Orchard Parade Hotel-Club Chinos

sweetiee

Hi mint,

No worries.
In fact for our case we decided to get married in less than a year's time, if not I'd not be 'forced' to pick things up so fast! Hee hee. Actually this forum is quite a good place to pick things up, so do hang around here more often for ideas. All the best to your wedding prep.

Hi meimei and sweetiee,

I went to view OPH's ballroom and managed to speak to Eric. We have not confirmed yet but more or less decided on it. The gold theme was quite nice from the photos. Will be confirming our booking soon. Anyway, did any of you go for the food tasting? How was it?

meimei

Hi mint,
I did not go for the food tasting that day. I went there with my parents but they were having a wedding that night at Club Chinos so it was really crowded. We decided to leave for dinner at another place. But my FH went for a wedding dinner a few weeks ago at Club Chinos and he said that the food is good. For me, I just tasted their tim sum during their recent wedding show and overall, their food is good.
My FH said that Club Chinos chief advisor chief has changed from Suser Lee to a main chief from Four Seasons. Maybe u can check with Eric.
Which package are u looking at ?
As there are 2 meimei in the banquet forum, I have changed my nick to Meimei (caps in first M) to avoid confusion.
Have u pick your bridal package yet ?

Hi Meimei,

I'm looking at either the superior or deluxe cos both are within budget. I have not picked my bridal package yet. Will be going boutique shopping soon.

meimei

Hi mint,
I have personally seen their gold theme several time before deciding and it looks good. BTW, when's your wedding ?
Me too, still looking around for my bridal package. Maybe we can share our comments later. :)

Hi Meimei,

My wedding will be 23 Nov 2002. The banquet will be 24 Nov 2002. I thought you went to JWN to check out their gowns?

Hi Sweetiee,

Thanks. enjoy the meal.

ham wey

Hi ple,

i'm just wondering if anybdy wld like to buy over my package at Club Chinos? I've placed a deposit with them for 28/9/2002. however i'm willing to let it go at a loss coz i cant use this place. Interested pls e-mail me at [email protected]. Just in case u ple r wondering, my wife has also `advertise' bf under the nick lilian, [email protected].

Thx!

ee

hi ham wey,

how much are you willing to give it up? btw, how many tables you have booked and why?

ham wey

Hi Ee,

i've booked 30 tables, which is the max already. As my parents may invite more relatives, and club chinos cant increase anymore tables, that's y i have to give it up.

I've already paid a depost of $2000 and i'm looking at giving it up at $1800. However i'm willing to negotiate. Thx!

sweetiee

Hi arctic_hare,

How is the food? I'll be having my wedding dinner there on 1st Jan and food tasting this sun. So should you have any comment or suggestion, feel free to let me know so that I can take note during the food tasting.

head pain

Sweetiee, I also attended a dinner there recently. Food was generally quite good, but the service level was inconsistent. The waitress serving our table had a surly face all night and kept banging away at the crockery when changing the plates. Also knocked on the guests heads a few times while changing the plates w/o apologizing. But to be fair to the serving staff, some other waiters who served/refilled drinks to our table were very polite and efficient.

sweetiee

Hi head pain,

ok, thanks for the feedback...
Sometimes I guess it's really tough to get consistent service from everyone especially some of these waiters or waitresses can be part-timers. When I was there on Tue nite to finalise something with the banquet manager, there was also a dinner going on. When we sorta walked past and peeked into the ballroom, the service staff who passed by were generally quite polite. Just hope the waitress that you were referring to won't be on duty on my wedding day! ha ha.

arctic_hare

Hi Sweetie,

The waitress who served my table is alright. Polite and smiling. Food wise... it's edible but not fantastically appetizing.

My friend, the bride, mentioned that when she went for her food tasting... it was different from when she went for a casual meal. They told her that the banquet chef is different from the normal chef, which explains why the

wiz

Hi Artic,

Were you in the Antica Ballroom II? I was there for a friend's wedding too. Thought that the food is quite alright. They served vegetarian food too. But I didn't really like the shark's fins, that is all.... I guessed what is most important is that both my friends looked so happy and relaxed. Felt happy for them....

juan

Hi Sweetie,

Juz had my wedding last last week at OPH. Overall was quite ok, service quite gd. But juz pay notice to the following:
1. bring ur contract along. they miscalculated the cost of our carpark coupons.
2. chk the final calculations. in our case, they did double-counting on the figures, ie. they take $100 x 3% = $103. Then take $103 x 1% to get the final amt.
3. hv someone who was able to sit through the whole wedding banquet proper to be with you when u settle ur bill to give their feedback & pinpoint any thing missing from wat was agreed. In our case, we were so busy that nite that we didn't realize that they did not serve one dish the way it was agreed. they were supposed to serve the fish with fried soy crumbs. we had that written on contract. But that day, they served plain steamed fish & coz we were too busy, we didn't know until the next day when our relatives asked.

But overall, they were quite cooperative. All the best & enjoy ur day!

Juan.

arctic_hare

Hi Wiz,

Were there more than one wedding a night at OPH? I usually don't remember which ballroom I went to.

Agree with you on the shark fins soup... who has ever seen such orange-coloured shark fins soup. As for other food, this is a subjective matter, I must say. Got vegetarian food meh?? cannot recall...

But overall, had a good time there. Sitting with familiar faces and chatting with them.

What touches me most is the powerpoint presentation the couple did for all their friends. Never imagine that I would see my face on the projector screen. *teary eyes*

I am glad they are happy too.

arctic_hare

Hi Galaxy.

No. Didn't find it to be so.

The room is not very big (understood from the bride that she only have about 20 tables). I believe stage is visible even to the furthest table.

The room is cold, though. It's not new, but it's not that old too, I believe.

The tables are rather small (should be comfy for 8 persons, but 10 persons could be a little cramped.)

As for the bridal suite, it is different from the other bridal suites I have been to. It's a one room suite. You can see all corners of the room from the door. But the room is big.

Have you been there yet?

moon_little

Hi artic hare,

I have only been to the Reds Cafe and Club Chinos at OPH hotel for dinner... never been there for wedding. My brother booked them for his wedding next year. Just want to find out more for him.

As for myself, still long time to go......

sweetiee

Hi artic hare, Wiz & Juan,

Thanks for all your feedback!

In fact, we dun fancy sharkfins but the banquet manager keeps persuading us to leave it. Their other option is Lobster soup, but it's a western styled cream base one, so I thot it may not go with the rest of the typical chinese dishes. Hmm, we'll probably try it this sun and if it is not to our liking, we'll change it. Any other soups you gals can suggest? They also suggested another one which is the black chicken herbal soup. What do you think?

Hey Juan, BTW can I check what did you have for the platter? I dun like the original one... Do you know if we do go for the food tasting, it is still relatively ok for us to make changes? Like subsitute certain stuff? So do we need to bring our contract along to make sure that they put it in? Would appreciate your advice.

wiz

Hi Artic hare,

Guess we were in the same dinner... M.K and T's wedding right? Hee, thought it was a wonderful presentation. For the video, I heard that they paid pple to do it..

Where are you having your dinner?

juan

Hi Galaxy,

Nope. The ambience is not "china" coz the decor is pretty westernized. Even with us choosing the gold decor theme :pP. In fact, one of my friends commented that she liked the ballroom decor, very simple & cozy :>.

Sweetie,
We changed the first platter to the more usual ones - prawn salad, baby optopus, spring rolls, jelly, duckmeat. If you want to change, let Eric know for your food tasting. We forgot &amp; had the original platter for food tasting which our families hated :<.
During the food tasting, u will be given a feedback form. Basically take your time through the food tasting, fill in the comments dish by dish (that way u have more actual feedback). Do ask Eric to arrange for a private room for ur food tasting (more privacy, insist that both families need to discuss things hehehe). They will collect the feedback form from you after the food tasting and Eric is supposed to call you the next day or so regarding the food tasting. Ask from them a copy of the feedback form for your own record. You are still quite free to substitute &amp; discuss changes on the menu.

Yes, bring your contract along. Have it kept in the room or with someone u trust. It will solve lots of hassle coz by the time you pay your bills, Eric would have gone home &amp; the Banquet Manager may not know where is their copy of the contract.

All the best. Enjoy!

Juan.

arctic_hare

Hi Wiz.

Yup, the video presentation was done up by others - academy video. You can see their name at the very end.

My wedding is in June and am having it at Four Seasons.

sweetiee

Hi Juan,

Thanks a lot for your information! They're certainly helpful.

Hey, and I think I forgot to congratulate you!
Here's wishing you a blessed marriage!

head pain

Strange, the sharks fin soup didn't look orange to me ... But I found the ambience a bit lacking, maybe because the ballroom is quite cramped with tables.

dove

hi Juan,

Did you pay extra for changing the 1st dish?
Are you using their invite? I am thinking of getting my own invite but forget to ask Eric whether they will refund us any $$.

Hi sweetiee,

My fren attended a wedding dinner said the couple changed the sharkfin soup to birdnest soup.

gas

Hi Juan,

May I know wat types of flowers &amp; colour of the flowers you are using for the gold theme? thanks a lot.

sweetiee

I went to the food tasting the other day. Every dish was good! I mean, I'm the type who can be quite fussy with food but every dish was great. Even the shark fins. Oh it din look orange or taste weird to me. In fact, it's probably amongst the best that I've tasted. So I think we're probably keeping it.

Hi gas,

If I'm not wrong, white lilies are used.

cat13

Hi Sweetiee,

Thanks for sharing the info. How r u feeling now? Excited n happy?
Gald tat the food tasting went well.

Take care n enjoy the festive holidays!

sweetiee

Hi arctic_hare &amp; cat13,

Thanks a lot for your well wishes! I can't wait to come back and share the joyous experience with you gals.

Here's wishing you gals a happy new year and a fruitful year 2002.

juan

Hi Gas,

Sorri for the late reply. Was away :p.

We used a gold theme for backdrop &amp; white theme for flora decor (ie. white roses, daisies and some other flowers). They arranged standing flora bouquets with candles along the aisle all the way to the stage, &amp; on it.

Hope this description helps :>

Juan.

hwee

Hi Juan,

Seems like the floral arrangement changed a bit, isn't it? When I signed up, I dun remember there is candles on the floral stands. Also I remeber they only have red lilies or white lilies floral arrangement to select. Did u make a special arrangement with the florist?

juan

Hi Hwee,

No leh, we jus asked for white flora theme &amp; got that. Ask Eric for their latest decor themes, you may get pleasantly surprised :>

All the best &amp; Happy New Year!

:>> Juan.

hwee

Hi Juan,

Do u mean they have new deco themes apart form the standard white &amp; gold theme?
Heehee... can't wait to know more.

BTW, do they still give the std plain ivory chair covers for the VIP tables? I remember someone in the forum mentioned that they have changed to those with sash behind.

juan

Hi Hwee,

No. Jus hoping that they will hv new decor themes by your time :> Jus ask Eric, it never hurts :>

Oh yes, they do hv sashes for VIP Chairs now. We also asked for gold table cloth for the VIP tables. :pP

snowcat

I'm new to this thread. I've also decided to book with CC. I went to the Wedding Banquet Exhibition at Suntec today and spoke to Eric. They had a 15% discount for every table for any TungLok Restaurant except CC.

Your comments really helped alot! I was deciding between Century Roxy and CC, but I think I still trust Tunglok's food. Century Roxy still abit new. But my next headache is having to rent 2 projectors for the projector screens. Any of you went to banquet at Antica II? How did the couples project the movie clips on the screens?

hwee

Hi snowcat,

CC will provide the projector screen foc. But not sure if they can provide more than 1 screen.

AS for the projector, someone fm this forum mentioned that she got it from Sim Lim at $150 including delivery and set up. Maybe u can check it out.

arctic_hare

Hi snowcat,

I think service is really dependent on the experience you had with the waiter/ waitress. Attended a wedding dinner in December. The waitress who served my table is polite and smiling at all times. Oh... and efficient too.

btw, why are you thinking of renting 2 projectors? isn't one enough?

sweetiee

We just had our wedding dinner at OPH on New Year Day. Overall, I must say CC mangagers/person-in-charge we deal with - Kelvin and Joseph, are very helpful! They're pretty experienced and professional. We had a church wedding before the dinner and although we started the ceremony slightly later, they managed to turn around the ballroom in time for the dinner. We told them we wanted very much to start our dinner early and we did it -Considerably good to start the dinner slightly past 8pm and ended it by 10.15 pm? When we stood outside to see the guests off, it took us a while to wait coz many ppl were still enjoying the dessert and happily chatting!

We were really happy to hear that many frenz also commented the food was great. When we went around for photo-taking, we hardly see any leftover! Many of our frenz like the cosy ambience for the ballroom. It was not huge so my suggestion is keep the amt of tables to just up to 27 max (ideally 25 + 2 reserve tables) although it can accomodate 30. We had 26 tables and it was just nice - not too packed and yet bustling with enough guests.

Erm, we din receive any complaints on service except from one friend from a particular table. Well, it is just that particular waiter. And I must say, such thing can be harder to control. Overall, the service is considered good. But we'll definitely give them our feedback to ask them to review this particular service staff's behaviour.

One more thing to note. If you do have any video presentation, have the screen placed on the side wall instead of on the stage. Coz one or 2 tables were actually blocked from the stage so they can't really get to enjoy them. If you've the video flashed onto the screen at the side wall (think right side is good), everyone should be able to view it, even those sitting at the other end... since the ballroom is not very big... And I guess, one screen should be enough.

All in all, I must say we did not regret our choice of choosing Club Chinois, and it is really worth considering for its good value for money.

Oh, and we really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast at CC the next morning. Simply sumptuous!

Of course, it all boils down to your expectation. If you want a more lavish celebration, the OPH ballroom may not be "grand" enough. But we wanted a simple and cosy wedding and it turned out that way, or better than we expected... at least many of my frenz sms us and told us that. I went home last nite and my mum told me that our wedding celebration was heartwarming and memorable.
The credit definitely also goes to many of our friends who helped out during the wedding, that we can have such a smooth-sailing celebration.
So here's my best wishes to all of you out there - who're still preparing for your wedding... enjoy the process, don't fret over minor details. Your smile makes a great difference. No matter how the celebration turns out, the joyous experiences are uniquely yours!