thanks for well-wishes... hope the guy up there wish me well too
Will send u link when its really.

hi jatling,
rmbr Gin...she said going to knock ur head liao left us after ur ROM :P:P I 'talk' to her via email

hi rabbitwsk,
no lah no appetite leh...sigh...

sure can come over but hv to msg me 1st ok cos wont be staying there everyday

wow...shld ask u to buy some nice things back :P:P

Hi Evon,

Gin, of course remember. Knock my head?? Dun lah....after ROM I din log in so often liao.
I'm mostly @ FBO rather.
Heehee....but dun scare I still remember u and Gin lah......

Wow most of u staying in West? Me SK leh....

Hi jatling,

hahaha...i just called her rdgs to her bs, i might go down n take a look...

she staying in the central but surprisingly she's working ard my wkplc also...kekeke...ya lor u stay so far, btw me going SK tmr but dun tink can meet u leh

Hi Evon,

Gin's wedding when? BS? Which BS?
Where's her venue etc?
She's active in which thread now? let me go disturb her.....:P

Not far lah....SK just abit further from AMK....heehee

hi jatling,
her wedding is in Nov, with wedding affairs, venue at marriott...
no lah she not active in thread anymore, too busy i guess...

hahaha...ya i knw not far

evon,

Got any photos of ur flat or not?? Can share?? How much did u do for reno?

Rabbit,
Sat is out for me as starting reno soon. Let's settle for next Monday. Let's settle for next Monday??

Matt

hi matthew,

sorry i didnt take any pics cos carpentary work not done yet...

abt $30k also w/out furniture (whole hse false ceilings)

Rabbitwsk,
I have met Darren a couple of times oredi. Nice chap to talk to man. How is his wedding preparations coming along? I think around 9 pm will be good as I need to go to Bishan first.. Can or not? I have confirmed my contractor but not haven't sign the contract yet. Now just left to firm up some minor details and reno should be able to start next week or wk after next.
How much are u looking at the range of ur wines?

Evon,
You need wines or not?? I got a lobang for wines so can intro you la. Mine reno is around 20k la.. I am doing re-wiring and plastering also as it is a re-sale flat.

Matt

Aiyo Matt,
9p.m is ok. u call me bef u come lor. or u go Darren there a few times liao... wedding he like too busy too do things la. I helping him to screen some BS. so tt he no need to waste time!

Wine range i told u liao mah... u forget... btw abt S$18! Thanks

rabbit,

Darren is a big boss so too busy to arrange stuff la. I was telling him that he got many things not done yet you know.... HE was like really ah!!1 HAHHA!!!

18 bucks ah... A bit tight man. Will see what I can do la. I wanna give u all some good wines also mah :>

Matt

Hi Matt,

I know... but got tight budget la... at most S$20 ok
Of course, u will intro me good wine... i trust you la!

Darren ya... big busy boss... i consider lucky if he return my SMS. Anyway, i contact his wife on wedding things now. Its easier

evon,
U have the breakdown for the quotation down by ur ID? For me, I do not have to do much for kitchen and ceiling but I got to hack away flooring and do new flooring all over again. I have sent u the wine thingy...

rabbit,
I will update u on the wines la.. Also, may conduct a simple wine tasting for couples whose wedding is end of the year around next mth or something.

Matt

Hi Matt

End of next mth is it too late for mine... got friend also interested whom wedding in Sept lei. Also got another friend OCC wedding in Nov. Can arrange earlier? For these friends, can arrange in my hse... no problem

Thanks for ur understanding.

hi matt,
got ur email, thks...

u done up ur hse liao still want quotation? hahaha..u want to press the reno more huh?
i dun really hv a list cos everything is like direct so only inv..wat u want to know i see if i can help u

rabbit,
Will arrange one at ur place earlier for you la. Maybe we can do one at the end of the month or early next mth for the 3 couples. If possible, can ask ur friends to provide their details to me so I can put it on my database and dun forget lor :>

evon,
I haven't do yet.. Going to sign contract soon so see whether can save some money or not la..

matt

hi lynn... nice seeing you here.
wow, i neva log in for a while and there are so many msgs to read up.

Rabbit, great that u r back. i oso wana go Japan...sigh
jelly..nope.mi wedding is in 05. planning to be in early Dec.

Oh ya guys, got a qn: Occ doesnt reserve the date for you first? the guy Trevor that im talking to rite now said i have to confirm and pay up one wk later if i want to reserve the date esp when it is a sat. As FH still wants to hold on and decide without committing, quite hard to confirm anything now. so i quite worried the date might be unavail later on. Sigh...i thought the usual practice is to keep the date for you first and they will call u if there is someone else interested.

Oh i saw the wedding on mon n they had flowers which were in white. not the red ones! nice! thk the white theme is really nice. they said they had the champagne roses as well. AS for the theme, mebe wad they meant was chinese with red table cloth or white for western.

hi matt,
i will chk with my hb n let u know anyway no hurry since it's the end of this year

hi pierced,
they dun reserve unless u pay a deposit or unless tat day no one is having wedding dnr.

yo rabbit.... happy tat u enjoy ur trip... jelly bery envy one leh... love jap... but too ex no $$ to go leh... u coming JW... okie... but tell me earlier b4 hand if u intend to meet us lor... oh ya... dun 4get to show ur pix to me 2... k will pray hard for u on ur PS lor... share with us when u back hur... btw did u go OCC to take ur PS...

yo evon... hmm.... i duno wat happen to ur GHA... but i think really depend on ur yuan fen with them 1 lar.... cos 1 of my friend @ Yishun branch really like them leh... well if tats the way... u been really considerate for others lor... but i feel tat... even if u dun intend to trf/sell the package... ppl will still go there and sign with them one lah.... its all up 2 u.... so ur house really nxt month hur... then we will hv a gathering there liao... kekeke... yap i enjoy my meeting with the gals last fri... now looking forward for the next one leh....

yo pierced... u can get them to block the date for u 1st lor... cos u tell them u are interested but still hvn decided on the date yet... so how to make deposit rite... speak to them nicely say can block the date and info u guys if there is other interested party lor... btw urs end of nxt year... so should not be a problem lah....

hi may be holding my AD in OCC. anyone who has held their AD in OCC &amp; have photographs to share with me? my concern is their decoration? duno whether need to chip in extra decoration on own...
to me, the stage looks like a school hall. have no choice but most likely have to hold in OCC coz have at least 60 tables of guests...
orei may have to chip in extra for bus rental

Cynfei,

i hv no idea abt OCC. Rather 1 suggestion mayb consider split your wed din to 2 days then u will hv more choices. nowsaday, is rather common to separate 2 wed din. for mine i intend to split friends and relatives.

Jennifer,
thanks for kind suggestions
actually that's what i would like to have too...but my hubby to be is very against this idea.
he feels that wedding is very sacred and should have only a dinner to celebrate.
he oso dun like the hassles of having 2 dinners...sigh
in fact, he agreed to holding dinner to satisfy our parents.
know holiday inn park view got very attractive promotion now...but what choice do i hv

lucky u

Hi Cynfei,

Welcome here, me too got abt 60tables guests....so I confirmed with OCC. Cos wif this figure quite different to consider other venue esp I do hv a budget to stick with.

Hi Pierced,

To reserve, they allow us only 1 wk to consider...and afterwhich u can also ask for another extension for consideration cos I also took 2 wks den confirmed that date.

When is ur AD? I should say if within a yr gap u hv to do it fast cos there's alot of couple booked much earlier. But den again also hv to think hard if that venue is what u want.
I chat wif a gal wif the same AD date wif me and she also want OCC but kana booked by me just a wk before her....PHEW....hahaha :P

Hi Evon,
I finally chat wif Gin on email liao. Thks!!

hi jelly,
yishun branch has no problems cos the staffs are not their own family mbrs...

hi jatling,
yap...gin told me u sent an email liao

jatling hi, yup, same here, got budget limitations too. only willing to fork out $600 plus at most.
my AD will be a Fri, frens &amp; colleagues told me too inconvenient but may decide to go ahead and have OCC.
Jatling, did you try to request from OCC additional shuttle bus? think they can provide a aditional 40-seater rite?

jatling, yup mi AD planning to be in dec nx yr. i hv decided on the place only that mi FH was saying if u cfn already, den how to do further negotiation wif them? dat is wad happen to a couple of mi frenz too. Up til now, still havent really neg for any items yet.

yup jelly, i quite kan cheong abt the date not being able to reserve but the staff there so busy havent had chance to neg wif them. Thk they got too much biz liao....

Hi cynfei, i thk the decor for the wedding which i saw was juz fine. the ones they provide are quite adequate. if u really wana do extra decor, it will be quite a lot as the place is big. shld cost a lot den.

yo cynfei.... well everyone noe the place is quite out of the place... however... if ur friends or relatives drive... should not be a problem... since SG is onie tat big wat.... furthermore... no jam like orchard and free parking for everyone.... if ur friends or relatives taking train... i still find it okie... cos i staying at the end of the west... my trip taking train to Yishun is abt an hour... so its abt the same timing i take to orchard... furthermore the shuttle bus is rite outside the MRT... so no worry even its raining wat...

well mayb u can try to neog for extra 1 more bus but i think is abit hard lor... wat u can do is maybe get the bus to pick up ur guest from town instead lor... but u also hv to take into consideration that ppl tends to be late one... and if is onie one trip... not worth the effort... cos if the 40 seat bus fetch from Yishun... they will go 4 rounds instead lor....

well i think the harder part on the distance is for ur relatives lor... cos i believe friends or colg... are okie one.... so if both side of ur relatives are staying quite near... u may consider to take the 40 seats bus at one of the address lor... then will be easier for them... i think even u go outside cater bus should not be tat ex lor... for one trip one....

anyway... i been to the ballroom twice... and love the deco lor... so no worry abt that... i suggest u went down &amp; view the place urself... also ask them to test their sound system.. cos after attending my friend wedding at LM last week... i find tat w/o a good sound system really spoil the whole march in lor....

tats all... hope the above is useful to u and feel free to ask if u still hv any doubts... anyway is all my 2cents worth of comments...

Oh ya jelly,the wedding that i saw didnt have the arch in the advert as well.the rest was great though juz dat i tot the arch would be a nice touch to it.
so how? did u managed to ask for the arch?

cynfei, adding to jelly's comments, quite hard to satisfy everyone regarding location as im sure all relatives stay at diff ends of spore. some find it nearer, some not.anyway, OCC has the shuttle bus every 15 or half hr rite too... so u dun really need to provide on dat. besides if im gg for a relative's or frenz wedding, i be sure to take a cab too since im all dressed up.

yo pierced... no i did not ask for arch lah... cos i find it not fashionable liao leh....

yo cynfei.... yap piered is rite... if i really dress up bery nice nice... i will either get friend to send me there or take cab there lor... yo the 40 seaters bus will be 15 mins juz for ur guests onie.... but there also another shuttle bus for everyone... every 10 mins lor... if is a weekend lor....

cynfei,

I did request for additional shuttle bus but den again they said it's should more than enough cos beside our wedding shuttle bus, they hv a bigger bus which cater their own guest to the club also available for us it's only not exclusive....and did not put on the couple name on the bus.

Hi Pierced,

Ya better neg before sign on dotted line.....However, I feel OCC preety meow leh.....not flexible on extra perks.
For me neg till so hard din get alot just only corkage....cos I'm using membership for my wedding.

anyway, wish you good luck on the neg and get settle fast!

sorry was busy during the weekend
only get to check out the forum now
thanks for all the response &amp; good info

hee, most likely taking up OCC cause not many other choices. my bf also find it reasonable and a nice environment
my AD shd be 3rd June, Fri.
what worries me is a fri.. people coming from wk..what jelly suggested a pretty good! to pick them from town..y i never think of it.
only thing is thought the stage is not so well decorated. always find the stage a sore coz looks like a school hall. think i will pull in the brothers n sisters to help touch up a bit hee
Jatling, OCC so neow ah. hmmm, my good fren juz signed up with noblehouse and they are giving her 5% discount for each table and waiver of wine corkage for first 24 bottles of wine. hopefully, can negotiate a better deal too.
hey gals, the 3rd floor of people's park really got a good collection of hair accesories, and there is this shop with cheap and presentable necklaces too. dun hv its name with me. will post later tonight. the shop is oso a supplier to bridal shops.

yo cynfei/pierced... yap like jatling said they are really strict with their perks lor.... so better try ur best on the nego part b4 signing the contract with them....

yo cynfei... accessories... okie... we wait for u to give us more details then....

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>No of Tables+Reserve</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD Video&amp;Photographer </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rabbitwsl</TD><TD>24 Oct 04</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Dang Bridal</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evon</TD><TD>12 Dec 04</TD><TD>55+2</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Matthew</TD><TD>22 Jan 05</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellytots</TD><TD>11 Sep 05</TD><TD>40+2</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD> Mirage Picture &amp; Yew Kwang </TD></TR><TR><TD>jatling</TD><TD>29 May 05</TD><TD>60+2</TD><TD>In Wedding</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

yo jatling, jelly,
ya i realised occ like quite neow.. dun even wana give ppl a chance to neg bef confirming. haha! nvm, i will try mi best to get wadever i can.now made appt again wif them tiz wk to neg. hope for the best! juz want to try la.. even though know itz quite diff.
if not sign liao cant argue anymore. also quite worried if delay or wait..den no more dates for mi! datz y i wana rush tiz bef anything else.
heh, cynfei, will wait for the gd buys....