Orchard Hotel

tecfib

hi edde

thanks for the reassurance. at 1st when i received news tat my preious coordinator left i was like huh... would the new one be as frenly as the last. but hearing from u puts my mind sort of at ease. but who knows whether she will resign b4 my wedding or not. haiz... juz keep my fingers crossed. is she young? cos fr the way u described is like she juz got married not long ago kind of feeling.

seems like a lot of ex-shangri-la staff likes to join OH.

So when u going to make up ur mind? also wat did she offer u?

Thot dinner at marriott is abt $848 per table b4 the less?

edde

hi techfib...i would say anna is abt early 30s....very sweet lady with a sweet smile...

think i will have a decision by end of this wk after visiting holiday inn, merchant court and sheraton....but i have a feeling that my ultimate choice wld still be OH....

she offered me sligtly more carpasses, invitation cards and i chose another barrel of 30l beer over add nite stay.....also, i recieved the citibank offers too as i am a cardholder (and paying by card)......nothing more than all of u got but at least she offered them be4 i even have to ask for it..which i think is very kind of her....

marriot for sunday is $878 aft $30 discount $848....

tecfib

Hi edde

So have u come up wif a decision aly?

If u are choosing OH then I got a kaki to discuss further.

el

Just like to find out. How much is the price per table at Orchard Hotel and the minimum no. of tables for Sunday?

tallman

Hi EL,

S$799 nett per table on wkends. Min. 25 tables. If you sign up with Citibank promotion less S$18 per table.

edde

hi techfib !!

so sorry for the very late reply !! coz during this while we were very indecisive on the venue..many unforseen circumstances cropped up like budget, gueslist...so i din reply u until today i have finally made my choice !!

we juz signed up wif oriental coz its easier on our wallet and our parents prefer oriental...

edde

tecfib

HI edde

Its been a long time.

Congrats on finally getting ur ideal venue for banquet. 1 burden off the mind.

blur

Hi gals..

i m new here need some guides for OH... i m given ballrm 3 cos i hv abt 25 tables.. n i knw thr will b another wedding on the same dae as mine..
1 of the wkend i went to OH and happened thr was a wedding (ballrm 1&2) n ADND (ballrm 3).. the guests for the wedding were confused when they got up the escalator.. n they ask the waiter but the waiter only said the dinner is inside.. i saw stars of the guests' face like "huh whr isxt?"
so i m concern abt this..

can any1 advise me abt their service, food and ambience.. my co-ordinator is Catherine bt she said she is assisting Anna. I hv nt met Anna b4..

Plsss help...

strawberry

hi blur,

i'm also having only 25 tables and yes, there will be another wedding going on at the other ballroom.

i've went for the food tasting and the food is nice, prior to that, i've always frequent hua ting for dinner as well, now with the new set up of the ballroom, i think the ambience is nice, high ceiling and candles theme, very romantic feeling.

however, my co-ordinator is different from yours and regarding the incident u have mentioned, i don't think ours will be a problem cos once you come up of the escalator, your guests will be able to see the stand and portrait stating of your wedding, likely not to miss it!!

mist1108

Hi Blur,

What Strawberry said was correct. There will be your portrait near to the ballroom's door to help your guests to identify yourself. Btw, there will be another wedding going on the same night as mine too.

Hi Strawberry,

How was the food tasting? I have not go for mine yet. I will be going either next week or the week after. Any recommendation for any dishes?

strawberry

hi mist1108,

u also at ballroom 3? the food tasting is pretty fun. the sauteed pai lin mushroom and shrimp with seasonal vege is nice.

don't take the steamed chicken in lotus leaf, nothing special, though the taste is alright, something like herbal chicken, but the presentation and colour is not nice, small chicken wrapped in aluminium foil.

mist1108

Hi Strawberry,

I am at ballroom 1 & 2 cos' I have about 45 tables together. Thanks for the advice on some of the dishes. I will take note of it. I just called up my coordinator to arrange for food tasting next week. Btw, how is your prep for wedding? Your wedding on Dec?

blur

Hi mist1108 & strawberry

Sorry to reply so late.. quite bzy in ofix

Wat r the perks tat OH offering?? i dun hv food tasting.. nw i m considering OH and Westin. not sure which is better?
has any1 try Westin b4? anyway Westin is giving me the Attrium Rm with the low ceiling...

so both of ur wedding is in Dec??

strawberry

hi mist1108,
yes, my wedding is next month. wow, if you're taking the bigger ballroom, confirmed nice, cos its so big and spacious!! lucky you, cos i'm only inviting close friends, so didn't target at so much tables.

don't worry too much abt the food tasting, you'll enjoy it. my prep are ok, going to be busy confirming the final detials, other than that, shouldn't be a problem!! when's your wedding?

blur,
i don't know what's your package, cos i booked mine last year. so it may vary. but one thing for sure, they have changed the deco of the ballroom, the old one was yucks and old fashioned, now is so much more better!
yap, i heard that the package now has no food tasting cos they upgraded the quality of the food. regarding the ceiling, higher ceiling better, gives you a grand effect.
westin service not bad, that's abt all i know.

mist1108

Hi blur & Strawberry,

Yeah, my wedding is next month too. I am planning to send out my invitation end of next week. Hi Strawberry, have you settled your video montage? I am going to sort out some photos this weekend and pass it to them, but I am afraid the video montage will be another boring one just like what everybody has.

I agreed that the ballroom now is much much more better than last time and I really like the new theme. Can I know what color (baby blue or pink) table clothe would you be choosing?

strawberry

hi mist1108,
oh, so nice to know we're both celebrating in the same month!!

same here, i like the new theme also, i'm choosing baby blue cos it blends quite well with the candles theme, very western and romantic effect. how abt you?

abt the video montage, i have just sorted out our pics last night, i'll have to pass to anthony soon. but i didn't really take a lot of effort in doing that cos i'm not keen at all. i have really bad experience with him!!! and it makes me so mad!!!!if its not becos its in the package, i won't even step into his shop again..

ah eng

just a comment on OH ....i remember attending a cousin's wedding dinner at OH ....2 accidents happened:
1) First course....the waiters served using the macarena song and danced to the song wif the food and .......one waiter dropped the whole plate of cold dish
2) champagne pouring ...the whole tower of glasses fell!!!!

man

hello all OH brides,

me oso book OH for my wedding banquet next year please let me know your comment after your wedding, can?

ah eng, 1st course the waiters will dance one meh? isit a standard practise by OH?? when was your cousin wedding??

one thing to take note, heard from a forum fren too the waiter svc not good and the given amount of beer was finished by 3 course thus she was very shock how come can drink so much.....

ah eng

man,

i dunno if tat is a std practice by OH but tat was my first time having dinner there and might be few years back

strawberry

if i'm not wrong, the dancing will only be done for a certain no of tables and above.

but don't scare me leh ah eng, like the service is bad!!!

ah eng

strawberry,

the accidents i mentioned is the 'carelessness' of the staff ....is like accidents on the road....nobody can predict lor ....i guess my cousin is just unlucky that 2 happens on her wedding.

as for service, i went there some time back oredi ...mayb their part time waiters and waitresses are lousy lor.......

but i must say that the ballroom and setting is beautiful ....

so dun worry too much ....and let the mgr gives u an assurance of their service!

leo29

Srawberry,
Can I know which Bridal Shop you refering to? If
not convenient to release here, can email me at [email protected]

Ah eng,
Don't scare me lei. I was thinking of signing up with them already.

strawberry

leo29,
Oh..the one i'm complaining is not a bridal shop, they're doing videography services, Rhema Video, u heard of them?

i have a free video montage from the hotel, from them. but i'm really put off by the way they handle things, unprofessional and no sincerity is the word.

man

may i know wat type of wedding favors Orchard Hotel offers beside chocolate.....

anybody got some ideas??

abc

hi man,

if i remember correctly, besides chocs, they also give out chopsticks and potpurri as favors.

tecfib

I think they have a soap as favours besides the normal chocolates.

Dun think they have chopsticks or potpurri as wat abc claimed when i booked a few mths back. But then they might be the new favours tat OH is giving?

strawberry

hi tecfib,
they have chocolates, cakes or soap.

for other favors like potpurri and chopsticks its possible also, provided you pay extra for it.

man

oh so give chopsticks as favors must pay extra isit? how much extra huh anybody know?

coz my fren recently attended one wedding dinner at OH was given a pair of chopstick very nicely wrapped leh, I like!

tecfib

I guess the chopsticks could be from the wedding couple themselves? Cos i quite affirm tat wat they giving for std favours would be wat strawberry mentioned.

Man, if u int in giving chopsticks, would be better to get from bkk (if u happen to be there) cos is definitely cheaper to buy them there than getting OH to provide for u. On the other hand I noe of someone who is selling off her 300 pairs of chopsticks which she bought to be meant for her wedding. But her hotel provided her wif other favours liao.

man

Hi Techfib, I am very sure the chopsticks are from OH coz it is wrapped with OH tags on it lor....

aiyah if really need extra $$ for the chopstick den i stick to the normal favors coz dun want to spend extra $$ liao. :p

linda

I bought mine in BKK for abt $0.20 per pair. Carrying them back is something else though...600 pairs damn heavy....

Locally it is sold very expensive. better to get someone to bring it from BKK.

lynnie

Hello

I believe that the chopsticks are really from OH because when I went to view the ballroom last week, I saw the wedding favors on the table are all chopsticks. Very nice indeed. As for the waiters, I even saw them practising before the actual wedding started, quite professional.

tecfib

So u mean they added chopsticks as another favours? Tats great!!!!

Will check out wif them nearer to our wedding then decide wat to have (provided its not an extra cost)

blur

Hi strawberry & mist1108

paisei.. I long time no log in liao :p
firstly, congratulation to both of u...
how's ur preparation now?? mst b beri gan cheong liao hor.. is getting nearer...when is actual date har? :D

Share wif us aft everyting ok?
hv u get the photographer n videographer ready? who did u gals engage? I m oso looking ard 4 tis both... :D

me met up Anna las evening (1st time) qte generous on the perks.. ya.. think she abit cold at 1st den slowly warm up.. wil b signing wif OH liao.. hope tis is the rite decision hor... ;)

mist1108

Hi Blur,

My preparation is o.k so far I guess. Last night, just submitted some pics for the Montage people to help us do the presentation. Beside that, waiting for RSVP and then got to work on sitting arrangment soon. My solemnization card and program sheets are ready.

My cousin will be helping me with the photographer part and I guess I can rest assure it is going to be good cos' he is a professional. Videographer will be done by another cousin but he is not those professional type lah..:p

I am quite fortunate, cos' I have a big group of friends to help me with the wedding prep.

Blur, how many tables are you looking at? When is your wedding?

blur

Hi mist1108

wow.. seems tt u hv cousins n friends helping u.. so nice..

btw, when is ur wedding? :p

I m looking at 25 tables oni n wil b given ballrm 3 n my wedding is Sep 03.. so guess nothing much to do aft settled the hotel hor?? My fren wil b oso Sep03 so telling me i shld look arnd for photographer n videographer nw cos Sep is hot date.. bt i hv nt reali search 4 tt yet :p

Hi Lynnie

U oso jus signed up wif OH?? U hv signed the contract? who is ur sales consultant? when is ur wedding?
I hv nt sign the contract stil waiting 4 Anna 2 draft...she din gib much perks..oni food tasting cos at 1st Catherine din 1 2 gib me so when we met Anna she qte generous 2 gib lor.. :p
wat abt urs? gd?

help

I have asked friend about hte opinion of orchard hotel as a whole. I believe the impression of hte hotel is not too good considering it is rather sleezy at night along the stretch of orchard road. Friends discourage me from getting that hotel. Some say may will not give more than sixty for the angpao, thinking it feels rather "cheap" same as NEw otani. Any one here feels that way? or experience people feeling that way? any one did not break even after having your wedding there? please advice. Will like to have wedding there cos of the high ceiling large foyer and out of CBD area. Price wise rather ok for me.

lynnie

Hi blur

I have signed the contract already. Same as you, Anna also throw in the food tasting for me. I find that Anna is easier to talk to and she is generous indeed. What day is your wedding? Mine is Sunday.

Hi help

I think you should enjoy your wedding and your choice of venue instead of considering the guests. Whether they pay more than $60 or not also depends on their relationship with you. I was like you before I asked my colleagues about their opinions of hotels, some even tell me they do not think location, hotels or restaurants are the main factors of how big the ang bao is. If you are close with the person, even the cheapest restaurant they also will pay more than $100.

help

thanks lynnie

we considered the pros and cons... still dunno what to do. but people at OH seemed alright. needs to get feedback from ppl who had attended weddings there.

lynnie

Hi help,

In fact, I attended a wedding at OH before signing up. Their wedding decor is one of the main reason why I signed up. When my colleague walk down the red carpet to the stage, it was like a fairytale and quite memorable to me.

Anyway, hope you are able to choose the hotel you like best and have a wonderful wedding! Best wishes and merry christmas!

passerby

The deco and ballroom of OH is nice, but service is a bit lousy. The waiters dropped things a few things, accidently toppled a beer over a guest and brought in the wrong dish.

help

HI lynnie and blur,

What are the standard "perks" people look for. Will be calling them up soon to "Bargain"
any things you asked for that is not in the standard package?? thanks.

Hi passerby,
when was the poor service you refer to? often or one off?

alora

Hi all, I've just attended a wedding there and here are some of my thoughts.
Service wise, ok only. Some of the waitress not so polite, especially those aunty ones..
Food also average... and the interval between each dish is very long! The dinner started at 830 but ended at 11+pm!
Decor is not bad, but a bit plain.
Location, pretty ulu leh. I didn't expect it to be $768+ per table (when i check out the price) so u might not get very good ang baos.

brideto be

Hi all. I had went to the hotel for my friends wedding dinner and had gone to check the place out for my wedding. According to my sources, the hotel has brought in several experienced managers for the Catering Sales & Banquet Operations in order to upgrade the level of services for the hotel. Also, they mentioned that they are getting more decorations to make it better for the wedding guest. However, the good point is that if I cna sign before the new wedding packages is released, I can get the Sun wedding price at S$768 nett and not +++. The new packages, according to them, may be launched by the end of the month

zuzu

Hi Sweet,

I'm in the process of signing a Sunday package with Orchard Hotel. I doubt that they will give you free flow of beer unless you are holding a banquet for many tables (probably >35). You may want to consider negotiating for a waiver of corkages for your brought-in wine and champagne. I was offered 2 barrels (30l) of beer but was given an option to convert one barrel into a waiver of all corkages for wine and champagne.

Remember to use your Citibank credit card for a waiver of one host table and a S$18 off for each table.

Is yours a Sun or Sat? Which month will that be?

sweet

Hi, ZuZu,

Thanks. Mine on a Sunday too. How about u? I was offered 30L of beer and corkages charges only for first few no. of bottles.

Do you think the package is reasonable ? Have you tried their food and services? They seemed to have frequent turnover on staff. Anyway, wat is your choice fo the guest gift? They do not provide any equipment for playing our wedding disc rite?