Orchard Hotel

jo23

Morning!
my AD is Nov07 and i only went down to view the cards in mid sept. Actually we went down ourselves, nv contact elleen too. ;p cos i briefly rem she mentioned before 2 mth before exact day.

Oh ya, I went for my food tasting ytd nite. Good! the parents were happy with the food n service too. Beside us, there are 2 more couples having food tasting, wonder if they are here.

My friend went to attend a wedding dinner last mon. Its her first time there and she commented the ballroom is nice, food is good n serive is great! Happy to hear positive comments!

My AD was held in OH on Sunday, 21 Oct 07.
thanks god! the food was definitely much better than our food tasting (food tasting was a disappointment). the banquet manager provided very good service. he even taught me how to walk in my heavy gowns...hehe
overall, i am pleased with OH

poohhug

Hi all, i'm new to this thread. Am considering to sign up with OH but havent been able to see the bridal suite cos it's always occupied. Does anyone have pictures of that room to share? Also, any pictures of the stage with a wedding setup? Thanks in advance!

i juz had my AD on Sunday. Need to get the pics from my hubby. will post it up here once i have the pics.
anyway, no worries. their suite is very spacious n nice. my ex-colleague also commented that the stage deco for the theme i have chosen r very nice :)

jo23

my AD is next mth and i hvnt got the chance to view the suite still. haha... i managed to see the pictures on the same day of my food tasting. Perhaps U can request to view the pictures from the coordinator u r liaising with? As for stage, can ask the coordinator to inform u when there is a wedding and if u r free or ard there, pop by to hv a look.

sunflower: which theme u choose? red, pink or gold?

poohhug

ya, i'm going down this sun to look at the stage for the 'bell' setup. not sure which theme is this. Might not be able to take a good look cos our appt is quite late in the evening n pp's wedding might have started. dun want to be 'intrusive' lah...haha. the coordinator said she dun hv the pictures of the rm...but it is quite reassurng to know from you that it's big n spacious
anyway will be thankful to those with pictures to share! [email protected]

i chose the same theme as poohhug. with the 'bell' setup but not sure wat is the name too. maybe is gold?
i chose this theme cos of the 'bell'. most gals will like it! but one thing is with the bell, the montage display cannot be on the centre stage and has to be projected on the left-hand side screen

jo23

Ya, think that is the gold one. We choose the red. hee... we are using ballrm 1 & 2 so regardless of which theme we choose, the montage got to be shown on the right side screen, definately not centre. Tink sunflower is using Ballroom 3.

moomooland

hi sunflower, if i recall correctly, ballroom 3, the montage would be behind the stage. You mean to say, you moved the projector to the left?

moomooland > cos of the theme we have chose, got the 'bell' setup, it will block the screen if we have the montage at centre stage. so OH suggested to move it to left-hand side. the ballroom already has a projector mounted at that side

moomooland > i had 26 tables but had to pay for 27 tables which was earlier commited to OH. u choosing the same theme?
you can choose the colours of the VIP and guests table cloths

moomooland

hi girls, care to explain the process of invites selection? do you need to have the full guest list before you head down to invites supplier?

did you then source for your own printing company or let them do the printing..and how much approximately you spent?

jo23

moomooland: we just went down to tdragon, told them hotel providing us with how many % of cards, how many tables we hv and that work out to how many cards U can get. For us we got 280 cards from them, we printed on inserts instead of cards. Got them to print 300 inserts in case of error. Normal gold ink printing for the inserts. we additional prints using hot stamps printing on 140 cards. total cost us less than $200. Hope this help

jo23

My wedding is over last sat. Overall service at OH is great! However, due to part time staffs, there are some black sheeps among them. Certain tables guests did comment abt not so good service and the placing of wedding favours werent done accordingly to what we had agreed initially. Certains staffs might not have pay atttention during briefing thus did not get the correct instruction too. We cant blame OH on this. other than that, We are very happy with OH and so glad that we had choosen them to hold our wedding dinner. Food were great! We gotten wine from them, great as well!

popeye_gal

hi jo,
can send me the wedding package you are hving, just a ref. As thinking of hving my wedding @ OH.
Wire, you bargain for Free Flow?

jo23

mine was super outdated cos was signed last yr. Not good ref.

Rather hard to bargain at OH. I tried to bargain only waiver of wine corkage, wasnt successful. Only manage to hv special rate. We thought its rather trouble some cos got to search for cheap wine then so in e end we took 2 cartons of their wine.

jo > in my package, we had helpers' room. elleen agreed to let us exchange this perk for waiver of corkage. in the end, we felt that our guests' wine consumption is not high, so we sticked to the helpers' room

sillydolphin

hmmm how come this thread so quiet? is tt not much ppl hold their wedding at Orchard hotel? btw my fren mention to me tt she attended one there some months back. She said the food is good and the ambience is nice... hehe... she din noe tt im holding mine there at that time. So this comment is honest comment.

jo23

hello! ya, also dunno why OH thread always so quiet. Nevertheless, there are always weddings being held there, just tat people dun really come in here to chat. mine is over le! yes, good good and great ambience.
dolphin: when is urs? rem to check on the placing of the wedding favours as well as the table nos arrangement, mine was messed up.

moomooland

i am here!!

cindy called me 2 days ago to remind me to get ready to choose wedding invites from tdragon

cham! i havent not confirmed my guest list yet...
my wedding is on the 4/3/08...

am i being too slack?

eonsical

Dear all, if you are holding your banquet at Orchard Hote. Rest Assured that everything will be not jsut great but AWESOME! Everything went smoothly and all the staff at orchard hotel were simply fabulous! No complaints at all!

moomooland

hi VK,

what theme and wedding favour did you choose? any pics to show?

mine is in early march, and i am having the jitters already...

eonsical

I chose the red rose one.. but for the backdrop. I changed it to bronze color instead of red cos my evening gown is maroon. Don't wanna look like part of the backdrop :p

dun worry Moomooland, everything will be fine. I was very kan chiong too!

moomooland

hi VK,
who's your coordinator? cindy went over to corporate sales right...

have not confirmed theme, favours, menu, food tasting yet..early march wedding..haha...very gan cheong liaoz

moomooland

food tasting was yesterday, service was great!
OH brides, during food tasting was the fish overcooked? we felt the fish was a bit tough, not sure if it was coz there was a wedding going on at the same time, with 40 other tables...

the mango pudding was fantastic though

for my food tasting session, there were quite a number of dishes that didn't taste well. the fish got 'fishy' smell lor.
we feedback to OH and luckily for my AD, the food turned out great. much better than food tasting.

kuwie

dear all, am still considering whether to take up OH or not, cos they are giving 8 course dinner, but Marina Mandarin is giving 9 course. But i will still prefer high ceiling, which OH has it. haiz.. Been hearing that Mandarin's food is good, how about OH, any feedback??

Thanks for any advise.

mr__mrs_ng

im holding my Soleminsation ceremony with Hi-Tea at OH. has been contacting with Elleen, a very nice lady. i am thinking of putting some deco in the room. can anyone advise?

ksky2007

just had my wedding banquet at OH a few days back...

turns out there were a few pleasant surprises, complements from the coordinator, Elleen. The banquet manager, Andy, was also very detail in the run down of the actual banquet activities and giving us necessary cues/reminders.

And yup, the food is much better during the actual banquet, both in terms of volume and quality.

No regrets choosing OH....

sillydolphin

thats' really nice to know... Annie, the new coordinator will helping me on my banquet. She's new in OH i think... but so far seems ok to me...