Orchard Hotel

tecfib

hi Mermaid

Yah we have signed up wif them after much consideration n discussion. Think the promo fo the free flow beer is ending today. So u better act fast. Or u have aly booked wif them. as for the citibank promo yah we also made use of it so ots like taking full adv of it.

Hi SSL

So ovrall ur food tasting was ok? Which are the dishes tat are nice n vice versa? U mean they wll actually set up the deco like a wedding dinner? Including the table set-up wif full decor?

ssl

Hi TecFib

They only set up the table using the VIP table setting. Ie the red table cloth and those "xi" plates and napkins etc. heeehee very nice But the centrepiece flower not nice but it's ok

I can only remember the cold dish fried yam paste and prawn roll are very nice. Lotus leaf rice nice, red bean soup with peanut glutionous rice ball nice. mango pudding nice. steam chicken with red dates and black fungus nice. yap the rest so so only. some dishes we wanted to try if it's nice but changed cos wasnt nice.

we tried the sharks fin with chicken thinking that it will be different as all dinner always got crabmeat. but not nice so we stick back to crabmeat.

mermaid

Hi TecFib,

We have booked with them already. When is your big day? Did you go for the Friday's lucky draw?

SSL,
Thanks for the feedback on the food tasting. Was actually thinking of cripsy chicken instead of fungus steam chicken. What do you think? Btw, any idea what is 'pai lin' mushroom? I heard from my coordinator that 'shrimps' are quite big. Your comments, pls?

Also, how much did you pay for the food tasting? Was it the full course for 10 pax?

Rgds.

ssl

Hi Mermaid

The reason why we choose to have steam chicken during our food tasting is becos we know how cripsy chicken taste like. Therefore it's better to taste something u dont know how it will taste like.

Then if u dont like it, you choose the other one for your wedding.
thats what food tasting is for. Try to taste something you are not sure if it's nice or not. :p

One of the cold dish got thai baby lobstor. But it looked and taste more like shrimp (commented by my MIL and sis). heehee. but quite like it but since MIL dont, so we change it to the fried Yam paste which was YUMMY!!

There's a dish with prawn, (cant remember which liao) and i think the prawns were very fresh and definitely not small.

As for Pai Lin mushroom i duno what is it cos that day food tasting didnt try that dish as my coordinator change to another dish last minute. She wanted us to taste something else lor.

Food Tasting was free. Table of 10pax.
It's actually also a chance for both side parents to meet again. (apart from ROM)

tecfib

Hi Mermaid

So when is ur big day? Yah i was there for the grand draw on fri. U?????

mermaid

Thanks SSL,
your feedback has been most helpful.
Will keep your advice in mind.

Hi TecFib,

My big day on next year Sept, what about yours??
Actually I went for the draw that day and won one of the prize Hee..Hee..
Did you walk away with any prize?

Can tell me where you seated during the draw??
May have met one another

mermaid

Thanks SSL.

Hope you had wonderful memories of your wedding banquets in orchard hotel, knowing WE made the right choice.

tecfib

Mermaid

Such a coincidence. I also won a prize on tat day. Can tell me which prize u won so then i would noe who u are aly. hehehehe...........

Can i make a guess? Are u the couple who also went up to the stage to perform the "Katong Park" walk on the wedding show?

Our wedding is next nov.

man

I oso booked Orchard Hotel when they are offering the special promo in July.

My wedding is next year Nov too!

Btw techfib, do you have free food tasting session?

tecfib

Hi Man

So we same same also in nov'03. is yours on wkdays or wkends?

yah cos we using the citibank credit card so got food tasting. u dun have food tasting?

man

Hi Techfib,

we oso using citibank credit card...the food tasting isit the one host table waiver?? so that's for food tasting isit??

mine on weekday leh..yours??

tecfib

Hi Man

Yah the waiver of 1 host table is meant for food tasting according to my catering mgr.

Btw who's ur coordinator?

Mine is on a sat. Can tell which day is tat?

man

Techfib,

My coordinator is Evelyn, yours??

oic, so by right i oso have the free food tasting lor! keke...:D

hey, did you bargain for any other extras??

tecfib

Man

Mine is Chin Chin.

If u use citibank to sign up then shld have the free food tasting lor.

Actually we din realy bargain. Cos the package was aly very comprehensive n at the pt of signing we din noe wat to ask for. U leh?????

How many days stay u have?

Were u at the grand draw 2/8?

man

Heard Chin chin quite nice somemore work there long time oredi right?

i got 2 days bridal stay, same right? but i was thinking how abt extra wedding cards or carpark coupons did you bargain extra?

no leh...me can't make it lor dats why miss it! you win something right? wat isit? you so lucky!

tecfib

Man

Yah think she worked there quite long aly.

We din bargain for more cards or carpark. Juz the normal package ones. How much more u intend to want? Cos think quite difficult to ask for more once u signed the contract aly leh.

Anyway u can still give it a try n let me noe then maybe can ask Chin Chin abt it too.

man

no lah...i was thinking the 60% invitation cards and 20% carpark coupons enuf meh? not yet bargain anything wif my coordinator yet....blur blur juz signed the contract! :p

angelia

hi man,
You sure it is only 20 % of carpark coupons? I thought they give 50 percent of carpark coupons? I got like 50% of carpark coupons (default), and asked for about 80% for the invitation cards, since I had alot of singles when I got married last year.

man

huh angelia, you dun give me a shock leh!! dun tell me my coordinator bluff me!!

anybody that book the package for year 2003 can advise me about the carpark coupons and invitation cards too??

mermaid

Hi tecfib,

Me back after long layoff.
1st, to answer the question on lucky draw.
Think you are refering to the one at the wedding show. I won a prize in the draw held on 2Aug02. No Katong Walk leh !!! ???
Did not attend the wedding show.

Hello Man,

Ya, like Tecfib says the package quite comprehensive but there are still some frills which can be negotiated.

eg parking coupons, invitation cards and so on..
Mine is evelyn too but mine is held on next year Sep.

Understand that different co-ordinator will give way to certain frills if requested, maybe free seat covers etc....

But I find it too shocking to hear that 50% parking and 80% of invitation cards...

Hi angelia,

May I know how many tables did you book from them??
Understand that they more willing ot give in to couples who had more tables confirmed.
More bargaining power!!!

tecfib

Hi Man

Yah my package is the same as urs. 20% carparks & 60% invites.

Btw which ballroom u having ur banquet? I am using ballroom 3 only as we have kinda small amt of guests.

tecfib

Hi Mermaid

Where u been? I emailed u something, please reply.

Also how many tables u booked & which ballroom u using?

angelia

Ya very very sure. 8P If u scroll back to beginning of the thread, you will see my posting 2 years back. ehhehehe.

Maybe, they changed their policy already. But, I remembered the reason why I chose them was becos of the high number of carpark passes. But, it could be i booked them in a bad year? And there was not another wedding on that day, there was only some coporate function next door. I had around 30 to 32 tables, and I used ballroom 3. My wedding was not held in the traditional lunar 8 to 10 months.

ssl

Package for different year will be different and of course different coordinator will give slightly different freebies.

I believe they are all given a "max" and "min" allowable freebies when it comes to negotiations. So if u happen not to get what another couple got, then try to negotiate, but final decision still lies with the coordinator.

Dont argue ur way through lor. Be nice to the coordinator and try to be in friendly terms. Then she/he will friend friend u then will be more chinchai when it comes to negotiation. :p

Hope my 2cents worth will help.

tecfib

Hi angelia

Understand tat u had ur wedding in Ballrom 3 with some corporate function going on. So do u have any inconveniences or comments abt the mixed guests? Any confusion going on etc.....

Reason why i ask is cos i would be having my dinner in Ballroom 3 therefore like to noe abt the situation etc... as i scare on the same day got other wedding or d&d.

angelia

I do not think you need to worry. If you have another wedding going on, your reception table will be at the escalator. So, the first thing, they will see are your photos and table.

For me, it was not really a d&d, but some coporate fancy dress event. It was pretty funny seeing people wearing red indian costume. 8P. My table was placed at the other side. But there was no issue, since to get to ballroom 1 and 2, they need to pass my table, so your guest will definitely see your table. And if it is d&d, it usually start before your wedding.

There was no confusion on that day, but I saw one of the other people looking my photo album, there was about it.

man

Hello All,

I booked 40 tables leh got ballroom 1 & 2 but oso not much bargaining power...in the 1st plc dunno wat to bargain for a start...?? :p

tecfib

hi angelia

Thanks for ur reassurance.

hi Man

U shld have more bargainin gpower than us leh cos since urs is quite a substanial no. of tables compared to us. Try ur best.

man

huh? i got more bargaining power meh? we oredi sign the contract liao...still can bargain ah?

any ideas what else to bargain huh? any tips? please help!!

mermaid

Sorry tecfib,

did not rec'd your email leh??
What did you ask me ??
What is your Nick in the email??
Sorry that I reply so late cos i do not have ready access to a PC!!
Really interest in what you asked me??
Something secret??
Me book Room 1 & 2.
Hope that day got no other function.

Hi Man

Believe its rather difficult to negotiate after the contract is signed.
But if you "Argh" with the co-ordinator, they are still willing to give in to your request if its reasonable and understandable.

Hi Angelia,

Think you quite lucky to get so good bargain.
But did you fully utilised the 50% carparks and 80% invitation cards??

If you did, then must get myself mentally prepared when my date draws near!!

tecfib

hi mermaid

its been a long time since i hear from you. nothing much juz asking whether your prize includes a tour to anywhere? if so are there any restrictions etc....

btw have u used ur prize? oso u booked any bridal package aly? cos now in a dilemna who to chose. hehehe..........

ocean

I'm new here... jus browsing to do my "homework" on which hotel to choose for year. Hheehehee..

Dates? Table? All unknown yet... cos u c, pple say i mus book at least 1 yr in advance.

Can anyone tell me wat is the rate for weekday and weekend? And mayb roughly wat it cover? Thks!!!

orchardbride

I had booked Orchard Hotel for my up coming wedding. Does anyone here has any opinion on chossing any of their banquet themes? Has anybody use their new and modified Floral theme yet? Can you share your pick? Thanks alot!

man

Hi Ocean,
I only got the weekday rate for next year coz mine fall on a weekday - $668 Nett.

Hi Oceanbride,
when is your wedding? i oso with Orchard Hotel but nvr bother abt their theme yet coz mine is next year end.

concern

Hi OrchardBride, Man,

I've booked with Orchard too. Their new and modified Floral theme is really new as when i signed up, its still the old design. they only told me hopefully by the time i have my wedding, the deco will be new, thank God, i've seen the new design and i'm going to choose that one..

Hi man, who's your co-ordinator by the way?

orchardbride

Hi concern,

I was told by my co-ordinator to go down and look at their new Floral them last Saturday. But I did not go cos' my hubby had to make a trip to Australia. They said it is quite nice. In fact, I had looked through some pics of their regular themes and thinking of their garden theme.

concern

Hi OrchardBride,

When's ur wedding by the way? if its not too urgent, you can always fix another appt with them again to see the theme. i don't remember coming across any garden theme, when i booked, there's only one kind of theme (the old one which you'll see in brides magazines) the only choice i can have is to either have the table cloth in pink or blue. but i quite like the floral theme, its more refreshing cos the walls of the ballroom looks a bit old. : )

edde

hi Man and Techfib,

my wedding is oso in nov 03 and I am considering Ochard Hotel too. if its convenient for the both of you, can you please share with me your contract with them? i am meeting the coordinator soon to discuss on the details, so would appreciate very much to hear from you

note: there is an underscore between dave and elaine.

thanks so much...

tecfib

Hi edde

Such a coincidence. Mine is also in Nov next yr. Which date is yours?

Basically wat we have is the normal package as we signed up during their wedding show so got their free flow beer. Then wif Citibank card u get free seat covers, free food tasting, extra room for helpers for the day & $18 off per table. Think tats abt all. Rest is the standard one.

How many tables u having?

Then negotiation is also based on the no. of tables u have. The more u have the better bargaining power. & depends on which coordinator also.

Hope tat helps. If you require more info, let me noe.

tecfib

Hi edde

Such a coincidence. Mine is also in Nov next yr. Which date is yours?

Basically wat we have is the normal package as we signed up during their wedding show so got their free flow beer. Then wif Citibank card u get free seat covers, free food tasting, extra room for helpers for the day & $18 off per table. Think tats abt all. Rest is the standard one.

How many tables u having?

Then negotiation is also based on the no. of tables u have. The more u have the better bargaining power. & depends on which coordinator also.

Hope tat helps. If you require more info, let me noe.

edde

hi tecfib!! mine wld be on 23rd nov...going for 40-50 tables...

wat abt u ??? the offers u got sounds great!

is OH yr one and only choice? if not, can share wif me why u choose OH over the others?

nice to hear from you...

tecfib

Hi edde

OH was one of our choice amongst Marriot, Conrad, Oriental. When we ultimately chose OH is cos of the high ceiling, long march in n of cos the perks. Well if you have a high budget then u might want to consider Marriot. Cos the ballroom is lovely n it shld be able to accomodate ur no. of tables. Why we din chose Marriot(our 1st choice) cos we cant meet their requirement for a wkend.

How much is ur budget per table? Cos i went to roam Fullerton yday n was really impressed n captivated by their ballroom n toilets(heheh)

orchardbride

Hi concern,

My wedding is this coming December, when is yours?
They do have others thems, you can check it out. Btw, who is your coordinator?

edde

hi techfib, yeah..we met up wif the coordinator from marriot recently, not very impressed with her professionalism...but no doubt the ballroom is lovely...

anyway, marriot is kinda tight for us coz our budget is $800/table hopefully including all hidden costs....

met up wif anna from OH and we are very impressed !!!! she is so pro and gave us a personal touch...not like the one from marriot who is so business like...trying too hard to upkeep her image...and i realised that it is helpful to get a coordinator who is married so tat she knows our requirements better...and this is wat i felt abt anna !!

so far, my top choice is OH...still considering others like merchant court and holiday inn.....

fullerton is my dream....but is too ex for the banquet!!!! but hopefully can hold my solemnization reception there tho

concern

hi orchardbride,

mine also coming dec!!! my new co-ordinator is vincent..hasn't met him yet cos the old co-ordinator left already.

tecfib

Hi edde

So how do you find Anna? Cos she is my new co-ordinator but have yet to talk to her. My previous coordinator left the hotel aly n she is supposed to take over her position.

How does she look like n is she nice/frenly to talk wif?

Well have u made a tentative booking wif OH since its ur top choice?

Are u aware tat Marriot is having a wedding show next sun. N the perks r $30 off per table, free flow beer n a free table. So maybe would not be so tight for u then. Can consider!!!!!

I went to Merchant Court b4. Would say OH is better than Merchant. (my personal feelings lah). But adv of Merchant is tat they have a private foyer for ur reception which is the plus pt whereas OH foyer is open n if u not having the 3 ballrooms at a short then u might risk having to share the foyer for reception. Food wise also so-so but might have improved cos i went last yr.

edde

hi techfib, no worries!! personally i find anna very pro!!!! she juz joined OH 1+ mth ago, from Shangri-La..

actually be4 she mentioned that she was previously from shangri-la, she already left a very gd impression....

she is a very sweet lady..and a very nice person to tok to...she looks kinda cold initially but gradually becomes more "qin qie"...she often relates and shares wif us her own wedding experience..dats why i say she gvs us a personal touch...like toking to a friend...

1 best thing abt her is everything she proposed is good news !!! we dun even have to ask for anything from her be4 she offered them out of her own accord/generosity! but wat i got is more or less wat most of u here recieved lah..but gd enuf..save me the trouble and "face" to BEG....

of course i have blocked my date!! hahahaha !! so gd deal muz grab early!!!!

marriot aft discount still amounts to $848nett per table....off my tight budget...

i am sure u will have a pleasant experience wif anna...dun worry k !!??