Novotel Clarke Quay

all: we changed 2 of our dishes liao to lower value ones cos MIL didn't like them, no refunds
When change to more exp dishes, need to top up...that's how they work lor. Sigh

rand: do u need a lot of rooms? if just one only, nvm lah

hihi all

why thomas....why no mood...haha cheer up...ya sometime i also wonder why preparation is oni 4 1day...hmm boring

hi lilm: haha this cny is our 1st time to give ang pao...hubby is scolding me...he say all try to avoid..but oni me look forward to it...wowhahaha

hihi winter...haha my wedding band is gold 2...cos hubby say gold is more value 4 $$$...he so è€åœŸ but propose brillant rose is fr citigem

shir - hahaha... ya lor.. normally 1st year is no gif la.. bt or jus gif lor..

1st time... keke.....

oooh... vday is d day when my hubby propose... so fast 1yr liao hor =P

lilm: yalor lugi big time

shir: very sian lor...totally cannot feel this yr's cny mood
will take some pics once my house is cleaned up

my ROM anniversary is this fri gals

hello all!

Sorry arh im abit "laggy" in terms of the discussion, so here goes;

Vivi: thanks for sharing the pics! I like your bouquet! My bridal package will provide the bouquet (standard type), so probably i can consider getting the wrist corsages closer to the date!

Rings: Is rose gold a popular choice now? i think my gold is a mixture of copper and gold.. from Lee Hwa!

Vday: do you all still celebrate Vday? My hubby and I don't celebrate anymore since a couple of years ago..

Helpers' room: Randyce, mine will also be during the F1 period. actually, if your gang of bros and sisters are not too huge, you may like to consider letting them use your suite to makeup/style their hair etc, coz 348++ a night is abit on the high side leh..

Thomas: Wow time flies! Congrats again! How will you celebrate your 1 yr romniversary?

hi lilm: really ar 1st yr don't need to give??? hmm think i will still give ba...cos already chg new note....

just back fr ikea...bought 1 bunch of pussy willow...thinking to go china town this fri to buy some cny decoration...thomas is right..this new don't really hv the festive mood....but seen 1st time celebrate in new hs...so must do ba...hahaha

wah... lilms~~ thats alot!! i only prepared $300. planning to give to cousins + niece and nephews only wor..
btw, do u all give to friends of the same age?? not necessary right??

ya cos hubby alot of cousins, nieces &amp; nephews... >.<"""
dan plus gif parents... scary lei

frens ah.. yes.. bt jus a yi shi.. heng heng onli.. anyway my unmarried frens use 1 hand can count le haha

i think i am the worst here... i prepared abt $1.5-2k for AP.. my mom actually gave me a list of who to give and how much to give. *faint*. But mostly for elders like grandparents..
The only consolation i get is mom says 1st year of marriage still can collect ang pao from parents.. ha

Orh.. icic.. haha, elderly i count separately... the total sum is also scarry~~~

hey we all year end married one quite 'lugi' le.. only married for 2 months and have to give angbaos liao..
thomas, u good le... married in mar, then u have 1 year to enjoy before u give ang baos. haha!

ixoral - wow.. 1.5k is alot wor heez... tink u alot of relatives... ya some relatives will still gif us angbao cos we not married for 1yr yet.. bt some onli la hahaha

vivi - ya lor.. cny is veri scary period for married people...

thomas &amp; to rest not married btb/gtb... last yr of takin angbao liao.. faster plan ur "bai nian" route heez..

ixoral: wah...yr mum really very xi xin LOL...1.5-2k is A LOT seriously. ur family v big?

vivi: LOL...how come u can think of this? LOL. actually not really true for my case lah cos I oredi ROMed last yr liao, so by right status is 'married'. Think I will give to my bros and younger cousins too ba.

lilm:

thomas, my family is not big, but hubby side yes..alot of little cousins!

actually the bulk is mainly parents n grandparents. both sides all abt 200 each. so that's 1+k liao.. siblings we giving abit more like 50 then little cousins just 10 lo..

actually after my rom but b4 AD i didnt give at all.. hehe

ixoral - i agree tat giving own siblings &amp; parents take up a bigger %...
ya lor.. actually shld gif onli after AD ba heez...
ROM is consider married bt after all in chinese view, u r not really married until after customary

if e rooms r for relatives, can oso consider ascott liang court... sometimes e price could b cheaper n can stay more ppl as they got 2-3 bedroom option.... tt time i wanted to book there but fully book when i confirm attendance fro my oversea guest...

plan ard 200-300 for cousin n niece/nephew... but hav gg to malaysia then e amt may increase... elders will oso spend a few hundred...

quite xiong to giv AP esp if u got lotsa relatives n unmarried cousins.... but tink friends dun need to giv lar unless s to their kids...

for those married, plan to hav kids soon then can collect some AP back ;)

yalor thomas, agree wif ixoral n lilmspep, dun need to giv AP till next yr aft ur chinese customey... moreover if urs onli a small celebration, ppl may not know tt u r engage.... can help save cost for u since u need $$ 4 ur weddin n hse...

ohh... the AP that i packed right.. amounts to $800+ lei.. i got a lot of cousins.. and this amount havent include my immediate family lei... sobzz...

i guess we dont look so much into the $$ part ba... though i just keep telling myself, some will come back to us! haha. but honestly speaking, i am happy to give, to see the joy on ppl's faces on CNY. also a sign that we all have grown up. Maybe our kind acts will bring us gd karma for the rest of the year. hehe

hihi i prepared $500 for the ang pao...hehe lucky bro and sis in law oni hv 1 kid each....for my parants i dun put in ang pao..just give them direct...my dad is the 2nd youngest son..so mean all my cousin is older and hubby is the youngest son...haha...we can save alot on relative side...

wow ixoral: 1.5-2k is a lot leh...hmm part of the bonus gone...hmm think maybe next yr must plan to go oversea during cny...hehehe

ya vivi is right...many of us here married either end of the yr or early in the yr..haha so just married for few mth must give ang pao liao...so gal our factory must work harder...who know maybe next yr can hv a little 1 to help us gain back some $$$...wowhahaha...if not very xiong

hehe! but i am planning for a 'rabbit'' BB wor.. i think 2H this year then will start factory! keke, when are u starting??

wah so many posts suddenly...

ixoral: oic...so that's where the bulk of ur $$$ goes to

cheer: thanks for the tips...haha u so cute, faster have kids just for the sake of collecting APs...raising kids even more exp than what u can collect lor LOL

ixoral: I like ur thinking abt the good karma part
some ppl love to give rather than receive...

ever: wah that's quite a lot too...lol

shir: u very notti leh hahaha...siam giving APs huh? when u having a little shirley? lol

vivi: wah u got plans liao...that's good! me rabbit also

btw gals, those whose AD are over and have oredi moved out from ur parents' house, how did u feel on that day u moved out or on the days leading to ur moving out? dunno why, whenever I think of moving out from my parents' house I feel very upset, like leaving them for good
so now having mixed feelings as my AD is drawing closer, on one hand I'm very happy to be finally marrying my beloved wife, on the other hand I'm upset cos I won't be back that freq to taste my mum's cooking anymore...sobs

anyone feels the same way as I do? hope this is not pre-wedding jitters

Thomas, i think it's normal. But i didnt feel that b4 the wedding. Only after the wedding when i move out for good. Prior to AD i got stay over my new place on wkends though. I felt quite lost during the 1st 2 weeks after my wedding when i move in to my new home. Cos i'm those who go back for home cook dinner everyday after work. Felt abit weird staying on my own but of cos with my hubby la. Got to think abt settling dinner everyday. I call home everyday...sometimes when i hear my mom's or grandma's voice i feel like crying..abit homesick sometimes.
But now better le..i still make an effort to call home everyday or every other day. And go back for dinner over the wkend.

ixoral: yalor I'm almost home for homecooked dinner everyday after work too...guess I will miss that the most
I'm the homely type so homesickness is something which I really dread

hi ppl... for those who may want to book hotel rooms for guest at NCQ during wedding, if you all know any one who works for capitaland, they got super good discounts for staff!

my friend booked a 2 room (with 1 kitchen + 2 bathrooms) residence for some gathering for about $140.

hello... i haven log in for days so many posts!

Wah so many of you took gold rings! LOL my Hubby will love to meet you all LOL :P He said he gave me white gold as proposal ring why I want another one ?! Eventually I agreed because a pair of gold bands only cost us $500 plus so I thought eh good deal.. A pair of white gold already cost like what $1K over. So save the $ i agreed to get gold bands :P

Thomas, you know? During my church ceremony, we had to give a thank you speech. When my turn came, I was already choking but I took my time slowly so that I won't cry. I refused to look at my parents and sisters faces because a the corner of my eyes I've already saw them tearing like mad! Wah bian.

During our honeymoon, I send an sms to my parents saying I reached there safely and asked them to take care of themselves and don't argue so much and must treasure each other time (my pastor was sharing about growing old together during the solemnization).

Guess what my mom replied - she missed me and she was glad I found a good husband who could take care of me for the rest of my life. Wah bian - made me cry non stop. I moved out and frankly speaking I thought of them every single day. Over these years, I grown more close to them so actually when i was counting down - I wasn't looking forward to the wedding I was like haiz moving out soon

My mother was very bad initally I asked, will you miss me? She said - SG very big meh? You will come home what? Then 1 more week before the AD, i asked again - i am gonna miss you. You? She replied - crazy ar... u dunno how to come home ar?

Wah bian then now this sms, she made me cried like mad during my honeymoon got my husband so shocked. LOL!

Ya i certainly made the effort to return home every weekend to visit them. SMS and Call her and my dad so that they know i still think of them. My sisters i made the effort to lunch individually every month at least so that i can have quality time with them.

Sometimes is the absence between parents and children then we will treasure the time and the relationship will become better. So i guess marriage is to mold us to become stronger and better. I am certainly looking at the brighter side of life. Is only 2 weeks yet I told myself if I don't grow stronger as a wife and daugther, I will only pull my partner down (My husband certainly don't want to see a miserable wife everyday)

I looked forward this CNY eve

So Thomas, don't worry too much. Absence will make your relationship with ur family stronger!

btw we set aside 1K for ang pow - bo bian my family side too huge liao -_-"""""

Then same generation - i will give lor, if they reject then i don't give lor. But usually I will give. haha.

winter: u also feel the same way as I do

the minute I think of moving out soon, I don't look forward to my wedding anymore...feel like crying...

and yes, guys do cry also although they dun like to be seen crying by others

wah thomas...u r very 感性 for a guy leh..hee

my hubby also calls his mom quite regularly. Everytime they talk, i always tell him he sounded like he is talking to some other girl. cos he will smile and talk like machiam talking to gf like that. haha

afternoon all.......

thomas - think of it as another phrase in ur life... n thru tis u'd learn to treasure the time spent wif ur family.. cos i've moved out long ago.. thus i dun haf such feelings wen i got married... bt moving out have made me treasure my family members even more.. n i make it a point to attend all gatherings &amp; also to chat wif my mum everyday.. =)

winter - ur mum so cute hor heez....