Orchid Country Club

jonchew

Jovi> Yeah remember u :eek:) My PS was all right but no outdoors PS cos raining the whole day. We prefer that way also cos we dun want outdoors in the first place. Next month will check out my PS album layout and collect my album early Oct. In the end only top up around 2 pixs for my PS :eek:)

Hmm when u email the coordinator? Besides your coordinator is David also right? My food tasting has arranged on the 23/09 but will confirm 2 weeks before.

vivi77

my coordinator is Emily, sent an email to her yesterday but think she is on leave. Have u finalise most of ur wedding details with them? u are getting the grand ballroom right? how many red wines you think is sufficient?

jonchew

Jovi> Oh have finalised my wedding details with my coordinator David in June, most of the details have ironed out. Will be using the grand ballroom, as for the red wine have found one that is based on consignment one. Will be taking a look most probably this few weekends bor. Hmm for the red wine cater around 60 to 70 bottles for my case as I have around 61 tables hopefully can be further reduced else headache with so many tables :eek:)

vivi77

jon > consignment basis is a good idea, with this we will not over stock the wines. Can you send me the details if possible? So u cater 1 bottle for each table..hm..i hope not to spend so much on liquor coz we have very tight budget.

jonchew

Jovi> Yeah plan to cater abt one bottle per table lor. Er what is your email address? Will email u the details, this wine seller recommended by one of the lady from my bridal studio. Payment everything quite flexible and most important of all it is based on consignment :eek:)

vivi77

jon.sorry for my late reply..busy these few days..my email is [email protected], please send the contact to me...
btw Emily has replied me....maybe one of these days, we will go down and view the march-in..

jonchew

Jovi> No problem have just emailed u the wine supplier list. Take a look and can start sourcing around. Your AD is in Dec right? Maybe u can take a look at my wedding setup on the 14th of Oct :eek:)

suetan

hi all, long time nvr pop by say hi! Anyway I met my frens last thurs and they gave very good comments abt the plc! Said the ambience is great , food too. but there are some timings the bus a bit crowded and cant fit all, but no choice, some timings will have more ppl. those interested to see can leave me msn id so I can add u all to show u the fotos.

michiko

hi pple, check with you all on the bus transport provided by OCC.. if i rem correctly they will provide 3 buses for us, either 2 buses to fetch guests in n 1 bus to bring them out or 1 in 2 out etc.. depending on how u arrange it.
For frens, most of them are driving so not a problem. For relatives they may need to take the transport. so far, any complain on the transport? like need to wait quite long etc... cos will be inviting a lot of relatives, so im worried there may be an issue on this. and if i arrange 1 in and 2 to bring guests out is it ok?

suetan

Hi Michiko, most of my relatives and friends drive on my side, they tongbang to go out take train/bus etc. Coming is more difficult to get rides cos they come at diff timing. But there are surprisingly quite alot of cabs fr OCC. My wedding was on a fri. The timing like 7.30 to 8.30 is quite crowded even for the chartered one and the regular shuttle bus also. when is ur wedding?

jonchew

michiko> For my wedding I have designated three timing for transport pickup from Yishun MRT station on the my wedding invitation cards.In addition also told our guests that the OCC shuttle bus will also be available besides the 40 seaters chartered bus.

piggylover

im a newbie here. me too planning for my AD wedding dinner in OCC grandball room. can anyone send me what is the package offer? & we can get to upgrade our room from bride suite to president suite? do anyone have the photo of both of the room? cos i intend to have my Solemnisation in the room. thanks! ;)

piggylover

hi suelynn,

the room have been occupied on ur AD? i refer to OCC website say that it can be upgrade base on availability. wat is their reason to u?

so sad if they unable to let me upgrade. i dont wish to chg my solemnisation plan...

wat is their offer to u?

suetan

piggylover, they say if I can confirm more tables then they can consider free upgrade, but must pay $300 more to upgrade. We were nt able to confirm the total number of tables so to play safe, we confirm the min amt. End up we had 18 tables more than the min, its more than $10k compared to the $300 upgrade. The bridal suite is nice enuff, just that the presidential suite has a bathtub as compared to shower in bridal suite.

suetan

The package that we had for wedding this yr is also diff fr wat is offered nw, thus I guess its easier to negotiate for presidential suite. There is no free flow beer for weekend pkg for my wedding, only had 30L beer.

piggylover

hi suelynn,

thanks alot for ur info. so the pkg which they mention in their website is quite different as expected. it show free flow of beer for wkend as mention. hmm...

hw many table u hav with them? in the grand ballroom? do u hav any pic of the room as i worry tat they may not hav a big n long table for my solemnisation. haiz... alot of thing to worry nw...

suetan

piggylover, yup, had mine in grandballroom, no where else to accomodate. My package was signed on 2006, thus the packages had changed over time. I posted my pic on multiply, do u have an account, else u can check on Sylpide's link on the bridal suite.

jonchew

Piggylover> For my package is free flow of beer, mine is on the 14th of Oct next month. Like what suelynn mentioned the package changes with time. As for the solemnisation maybe u can ask them whether they can accommdate or not else alternatively see whether can arrange for a small function room for your ROM. That time I did request for a small function to conduct my ROM prior to my banquet. They told me it can be arranged but din take up the offer in the end.

piggylover

hi suelynn & jonathan,

really thx alot for ur information!

suelynn i has an account with multiply. dont mind can i take a look at ur photo for more info?

jonathan did u upgrade ur room to president suite?

hw long in advance did ur make ur booking? any charges and request to them? like the wedding theme, decor, projector?

im planning my AD in Dec 2009. i knw i am quite far from now. but i abit kanchong and KS, wanna to do all my home work early for easlier preparation. hehe..

i am thinking to check on their package 1st quarter of next year. but was not sure if i am too early to request tat.

jonchew

Piggylover> Oh did not upgrade the room to president suite, for my booking I book one year in advance. But even one year in advance some of the dates that we prefer are no available. For the extra charges only if u request thing like more projector or screen etc. For the wedding theme, decor OCC has a few u can choose from. Hmm think it is too early to check out their package in the 1st quarter of 2008 since u are talking abt dec 2009. Maybe mid of next year will be a good option. That will give u an estimated of 1 1/2 years of lead time.

piggylover

hi jonathan,

hmm.. do u mean tat u had afew choices of AD? Even 1yr in advance, u hav problem getting the booking?

i get to knw frm another topic BTB friend having problem booking. she enquire on May07 for Oct08, most of the venue hav already been booked. im tiking to enquire frm them between Apr08 to Jun08 time for their pkg. issit too early?

get to knw frm others tat the stage in OCC look like sch hall. can we request them to chg the outlook of the stage?

ribenaberry

The table price in recent couple years has adjusted upwards TWICE (i think), excluding the GST hike.

Piggylover, if u can confirm the date, u can book even now. Its even better cos u can lock in the price. Plus the earlier u book, the higher chance for u to get the date u wanted.

Things that u can book as early as u confirm are:
1) Bridal Shop (Take your time to compare and nego for the best deal)

2) Banquet table (Confirm early to secure your preferred (hot?) date and lock the price and package)

3) Photographer &/or videographer (To secure the date & price)

4) Justice of Peace / Solemnizer (If u do it outside ROM)

I do not think you can change the outlook of the Grand Ballroom stage. If yes, it comes with co$t. OCC is very rigid.

In the meantime while waiting, you can do the following:

* hunt for your wedding favour (if u want something different from OCC)
* do your montage(s)
* select your wedding songs

Dun leave things to the last min cos u will be VERY BUSY as the date is nearer.

piggylover

hi Ribena,

thx alot for ur info & help. yes, i have already shortlist afew BS, PG, VG. gotta contact the PG & VG by next yr to see their product after confirm the booking of dinner venue. as for the BS mayb will wait till end of 2008, now jus doing comparing of their pkg offer.

OCC is my 1st and only choice now. so i will try to chk wit them for their pkg & confirm by early next yr. cos i gotta consult a shifu b4 confirming the date is wat i prefer.

i have already save some diff wedding venue theme and table arrangement too for reference.. now getting those bride magazine for more info.

alot of ppl say im too kanchong & KS but i think it is alright as long as i has done my homework in advance. cos im really worry & scare tat thing may crash or problem happen on my AD even dun it is 2yrs ahead from now. hehehe ;P

jonchew

Piggylover> Yah lor some of the dates we want is not available due to one reason or another. For a good thumb of rule the banquet is to book 1 1/2 to 2 years in advance. For 2 years in advance it is especially for those good dates.

Like what Ribena has mentioned, for the wedding theme and arrangement it can be quite rigid. Think it is always to plan early, the most important thing is to secure the banquet first. The next one is the AD JP, VG and PG. Besides for the package price it is better to lock it earlier come down the road most probably the price will increase further lor. But the banquet is still subject to GST hike and other service charges lor. As for the hall, think it looks all right after the decorations and stuff.

piggylover

hi jonathan,

thx alot for ur advise too.

in this case, think i gotta act fast already. once i got my AD from the shifu, i will go down to OCC to request on their package and confirm the booking ASAP. hehehe ;)

but im worry for the room between bride and president suite. for OCC website did show the room design and layout as compare to other club. i need to know if there is a long table for my solemnisation. will the coordinator bring us to view their room? if not, i gotta request a fuction room. they will b charging?

suetan

piggylover, I did my research abt 1.5 yrs to 2 yrs in advance n shortlisted,finalised n booked 1 yr in advance for photographer, videographer and banquet. The stage looks quite nice with the decor etc. Actually alot of hotel's ballroom look like sch hall also mah with normal deco. Thats y I chose the gold theme, cos maroon theme looks like the curtain of most stage. (personal preference, no offence)

No regrets!

jonchew

Piggylover> No problem think u can always request to take a look at the room before u decide whether u want to change to a president suite. But it will depend whether the room is occupied or not.

Hmm if used OCC function room, maybe u will have to check with them whether any charges if the solemnisation is a "chop chop" one something that have around maybe 20 guest only. Think the most for solemnisation will not take more than an hour, can check whether they allow u to use the room without any charges or not.

Hope it helps :eek:)

jonchew

suelynn> Wah that mean u plan your wedding 2 years in advance. My AD is two weeks away hope everything will go smoothly :eek:)

suetan

jon, sort of la cos i did research for venues etc for my solemnisation. So its easier for my AD, I gotten some dates for dec 06, may, june 07, decided to give dec 06 a miss cos too rush le...n most plcs ald booked.

jonchew

suelynn> Oic that is good my buddy now rushing like siao cos he unable to find the date he wants. It seem all the date are no available and the only one left are weekdays.

piggylover

hi suelynn & jonathan,

thanks alot for ur info. yes, i think the stage look ok too but just going through the forum and saw some comment about it. hehhee

hmm... think gotta confirm my AD and go down to book with OCC fast already. so suelynn you manage to get and secure the AD which you want in 1 time enquire?

think for the room gotta go down n see den decide again whether still can process according to my plan...

i would like to know what about the food? ur getting from the restaurant downstair or somewhere else? abit blur when refer to the discussion...

jonchew

Piggylover> Oh for the food is from the restaurant one, went for the food tasting 2 weeks back, the food is all right but got change a few of the dishes.

Hmm for my case cannot choose the day we wanted as it was taken up. This is the 2nd date that is preferred as it does not clash with anyone. Your hubby is quite lucky to have a wife who plans everything in advance :eek:)

suetan

piggylover, yah I managed to get the date I want, anyway it was a friday la, the day after mine was a super gd date, luckily our bazhi suits our AD day. when ppl who wanted that sat cant booked, they tried to book fri n sun....so am quite lucky. OCC compared to hotels nt so pop but its getting popular also cos hotel prices are so much more ex nowadays.

jon, tink its ur wife who is lucky to have u to plan everything. Mostly, its done by the gals lo......

piggylover

jonathan,

wow.. hear that the restaurant serve good quality food there. it is a 8 or 9 course meal?

haha.. he use to say tat im too kanchong. when i told him abt alot of couple book their dinner venue at least 1 to 2yrs in advance den he look worry like me now. hehehe..

ribenaberry

Piggylover, u can call OCC to make a tentative reservation for your preferred date. When you have confirm with shifu, then confirm the date with them & sign contract. Else u may be too late.

Dun ever think u r early for anything as it is good to be early. if u r a second late, u have to go for the alternative.

Have u meet up with OCC sales rep? Talk to them what u need.

As for food, the banquet caterer is Yishun Lake. This is more economical than u get from other external caterer if the venue is in OCC.

piggylover

suelynn,

wow.. u really lucky to got the AD u want.
im worry as there is only 1 ballroom and think that alot of ppl will tend to enquire too. hopfully i can get it fast.

hahah.. ya lor. jonathan wife is a lucky lady, most of the arrangement are done by the gers. i will plan but i will ask my bf to get involve too as it is our wedding. he need to get the feeling for it too. hehehe

piggylover

ribena,

u mean call OCC to make tentative reservation? do i need to place an deposit with them 1st? but will they entertain me?? cos my AD is Dec 2009, scare they will reject me...

jonchew

Piggylover> Mine is a 8 + 1 desserts dinner package but the food is not bad. Must take note the standard might drop especially if u have many tables lor. Expect a drop in standard but not too much lor. Aiyoh must tell your hubby it is always good to plan ahead dun wait for everything until the last minute lor :eek:)

jonchew

Piggylover> Hmm u can try asking whether can make a reservation for Dec 2009 lor then from there see how the things go bor. But doubts they will reject advance booking.

It is true that for wedding both parties must get involved else it defeats the purpose of getting married. But so far think there is a tendancy of relaying the girls to do the planning hahaha. That is why sometimes a wedding coordinator will come in handy bor. No need to stress just ask the wedding coordinator to plan can liao.

But something to share though, a wedding is not a 2 persons affair, it is a 2 families affairs. Trust me it is not easy to handle when everyone have their own agenda or views lor. At the end of the day the communication between the couple is important :eek:)