Orchard Parade Hotel-Club Chinos

evelyn

Anybody has attended any wedding dinner at Orchad Parade hotel? Heard that the food is not bad.

monica eng

I had my wedding there this June!!! It was fantastic. The food was great. All my guest called back to compliment. Even my grandma was happy with the food. I like the set up too.
San san from Club Chinois was a great help. We even got free barrel of beer. If you are booking, book direct from San San from Club Chinois. U get better more freebies. Dinner will stilled be held at Orchard Parade Hotel Ball Room.

evelyn

HI MONICA,
GLAD THAT YOU HAD A WONDERFUL DINNER AT CLUB CHINOIS. I HAVE JUST SIGNED UP WITH SAN SAN
FOR MY WEDDING NEXT YEAR. BUT HOW DID YOU MANAGE TO GET A FREE BARREL OF BEER FROM HER???? 8P
SO HOW WAS THEIR SERVICE AND THE SOUND SYSTEM?
THESE ARE SOME OF MY BIGGEST WORRIES.

monica eng

hello Evelyn,
I persuaded her to give. Juan got one too.
Did you sign up directlyu with CC or with OPH? Service was great and sound system also good. We took the white and gold, green theme. I told them no red. I didn't like the red white lilies used. San san was a great help. And their Manager Kevin also very good. They absorb all corkage charges. My dad brought his own crate of Stout to the hotel and Kevin only charge me a flat rate of $30.00. We also brought in duty free liquor. They willing to close one eye open one eye. Dinner was a big success. you made the right choice!!!

juan

Hi Evelyn,

Yup, we got a complimentary 30l barrel of beer. When did you sign up with them? Mabbe you can call up to request for that free beer. Try asking, no harm done I think, cos Sansan is really very nice!!!

Hope you get your requests.

:> Juan.

evelyn

Hi Monica and Juan,
Thks for the advice and info given. I have signed up with her recently about 2 weeks back. But becos there are many many takers for that date I have chosen that why maybe she did not try offering me any free beer? Btw, Monica, what do you mean by CC and OPH?
And Juan, have you held your wedding dinner already or is yours coming soon?

monica eng

CC = Club Chinois
OPH = Orchard Parade HOtel

Heheheh lazy lah : þ

evelyn

Hi Juan,

Guess mine will be before yours, on Nov next year.
Maybe I can share with you my experiences of the dinner after my wedding :p
So, have you signed up for any bridal package yet?
Still shopping around, dun know which to choose.

Anyway, I signed up directly with San San (CC). Guess I will give her a call.

juan

Hi Evelyn,

Yes, yes, please share your experience of the dinner with me. So when are you going for the food-tasting? We should be having the food-tasting in Jun/Jul next yr, will yours be earlier? Let's keep each other updated in our "dealings" with CC ;>.

Guess I am very ks, got my bridal pacakge already, with Margaret Brides. When I was choosing my package, we had a budget in mind, but the ability to "click" with the designer was the deciding factor. Shop around by all means, & try as many gowns as you are allowed in each shop, so that you can find out what you really like.

All the best & WELCOME TO OUR CLUB!!!

Juan.

ps. Join us on Wed chatroom, we usually chat a lot on a lot of topics. Mabbe useful for your search ;>.

caira

Hi, has anyone signed up with Club Chinois recently? Do they still waive the service charge?

I understand that Sun Sun is no longer there, how is the new catering manager there?

monica eng

Hi Caira,
Last I heard they had included service charge in. did you sign up with Club chinois itself or with Orchard parade? You get more freebies if you sign up with the restaurant itself. Not sure bout the new manager but how do you find him personally? Comfy?? On the actual day it was the Guy catering manager that made the exception for me to bring our own Stout and DFS liquor. "shhhhhhh"
But be assured that the food is UMPHHHHHH!!!
Fantabulous. YUM

ling

Anyone know if they do for 12/15 tables? Its stated in this site that the minimum tables is 20. Thanks

vanessa

Hi Caira,

I'm Vanessa and I've signed up with Club Chinois and Shan Shan was still there. Now, the new Manager-In-Charge is Eric.

I don't think Club Chinois will do for 12/15 tables because my contract stated minimum no. of tables is 20.

chin leng

You may want to give Club Chinois a call and they may be able to accomodate your request. However, you may require to pay slightly more.

sunflower

Hi Monica,

Did you booked your wedding with Club Chinos as well? I know Club Chinos offers 3 types of menus. Which did u take? I'm deciding on the $600 or $680 menu. Depends on budget. I'm wondering if the food will be tasty too for those cheaper menus. Do you know?

cleopatra

Eric made a blunder for my wedding reservations. He lost my email address and did not bother to ask me again despite having my pager no. I had to contact him again. He did not check with the hotel about my date and when I wanted to sign my contract with them,he told me that the date taken up a long time ago! I was at a loss and it wasted my time and effort with all the liaising. I was so exasperated with him. BTW,is Eric the catering manager Monica was referring to? I thought he was only the Banquet Manager?

vanessa

Dear Cleopatra,

I really feel sorry for what you've been through, now that you have to start all over sourcing for an ideal location again. May I know which date you are looking at? Actually, I'd spoken to him recently regarding my banquet, he's quite a nice guy. Maybe he just took over Shan Shan, that's why he's a bit blurr. Please don't despair. Let's just take it as a little test for you & your hubby. Nothing is wasted as long as the two of you hold hand in hand along the long path in life. There's a proverb in chinese saying "Sai4 Weng1 Si1 Ma3, Yan1 Zhi1 Fei1 Fu2". Maybe you'll get something better in return of losing this deal. Best of Luck in your Wedding Planning!!!

cleopatra

Dear Vanessa,
Thanks for consoling me. In fact, I am looking into Conrad and Regent (where I am going to have my dinner). Maybe it is a blessing in disguise after all!

mengmeng

I'm trying to get things clear. Kinda confuse who is who.

Q1. Who should we approach for package quote?
Q2. Club Chinos Manager or Hotel F&B manager?
Q3. What's the contact no. for Shan Shan?
Q4. What's the attractive part of holding in ClubChinos?

Thanks for all suggestions!

vanessa

Dear mengmeng,

Here is the picture. Actually, Orchard Parade Hotel is not in charge of the banquet. The whole event is handled by the Club Chinois Restaurant itself, which is situated inside Orchard Parade Hotel. The Hotel's job only covers renting the ballroom and bridal suite to Club Chinois Restaurant. The telephone no. for Club Chinois is 8340660 and the person-in-charge of the banquet is Eric, who is also the Assistant Manager of Club Chinois. Shan Shan is no longer there.

These are what attracted me to book with the Hotel:-
1)The food for the banquet is better than what you get at other Hotels at the same price because it is prepared by Club Chinois, which is a branch of Tung Lok;
2)You do not have to pay a single cent for the chair covers as it is free;
3)The location is centralised in Orchard and price quoted is considered reasonable;

Moreover, the personnels from Club Chinois are nice to talk to, not like some "high class" hotel which I went to whose personnels thinks they are really class and forgotten everything about SERVICE.

Hope I'm not too "Lor Soh" and Hope this could help you get a better picture. Bye!

mengmeng

Hi Vanessa,

Thanks for your information. Appreciate your input. You're not Loh Soh, just elaborating details. That's good!! I got a better picture now.

So when is your wedding? Also where are you having your photoshooting? Any good and reasonable one?

Thanks again!
mengmeng

vanessa

Dear mengmeng,

Sorry for the late reply because I didn't check this site yesterday.

My Wedding is nailed on 27th September 2001 and my Photoshooting is on 27th June 2001 with Benny Ang as our Photographer.

I think he's really good. These are what I felt are some of the photographers who take good pics. They are StudioD'fia; Montage & Chris Ling.

I still feel Benny is the Best. I can't describe how. You'll know when you see his works. He's worth the trip. Anyway, all the above-mentioned photographers all charge a higher price if you book 'em separately from your bridal package. Maybe you like to pick your choice of photographer first b4 you run down to your desire bridal shop because some bridal shops may not be linked with the photographer you intended to take.

How abt you? How are your Wedding Plans now?

Vanessa

monica eng

Cleopatra,
Sorry to hear bout the blunder they made. During my time, San San was taking care of my wedding. And she did a great job. San san has left CC already. I hope Eric will do a good job for the rest of you who booked CC.

jocelyn

I'm planning for my wedding banquet next year somewhere in mid January but I'm still very undecisive about the hotel bookings.

I've visited the Concorde Hotel, package is pretty attractive but a bit inconvenient. Next on my list is Copthorne Harbour View Hotel & Orchard Parade Hotel.

Any suggestions or comments? Thanks!

Jocelyn

claire

Monica,

Did CC waive the corkage charges for the wines ?

For the food tasting CC will charges 50% of the menu right ?

Beside chair cover and beer , what other freebies you have ?

Claire

monica

HI Claire,
I got free food tasting for 6 ppl but end up we requested for one additional pax. So in the end we had free food tasting for 7 pax.

claire

Monica,

How are you manage to get the free food tasting ?
Is that because you got the max table (30) or the menu that you choose ?

monica eng

HI Claire,
I got 23 tables. My package came with a free food tasting for 6 pax. I persuaded them to add on more pax for my brother after that. I think San San was really good she gave me a very good bargain. But now she's no longer there. Not sure how the new guy is. No regrets thou. Food was fabulous. All my guest had plenty of good things to say bout the dinner.

cleopatra

Hi Vanessa,
i'm kinna "surprised" that there are actually 2 cleopatras around!! anyway,
you were saying that you chose CC cos' it's the heart of orchard rd, and also it's becos' in in OPH as well. come to think of it, hotel new otani has also a tunglok restuarant on the 4th level, i wonder how is the setup like and the food.

anybody have any comments on the tunglok rest. in new otani?

vanessa

DEAR CLEOPATRA,

ACTUALLY, THE TUNGLOK YOU MENTIONED IS NOT SITUATED IN HOTEL NEW OTANI. IT IS ACTUALLY IN LIANG COURT, WHICH IS NEXT TO HOTEL NEW OTANI. THE FOOD, AS USUAL, IS AS GOOD AS IT IS SAID. HOWEVER, THE SETTING IS NOT AN IDEAL PLACE FOR A WEDDING BANQUET BECAUSE THERE ARE PILLARS IN THE RESTAURANT AND SOME OF YOUR GUESTS WILL HAVE TO SIT INSIDE THE VIP ROOMS IS YOU ARE TAKING MORE THAN 20 TABLES. THESE PEOPLE IN THE ROOM WILL DEFINITELY FEEL OUTCASTED BECAUSE THEY CAN'T HAVE ANY VIEW OF WHAT'S HAPPENING OUTSIDE.

IN CASE YOU MAY ALSO BE INTERESTED IN HOTEL NEW OTANI, YOU MAY CONSIDER THEIR RESTAURANT "TAI-KAN EN". BUT THEY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH TUNKLOK AT THE LIANG COURT BECAUSE RESTAURANT TAI-KAN EN CAN ONLY CATER TO A MAX OF 25 TABLES. THE REST OF THE GUESTS WILL HAVE TO SETTLE IN THE VIP ROOM, WHICH ALSO COULD HARDLY HAVE ANY VIEW OF WHAT'S HAPPENING OUTSIDE. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO TRY FOR THE BALLROOM OF HOTEL NEW OTANI, YOU MUST HAVE A MIN TABLE OF 35 TABLES.

REGARDS,
VANESSA

jean

Hi, I've juz foud out that Club Chinos had completed their major revamp..
Has anyone been to their ballroom after their revamp, any comments?
Also, are there any update on their Service Standards so far?
The last time I was there was sometime in Dec2000.
My dinner will be in Nov2001..
Appreciate all's feedback..Thanx!

V

vivianti

last night i had our early mother's day dinner at club chinois.
there was a wedding banquet at the ballroom.
i took a peek into the ballroom.
I can tell you that the ballroom decor look very nice, with white flower (i think it's lily) for the decor theme.
It look very romantic. but they keep the light very dimmed. i think it part of the atmosphere they want to create.
but it look very dark. even when they having 'table to table yum sheng' the light was still very dimmed.

but overall i found the decor was nice done up.

jean

Thanks for the update, Viancis

Apart from the dim lightings, how's their service standards so far?

V

vivianti

wah, i really don't know about the service level.
as i told you that i just happened to be there for my dinner, so i was not the wedding guest.
but when i arrived there, the waitress of the banquet actually asked me whether i want drink or not. i just smiled away.

but if you are asking about club chinois service, then i should say very good.
As last night is the first time i dine there with my family, i didn't know that they served the food individually.
we all together 7 persons. so can you imagine 1 dish is around $8-14,-/individual.
how much will we spend???? so when we talked to the manager, he explained to us, that normally he advised customer to order only 3 servings for 7 persons like us. and he explained very clearly and give us advise. very nice gentleman.
Even when he saw that we wanna to go rest room, he opened the rest room door for us, and when we returned to our room, he rush to open the door for us. very good standard right!

jean

Wah..after listening to your updates, I think my worries earlier were redundant.
Appreciate your feedback, thanx again!

V

vivianti

no problem.

but i still suggest you to go down and take a look at the ballroom, because some people might not like the short pathway to the stage.

if you want a cozy place with your close relative and friends, then i think it's nice.

sunflower

Hi Jean & Viancis,

I was there for the wedding dinner on that monday.
For the service wise, i would say it is very good. Changes plates after every dish and refills drinks as soon as it reaches half glass.

But i agreed with Viancis that the ballroom is abit too dark. I wonder did they purposely dim down the lights or the ballroom could only use dim lights? For me i prefer a brighter ballroom after the march-in. also the entrance to the stage is abit short which i dont quite like.

As for the food i would say that some dishes are nice and some are ok only.

hwee

Sunflower,

How about the decor of the ballroom & stage? Is it nice?

Is their foyer too open to hold the cocktail reception?

sunflower

Hi Hwee,

I could not get a good view of the full stage as i was sitting at the side corner. Could only get the side view. For the decor, they have got white or ivory? seat covers for all the chairs (normal seat covers without bows behind) and ivory table cloths and light green, ivory napkins. For VIP tables were red tablecloth. The waitress and waiters were dressed in red chinese tops with black pants/ skirts. Overall abit of chinese, western fusion look. I think maybe they have too many tables abt 30 so the ballroom was abit cramp as well.

are u going to book Chinios, i was thinking of booking there too initially but is changing my mind becos i am reducing my tables to 15 and also i dont like the short entrance to the stage.

hope the info helps

sunflower

Hi Hwee,

Forgot to add, for the foyer it is a bit open. The foyer is abit like U shaped, where the ballroom is at the corner U and the resturant is at the U bottom. Hope u know what i mean. You have to walk past the resturant entrance to reach the ballroom. But the foyer is quite big, except for the customers from the resturant can see what's happening at the foyer, i think it is still acceptable cos it's at the corner.

hwee

Hi Sunflower,

Thanks, but still got some more queries

How short is the path from the entrance to the stage? How many tables will you walk past before reaching the stage?

So now which venue are you considering? For 15 tables, you can consider Traders or Negara? I actually quite like marina mandarin, but based on the price I pay for a weekday package, I can g
et a weekend package at Orchard Parade. So that's now considering Orachard Parade.

sunflower

Hi Hwee,

As the ballroom is rectangular in shape, I dont know if the stage can be arranged at the other end instead of the shorter breadth.

If i'm not wrong, u need to walk a short L shaped path to the stage. For the longer L, it'll be aro 5-6 tables not so sure cos i didnt really go and count on that day :p

Where is Negara located? I have shortlisted Traders as one of my choice, but still looking to see if i can get better place. A few that i'm looking at also is Novotel Apollo, New Otani, Regent, Four Seasons, Holiday Inn, Grand Plaza Park Royal (havent got their wedding packages yet, will get from them this weekend) I think the hotels above can get 15 tables if i'm not wrong.

when will ur wedding date be?

hwee

Negara is somewhere in Orchard. I remember seeing in a forum that it is a 5 star hotel and the maximum capacity of the hotel is abt 15 tables. I think Rendevous and Century Roxy will allow 15 tables.

My wedding date will be in June, but not fixed yet.. cos waiting for the chinese tong shu to be out to select a date. Kinda of worried that I can't get the weekend packages in Orchard Parade by the time the date is fixed. The 2nd and 15 Jun 02 has already been booked!

When's yours?

hwee

Sunflower, your description of Orchard Parade's ballroom now reminds me of one of the smaller ballroom in Hyatt. Have u been to Hyatt for a wedding dinner before?

sunflower

Hi Hwee,

It's unlikely that i'll take Rendenvous cos i've read comments that the food is not good or too little?? dont know if they are true but actually i thot Rendevous is quite a good deal cos it's central, new and reasonable too.

Mine is likely to be in december, also have not confirm the date yet. it's really troublesome to wait for the tongshu when everyone's booking so fast. i think if u want club chinios in june, u better book fast. I heard the tongshu will only be out in july or aug?

nope i have not been to a dinner at hyatt before, so sorry dont know if orchard parade ballroom is the similar to hyatt's one.

sweetie

Hi Sunflower and Hwee,

I booked my banquet with OPH, Club Chinois too.

With ref with Sunflower's msg earlier, think you need not walk pass the restaurant entrance to reach the ballroom. You can opt for the other entrance which is really near the lift. So It's pretty convenient for the bride to get down from the suite.

Personally, I've been to Traders & Rendezvous. I think the big ballroom for Traders is ok but the foyer is just too clamped! Unless you go for the smaller ballroom which has, ironically, more spacious foyer but the ballroom can only take 18 tables max.

Hmmm, for Rendezvous, becoz it's a restored building, there are actually a lot of blocking pillars. Less spacious too. And think the person-in-charge isn't too happy. So I'm quite doubtful abt their service.

sweetie

Forgot to mention one more thing. The carpark at Rendezvous is bad!!! Was totally uncomfortable when I was in my finance's car, driving into the carpark. I do think parking space is an impt factor to consider.

Hope this info helps.

joyce

Yes!! The carpark at Rendezvous is so cramped and scary!! So difficult to negotiate.. the number of scratch marks on the walls are testimony to the many scrapes car owners no doubt had to endure there.