Orchard Parade Hotel-Club Chinos

sweetiee

Hi Hwee,

I see, no problem... I posted the URL before so anyone can see it...
Oh Thomson Wedding Design has quite nice gowns too... just that they're too far from where I stay, so I never pay them a visit. Do they have their in house photographer or are you taking up a photography package with someone else?

BTW, have just sent you those pics.

hwee

Hi Sweetie,

I sign up the comprehensive package with Thomson, including actual day photography. So far still no problem with them yet! They have only 1 in-house photography, and the comment on him is abover average lah! Hopefully, mine will turn out well!

sweetiee

Hi Hwee,

I think a lot of times good communication does much. So try your best to communicate with your co-ordinator, photographer & make-up artist, it'll help a great bunch.

sweetiee

Hi Hwee,

Din know we were posting at the same time, so missed your earlier message. Oh are you referring to the b/w ones? Yes, they are taken at Julia's studio. I went to a conservation shophouse (the interior) and antique shop as well as bontanic gardens.

meimei

Hi sweetie,
Thanks for your photos. Just came out from a really long meeting... They are REALLY GOOD !!! I will definitely go down to see JWN after hearing all the good things you said. BTW, who do I talk to and request for in JWN ? E.g. makeup artist, photographer, sales coordinator.
FYI, Pan Lingling and Huang Biren took up the bridal package from Wedding News.
What package did you take up in JWN - does it include car rental and actual day photography ? Are you engaging JWN to do the actual day photography as well - or someone else ?

Hi hwee,
The florist that OPH is using is at Heerem basement 1 (I think the shopname is Wes Justin). You can basically change the colour of the flowers that they are using. They are using a combination of lilies (you can choose white or pink), roses and daisies. If you don't like the combination, I think you can check out with them and Eric. They can change for you provided if they don't cost more. Otherwise, you can pay the difference. The couple that we saw added a flower arch at the entrance of OPH ballroom to make the door more distinguish. Thought it is a good idea but don't want a arch - maybe 2 flower stands with golden sash tied around it - but that's add'l cost (around $250). Eric told me that they will have dry ice march in. I know some hotels have dry ice and march in on flower petals along the arch. Maybe can check with the florist if he can do it.

Can anybody give me Eric's email address? I understand from the threads that he's the co-ordinator for wedding banquets at OPH. A bit of a regret on my part that I missed the bridal show yesterday. Went to Regent's bridal show instead. I only knew about OPH's show after I paid for Regent's show. So if anyone has anymore advice for me, I'd really appreciate it. Tks.

meimei

Hi mint,
I don't have Eric's email address but his number is 96613953. How was the show at Regent ? Did they have any promotion ?

sweetiee

Hi Meimei,

You're most welcome.
Since this is not a JWN thread, think I'll email you direct to give you the contacts.
Erm, I know Pan Ling Ling & Huang Biren went to Wedding News and also took up the actual day video & photography package with them (Simon Photo & Video) but I saw those pics... no big deal leh.

Thanks for giving the info on the florist that OPH works with, guess I'll call Eric next month to finalise on the decor.

Hi Mint,

You can call this no. as well: 834-0660
(Ask for Eric, the assistant Mgr from Club Chinois)

katie

seems that all of you can get along well with Eric. I went down for the show yesterday with a decision to book the banquet but when I talked to Eric. I was disappointed. I asked he abt the promotion they were having, he seems uninterested in explaining to me. He was sitting there looking bored. When I told him, my wedding date is at Feb 2003. He said so far away, they don't have the price list and package for 2003 and stare at us. Full-stop. My hubby and I were so pissed off with his attitude. We left before the show start. No mood for the show or the food. This is the first time I heard ppl rejecting business.

cat13

Wah was only away for a day n so many happenings here. Gald tat there r so many exchange of infos.
Hwee - Yeah, mayb u r rite now not 'in' to put the name on the stage liao. Thanks for the advise. My big day is 3 days b4 u
29/5/2002. I also feel 'bang' after c'g the perks they r giv'g dur'g the show plus my bridal shop - Flamingo also hv'g promotion. But anyway, if everything goes well n we r happy with the arrangement then I guess it shall b ok.
Meimei - I was at the bridal show too. Where do u sit? I'm seating the side where the model came out. Agree with u tat the dim sum they served taste gd :p ~~~~~~
Sweetie - I also very kayppo. Can I c ur pic since after hear'g all the gd comments.
My e-mail is [email protected] Thank u...

meimei

Hi Katie,
Don't be too upset. I tried talking to Eric during the tea break reception and he just asked me which date I was looking at. After that, he made an appointment with me to talk after the fashion show completes. My FH and me waited till 5pm b4 he could see us - I think we are the last couple. I know he made a couple of appointments that afternoon with a few couples and he looked busy. I was kind of unhappy when he could not speak to me that time but my FH said that he may prefer to wait till the whole show is complete so that he will not disrupt the show.

After that, he was really flexible and friendly when he met up with us and as there were lesser people around then, it was easier and more convenient to talk to him. I think you can still try to check with him after a few weeks - he may have the 2003 package ready then. I once called another hotel - Crown Prince and they also refused to entertain me as their 2002 package is not out yet.

meimei

Hi cat13,
You're back.So I guess sweetiee is the first to get married in OPH among us, followed by cat13, then hwee and me.
I was wearing a green blouse that day and was sitting at the side of the ballroom but a few rows behind. How did you find the deco in the ballroom that day ? Both FH and me felt it looked really really romantic with red roses on the flower stands and the arch at the stage. I guess flowers play an imp part in making the ambience cosy. However, this florist is not used by Chinos but was hired by Wedding Present. But can get some ideas lah...

hwee

Hi Katie,

Don't be upset. I personally have met up with a few coordinators from other hotels. Eric is not the most friendly but he is not worst compared a few others. I have also met and spoke to Kelvin from Club Chinos. I think he is the events mgr. He is very friendly and helpful, but he once Eric will have final say when it comes to booking and negotiation of packages.

BTW, Cat13, I call Eric yesterday and checled whether I could change the food tasting (50% discount) to other things. He say he will have to take a look at my contract first before giving me an answer. Sounds like he change it to some other things. Have not call him to checked yet cos I myself don't know what should I asked for in exchange. Tot of asking for 1 additional night stay in the hotel.

sweetiee

Hi Katie,

Yup there could be a lot of reasons that Eric din seem friendly so dun be too bothered by it.
Personally, I din find him extremely warm but like what Hwee said, I've met worse ones before!

Hi Cat13,

You know I never reject your request... hee...

Hi meimei,

Yup think I'll be the first to get off the shelf amongst the OPH brides
Anyway, dun worry, after my wedding, I still hope to hang around in the forum to continue to give what I can offer!

cat13

Hi Meimei,
Bingo! Agree with u tat flower do play an important role. Yeah the setting dur'g the show was quite impressive. How's the florist since u hv meet up with them? R they easy go'g? Thanks.

Sorrie can't recall anyone in green blouse.

Hi Hwee,
Thanks for the info. For me, I was hop'g to upgrade my rm n get additional 2 rms for my 'ah yees' n 'brothers' at a cheaper rate. However, Eric mention tat the pric'g is controlled by the hotel. Shall c how it goes.

Hi Katie,
Dun be upset. I dun really feel comfortable with him initally too. Like a bit 'ha lian' type. But like wat Hwee said we also met someone whose service is worse. Overall, I still find him ok.

btw - I had my ROM reception at Spice Garden which is also fr Tung Lok last Tues. All my family members n frenz praised the food. I think I'm more concern on the deco than fd now.

meimei

Hi Cat13,
The florist that is used by OPH is quite alright but they want me to speak to their lady boss who is not around that day. I saw something really nice during the wedding show at GP too which was done by Stefils (whom I know is good). I may have to do a bit of description of what I want to their lady boss and get a quotation when my wedding is nearer.The florist used by Wedding Present is called Flower Power. I thought of using a different florist if the one OPH uses can't do it but my FH said now still so early lah - worry so much for what....haha so maybe settle my bridal package first lor. Which bridal boutique did you sign up with ?

cat13

Hi Meimei,
Thanks for the prompt respond. My bridal shop is Flamingo. Yeah u still hv more than a yr to go. By then mayb there's better deco idea.

Hi Sweetie,
U look stunning!!! So pretty n ur pics r very well taken. Thanks for sharing these gd stuffs.
Where d u go 4 the outdoorshoot? Sorrie if this question had been asked ealier in the forum.
Really envy ur figure now. Had been exercis'g very hard but only slight improvement on the tummy but not the butt. Any more advise? Thanks in advance

sweetiee

Hi Cat13,

Thanks a lot.
Those that you've seen were taken at a conservation shophouse at my office area, and at the studio itself. Other than that, we also went to an antique shop for a retro effect, as well as bontanic gardens.

How about doing leg lift? Think it should help on firming the butt too. Dunno why, I stop exercising but my butt keeps going down... no butt also not nice leh :p Anyway, dun be too hard on yourself ok, sometimes it's also becoz you see your own body everyday so you kinda feel that the result is slow...
Join us more often at the dieting thread, we always exchange notes over there too. I also keep reminding myself to continue to be disciplined...

meimei

Is anyone planning any video presentation for your wedding - wonder if the ballroom in OPH has that kind of facilities and any idea on the charges (e.g. for projector etc.)

katie

thanx for consoling me....i guess i can't click with him. Anyway, good-luck to all the OPH brides

sweetiee

hi meimei,

Yes, am planning video pres but think OPH charges quite ex for the projector rental... $500 if I'm not wrong.

Hi Katie,

All the best to your wedding prep too! So any other hotels are you looking at? Which bridal shop have you signed up?

hwee

Hi meimei,

I'm intending to have a video presentation too! But I don't recall it is that expensive to rent a projector from OPH. I think it something like $350. MM charges about $450. I think someone in another topic mentioned that you can rent one at a lower rate from Sim Lim Sq. We have no problem getting a multimedia projector from our office, so we do not need to rent one. OPH will provide us with the screen at no additional cost.

sweetiee

Hi Hwee,

Oh really? OPH will provide the screen? Oh good... coz I just need that... probably borrowing the projector from my church.

meimei

Hi hwee, sweetiee,
yes, that's great news. Do you know if the normal projector that we use in the office is good enough ? I guess we have to bring our own laptop, right.
Did u get your bridal places to do the video presentation or something you are working on your own ? How are the charges like for the bridal boutiques to do it ?

hwee

Hi Sweetie & meimei,

Eric did include a remark in my contract that they will provide the screen. But, you know it is like an OHP screen. My hubby will be doing the presentation. Meimei, u can actually get some of your friends to help you do it and then give them an angpow later.

sweetiee

Hi Meimei,

Oh no, I'll get frenz to help... But the bridal boutque doesn't normally do it. More like the videographer. Have you got someone to do videography?

Hi Hwee,

Ok, in that case I'll try to negoitate with him again... hopefully he's flexible. Frankly, we've also placed a rental fee for the ballroom from 12 noon onwards (becoz we've a church wedding as well and the ballroom rental has to be a half a day thingy) so the screen should be included lah...

meimei

Hi hwee, sweetiee,
Thanks. I will have to get Eric to make that note as well. How about the projector - will those that we use in the office be powerful enough ?

cat13

Hi Sweetie,

Thanks for the encouragement.
Shall look out for the diet'g tips under the thread. Hope I'll look gd like u dur'g my photoshoot next Jan.
Though long way to go but I'm the type tat put on wt when stress.

Hi Katie,
Thanks. Gd luck to u too. Hope u find the hotel that u wan.

I was hop'g to put up a video presentation too. However, my hubby is not so keen. Still try'g to persuade him.....

hwee

Hi Sweetiee,

If your posting above meant for Cat13? U must be thinking too much of me.... heeheehee.... just kidding lah.

For the projector screen, I think there is no addition price to pay. This was what Eric told me even before I signed up. Don't even need to negotiate for it! Also, your wedding is on New Year Day, right? I don't there will be any companies holding conference on this day. So the screen should available for whole day lah!

meimei- Yap the normal projector is good enough! I saw one wedding there and they used the portable projector. And of course,u have to bring your own notebook!

sweetiee

Hi Hwee,

Oh ya, it was meant for Cat13 ;p
Ya lah, must be thinking too much abt you... heee....

Ya lor, that's why I was thinking since we're renting the ballroom from 12 noon, we should be entitled the usage of the OHP screen FOC lah... But thanks for letting me know abt that... will go pester Eric later. ;p

cat13

Hi Sweetie,

Too many postings for u, blur liao

My photographer is Barnabas fr Photospace.

sweetiee

Hi cat13,

Hee hee, ya lor *scratch head*...

By the time you take pictures, I would be married liao... but pls do share your pics with me ya?? Will still wanna hang around in this forum after honeymoon... hee.

Hi Sweetie and meimei,

Thank you for your help. will be calling Eric soon...

meimei, Regent is having a promotion now too. It will be valid till next month. I won't be booking with them cos the minimum booking for the grand ballroom is 40 tables and I don't want so many. Also, their smaller rooms (max 20 tables) is too small cos my FH's relatives will take up 15 tables already.

I'm seriously considering OPH cos the food is by Tung Lok group. I had my ROM reception at Spice Garden (same as Cat13) too. All my guests enjoyed the food very much esp. my parents in law. They are pretty critical about food so I think I should be safe than sorry.

meimei

Hi mint,
Seems like you have the same concern as me which is why I could not choose Regent. I only need around 25 tables so Regent's ballroom does not really fit. BTW, how many tables are you looking at and is it a weekday or weekend ? What are hotels have you seen so far ?
I will be going down to try the food at club Chinos next week with my parents as it is their wedding anniversary hence I'll get a chance to taste their food. Will update u gals then.

sweetiee

Hi Mint & meimei,

Hey actually I've also considered Regent before but it's also due to the fact that I would need only around 25 tables and their smaller ballroom is just too small. Then the moment I learnt that OPH has the date we wanted and the food is by Club Chinois, we decided almost instantly.

cat13

Hi Sweetie,

Sure. How to reject? U so swweeeeettt.....

So where r u go'g 4 ur honeymoon? kaypo kaypo a bit heheheeee...

Regent was 1 of my choice b4 sign'g with OPH. If ur wed'g falls on the weekday, they won't mind to let u use their main ballrm even the min table is not reached. The food was prepared by the resturant in the hotel - Summer Palace. Quite gd. Hv tasted it dur'g one of our company meet'g. Do contact Evelyn or Vincent for details. They r very helpful.

sweetiee

Hi cat13,

Hee hee... thanks lah.

We're planning to go NZ, southern part, free n easy, self-drive thingy. But frankly we haven't started our planning yet! ;p

Hi Sweetie and meimei,

My wedding will be on a weekend (nov 2002). But I still haven't decide whether to have the banquet on a sat or sun cos I'm having a church wedding on sat and may be too tired after that. I also think it will be quite rush.

I'm probably having about 30 tables (max 35). I've seen Marriot (FH don't like the food), Ritz (too ex), Sheraton towers (L-shape so don't like), Grand Plaza (so-so only), Grand Hyatt (nice but a bit above budget). So now looking at OPH.

I called Eric today and he seemed pretty friendly over the phone. He'll be faxing to me the quotations for packages then will let my FH see first then we go down and look at the ballroom and decor. I also a bit kiasu, told Eric to put my name down for the date that I want first.

sweetiee

Hi mint,

Oh then I think you're looking at the same month as meimei?

I'm also having a church ceremony but have arranged it to be at OPH too, before the banquet.

Anyway, all the best and hope things work out well for you.

meimei

Hi mint,
Mine is also in Nov 2002 and its a Sunday - so we will be Nov 2002 brides !!! I have some plans for a church wedding but not firm yet but it will most likely be a Sat and at our church as I think by the time my tea ceromony is over, it will be already 2pm (my family is quite big). Then may not have time for church and then rush down to hotel for makeup and dinner. BTW, what's your budget like ? Maybe can give u some recommendations lah.. KPO....

Hi sweetiee,
BTW, do u have plans for tea ceromony in the morning or is yours really early ? When will your church wedding start at OPH ? Is OPH doing the wedding deco and the food for the church wedding as well ?

Hi sweetiee,

Hi meimei,

No lah...not KPO at all....I would welcome the recommendations...my FH's family is very big, that's why I may need to think about having the banquet on Sunday instead....My budget for the banquet is preferably less than $700 per table. Hope can find some place nice with such a low budget.

sweetiee

Hi meimei,

Oh dun think our tea ceremony is gonna be that early... Wanna get enuf beauty sleep mah!
hee hee. What happen is, my hub is taiwanese so all his relatives are not here. Just his direct family. And I dun have many relatives too. So we're trying to arrange for the church blessing ceremony at around 5.30 pm at OPH since most who are invited for the church will be invited for the banquet as well. Then they needn't hang around for too long before the banquet starts. In fact that's our 'plot' to start the banquet timely...

Erm, Eric just throw in the cocktail after the church wedding (before the banquet) since we told them that we'd reckon our frenz to mingle around there. So there won't be any food since banquet will start within an hour's time. We're using the same ballroom, just blocking out half of it since there are just around 100 invited guests to the ceremony... so decor should be done up by then as well.

Hi meimei,

Just wanna ask you a few questions cos me blur like sotong. Have you chosen your bridal boutique? Is it too early to choose now? Must we make an appointment when we want to go down to view the gowns? Some pple say not to make an appt so we can see what kind of service they give.

meimei

Hi sweetiee,
Quite a good idea then u can start your dinner timely as well and have a church cermony.

Hi mint,
No, have not chosen my bridal boutique yet but I heard a lot of good comments on JWN so already more or less set on JWN. I'll be going down to see them next week.Not sure if u need to make an appointment first. But I read some bridal magazines and some did indicate u need to make an appointment first. Maybe u can call up first.

For hotels, u can try places like HIPV (they are having a promotion which ends in Sept), Crown Prince, Corthorn Harbour View hotel. They fit your budget for weekends and not too bad. OPH is also one of them. You can write to me if u need more info, my email address is [email protected]

sweetiee

Hi mint,

You can leave me your email add so that I can email you some bridal shots which I have done with JWN recently... to help give you a better idea. I'm quite happy with what they've offered so far. Or you can also email me at [email protected]

Hi Sweetiee,

Thank you for your help. really appreciate it. At least not so 'sotong' now...Thanks for the invitation too...but I'll give it a miss...will go bridal shopping some other time....now need to think of the reno of the flat...