Novotel Clarke Quay

Hi Tweety,

Thanks for ur concern. I have just selected the AD with the "tong shu" for 2008.

Hi Cheekybee,

The photos that Huiling has emailed me consists of floral and crystal. I also not sure what theme is it. But cinnamon room has a nice setup, a good consideration

hi crybaby,
ya, this yr i think they testing and rise the min tables for pheonix room... but then i think they realise that its not feasible..so they change back to 30....

Hi tweety,

My ad is in early dec, I suppose it will still be on time if I do the food tasting in August or September?

I see you are getting the cinnamon room as well..are you choosing a floral setup or crystal theme? Thanks!

hey Ann...

sorry for late reply.. was extremely busy last week. haha...
won't like to trouble u leh.. but the butterfly corsages are really nice lor. keke

eh... gals, i saw u all mention dat NCQ will send us a list nearer our AD as to wat to do and all rite... erms, anyone noes when this list would be sent to us ? 2mths b4... 1mth b4 or wat.. ? hehe =)

oh , and welcome Sockie....... hope u get the date u want! erms.. cinnamon room n phoenix's setup is more or less the same ya.. except the phoenix ballroom is bigger with higher ceiling... =)

Sockie.. great to hear that... so is NCQ still available for yr date???

Cheekybee.. still on time.. I think food tasting is about 1 mth earlier will do.. I intend to do mine in Sept while my wedding in Oct.. hehehe...

I haven really choose yet leh... I thinking of mix leh... but then shall c how.. how abt u..

Stef.. that list abt 3 mths before ba..

Novotel has been one of my consideration, as the setups look elegant and location is accessible. However the no. of tables that we want is abt 25-27 can't fit into cinnamon (max 24) or phoenix room (min 30), so no choice we have to forgone NCQ.

Quite happy to know all of u, feel that everyone here is friendly and helpful. Hope all of you have gd time in preparing your wedding. Rest well and be a happy and mei mei (pretty) brides

dear tweety...

i haven decide which theme oso...but i saw the crystal theme once b4 a wedding took place that nite and thought it looks quite plain...not much colour in the room lor...not sure how floral looks like leh...do they have mix now? hehe...=)

Hi gals.
I'm back... from nowhere.

Hi Stef.
Thanks for your compliment once again.. if I am selling them, i let u know again. Hehe!! U must be my first customer ok? (Force pple to be customer one, hehe!!)

Hi cheekybee.
I agreed with you. I went to see the crystal theme too. Rather not my taste.. I think will just stick with floral theme. Maybe add some balloons... hehe!!!

hey Ann,

haha... yes.. i will definitely be your customer.. i tink u muz be really gd wif crafts and all eh ? hehe.. to be so creative and come up wif such a nice corsage.

anyhows, haha.. dat is a great idea with the balloons le!! *see.. creative again!* hmm.. i tink floral is nicer den crystal la.. personally... and ..some of the gals were talking abt the mixed theme.. i'm not sure how dat will turn out tho'.. hee.. but floral and balloons..sounds like a gd idea!! =)

oh ya.. jus a quick question gals.....
anyone of u tried four seasons catering or have any feedback / comments about them ?
hmm.. they seems quite gd.. and pretty reasonably priced too.. =)

Hi Cheekybee.. I saw crystal theme only too.. my hb like it said it's simple and elegant lor.. yet to view flower theme...
I don know if they allowed to mix.. but Heard some where that they allow??

Ann.. u need those nitrogen for the balloon which is not cheap i think..
My budget is too out liao.. don think will spend more on that...

Hi Stef.
Thanks in advance for agreeing to be my first customer. Hahaha!!!

Ah.. cannot tell you much if my idea liao... later kanna copy... later i run out of ideas liao... hehe!!!

Hi Tweety.
I have lobang.. so not as expensive as you seems to be. Hehe!!

Hi Teddy.
I'm not selling anything lah.. just joking with Stef that if I ever start selling my wrist corsages or wedding accessories, she must be my first customer. Hehe!!!

Hows things in here?? Kinda bz with preparation lately...
Went to collect my inserts yesterday...finally. Then went home and slot inserts while watching TV. Hehee.

Hi stef,

I got my to-do list frm NCQ early June. It's a checklist for you to keep track of your wedding task list. They will attached a copy of the printer's contact for you.

Hey Ann,

haha... no prob... wont copy yr ideas la.. keke =P but if gd ideas for ncq.. muz share with us la. =P

hi vanilla,
thanks. ya.. i guess its abt 3mths b4 the AD then.. hmm.. Jamie sends it to you automatically ya? you did not ask her for it.. ?

did you print yr inserts at NCQ's supplier.. ? how was it ? hee..
happy adding the last touches to your wedding preps! u've got abt 2mths to go ya.. =)

Hi stef

Ya she sent me automatically. I din even know there's a checklist. I just sit & wait for things to happen. LOL too lazy la. The printer's ok. If you don't mind their limited selection (ard 20 designs). Fast & efficient.

Here's a sneak preview gals of our invite... something simple

511654.jpg

Vanilla.. we got the same design of cards.. hehehe... I print 100 on red and 100 on creme colour... hehehe...

I think the food tasting only can be on weekdays as I asked Jamie before..

Hi Vanilla.
Very RED card you have got there... hehe!! I like the picture.

For food tasting, it is stated only for weekdays. But I told Huiling last time that my family members are all working and my brother is in the army and could only come out during weekend, so could I have it during weekend. She say to let her know and she will try to see if it's possible to do the food tasting on weekend. So maybe you could check with her too.

Hi Tweety,

Ya lor, like not much selection for me at Jasvy, so like this best. Hmmm..the cream is nice too, but to lazy too separate two cols.

Hi Ann,

Hehe Thanks. Ya lor, me nowadays only free on weekends lei. If food tasting on weekdays, have to take leave. Seems wasted
Email Jamie already, but no news from her yet.

Anyone of you signed up with NCQ during last Sept 06 wedding show? Cos I wanted to arrange for food tasting, and was told to give them the list of the 8 dishes, but I lost the menu which was given to me during the wedding show. Anybody can help please? Thanks a million!

hey the card not bad, simple and cute.
Anyone have any idea, for the food tasting on weekday, can it be at night?

My AD is on 3rd nov, anyone can advise, is it time for me to start viewing those card and printing?
By the way, do i have to contact Jamie or just straight away contact Javy?

Hi Belle

I have sent them (NCQ) an email yesterday, and was told that food-tasting can only be arrange during weekdays. Lunch or dinner is fine.

Normally viewing & printing of cards is 3 months b4 ur AD. So you may wanna do it in Aug. I'm sure ur coordinator will email you a checklist soon. I've got mine in early June.

Hi Belle & Vanilla,

Your Coordinator will provide you with the checklist, however to view n print the cards, you will need to go down personally to Javy to have it done @ your own timing .. Coordinators will not help to "monitor" if u follow the checklist.

Just some info on the cards, you can choose the cute pic (in their default list) to be printed in the inserts or pay extra $ to have your wedding photo inserted.(but only 1 colour... check with Jasvy for further details, if interested).

For me i did my own version of at no extra cost.....to be printed on the insert.

hi Belle,
i have gotten my cards already. my AD is 1 week after yours.
i did not get the gold string from them, instead i bought outside and cut myself. save a bit of $$. their gold string to tie the insert is at $0.10 ea....

I also received the checklist from Jamie in early June. Think she sent to me coz I emailed to ask her.

Though my banquet is on 23 nov, I am planning to approach Jasvy within the next 2 weeks. Don't wanna cramp everything during the final 3 mths.

I roughly counted the no. of cards that I need. About 280 which exceeds what NCQ is giving me for free. Then I need to print about 300 inserts. Anyone know how much to pay for each extra card?

Still need to buy ribbon ah.... -_-

Any of you superstitious? Some pple say that don't do any wedding preparation during the lunar 7th mth.

hi caitou,

they'll ask you how many tables you'll be having now instead of the stated no. in the contract. for eg, stated is 30 tables (2 reseves) but when you go jasvy, they'll ask you estimated how many tables on AD. think cards should be enuf. the inserts i printed 300 for $120. or you can print directly on the card, depend on your preference.
my card same as vanila.

Hi caitou

Agree with paperdebris. Jasvy will calculate the no. of invites you'll need according to percentage of attendance agreed between yourself & NCQ.

I paid $150 for 300 inserts, cos I've changed the normal string to ribbon instead.
For me, 300 invites is more than enough.

Hi Vanilla & Paperdebris,

Thanks for your advice! I will print 300 inserts and top up the cards then. Coz I didn't manage to negotiate for more invites with NCQ. Mine is 70%. Roughly I will have about 34 tables + 2 reserves.

woah... seems like there's alot to do for just one special day....

Now I find preparing for solemnisation very stress liao... wondering how to cope when it's my turn for customary.

Bruce Almighty's bride,

Can check with you what u mean by "did my own version of at no extra cost.....to be printed on the insert".
You mean the card design?

Hey Vanilla & paperdebris,

Thanks alot for the advice. Think i better start calling them.

By the way, i am abit confused of how many card to print as my confirmed table is 30 + 2 reserve but i might have 36 tables. So how? i only have 70% confirmed attendence card.

Any idea, around 36 tables got to print how many cards?

I just called up Jasvy and have arranged to go down on next Saturday morning.

Belle, I guess you can share your situation with Jasvy. They should be able to advise bah.

In my contract with NCQ, there is no confirmed tables but it was stated minimum 30 tables + 2 reserve. I also have the same situation as you. So guess I just need to tell Jasvy that I might be having 34 tables + 2 reserve.

hey vanilla,
yr card is nice!! hee.. and cute.. i like it too. but i think im not so much a 'red' person.. prefer light colors.. they got light creme color ya? hehe..
so fuN!! so, u printed inserts and not on the card itself rite? (erms.. yr $150 is for printing n the ribbon ah.. ? which is more ex den strings?) oh....

hmmm... mine .. i think wont need dat many invites also.. nearer den decide. haha...
so i guess the cards/printing have to settle abt 3mths b4 AD ya? thanks for all the tips gals!!

bruce almighty's bride!! so gd to see u here again.. how're u ? and how is marriage life going ? hehe

hi hi...
caitou, maybe jus let them know you got 36 tables, then they'll give you 70% of 360 ppl you are going to invite.

my contract same as you, but at jawsvy we recalculate how many tables (ppl) we are inviting and they give according to the percentage.

Hey all,

Need some advise for sourcing printer as well.
Anyone can reco me a reasonable price and nice printer?
Have anyone heard of Speed Technology / AXXA?

I've heard that AxxA is not bad .. erms.. not sure abt Speed Technology..
and .. heh.. if u wanna go into JB.. they are pretty cheap and standard is gd too.. i tink many ppl go there to print inserts leh.. instead of doing it at our local printers. hehe..
but of coz.. den, u'll need to travel in la.

hi paperdebris,

so jasvy will also count the reserve tables? in this case, then i should have enough. no need to top up the cards lor.

so jasvy will juz take ur words for it?

hi caitou,
think so. we counted in all the ppl we inviting, and it comes up to 36 tables. they'll take the percentage of 36 tables lor.
then later they'll claim from NCQ.
we have 2 designs, the one same as vanilla and another one for parents.

gals help!!!

Any comments on the food? My parent are quite particular with the food, they suggest restaurant which I don't want.

Hi Belle,

If you have went to Jasvy before then you will be able to notice those default prints- is drawn out from previous couples or from internets.. using thick marker (outline),, like when those human we use to draw when we were young -1 O, with 2 Chinese "Ren" below-for hands and legs)

So My Bro told me to use transparency to draw out the outline of one of our wedding shot (which the face features can be clearly shown)then used copier machine to print out, shrinked it...then scanned, cut and paste as picture format for Jasvy to print onto our inserts.

Cos if u opted the photo, though they are able to print it onto your insert only in 1 colour.. meaning
if you opt for Gold wordings, it will be "gold fading color"-however I find it look more to copper brown than "gold".

if you opt for Black.. then is black and greyish. So I opted to draw it myself, and can also be used for the Ang Pow which Jasvy's promoted during our visit there.

if you need sample, i can send it to you.

Not those cute cute pic which, you expect friends to woo ah "so cute, so cute", but more of Ownership...

Hey Bruce Almighty's Bride...so nice to see you again!!

me got a question...after reading these threads on cards printing...

I know we have to go down to the printer to do our own inserts...but should we get the cards from NCQ first? or no need?

Hi Belle

Mine oso confirm 70% - around 30 + 2. So u should have a rough idea of how many tables you have before u went down to Jasvy. Reason being: Jasvy will bill NCQ for the invites and verify wif Jamie ur number/percentage of tables. So let's say if you told Jasvy you'll have 36 tables, and you may end up having 32 tables only, and NCQ will actually charged you for the extra invites for the additional 4 tables. Initially, I was as confused as u, so Jasvy actually advised us to confirm the no. of tables we will have, to avoid any confusion.

So it's better to tell Jamie the no. of tables you'll be having, before heading down to Jasvy.

PS: Usually, Jasvy will give you extras, they wun calculate 'zhun zhun' the no. of invites you'll be getting. So will give you some buffer.

Hi stef

Ya they have white/cream col for this particular invite too. So some couples actually opt for 50 - 50 diff col (but same design) for the invite. Meaning, 50% red for relatives, 50% white for friends. Cos old ppl they are more 'pantang', so you may wanna opt for two cols. The normal string is $0.10 each, and ribbon is $0.80 each. Strings, ribbons and inserts are additional cost, which is not included in your contract wif NCQ.

Hi Eemmoo,

No Need, you choose the card and insert @ Jasvy's premise.

Tip: you can choose more than 1 card colour...
I chose 200 of Auspicious Red-(The Elders' Fav color) another 200 -Lilac (more modern), but insert only 1 choice. so if u choose more than 1 card design, the inserts must fix both cards.

Hi Belle,

Will be sending the sample to you shortly.

Do remember to read your card's wording closely before going ahead to print, Jasvy will send the insert to you via email to vett thru, pass around to your parents, parent in law on their name etc, cos once u say go ahead, there's is no turning back. :P ( i have to go thru 4 times before everything look correct)