Novotel Clarke Quay

yah, the drapes are not that "obvious".. but nvm la.. hope someone rems and post here..

lara, u having ur reception there? or had your reception there liao?

im going to have mine in jun

woah~~~~ tat's pretty soon!!! how's ur preparations going? nervous?

btw, i'm bery curious wad are the favors available at novotel? do you rem? i hope to get something unique as my htb has 2 frds holding their wedding there in jun as well.. (hmmm, who knows, you might be the bride of one of those 2.. kekeke.. when is your reception?)

mine is on 19 june

eh..still alot to be done
not very nervous now hahah...

there's salt n pepper shaker, bear, 2 types of key chains, showergel, chocolates n those pieces of glass for putting cups

Hi Lingandyang, like a lot of things to b done leh.. have not even gone for my food tasting yet, will do so end of this month. but have chosen favours n table cloth oredi. now main priority is to slim down haha.. how abt u??

hahaha.. it's not the same as those 2.. i tot if so heng, can buy toto.. hahhaha...

wah.. u super sia, not yet food tasting.. hahahha.. do keep us posted when u done that!! =)

ya lor.. kept wanting to do it but my father is always overseas will only come back nxt week, den FIL works shift, HB got duty etc etc.. very ma fan ah trying to coordinate

Hi Lara,

yah me too still got so many to settle. Now the main thing is still to get over the guest list. At least my side is settled already, but my in law side, they invited many i think. hehehe yes i wanted to slim down too, dunno why my weight like keep increasing though i din see me any much fatter. haa. my mum console me say is my bones getting heavier. hehehee but i was not convinced leh :P

So you already chosen your theme etc already? wat theme did you choose? will they show us some pics?

yah saw your posting on your foodtasting on multiply. Enjoy your foodtasting.
How many tables do you have?

Hi lingandyang.. now there's abt 37 tables.. i chose both crystal n flowers..combi, with silver table cloth for normal tables n red cloth for VIP tables.. for wedding favours we chose a combi of shower gel n salt n pepper shakers.. kinda weird now that i think of it

Have you chosen urs?

hey Lara,

oh so the theme now have combi theme huh. wow sliver table clothes will be cool. i think the wedding favours you choose is quite appropiate. useful too.

no leh, will be meeting huiling on 20 may to discuss these things i think.

hi ladies.

Would like to ask when is a good time for families of both side to sit down and discuss about the wedding?

My mum proposed to do it only in lunar 8th month which is september in english calendar.. my in laws like to do it earlier if possible. My wedding is in dec... will it be too rush for us? I scared not enough time to buy things.

Any advice?

hi ann: really up to you when you want both families to meet up.. both my families met up during my food tasting last week.. 1 stone kills 2 birds.. easier.. cos my PIL's time very difficult to co-ordinate..

Hi kavitha: thought we are given 2 VIP tables already, why need more?? most people will only have 1 or 2 VIP tables.. u check with Huiling on this lor.. sorry can't help u..

Hi Lara: Since u are getting combi theme, u are given 3 flower stands n 3 crystal stands for the aisle, how are u going to allocate the stands?? I've been thinking of days on how to allocate 3 flower and 3 crystal stands nicely along the aisle.. think i'm going to take 3 flower & 4 crystal stands instead if it's permitted..

Anyone knows whether I can bring my own biscuits to distribute out for my guests?? one of my fren who worked at a hotel says we cannot bring our own food in leh.. any encounter before?? anyway I will wait till Jamie is back then discuss my dinner stuff with her.. don't feel comfortable dealing with huiling..

Hi R&J.
Wah... then wouldn't it be too rush to buy things? I mean our parents didn't tell us wat we need to buy the wedding. So me and my hubby now just take it as we don't need anything for the wedding.

I am very scared last minute they give me a list of items which sometime might be tough to get.

probably my mil will buy most of the gdl things for us.. we only need to buy cakes, new mattress, new pillow.. then my mum will settle the other part of gifts for the returning back.. so we don't need to bother too much.. both families agreed on a simple affair.. so not need alot of things.. this weekend, will be going shopping for my jia chuan.. i also don't know what else we need, they didn't say too, so we also take it as nothing lor..

u can always have a chat with both families separately on what they want u to buy.. i did that before our food tasting.. i ask my mil 1st, then ask my mum separately.. then confirm all the things during our food tasting.. should have enough time to get all the things..

sorry if i'm asking a stupig qn.. is the ball room decorated with only the flower and crystal stands at the aisle?

when i went to view the ballroom previously, it's quite bare.. i only rem the crystal stands at the aisle.. and not in between the tables or the sides of the ballroom..

Hi R&J,

How are u gng to display your 3 crystal and 3 flower stand at the aisle? Sound abit strange. I am gng to upgrade the flower, i checked out with J&M, the standard package only come with 18 - 20 stalk of roses per flower stand. Really very small and I am quite particular abt flower arrangement. =b
I still wondering waht i to use. I will either upgrade all the flower stand with a small budget of $200. Or thinking of using the combination theme. But i will upgrade the 2 flower stands to really very big one plus 4 cystal.

hihi brides to be,

I'm new here, understand that NCQ perks are not quite negotiable, would need some advice.

My AD will be on Sept 08, most probably Cinnamon Ballroom, ard 20-25 tables. I like Phoenix Ballroom but we didn't have 30 tables to hold it there. =(

I thinking of the combi theme too, 3 crystal and 3 flower stands but not sure how it turns out. Any idea?

Any one here have photos of Cinnamon Ballroom's themes, stage, lightings, march in, reception area? I'm worried abt the stage's small size.

Would appreciate if u could send me via email [email protected] or add me via Multiply ID: http://starsstars.multiply.com
Thanks alot.

Under what cirumstances would they grant us a Helper's room? How they charge for Vegetarian and Muslim tables?

Hi R&J, i've never tot of that leh.. erh.. can tell me y would it b a prob? i never go yan jiu the flowers thingy, oh no!

Hi R&J.
Thanks for sharing.

I think I will ask my parents in law and my parents on wat we need to buy first so that we can prepare before hand.

Ting,
Happy to see as DiGio & NCQ forum....

Yvonne,
please email me the detail of wedding magazine as wedding favours for the guests

Is anyone willing to share the map of NCQ, please email to me : [email protected]

thankzzz

hi ting: opps.. think i wrote wrongly.. i'm taking 2 flower stands and 4 crystal stands.. flower stand will come in between the crystal stand.. this is just how I think i want for my ballroom.. if u really like flowers, then go with what u think.. i think it will look great.. but got to depend on the number of tables u are going to have.. if u having many tables, then ur decor shouldn't be too big.. if not, ur space of walking maybe too small.. this is just how I feel after seeing the ballroom during yvonne's wedding.. since I'm having 48 tables, putting more things or extra to the existing decor maybe too complicated and too messy.. so I will just stick back to the original decor NCQ give.. anyway i will discuss with Jamie when she's back..

hi lara: i feel if take combi theme, then how u arrange the flower stands and crystal stands along the aisle?? i'be been wondering for quite some time.. flower stands at one side of the aisle, crystal stands on the other?? looks abit weird leh.. have u seen the actual ballroom with the decor up?? u can go take a look then u will have a better picture..

Cheekychick, i've asked jamie abt that as well, she said that there will be no refunds but we can request for our desired perks and she will calculate and inform us whether possible or not.. I'm thinking of requesting anniversary nite stay or cockage waivers.

hi Lara, im meeting huiling on the 21May. just to ask when i meet up with her, do i need to give her the exact number of tables im having and number of muslim + vegetarian? or tis can be confirmed nearer the date again? cos my wedding is abt 1 mth away, some of the guest have not rsvp yet.

Can. you can upgrade. You got money y not.. J & M (Novotel 's florist) will do for me. hahaha.

You dun need to confirm the exact number yet. My wedding is next sunday, i only need tell get back to hui ling on the number of vegetarian by 17th May.

hi Crystal, she'll ak for indicative no of tables.. she said only need to confirm no. of tablew/muslim/vege 1 week b4 the AD

what if i dont have enuf guests to fill into one table of vegetarian or muslim food? Any bride encounter such scenario?

me! i have 3 paxs of vegetarian only. frm wat i understand frm huiling if per table is $800, with 3 paxs vege, tat table will cost $800+$80x3 = $1,040 *sigH*

hi mlh: further to lara's reply, here's the e-mail reply from huiling on muslim & veg menu - "With regards to the Muslim / Vegetarian it will be charge at the same package as your Chinese package (8 course menu) If you have individual Muslim / Vegetarian, it will be charge 10% of the package you choose (5 course as per chef choice)"

what i'm doing is to sit more guys into the table where i will have veg or muslim individual.. so they can eat more for the 8 course chinese menu.. hehehe..

Sound like it is better to fill up a table of 10 fully vegetarian or fully muslim in one table will be worthy.
But wat if there are 5 vegetarians and the other 5 muslims sit together in 1 table, how are they going to charge?
By per table or per 10%?
Sorry that i ask silly question :p

Lara and R&J,
thanks for your informations.

R&J,
to clarify my doubt, 10% of the per table cost for one person, rite? like the calculation being shown by Lara?

Jiahui,
Initially i have the same thoughts as you do, but i want my guest to enjoy the function with the group of friends, i dont feel like "separate" them into another table solely for Muslim & Vegetarian food.

hi mlh: yes. Lara's calculation is correct.

hi jiahui: i'm not too sure how they charge for 5 muslim n 5 veg in one table.. anyway i will have 3 muslim in one table.. see whether they can give me discount for that.. hahaha.. of course better is got one full table of muslim or veg.. same price wat..

Hello! I am new here.

I have heard some good comments about NCQ from my friends but I have not been there myself personally. How is the venue and banquet theme there?

hi mlh: ya me too.. trying to cut cost too.. but sometimes really very hard.. i only got 3 muslim colleague n 2 veg relatives.. how to minimised that cost?? very difficult leh..

hi dahpne: welcome!! NCQ has 2 ballrooms, phoenix ballroom where it can hold up to 50 tables and cinnamon ballroom where it can hold up to 24 tables.. both ballrooms are pillarless.. their themes as of now is crystal and flower themes.. u can contact their banquet sales for more details.. when do u intend to hold ur dinner??

R&J,
i also have only a few muslim & vegetarian friends.
most headache part is they are in different group of my friends, can put them into one table

anyway, its our big day, i hope everyone have a precious moment & happily attend the events, so have to cut my budget on other things

Daphne,
u can read the achive post to find out more, a few brides went for their food tasting & comment on the food, it was a useful informations, thanks to NCQ bride

MLH..same.. i only haf 1 muslim colleague n tho my hubby has many muslim colleagues but i cannot put them together

Lara,
thats the most headache part, though some of my friends said its all right, our muslim & vegetarian's friends are fine with putting them together, but i still feel not nice to split them from the group of friends....
i love to attend wedding dinner cos i can catch up with the rest, i am sure my guests have the same feeling

Gals, for those of u who are inviting muslims, better to let them know the food provided is no pork, no lard but not halal certified... I have ask Hui Ling before and she has told me its no pork, no lard but no halal cert... So for my muslim guest I told them honestly, those who are really staunch will tell me sorry that they cannot have it and will give the wedding a miss...

Hi happiness&bliss,
thanks for your additional information.
my muslim friends are basically fine with no pork, no lard but no halal cert, they are quite flexible, but not taking granted from them, i will inform them about it

anyone knows how much extra we need to topup for the sash tie-back for all the chairs? i think only the VIP seats has the sash.. the rest are plain white seats right?

Starskyz, thanks for ur reply! Wonder if i can ask for more free bottles of wine, lol!!! Cos i wori most for the alcohol part~

Ting, around how much u forking out for upgrade of the deco? :P

Happiness & Bliss, thanks very much for your info on the halal certification. I do have muslim frens who are very strict on halal food...