Novotel Clarke Quay

pengz... even Zul is no longer with them... and after hearing so many negative comments.. i am beginning to worry.... i jsut pray hard everything goes on well on my AD....

i just read huiling's e-mail on halal & vegetarian menu.. she said that if for individual serving, we need to pay 10% more on top of our package.. wow that means I got to pay more now.. abt $70 per person.. oh no.. anyone had halal & vegetarian guests?? how much more do you pay??

sad to hear that Zul no longer with them, i was there to view the room last mth or so, and even his colleagues told me that he is very good and sharp.. too bad..

I am new to the tread here..
Was looking @ Novotel Cinnamon Ballroom..
Wonders if it will be cramp for 22 tables?
Anyone "brought" in your own red carpet?

Erm R & J,

From what I understand from Huiling hor, for example if yr table is $718, then each person(Muslim or vegetarian) is abt $71.80 on top of the $718....We did enquire on this cos we have muslim guest and vegetarian guest...

Went for a friend's wedding there Nov last year and must say that the food was great. Very memorable in that sense ;-p

About the service, waiters were abit unsure lah and had to ask for this and that. But nothing that made me go "this is a bad hotel!"

It was still undergoing some renovation works then so nothing much to say about the deco etc. But food was good, very good. That's what I remember lah, haha

hmmms.. hi gals..
ya.. R&J, it is like that for muslim or vegetarian menu usually.
unless.. yr whole table is vegetarian or whole table serve malay food, they'll charge u the usual one table cost.

anyway, just for info, they explained dat it is bcoz altho' table has 1 muslim/veg and 9 others , they still serve 10 pax serving for the chinese / non halal dinner.. so the additional 1 person is additional food lors... yr 9 others can eat abit more.. heh.. but for dat, u muz pay dat bit extra lahs. =)

thanks happiness & stef.. actually kind of mis-read / mis-interpret the e-mail, thus don't really understand the e-mail properly.. until my HB told me it's like that one and he explains to me.. then i fully understood.. hehehe.. i very blur one.. of course they will charge extra as they still to prepare separately..

any wedding going on soon?? haven't been hearing much about any weddings.. must update us ok?? hehee.

R &amp; J < you are not the only one confused abt the charges for muslims and vegetarian... My husband took a great deal of time to explain and make me understood it too... hahahaha....

Hi R&amp;J,
i think they actually got a format of the printing on the cards. So not sure if they can print both Eng &amp; Chinese on 1 side only. But i think if you request to them, they might be able to customise for you.

Hey Stef,
I estimate for myself is 30 tables so i got 80% which is 240 cards.
Oh i din notice if they got print angbao packet too, but i think they should have. Cos i see that they did sell plenty of other things too, such as champagne glasses, ring pillow. Are you printing your cards soon?

Hi there , I am a novotel btb too and would like to know if Novotel Official Card Printers is TDragon? What are their charges like ?

Hi henyve,
hmmm no leh i din ask . . I din tot of can ask FOC things from them . haha, maybe i lugi liao. :P Have you selected your card?

Hi Gina,
yes, Novotel current official printer is Tdragon. Their charges for printing is based on the type of printing you want. Like normal printing on the card, print on insert or hotstamp printing. Hotstamp printing will be nicer, the words are shiny but more expensive. I spent $100+ for normal printing directly on card.

Hi Lara, haven't. They said should be ready by 31 Mar and will call us again.
Our AD are so near. :D How's your preparation? Have you arrange for food tasting?

Hi Lingandyang,

hehe i tried but failed haha...I have selected the cards and they just sent me the sample of my card through email. There's some changes I need to send back to them.

Hi Gina,

I printed the hotstamping one...for 200 cards, cost me abt $180.

Hi lingandyang, have not arrange leh.. haf u arrange for urs? im still not in the mood to do any preparation haha..u?

Hi henvy,
i see . . hehehe. I went to select my card on 8 mar and i happen to see another couple also from novotel there. I was wondering if the lady was one of the brides here. Haha, but i dare not ask her. :P

wow.. seen so many of you have printed your cards.. so excited.. this weekend i need to settle this liao.. must at least get one thing down on my list.. my list of undone things are very long.. can anyone send me a sample of your wedding card?? i'm just curious what are the things to be included in the card and the design of your card?? thanks! my e-mail is [email protected].

can i do up my own design using my designing software then send the softcopy to them to do the printing for me? what freebies can we request from the printing company??

hi lingandyang,

hehe same here i went to select my cards, there's a couple there from novotel too. There's really quite a no. of NCQ brides.

oh...btw i saw u from beldry's multiply hehe i add u can?

Hey Lara,
me too haven't arrange. I tot of maybe end of April or early May. I started preparing some, like my angbao box, buying wedding shoes, but still got plenty to do. hehehe. . When i just booked the hotel, i was so excited to do many things but tat time was still early. Now around the corner and i was a bit slow. haa!

Hi R&amp;J,
do have fun choosing your card! Right now i dun have a sample of my card yet as i haven't collect. My design is light pink one with a round round 'xi' logo infront. Quite a simple design, but i heard is one of the more new design.
I guess you may like to ask them about printing your own card. I think is possible but the charge might be different.

Henyve,
hah really wo! you din go on 8 mar right? maybe the couple i saw is you :D oh yes yes, i'm beldry's contact. Please add me, my ID is lingandyang. Thanks!

hi lingandyang,

hehe doned. i din go on the 8, went a wk later than u.

Hi R&amp;J,

They have quite a no. of design...do go and take a look. Do have fun selecting the photos...me and my FH chop chop select the design and font, cos the day i went was super full of pple, think got abt 8 couples there.

Hey henyve, thanks for adding!

Hi Lara, oh really! Maybe i saw you? I went at about 12+. When i went in the shop was empty. Then soon the novotel couple came in. Do you think is you? haha!

Lara, i just saw your PS photos on another thread. Haha yah was not you whom i had seen . . Your photos are really nice! and Lovely gowns that you have got! I also went to arts musuem for my PS.

Lara, i think you post the link on the other thread, brides of Jun 08. So i just click on the link. Din go to your multiply. Can you add me? my ID is lingandyang. :D

Yah i just posted up my PS photos. Hehehe. Do take a look if you free :P

i'm in a great dilemma.. struggle between having a different wedding from others or saving money?? Just had a small quarrel with my HB over our wedding preparation.. now feeling very stressed and upset.. have been planning for a nice and different wedding from others for months.. wanted to have bubble effects for march-in, balloons decorations for the ballroom, etc.. now everything seems like wasted.. told my HB that I've contacted a company that can helped me to fulfill what I really want for my dream wedding, then my HB told me not waste time and money on that.. but all along i've told him that i wanted that.. now he not happy with me.. makes me so upset.. i just want to have a different wedding (most imptly different from his sister).. he says wait till our date is nearer then see how.. huh?? i don't like late min things.. we have already postponed our PS till so late becos of his work commitment &amp; studies.. then now he says everything wait and see 1st.. so pissed off..

can anyone give me some advise whether to go ahead with my plan or totally give up on my plan and just had a normal wedding just like others?? i know i need to have a good talk with him again.. but he's always so busy.. that's why I've planning everything myself now.. now super stressed with the preparations &amp; work!!..

Hi R&amp;J,

Actually as a bride to be myself, i understand ur feelings.. cos its afterall a once in a lifetime thing... i splurge alot on my ROM and kana scolding by frens but not relatives or parents.. weird right haha... but its known that nowadays wedding really costs alot.. perhaps ur husband wanted to save the money instead of overspending? cos if wanting to have a dream wedding = lots of debts after the wedding.. i think its not really worth it... instead spend it on house instead?

Actually it depends on how much ur plan is going to cost u and him.. if its really alot.. then maybe u wanna consider doing other things instead? using the balloons for decor can be done by oneself and the hotel.. normally during the preparation, coupls sure quarrel one.. its very common.. esp when got to do with $$... cos its natural.. and u really need to talk over with him that wedding preparations cannot be done by only 1 party no matter how the busy the other person is... so talk over it and enjoy the process!

oh ya.. wanting to be different from his sis? howcome? ...

Hi R&amp;J

I can understand your desire for a different kinda wedding compared to his sister. We women no matter wat, will still have this 'competitive-ness' in us, keke. Sometimes, really need to sit down &amp; talk to ur hb calmly. I also quarrelled over wedding matters with my hb. When we finally cool down &amp; talked, we realised our ideas of our ideal wedding is vastly different. How much is ur hb prepared to spend? How much are you willing to spend? Compromise from there &amp; move on...What we do is, set a comfortable budget &amp; plan from there. Anything dat is out of budget, we will not consider at all. Dun wori ok...being different need not be expensive
If u free, do surf theknot.com
Plenty of original &amp; fun ideas to make ur wedding a different one...

thanks girls!! i'm feeling better now.. after saying all these out.. don't feel like saying much now.. told him we seriously need to sit down and go thru our wedding preparations.. we can't wait anymore.. he keeps telling me to wait.. i told him i don't like to do last min things.. i need to make prior arrangements n preparations.. so that i know if i missed out anything i still got time to get it done.. realised that his family also like to do last min things or make last min decision.. prob it runs in the family..

we will try to settle the things this weekends.. i told him to spare me some time out of his busy schedule.. if he don't, then i will go ahead to make all decisions without him.. hahaha.. must be really serious with him.. or else i don't think i can get things done.. then prob i will end up doing everything like one month before my wedding or worst few weeks before my wedding.. ai yo, cannot lar.. we got only 3 mths to go..

to be different from his sister becos basically we copy n paste his sister wedding to ours.. we had the same BS &amp; same dinner venue which is ncq.. so in order to be different, i need a change.. but why i didn't get any better bargains, realised that his sister got better bargains than me.. so sad.. my hb n his mum makes the decision, my choices got rejected by him.. cos he says just follow what his mum says.. what can i say?? i've already told him it's my wedding, i want it my way.. but haiz?? he very afraid of "ma fan".. so just copy n paste lor.. easy for him.. not need to go thru the process of searching and looking.. lazy boy.. luckily till now still very happy with ncq &amp; sophia.. prob i didn't request for much too..

ok, enough of my long post.. i hope everything will be solved soon.. pray hard now.. all the best to all too..

hi R&amp;J, hehe.. no wonder u wanna be different but dun worry no matter what u r already diff ! a prettier bride to be !! haha.. btw.. no offence la... but i feel wedding is between u and ur husband.. shouldn't let decisions be affected or made by MIL or mother... otherwise later regret how? take into consideration can la.. but the final decision lies with one that both of u are comfortable with....

dun worry, relax, go for spa, massage ,facial, get rdy to be a pretty pretty bride!!!!

Hi R&amp;J,

My character I will sure ask my hb this:
"Cut and paste the groom also huh?" :P if he is like ur hubby

Actually an ideal wedding, need not to spend too much $ to engage event co to do for you.

Just a suggestion:
Since the smoke effect is done by the staff there, you can actually buy the bubble making toy from toy-r-us to get them help u 'trigger' it at the same time!

You may also consider 'Angel' theme as well since you will be wearing white gown... then ask your lazy hubby to be to wait for you before the stage, you put on an angel wings (ask if ur BS allow you to rent from them, if not then go to the Concourse to get adult size) march in by yourself or if u are not braved enuff to march urself you can get 2 little angels (child size wing cost $12 each) holding their hands march in together-(these 2 angels can also help u throw petals or trigger the bubble toy too mah)

Therefore thru out the whole recept, you will not make appearance, only untilthe 1st march in to keep the guests in suspense.

Can also act as a punishment of his low participation during the wedding planning:

So he has to be at the recept doing the guests greeting for the est 1 1/2 hrs.

then during the 2nd march in u may consider wearing a blood red gown- meaning to say, u were an angel before but after marrying a 'Satan, u become 1 as well!! lol

To me an ideal wedding to organise personnally at your special touch.

Hi R&amp;J,

Cheer up! I guess that we all wanted something special for our own wedding in anyway tat we can afford to do. But sometimes things just dun turn out the way we want. Very much the same as you, i also wanted something personal so i decided to DIY lots of things, until sometimes i just land myself in frustration as there are somethings i just dunno how to do. So my hubby also scolded me say why i stressed myself so much, afterall this should be a happy occasion.

Hence, do relax a bit more. . men usually scare of mafan and like to drag things on. We just have to keep pushing them. :D

R&amp;J, i think your fh abit like my fh.. their whole family is the "still so early" type..

I'm planning my AD sometime from Apr-Jun 09.. i asked them to think of the rough estimate of guest lists so that we can start sourcing for venues.. they keep saying that it's still early.. it makes me v irritated..

But i will find out all the details and do an analysis and talk to my fh everyday abt this matter.. telling him the reason why i want to start early and why there's such a need.. he slowly understands and also assist in chasing his parents abt it..

Me and my bro having AD both next year, I also scare will be the same.. but lucky is mine first.. when i realized that we had the same BS, i was so worried that we might end up having the same gown and stuff..

hi michelle, i also don't want to let my MIL decide too much.. but can't.. my HB always listen to her.. actually she's ok lar.. she always give us advice, cos we know she really cares for us.. but my lazy boy just lazy lor.. follow lor.. haiz.. luckily till now, all her advices n decisions are good.. no regrets yet..

hi mrs chew.. brillant idea from you.. thanks!! i tot of engaging co to help me because i don't have the time to source for everything myself.. work is very busy n stressful.. and my lazy HB also super busy n lazy.. think now I will throw some things to my sisters to help me.. i don't think i can wear those angel wings.. look so weird on me.. i got quite broad shoulders.. but my 2 flower girls will wear the angel wings with balloons, actually think whether got sell those wards that can have bubble one.. still looking around... think i will get bubble guns for my jie mei to do the bubble effects for me.. hehehe.. i punish him by letting him pay more.. hahaha.. i love to mingle around with ppl, so i don't think i will hide during the recep time..

hi lingandyang: ya.. i must relaz n enjoy myself now.. but my stupid work always making me mad.. anyway all the best to u too.. we share our experiences here lor..

hi catz: ur still consider early.. but mine is like 3 more mths to go.. and he still says wait.. ai yo.. makes me so mad.. my HB don't listen leh.. everytime tell him something, he will say wait, he's busy with work, don't want to bother abt our wedding things 1st, wait till the date is nearer and decide.. say more he will be angry and annoyed.. think he's finding me more n more naggy now.. hahaha.. actually i'm not worried abt having clashes with my SIL on her gowns because we 2 have different body type.. sure different one.. but dinner will sure clash in some ways.. so i need to have some changes..

anyway girls.. thanks so much!! u all have makes me cheer up alot.. will be having serious discussion with my HB tomorrow then tryin to find other alternatives.. muacks!!

I just went down to NCQ with HTB today..quite like the Phoenix Grand Ballroom or Cinnamon Ballroom...just that there seems to be quite alot of on-going construction work over at Liang Court now, so abit disturbed by that. Though I still like the menu and the fact that the dishes are prepared by the restaurant at the hotel..so shouldn't be too bad...and they allow us to change the menu according to our wish!

Anyway, my AD will be sometime in October next year..so hopefully, all the work will be done by then!

Just wanna ask for advises on what kind of extra stuff we can ask from the hotel huh? Think I just missed their wedding show in January and the next one may be sometime in August this year...not sure if I can wait till that long to do the booking cos afraid that my date will be taken up by then.

Hi Kel_ly

This was the latest update i tink...

(( YeaR 2008 ))
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Yvonne 3-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (about 35)
Fantasy 15-Jun-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur, Phoenix (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (30 tables)
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
R&amp;J 06-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
kc 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
eden_dream 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
TomC 12-Sep-2008, Fri , Phoenix Ballroom
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Dawson 21-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ryan 22-Sep-2008, Mon, Cinnamon
Happiness&amp;Bliss 27-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Jelly Beanie 28-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix (35 Tables)
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
ChunChun 10-Oct-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Miseep 31 Oct 08, Fri, Phoenix ballroom
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Funfun 11-Nov-2008, Tue, Phoenix
Blurgroom 16-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
adathong 5-Dec-2008, Fri, Cinnamon
earthsea 26-Dec-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

(( YeaR 2009 ))
XueLunBaby 03-Jan-2009, Sat, Phoenix (about 40 Tables)
Wendycp 21-Feb-2009, Sat, Cinnamon
Queen 25-Oct-2009, Sun, Phoenix
Cheekychick 12-Dec-2009, Sat, Cinnamon

Mine also next yr in Dec but i booked already~ Wat i tink is, if u arent particular abt the date whether its weekday or weekend, u can wait for the wedding show? If u have particular dates that u need to follow, its best to book now
For extra perks, i didnt managed to get anything, lol. Juz the normal package. For the reno, i rem reading fr somewhere that it will b completed around mid this year.

Btw BTBs here, can i ask if u gals use the traditional chinese wordings for the invite? Anyone here decided not to do the traditional chinese wordings but simply translate the english wordings into a 'simpler chinese' version? As in, use jian2 ti2 zi4 &amp; format them for guests to read 'horizontally' instead of 'vertically'? shucks, i hope someone here understds wat i mean...keke...

Hi Cheeky_chick,

Thanks for your advices. I'm quite particular about the date and would want to hold my banquet on a Sat. Anyway, it's good the know that the renovation works at Liang Court will be finished by mid of this year...well, at least definitely finished by next year

I understand what you mean by the wordings on the invites. But do you also mean that there will be no English wordings or having both the Simplified Chinese and English ones? Actually, sometimes it gets bored looking at the same format for the invites and since you got a different idea and if your hubby and family doesn't mind, go for it!

Hi Kel_ly, since u've got a fixed date, its best u call NCQ now to see if ur date is still available. Not that im asking u to be kiasu like me lar...but my thinking was, if only wan weekends, there is only 4 weekends per mth. So year only 24 weekends. Minus the ghost festival &amp; other months which u surely wont hold, not many weekends left liaoz...

Haa, u understd wat i mean rite??! English wordings will stay...juz dat im tinking for the chinese version, juz simply translate from the english wordings. Instead of the long long fang ti zi chinese version that has to be read vertically from rite to left. U r rite, must go thru my hb &amp; his family first...cos they r pretty traditional.

I had attended a wedding at NCQ just before chinese new year this year. I find phoenix ballroom a bit old and the food is not really fantasic, no ambience. Stage deco is not very nice.

The only thing that is good is there is no pillar in the ballroom.

Hi Cheeky_chick,

My date is still available at the moment but not too sure if I wanna sign up with NCQ cos they don't seem to have much perks..and strictly no waiver on corkage charges for wines! But I like their menu though and think they are also quite flexible with the changing of dishes from the ala carte menu
Have seen both the Phoenix Grand Ballroom as well as the Cinnamon room and both looks quite nice...esp after set-up!

Is Huiling or Jaime your co-ordinator?

hi girls.. finally settled some issues with my HB.. i'm not going to engage event co to do for me.. my jie mei will do the bubble effects for me.. but will still look for someone to do some decor for my ballroom, but I've delicated that to one of my friend to help me and set a budget for her to work on.. have settled with out invites details, will be going down to T-dragon to do the printing soon.. do i need to make prior appointment with T-dragon or I can just walk in?

hi kelly: think it's impt to block your date with NCQ 1st.. actually i feel their perks quite good already.. actually most of the hotels i've contacted also can't give me wavier of the corkage for wine.. you can try talking to them again..