Orchard Parade Hotel-Club Chinos

hwee

hi jopej,

Yes, I had a slide show during my dinner. OPH provides the screen and I borrowed the projector from my office.

I did not prepare any emcee speech. We juz gave our friends( who are our emcee) the names of our parents and they can decide what they want to talk. Basically, we do not want them to talk as if they are reading a script.

Hope the above helps.

jopej

Hi Hwee,

U prepared your own slide show? So how you find the atmosphere without a proper mc? I am planning to do so as well. But quite worried.

hwee

Hi jopej,

The slide were done by my hubby and 2 of his friend were our MC. The atmosphere was normal...they only talk when neccessary, i.e. getting the guests ready during our march in, toasting, slide show etc. Should be quite okie cos most guest concentrate on eating and talking most of the time rather then what the MC is talking.

I just had my food tasting and now I have a few questions. My FIL is very particular about fish and he didn't like the seabass that we had for our food tasting. If we change the fish, do we need to pay extra? Also, there was a sea cucumber dish that was a little too spicy for us. Can we also change that? Any recommendations on what to change to? Other than that, the food was really good and we enjoyed the dinner very much.

hwee

Hi mint,

we cahnged teh cooking style of the fish to stema seabass with pickle radish. Dun ahev to pay at all. They have another option to upgrade the fish at $15, can't really remember what fish they gave.

The sea cucumber duish wsa quite nice nad unique. In fact, many of my guest like that dish. Suggest that u keep it in the menu.

seiko

Hi all !

has anyone held their weddding function at OPH CC,
who chose the PRESTIGE MENU ( the most ex 1? ). Now is comes wif a chauffeur driven ROLLS ROYCE for 12 hrs. The other cheaper packages were not included.

How the Food of the PROSPERITY package?

hwee

HI Seiko,

I has my wedding in OPH in June. Juz fyi, if u take the mid-price menu ($680++), u can bargain for the Rolls Royce too.

seiko

Congrats Hwee!

I reviewed their menu & find it more unique than most hotels ya?
Also tried the food at CC b4, lourveeeeeeee it.
wow, u mean there were couples who took the midpriced menu & managed to get the mgt 2 throw in the use of Rolls Royce? Wowwwwww

how was the feedback on food on yr wedding day ?

hwee

HI Seiko,

When I signed up, Eric actually "hinted" that he can throw in the Rolls Royce if I take the mid price menu. So u may want to try a neg for it.

The food was alright on my wedding. My SIL loves it and commented the presentation was very unique. But a friend complain on one of the mgr who always rush to clear their plates even before they finish the food.

seiko

Tks 4 the info Hwee, I will be attending the wedding show at OPH this sun. it'll be a gd time to peek at the ballrm & enquire bt the packages.
I actually have lots of confidence in the food. Most ladies i talked to say the food is impt n that guests will remember the food many yrs down the road. But my FH & guy frds thinks the ambience
is more impt. When i decided to choose a hotel, OPH 1st came to mind. I was quite certain of it.
But then, frds ard me kept telling to look at more ballrms b4 deciding. Aiya now shang(1) nao(3) jin(1).

sabrina

Hi Seiko
I booked my dinner at CC too as I luv their food that's why I book the restaurant. Hope you find the place that you luv.

Hi Hwee
Congrats that you have held your dinner. Believe it must have been a ultra magnificient affair. You mean we can actually ask them to change the table cloths? I thot it all comes with the theme that was chosen.

Hi Dol_Phin
Me getting married in June next year and I a bit kiasu - i booked Dec last year
and yes, June is a very popular month because most of Saturday dates are taken. Hope you have booked already.

seiko

has any bride here ( who engaged CC 4 their wedding dinner ) paid extra for the decoration of the ballroom? I understand that The package includes floral decorations ( as long as we keep to their budget ). Has any1 here exceeded the budget, & by how much may i ask?

Gd Morning & regards

hwee

Hi Sabrina,

U have choice of gold or red for the VIP tables. The rest I think they dun give u a choice.

Hi Seiko,

Have u seen the std deco? It's very nice. They juz change a florist in June and the stands now come with tealights etc. I find it so much nice than the previous florist

U can change the flowers and the florist will advise if u need to top up or not. The florist is located at demsey rd.

maybe

Hey, did any1 sign up with CC after last sunday wedding show ??? Did anyone of u get lots of perks ?? How do u find the ballroom, deco ???
Care to share ???

lollol

i missed the bridal show at CC. Can anyone share the perks that were thrown in? Considering CC for my dinner next yr.

Y

ynot !

Hi lollol, I had sign up with CC during the show.

Find myself not getting much actually... had not been bargain hard enough....

- 10% off on top of the package.
- 30% parking coupon
- free food tasting
- waiver of first 12 bottles of wine

Mine is on a weekday affair !

The ballroom is pretty small.... but cosy. dun expect a grand entrance/ march in... coz I do not think tat the place allow tat.. i mean, the aisle is pretty narrow... compa to the est of the hotel . Well, tat's my 2 cents worth... book the place bcoz of its location/ resonable price.

So, Ynot !!!
Anyone else can share with yr perks as well... What do u think abt the ambience then and the florist deco ???

lollol

Ynot

think the 10% off is a good deal. I didn't know
there was a bridal show n went to view the ballrm
only yesterday. Small n cosy, i plan to have 23-25 tables, so the 2 pillars should be ok. How many tables u having?

noticed that the ballroom is just below the disco n the staircase leading to the ballroom smelled of smoke when we were there. Did the thumping of the disco affect any Chinois bride? Also, has any1 got any comments abt their Muslim menu? I will have 1 table for that.

Y

ynot

lollol, mine is ard 25 tables as well. I'm sorry... are u referring to Modesto or any others ?? i do not think tat its much of a problem on the sound. Shd not be tat bad afterall... and who knows, yr guest maY LIKE IT if yrs is held on a weekend ! hehe....

keep me informed if u raelly book them.
By the way, did u view the ballro0m when it is dress up ? wat do u think ?

juzme

i just had my banquet at club chinois.. 29 tables in total. every1 commented that the food n service was excellent. they r efficient too.

the ballroom is basically garden / floral theme and it looks cosy and romantic

Y

ynot !

Hi Juzme and choya, do u have any pixs to share on the hotel set up....

choya

Hi Ynot & Eileen,

Sorry, I did not have a scanner, so I'm not able to show u some of my pictures. Maybe u like to make an appt with CC to take a look at the ballroom deco when there is a wedding going on?

maybe

Hi Choya, I am still wondering to book with CC ... Hhhmmmm...

Could u pls advise the following :-

Do u have a slide show during the dinner ... I find that the stage is pretty small... do u think all guest ( say 25 tables ) is able to see the show ?? Next, how is the hotel room.. is it nice and big ??? which flr is that ? Does it comes with complimentary fruit basket ? Is there any bath tub? How many people do u think it can accomodate in the room ?

Sorry for bombarding u with lots of Question..

Y

ynot !

Hi Choya, tat's ok... Congralution on yr big day !

Hi Eileen, gald to have u ard . When is yr wedding date ?

Hi maybe, u may like to place a tentative booking first if u are really interested...

eileen

Hi Choya - It's ok.

Hi Ynot! - My wedding day is on the 22 Jun 2003. I signed up some months back before the show. The deals were more or less the same. I didnt have 10% off the package, but have free flow of beer (i booked at one of Tung Lok's promo shows). BTW, when is your wedding day?

choya

Hi Maybe,

I have 25 tables and a slide show. Only 2 tables will be blocked by the pillars. Eric will tell u which tables are blocked so that u can placed the "not-so-important" guest there.

The room I got was on level 5 or 6. It's quite big with a small "hall" section & the balcony faces Delfi Orchard. It's abt 1.5X the size of a normal room, but not a suite. There is only a double bed and probably another 2 pax can sleep on the floor or sofa.

There is a fruit platter and bath-tub.

abrinas

I booked at Club chinois too for 21 June 2003, one day before Eileen's. My deal is ard the same as Eileen's except mine's the 15% discount. But I do not have the waiver for wine (which is at $12++ per bottle) so maybe will not hv wine on the day.

Hi Juzme and Choya
Congratulations that your wedding's to your satisfaction. I now hv more confidence that my wedding dinner will be good from your positive posting.

eileen

Hi Abrinas

Quite a coincidence, isn't it? Think June is a popular month to choose for wedding. Out of curiousity, other than the 15% discount, do you have free flow of beer?

abrinas

Hi Eileen

Ya, chose June cos FH works in a school and it will be easier for him to be on leave and also for the guests too.

There's a choice of either the 15% discount or the free flow of beer. We decided on the 15% cos the savings is much more than hving the beer and I think a barrel is enuf for my wedding. That's why I did not take the free flow of beer.

eileen

Hi Abrinas

True, a 15% upfront discount is better. Too bad, Eric didnt offer me this as a choice.. Have you chosen your bridal package?

dilemma

I have placed a tentative date with OPH but are hesisitant over a few things.

1) No free flow of beer.(But we manage to negotiate for waiver of corkage for wine)
2) The food ($600) package seeems a bit weird, has anyone taken up this package? can share.
Tot of changing some dishes...
3) We have free food tasting so tot of trading in that for free flow of beer since CC food shoudn't be that bad afterall.

Anyone can advise on the above, tks so much.

Dilemma

eileen

Hello Abrinas

Sorry abt the late reply. I was out of SIN. Anyway, I am booked with Flamingo and more or less have decided on the WG cut (but not the gown details), so now, pretty relax...

Hi Dilemma

I initially do not have the free flow beer but got it at the end thru a promo. If you have invitees who are beer drinkers, perhaps this is critical in some sense.

I remember before the promo, with the minimum of 25 tables, CC provides complimentary food tasting for 10 persons and one 30 ltrs barrel beer free. But this may have changed now. I supppose you can always try to talk to Eric and see what he says.

I got the $600 pkg (weekend, 9 course). It seems alright to me. If you have special requests, think Eric will try to accommodate if possible.

dilemma

Hi Eileen,

Tks for sharing.

I had already book the package with OP jus yesterday
. BTW, how come there's 9 course, did you include the last dish in as well?

meekoo

i had also booked the package with them during promo 15% discount for banquet... still need to pay for the beer.

i dislike the tablecloth in green. anyone had ever request to change?

hi choya

u mentioned slide show. they have this service?

dilemma

Hi meeko,

Thats a good deal, 15%....
Why is the table cloth in green? I tot they have the white and pink theme, something like that, can't really recall.

I think they don't provide the projector, you have to get it urself.

joanne

i just had my wedding not too long ago in OPH..
all my friends commented that their services really sucks... i cannot deny it... cos many plates were broken and etc...
plse do remind eric not to engage new waiter or waitress for ur wedding....
ya, they dun provide projector.. we source it ourselves...
regd
joannelps

Hi joanne lim,

I also had my wedding there in Nov...but the service was alright...I didnt hear any bad comments at all about the service...

Hi meekoo,

Our table cloth was white(for the guests) and gold (for the VIP)

joanne

hi mint
i understand what u mean... i attended my friend;s wedding.. the service was good as well in that restaurant... so count it my "luck" to have so many plates broken by the same waitress... with my guest;s clothes being dirtied and they took a whole plate of dish which is not finished away without asking....etc,,, just my luck then ... sigh,,,,
regd
joanne

dilemma

Hi Joanna,

I heard abt this when my friend attended a wedding there and witness the waitress broke few glasses. Ya, guess its very much dependent on your luck that this happens.

I have also booked my weddding there (sept 2003). Jus have to pray that everything will go smoothly.

Hi joanne,
maybe the waitress is still very new so a bit clumsy...

dilemma,
let eric know about this matter...say you read it in the SB forum...maybe he will give you better waiters...

eileen

Hi Dilemma

I almost missed out your question..I do hv 9 courses (last one is the dessert) for my pkg cos I booked it quite some time ago and I know that there's a change in menu recently...

BTW, I checked with Eric recently and he informed that there are 4 weddg card designs to choose now. Anyone seen them before? How nice they look?

dilemma

Hi Eileen,

I have the wedding card samples with me and I really don't like the designe. 3 of them I think are in ivory and one in Red. There's one that wraps up like a gift and looks quite unique. Guess I will take that one. You can pick it up from Eric when you pass by the Hotel.

eileen

Hi Dilemma

Thanks, will do that. When's yr wedding? Any idea which theme you will be choosing at CC? Have you booked your bridal package yet?