Orchard Parade Hotel-Club Chinos

snowcat

Hi Sweetiee,
I really happy for you that you enjoyed your wedding. I think your advice is very valuable to us.
Can I ask u something? U suggested putting the projector screen on the right side of the room. Got space meh? I thought of 2 projector screens, coz' there are 2 of them in the middle of the room and eric suggested 2 projectors 1 for each side. ?!! I'm willing to explore your idea, pls tell me more. Thanks in advance.
Also u said that ur dinner started at slightly after 8pm. I thought the standard is 8:30pm? Did most of your guests come at 8+??

sweetiee

Hi snowcat,

No problem at all.

yup, since the ballroom is not too big - think flashing the video clip onto the right side of the wall is ok. Everyone should be able to view. Of course if you can get 2 projecters would be good, but won't that be too clumbersome? For us, we had the screen on the stage. So some of them who sat right next to the stage can't view the video.

Oh in fact for the punctuality it really depends on your crowd. Basically 70% of our guests are friends. For relatives, my mum reminded them politely not to be late (She's very supportive). After all, I noticed that my relatives are normally quite punctual even for other wedding dinners. We ourselves also placed a lot of emphasis on the punctuality. Told our guests verbally that we would start the dinner early esp we have a church wedding before the banquet, so half of the guests would be there already. We also ask friends to remind other friends to be there on time. A few guests who arrived late came at 8.30pm and they were relatively surprised to realise that the dinner started already.;p

I also think that if the bride were to receive the guests before the banquet start, the guests tend to be more punctual. I think some ppl have the idea that if the bride is around, the dinner will start very soon. So they'll hang around and not go elsewhere and come back again. I was at the reception from 7.10 pm onwards and I was pretty glad that I did that. I could mingle with my guests (esp friends whom I haven't met for a while!) and I personally feel that it drew me closer to them.

Well, by 7.45pm the foyer was in fact quite crowded already. If you do have ushers leading the guests into the ballroom and their seats, it would be pretty helpful as well. Get them to settle in early.

Oh one thing to note. Pls do remind them that it's Orchard Parade Hotel. There are still some blur ppl who went to Orchard Hotel even though I re-designed a clear map for the invit card!

Hope all these help. Any enquiry, do drop me a msg again.

tiara

Hi Sweetie

Welcome back! So you are now happily married huh.

Sweetie, can you drop me an email ([email protected]), I would like to check with you certain things about Club Chinois as my cousin is keen on holding her banquet there.

meimei

Hi sweetiee,

Welcome back !! Glad that everything worked out fine on the actual day. So happy to hear your good reviews of Orchard Parade hotel and the food !!!!

Which theme did you choose that day ? In addition, do you know how many tables to a waiter/waitress on that day ? Any pointers to take note of ?

Thanks !!

sweetiee

Hi tiara,

Ok, will email you.

Hi Meimei,

Oops, I din actually pay attention. Think Eric told us before it's 2 waiters/waitresses to 3 tables. Erm, anyway, overall, my friends said their service is rather prompt and good. Except for just one particular waiter.

For the theme, I took the white/gold theme... Gold backdrop and white lilies. Most ppl commented that the ambience is cosy.

blue_ocean

Dear ALL,

I'm a first timer here. First of all, congrats to Sweetie who has a memorable wedding, i hope everyone getting married will hv the same sweet experience as Sweetie

I'm hunting for hotel too. I hv just received the menu fr OPH. I'm thinking of taking the Superior package. Has anyone tried the food, and think it's nice? So far fr the msg tt i hv seen most of u r taking the Delux package. Rt?

Any advise on the menu? any dishes u think i shld change?

I hv yet to view the ballrm. I hope i'll like it when i view it. I'm doing all this alone, as my hubby is oversea.

Feeling a bit stressed out now ....

Any comments/suggestions is greatly appreciated.

sweetiee

Hi blue_ocean,

Thanks a lot! Well, first of all, dun feel stressed out... do try to enjoy the process.

Superior Package? It is the 2nd menu? Sorry, I'm a bit confused? Anyway, all I've to say is, dun worry abt the quality of Club Chinois' food. I took the least expensive menu but many guests had their thumbs up and really, not much leftover!
Now, I'm even thinking of having my mum's birthday celebration there... yummy.

I find all their dishes unique. After the food tasting, we decided to keep the menu (except make slight adjustments to the platter). Well, you've to try it, then you'll know. Coz it can be a very subjective matter.

How many tables are you planning to have? And when's your big day? If you dun mind, you can also email me the menu so I can help you take a look... feeling hungry now... ha ha...
My email addy: [email protected]

winnie

I'll be having my wedding banquet at Club Chinos Restaurant (not the ballroom) on 2nd Mar 2002. Has anyone held your wedding dinner at the restaurant itself? Apart from the chinese traditional packages available, did anyone try their individual serving style ie: mixture of Eastern-Western food? Pls comment on their food quality & service punctuality on the actual wedding dinner day. I've gone for the food-tasting & found that their service & food served are fantastic but I'm a little worry if they do keep up such service & food quality on the actual night.

Thanks & best regards,
Winnie

kittycat

Hi Sweetiee..

Hey, I'm also having my dinner at Club Chinois. *Grin* we share the same actual day photographer too!

I've reserved 30 tables and getting a bit worried that it may be too cramped. Dunno if I can cut down the tables any further. CC has apparently increased their banquet prices this year. But I love Tung Lok food... yummmy! I'll probably be going for the gold theme and white flowers - hopefully they can give me white orchids coz that's my husband's favourite flowers. If not, lilies wld be juz great

sweetiee

Hi kittycat,

What a coincidence!
Great minds think alike mah.
Anyway, think cat13 too... she has also engaged CH as her actual day photographer and dinner at OPH.

Yes, 30 tables might be a little too packed. If you can trim the list down, I'd encourage you to do so. The food at CC is really yummy! guaranteed. Ok, will try to get the pics uploaded soon so that you can look at the decor as well.

When's your wedding?
Can I get your email addy so that we can communicate further?
My email: [email protected]

U

unusual

Would like to know if the food is still as good as before.

How's the service?

Is there any pillar in the hotel ballroom?

How many tables max?

Is sit-down lunch available?

Do I book direct to Chinois or the hotel?

Your comments are welcomed! Thanks.

hwee

Hi Sweetie,

Just want to check whether what are the changes u requested after food tasting? Someone mentioned the shark fins soup looks orange etc and is the food too salty etc? Many of my friend said that the food served during dinner is definetly not as good as that u got during food tasting. Is this true?

BTW, did u made any changes to your ballroom deco? Does the floral stands comes with candles?

kittycat

Hi Sweetiee,

My email address is [email protected]. Looking fwd to seeing your wedding pics.

Hi Unusual,

For CC, you book directly with the restaurant. Look for Eric Tan, he's the banquet manager and quite friendly. For CC's wedding package, you can either host it in the restaurant or the Orchard Parade ballroom. But if I'm not mistaken, to host it in the restaurant wld require you to take the more expensive dinner package.

I think the max no. of tables is 30 but they can squeeze in 2 more tables for you if you need to. But this wld be terribly cramped.

As for sit-down lunch, they do that coz that was my initial idea till it got veto-ed by family. *Sigh* I believe you can bargain for lower prices for the packages if you do lunch.

Aiyo, I don't recall if there's a pillar in the ballroom. Got to get Sweetiee to tell you this! Foodwise, it shld be pretty good since it's a Tung Lok restaurant - so I hope!

If you don't mind hosting your dinner/lunch at a restaurant, I feel that the Tung Lok restaurant at Daimaru is a pretty good deal. My fren had his wedding lunch there and the food was EXCELLENT.

sweetiee

Hi unusual,

I saw one set up with 33 tables and I find it terribly cramped!!! In fact, I think any set up more than 28 tables is a little cramped. I had 26. Just nice to me. Comfortable enuf to move around (but those corner ones were already quite packed).

There are 2 pillars I think and there are 2 more pillars right at the edge of the wall (next to the stage) so it depends on how you arrange the tables to avoid blockage. If you've more tables, likelihood of tables being blocked are of course higher. During our wedding banquet, one table was blocked completely from the stage and one table was just blocked partially.

Food wise... needless to say! still excellent.

Eric's no: 834-0660 FYI.

Hi Hwee,

Well, it is inevitable that the food during the food tasting was better. I guess also becoz it was the first time we tasted it! So it could be psychological you know?
Anyway, if you read the comments I posted right after my wedding, so many of my friends/guests claimed the food was good! Not much leftover indeed... (got evidence from the photos and video!
) We were just laughing while watching the actual day video the other day and many friends had their thumbs up, with good comments on the food. At least we're glad they all enjoyed it!

Oh we changed the original platter to spring rolls, prawn salad, jelly fish, duck meat and bbq pork (we actually requested for the change before the food tasting so we had this as the food tasting). The duck meat and bbq pork were from the original platter... but we thot there were too much meat, so we subsituted with the rest.

The sharkfins were ok! Not orangy or too saltish... in fact my friend (during the food tasting) said it was a little bland but personally I find it ok... My parents also dun normally eat too saltish stuff so we decided to keep it coz if it is too saltish, the taste of the sharkfins might be lost (Also considering the fact that there will be other more salty dishes to balance up the whole course of the dinner). In fact, it tasted good... the best sharkfins amongst wedding dinners I had attended.

Hey, I do consider myself someone quite critical when comes to food served at the restaurants but this time around, I really dun have any negative comments. Considering the fact that I've been attending so many wedding dinners these days! *it's just that age*...
Anyway, maybe I'm quite biased too... ha ha... I mean... Club Chinois what... it's Tunglok... the perceived quality is there... oops...

I din make any changes to the ballroom decor... white lilies and gold backdrop... erm... candles... sorry, my memory lapse... dun recall any, but lemme check the photos again.

hwee

Hi Sweetie,

Thanks a lot for the info. I'm probably not going for food tasting and I will just change the platter and the sea cucumber dish. Pls do let me know if the floral stands comes with the candles. If not, I will arrange with the florist to include them.

hwee

Hi Sweetiee,

Is that so? My friend who attended a wedding there commented that it taste odd. My mum also tell me not to change the dish cos sea cucumber is considered an expensive dish, but I tot see what they can offered as alternative first. Did u change the dessert to a cold one?

BTW, out of curosity, I checked out tunglok website and to my surprise, the cheapest weekend package has increased to $750!!! That is really a lot more then when I sign up with them in May last year!

sweetiee

Hi Hwee,

Maybe it's just your friend. I personally love it, my hubby and our families too. The sea cucumber are wrapped with beancurd skins and it has a nice sauce (slightly spicy) to go with it, thot it's very tasty!
Probably you should try it yourself then you can decide... I din change the dessert too, after the food tasting we thot it tasted pretty good. If you change to something cold like sago, maybe make it seem a bit more "cheapo"??

Are you sure??? The price went up so much? I thot Eric said they're maintaining... I'll go check out the site later. Or maybe they just featured the most expensive menu price coz my friend who enquired lately said the $600 menu is still around.

hwee

Hi Sweetie,

Really, then I probably dun change this dish. My friend also commented the red-bean cream very nice. I already changed to Peach Sago... probably will change back to red bean cream.

BTW, during ur wedding dinner, did CC pack some food fm the table for the couple after the dinner end?

U can't see the wedding menu fm the web-site anymore. They only indicated that their cheapest package for weekend is $750. Maybe they will provide better food for the new package.

kittycat

My fren who booked a package recently with CC said that the $600++ package for weekend was still around. She also managed to get a 15% discount per table - there's some promotion going on now. So her deal is now below $600 for a weekend package.

sweetiee

Hi Hwee,

Yup I'd strongly encourage you to keep the sea cucumber. It is quite different from the usual sea cucumber dishes served elsewhere. The red bean cream is nice indeed, not too sweet and the taste was just right.

Yes, they did pack some food for us... they passed it to my helpers and they brought the food up to our room. You should have seen the way we feasted! ha ha ha...

alpha

i just wanna check if other than red, wat is other colour can their VIP table coth be?

i won't want my EG to look like the table cloth....

i've yet to check it out... and thot that perhaps you pple may already know!

alpha

thks sweetiee..... great

keep hving the impression that its onli red in colour.
now i can wear my EG in peace

sorri, can i happen to have a look at the pictures if u do upload them?

hwee

Hi Sweetie,

Great to know that!!! Seems like the deco there has improved. They have also changed the chair covers for VIP to those with sash behind. If u dun mind, can i also hv a look at your pictures? My e-mail is [email protected]

Hi Alpha,

U very funny.... how come have the idea ur EG looks like table cloth? When is ur big day?

sweetiee

Hi Alpha & Hwee,

I'm in the midst of scanning them... once I've uploaded the pics, will send to you gals.

Hey Alpha, dun you worry lah, my EG was in dark red too, and did not like table cloth or carpet lah... ha ha...

alpha

hi Sweetiee/ Hwee,

well, you never know how its going to be like mah... sometimes, pple colour blind wat... besides, if the table cloth is red, i won't be outstanding already mah :p if not i waste my effort of having a red gown wat!
my red is towards the HOT RED!!!! i suppose this is going to be my one and only red dress and worn once onli

anyway, its really nice to hear that their deco had really improved that much

my wedding is on 23 Mar 02!

oh, my email: [email protected]

hwee

Hi Alpha,

Your wedding will be b4 me... mine is on 1 Jun.

BTW, are u using the invitation cards provided by CC? If so, do u have to collect them from the printer or fm CC? Did u engaged their recommended printer? How are their charges like?

Sorry for bombarding u with so many questions cos will be printing my invitation card in Mar. I have not decide which printer to go to.

sweetiee

Hi Alpha & Hwee,

Hey Alpha... orginally I was looking at 23 Mar I think but it was booked. In the end we decided to push it forward to 1st Jan. Ha ha... so it was you... you must have booked it before me.

Hwee,

Actually I designed my own wedding card so if you're interested, I can email you?

alpha

hi Hwee,
yes, i'm using their recommanded printer. i think it cost $95 for 280pcs. cant really remember liao. anyway, will be picking it up next Fri. I'm doing my own church invites but still have not started yet :p

hi sweetiee,
thankfully, i'm one step earlier cos i die die oso must have it that day cos it marks our 7th year
btwm can i have a look at your card? my email is above...

hwee

Hi alpha,

R u using the square card or the rectangular one?The price u pay sounds reasonable. Can u tell me more abt the type of print (as in gold stamp, pictures etc?) and paper they use? How long did the printer take to complete the printing? If I do not engage their service, do I still have to go there and pick up the blank card?

kittycat

Hi Tiara,

In addition to what my fren told me, some weeks ago, I remember receiving some brochures from CC in which they were advertising their 15% discount. It was mentioned that the 15% discount was for certain dates - I guess not the auspicious dates and Sat but no harm calling up to ask if you're keen.

hwee

Hi Sweetie,

Thanks, I got ur mail. Ur wedding invites are very nice. The fonts are not so traditional and it goes very well with the "double happiness" inserts! May what is the printing cost per card?

sweetiee

Hi Hwee,

Oh actually, my cards were partially sponsored... so not very expensive after all. I din really calculate the unit cost per card coz in the end I din use up all the cards - over estimate them actually.;p

I designed the card myself... oh ya, I re-constructed the OPH map too, should you wanna take a look, I can email you too. But gotta be on Mon.

belle

May i knw how long in advance did u all book CC? My date is sep03 but i booked already..still got 1 and half year...my parents say i siao..8<
Also, i was tinking of having 30tables..does anyone has that arrangement b4? Is it super cramped???

Hi Tiara,

I just booked with CC for nxt year at the exbition last Sat. They did hand out brochures offering 15% discount or free flow of beer. But by the time i booked with Eric, he said the 15% discount is nt available liao. Tink he finally tot CC will lugi too much. So sad..i left with the free flow of beer option...

Hi Sweetiee,

Can u pls email me the OPH map too..tink my uncles and aunties very poor orientaion too.;p Thanks!

joanne

hi sweetiee
i have signed up with CC as well. have gone for my friend;s wedding to try out the food as well..
just the service not so satifactory..i mean the waiters. the restaurant managers are all very kind and helpful.
just wanna to ask about the wedding card. u do it urself so did eric give u any rebate?? or subsidies??
like to join u all in this forum
regd
joanne

sweetiee

hi Belle &amp; Joanne,

Belle, Free flow of beer is good enuf lah. Mine only had 30L barrel, in the end exceeded by 2 barrels so we had to pay for that.

I can email you the map but can I have your email addy? BTW I designed and constructed the map myself so would appreciate if you just take it as reference but not wholesale.

Joanne,

I had the free food tasting eventually but wasn't really due to not taking their cards. My hubby's brother knows Eric quite well so Eric offered the free food tasting to us. Overall, the restaurant managers are friendly and professional. As for the waiters &amp; waitresses, it really depends who are on shift. On our wedding day, there was no complaints except for 1 waiter. Anyway, I find Eric not very proactive... you might have to call him and chase after things... just a word of advice.

kittycat

Hi Joanne,

I am getting free food tasting and a complimentary 30L barrel of beer. Plus free corkage for a dozen bottles of wine. I agree with Sweetiee that free flow of beer is good enuff coz I'm expecting to exceed by quite a lot since I'm likely to serve beer during cocktail reception.

Hi Belle,

I've reserved 30 tables... and from the feedback in this thread, I think it's gng to be very cramped. I'm gng to ask Eric if I could possibly pop by CC one of these days when they've a 30 table dinner to see if it's really bad.

snowcat

Hi Belle,
I booked my dinner for May 03 few months back so I dun think u r siao. You mean some ppl get 15% discount for CC??? Last time they had the exhibition in Suntec somewhere in Dec or Jan, they also have 15% for all Tunglok restaurants except CC coz' their banquet is at the hotel. *Sob, sob* I don't have free flow of beer only 30L. I find Eric very stingy leh, at first he only agree to 50% off for food tasting for 10 ppl, then I negotiate for free food tasting for 6 ppl.
Recently I went to my fren's wedding at Marina Mandarin Hotel, the ballroom layout looks like Orchard Parade. I realise the ceiling quite low and the place looks quite cramp. I think CC is also going to be like that.
Actually I like Nobel House because very bright and airy, but I don't like the fact that its in an office building and is very dark at night.
So wat about you all??? How did you eventually choose CC?

belle

Hi Sweetiee,

My email addy is [email protected]. I would take it as a reference. Thanks alot. ;)

Hi Kittycat,

My fiance wanted 32 tables...wah lao..sure cramped like hell..dun knw if i can squeeze thru during the photo session in my EG..realy worried wor..wait gana stucked in betw veri embarassing.
If u goin to take alook let me knw the outcome okie. thanks! ;>

Hi Snowcat,

I heard he offered some pple 15% initially..then when we wanted to book, he say can only offer free flow of bear. 15% is alot wor..
I wanted Noble House initially too, but then hor..my elder brother goin to hold his banquet there nxt yr Mar..dun wan the same place..like copycat.. I oso dun like the office building tingy. But then the food is nt bad and the restaurant layout is good compared to other restaurants i've been.
I chose CC becos the price is quite acceptable and heard the food is good. And location-wise, I tink still considered accessible. The only problem nw is the number of tables..jarlad. 8<

sweetiee

Hi Belle,

I have seen a setting of 33 tables at OPH and my, it's really really cramped! Think 32 won't be any better... I mean, can you keep your guestlist more lean so that the ppl can move more comfortably inside? Think it'll be better... Ok, yes, will be emailing to you shortly.

snowcat

I still like to have space to have a projector screen, where do you think I can place it? Does CC provide projector?

oph bride

anyone know how much is OPH refunding for not using their florist, wedding flavors and wedding invitation cards?

hi Sweetiee,
how much does it cost for that 2 extra barrels of beer you had?

sweetiee

hi snowcat,

No, CC doesn't provide projector but they can provide the screen. You will have to find a way to get the projector. During my wedding we had the screen placed on the stage and the projector just somewhere near the stage. It was ok but at least 1.5 - 2 tables were blocked by pillar and they can't see a thing. And I had only 26 tables. So a better way is to project to the right side of the wall of the ballroom, only then everyone can see. But it'll be quite far for some. Anyway, it's not a big ballroom.

Hi OPH bride,

I printed my own wedding cards but no refund from CC. I probably didn't ask also. But to tell you the truth, Eric is very passive. He didn't even call me and ask if I'm taking the cards when the date is near. And I doubt you can get much from him too, no matter how much you pester him. Good thing is that the overall comments on food and service (the other managers) are good.

If you're not taking their floral arrangement, I can't quite remember but maybe just a refund of $250? Not a lot... But anyway, their floral arrangement is ok, so you might as well keep it.

For that 2 extra barrels, I think $3k+? Quite expensive.

oph bride

hi Sweetiee,

I know Eric isn't the very proactive type. You can't see much emotions from his face.

Wow! so expensive for that 2 extra barrels. I thot 20L cost abt $450+++ and 30L costs abt $580+++??