hi mookie, in terms of food, i think OH and MM are comparable. i am not too sure about service though. shouldn't be too bad for both.
for me, i ruled out orchard mandarin cos i think it is too "cheena". hv u seen the decor on the ceiling? there are a few big red hisbiscus stuck on the ceiling! totally clashes with the wedding decor. and becos i dun hv that many tables, i can only qualify for the small ballrm with the pillars. i dun like the idea of pillars. and the shape of the ballrm is weird. there is a small corridor after the door before your guests see you so when the doors open and the music start, you guests can't see you march in until a while later. dun like the idea of that.
in the end it was a tough choice between MM and OH. MM is definitely nicer as a hotel but the small ballrm is not too ideal with its super low ceiling. and if i am not wrong, the doors are glass doors so when are standing behind the doors to prepare for the march-in, your guests can already see you!
brides08, must share with u wat i discovered abt long march-ins. I attended a wedding dinner last week. there was a long march-in too cos the ballrm is longish. the couple had 3 flower gals forming a row in front of them so the speed of the walk-in was very much slowed down by the 3 gals. i was sitting at the tables behind and i realised that by the time the couple reached the middle of the ballrm, all the clapping has already stopped cos they were just taking too long time to march in. the tables in front also stopped clapping cos it is just too long and everyone was getting a bit sian liao. so it was a bit awkward towards the end when the couple was still walking slowly but everybody else already sian liao. so brides08, while the bride will definitely want a long march-in to prolong and enjoy the attention, remember not to walk too slowly and over-drag the whole process.